Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 15:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Saluki
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 116 of 250 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Author Message
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1441
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 22:37    Post_subject:  

double post,
Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1441
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 22:45    Post_subject:  

Tman wrote:

Workspaceswitcher works for me without compiz. Once compiz is installed, it no longer functions properly.
.


Did you set it up in compiz settings manager in general options, Desktop size, number of Desktops, just drag the slider for the number of Desktops you want, no need to stop and restart compiz it does it on the fly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 22:51    Post_subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
Did you set it up in compiz settings manager in general options, Desktop size, number of Desktops, just drag the slider for the number of Desktops you want, no need to stop and restart compiz it does it on the fly.


Thanks scabz and Geoffrey (I am a compiz noob). I enabled Desktop Cube and Desktop Rotate and the workspaceswitcher works..nice! Smile
compiz.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   37.81 KB
 Viewed   1189 Time(s)

compiz.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
futwerk

Joined: 07 May 2011
Posts: 261

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 00:34    Post_subject:  

new backgrounds.
pupfb13,1c.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
 Filesize   33.22 KB
 Viewed   1148 Time(s)

pupfb13,1c.jpg

pupfb13,1b.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
 Filesize   47.61 KB
 Viewed   1149 Time(s)

pupfb13,1b.jpg

pupfb13,1a.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
 Filesize   46.6 KB
 Viewed   1126 Time(s)

pupfb13,1a.jpg

pupfb13,1.jpg
 Description   http://www.mediafire.com/?7v1msw26s6chb
 Filesize   48.14 KB
 Viewed   1153 Time(s)

pupfb13,1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 03:15    Post_subject:  

As an interesting continuation of why Midori identifies itself as Safari and security, my bank (Nationwide) refuses to allow Midori to log in.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4800
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 03:40    Post_subject:  

Quote:
As an interesting continuation of why Midori identifies itself as Safari and security, my bank (Nationwide) refuses to allow Midori to log in.

Sadly not only Nationwide, which has received much criticism for it's on-line practises, which contrary to their pronouncements, fail to afford any extra security! Had issues with NatWest, card readers, inability to speak by phone to branch and other matters: only expedient was to dump them. There are pen-pushers about who are convinced they are doing the correct thing - Thatcher's children! Some of my US correspondents complain about their banks insisting on IMAPI and Mac SW - world is full of leveraging b*st*rds!

Quote:

The cheat code is pfix=nox then run xorgwizard from the prompt.
Thanks for that, Jemimah. Just that I've never had cause to use that one before - used most of the others ever since Hr Dr Knopper introduced them to us. No X invokes the standard prior selection of locales familiar to Puppy afficionados, which is moderately useful when swapping between diverse systems. In this case, the issue turned out to be the smart new little monitor, which fits in the corner of my desk, but cannot access the higher resolutions with nV cards. Shame - back to the monster monitors. Notwithstanding, this could be a serious issue for folks still using crt monitors, which are far from obsolete on account of their much lower inch-for-inch power consumption than lcd (but not led) and longer lifetime (too early to tell whether led s will deliver their promise of ~30000hrs MTBF or greater!).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 04:56    Post_subject:  

DaveS wrote:
As an interesting continuation of why Midori identifies itself as Safari and security, my bank (Nationwide) refuses to allow Midori to log in.


Huh.. its working now!

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 04:57    Post_subject:  

I have the cache set to 5MB in Midori. Strange that the .cache folder was reporting 35MB! Wondered where my save file was going Smile
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 05:07    Post_subject:  

Midori speed dial display gets a little weird


_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 07:12    Post_subject:  

Suggestion. Could Frisbee_tray show also the wifi strenght and signal level in tray...in that mouse tooltip where it shows those 2 rows already
Code:
Link Quality=48/70  Signal level=-62 dBm


You have already picked other information from iwconfig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 09:59    Post_subject: Gigabyte GA-A75M-UD2H sound  

Jemimah,

At last! 014 boots straight to desktop here with the vesa driver. Judging by many full distros this is no small accomplishment with this rig of mine. However (you knew it was coming didn’t you) I can’t get sound to work.

