Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 05:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Slacko 5.3.1 - Wlan (RT 2870) generally works, but
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
vel2000

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2012, 03:37    Post_subject:  Slacko 5.3.1 - Wlan (RT 2870) generally works, but
Sub_title: no automatic login after reboot...
 

Finally, I got my D-Link DWA 125 to work.
(Needed to download newer firmware from Debian site).
But the Problem is, after reboot I need to start the network-manager every time, load the profile, and then connect.
Sometimes I have to run "auto-dhcp" after this, to get an IP.
But I am not able to "auto-connect" after reboot.
Frisbee doesn't work...(some problem with ssid), just the same as "simple network manager" (problem with essid).
So, how to implement an auto-connect after reboot?
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2012, 10:38    Post_subject:  

try menu/setup/internet connect wizard/internet by wired or wireless lan/dougal's network wizard then click on your wifi wlan0, new profile [name it] then select scan, find your router, select, wpa or whichever security you have, enter your details, then save this profile/use this profile, then auto dhcp, and save again...then try browsing
occasionally you need to do this twice to get it to 'stick'

The only other reason for it not sticking/being available is if puppy isn't finding your savefile, AFAIK, but dougal's wizard has always proven to work where others fail, even if occasionally I need to use the static IP tab and enter IP and DNS numbers manually

Are keyboard/locale/video settings saved? i.e. a savefile functioning OK?

Some people recommend pwireless2,pet but I've never needed it

HTH

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vel2000

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2012, 19:32    Post_subject:  

Quote:
try menu/setup/internet connect wizard/internet by wired or wireless lan/dougal's network wizard then click on your wifi wlan0, new profile [name it] then select scan, find your router, select, wpa or whichever security you have, enter your details, then save this profile/use this profile, then auto dhcp, and save again...then try browsing
occasionally you need to do this twice to get it to 'stick'


Yep I know, dougal's network wizard works for me too.
But the problem is, I have to do this procedure, after every restart.
The wlan won't "auto-connect" and I would like to avoid the above "manual connect"
Maybe a script, which is executed after login?
PS: It's a frugal install and the the savefile works as it should.

EDIT:
Ok, I found out, that iwconfig can't handle WPA2, but I was able to get it running via wpa_supplicant
So, I wrote a little script and put it in root/Startup and now my