This is guesswork but I am starting to believe that if my sound card supports HDMI then that is what gets configured, regardless of what I attempt to choose. I do not have a monitor with built-in speakers! For reference, Fatdog64-521 and Slacko 5.3.2.10 with the 3.1.10-slacko_pae kernel are the two that I can get sound working on.

FatDog64 /var/log/messages
Code:
Mar 12 07:22:04 fatdog64-29420 user.info kernel: HDA Intel 0000:00:01.1: PCI INT B -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
Mar 12 07:22:04 fatdog64-29420 user.debug kernel: HDA Intel 0000:00:01.1: irq 51 for MSI/MSI-X
Mar 12 07:22:04 fatdog64-29420 user.debug kernel: HDA Intel 0000:00:01.1: setting latency timer to 64
Mar 12 07:22:04 fatdog64-29420 user.info kernel: HDMI status: Pin=3 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
Mar 12 07:22:04 fatdog64-29420 user.info kernel: HDA Intel 0000:00:14.2: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
Mar 12 07:22:04 fatdog64-29420 user.info kernel: hda_codec: ALC889: BIOS auto-probing.


Slacko /var/log/messages
Code:
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.info kernel: [   11.718115] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: PCI INT B -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.debug kernel: [   11.718163] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: irq 51 for MSI/MSI-X
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.debug kernel: [   11.718183] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: setting latency timer to 64
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.info kernel: [   11.737335] HDMI status: Codec=0 Pin=3 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.info kernel: [   11.737543] input: HD-Audio Generic HDMI/DP as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.1/sound/card0/input5
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.info kernel: [   11.737806] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:14.2: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.info kernel: [   11.797737] hda_codec: ALC889: BIOS auto-probing.
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.info kernel: [   11.805147] input: HD-Audio Generic Headphone as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card1/input6


Saluki /var/log/messages
Code:
Mar 12 12:26:38 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [   94.762738] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:14.2: PCI INT A disabled
Mar 12 12:26:38 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [   94.780311] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: PCI INT B disabled
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [  506.844055] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: PCI INT B -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.debug kernel: [  506.844100] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: irq 51 for MSI/MSI-X
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.debug kernel: [  506.844120] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: setting latency timer to 64
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [  506.858102] HDMI status: Codec=0 Pin=3 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [  506.858180] input: HD-Audio Generic HDMI/DP,pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.1/sound/card0/input8
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [  506.858685] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:14.2: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [  506.895018] hda_codec: ALC889: BIOS auto-probing.
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [  506.902535] input: HD-Audio Generic Headphone as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card1/input9


Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-A75M-UD2H
AMD A8-3850 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
64 bit

If you are interested, is there is anything I could do to assist?

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 10:59    Post_subject: Re: Gigabyte GA-A75M-UD2H sound  

2byte wrote:
Jemimah,

At last! 014 boots straight to desktop here with the vesa driver. Judging by many full distros this is no small accomplishment with this rig of mine. However (you knew it was coming didn’t you) I can’t get sound to work.

This is guesswork but I am starting to believe that if my sound card supports HDMI then that is what gets configured, regardless of what I attempt to choose. I do not have a monitor with built-in speakers! For reference, Fatdog64-521 and Slacko 5.3.2.10 with the 3.1.10-slacko_pae kernel are the two that I can get sound working on.

FatDog64 /var/log/messages
Code:
Mar 12 07:22:04 fatdog64-29420 user.info kernel: HDA Intel 0000:00:01.1: PCI INT B -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
Mar 12 07:22:04 fatdog64-29420 user.debug kernel: HDA Intel 0000:00:01.1: irq 51 for MSI/MSI-X
Mar 12 07:22:04 fatdog64-29420 user.debug kernel: HDA Intel 0000:00:01.1: setting latency timer to 64
Mar 12 07:22:04 fatdog64-29420 user.info kernel: HDMI status: Pin=3 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
Mar 12 07:22:04 fatdog64-29420 user.info kernel: HDA Intel 0000:00:14.2: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
Mar 12 07:22:04 fatdog64-29420 user.info kernel: hda_codec: ALC889: BIOS auto-probing.


Slacko /var/log/messages
Code:
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.info kernel: [   11.718115] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: PCI INT B -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.debug kernel: [   11.718163] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: irq 51 for MSI/MSI-X
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.debug kernel: [   11.718183] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: setting latency timer to 64
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.info kernel: [   11.737335] HDMI status: Codec=0 Pin=3 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.info kernel: [   11.737543] input: HD-Audio Generic HDMI/DP as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.1/sound/card0/input5
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.info kernel: [   11.737806] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:14.2: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.info kernel: [   11.797737] hda_codec: ALC889: BIOS auto-probing.
Mar 12 12:02:41 puppypc22985 user.info kernel: [   11.805147] input: HD-Audio Generic Headphone as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card1/input6


Saluki /var/log/messages
Code:
Mar 12 12:26:38 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [   94.762738] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:14.2: PCI INT A disabled
Mar 12 12:26:38 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [   94.780311] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: PCI INT B disabled
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [  506.844055] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: PCI INT B -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 19
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.debug kernel: [  506.844100] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: irq 51 for MSI/MSI-X
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.debug kernel: [  506.844120] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:01.1: setting latency timer to 64
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [  506.858102] HDMI status: Codec=0 Pin=3 Presence_Detect=0 ELD_Valid=0
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [  506.858180] input: HD-Audio Generic HDMI/DP,pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.1/sound/card0/input8
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [  506.858685] snd_hda_intel 0000:00:14.2: PCI INT A -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [  506.895018] hda_codec: ALC889: BIOS auto-probing.
Mar 12 12:33:30 puppypc17166 user.info kernel: [  506.902535] input: HD-Audio Generic Headphone as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card1/input9


Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-A75M-UD2H
AMD A8-3850 APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
64 bit

If you are interested, is there is anything I could do to assist?


First, have you checked the Playback and Switches tabs in the mixer? Look for "Speaker" and see if it's muted.

Otherwise there maybe a cheat code you can use but it's sort of hit and miss to get some ideas from google.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 11:05    Post_subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Suggestion. Could Frisbee_tray show also the wifi strenght and signal level in tray...in that mouse tooltip where it shows those 2 rows already
Code:
Link Quality=48/70  Signal level=-62 dBm


You have already picked other information from iwconfig.


Hmm, the tray doesn't run iwconfig, but I may be able to get the info from /sys/class/net. I'll check it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
firak

Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 11:31    Post_subject: Re: Tribler - not working for me  

jemimah wrote:
firak wrote:
Tribler - not working for me

I youst intall a fresh saluki 14 for tryng trlibler.

Tested few times on fresh install.
I attach a sceewnshot of the insallation of tribler.

Any suggestion to make tribler working?

(Al the best to jamiah - saluki seems very nice and faster than puppy528 and macup528 that i'm using)
Hrdwr - eepc 1215p atom 12"


I fixed a problem with the python pet. Please uninstall Python then install the new version from the PPM.


Thaks Jemiah. Tribler is working now - no internal or external veuwer - but is ok. thaks
About Saluki - is amazing well done!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Sun 11 Mar 2012, 12:11    Post_subject:  

jemimah wrote:
First, have you checked the Playback and Switches tabs in the mixer? Look for "Speaker" and see if it's muted.

OK, I had already used the multiple sound card chooser and went through and set all the sliders the first time around and had set auto mute to off before I posted. Sound did not work. Rebooted, no sound.

Rebooted again, right clicked the volume icon and chose properties again and this time there was only 1 tab available (switches) with IEC958 checked and no other controls available. Above the tab was 'Sound card: HD-Audio Generic (Alsa mixer)', which was what I had selected with Alsa Wizard. On a whim I expanded the sound card drop down and saw an identical listing ‘HD-Audio Generic (Alsa mixer)’ so I chose that and presto, all 3 tabs are available (again) so I went through and adjusted all the sliders again. This time when I rebooted I heard ‘good bye’ and after the reboot I have sound.

So if anyone else is having sound troubles maybe my experience will help.

Now to get my ati graphics card working. The pet install, followed to the letter, did not work. Will try again.

BTW, these two problems are the norm for my kit. Saluki being able to boot to a desktop at all and now to provide sound puts it in the top 10% of all Linux distros for me. Wink

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 116 of 250 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, ..., 248, 249, 250 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1625s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0468s) ][ GZIP on ]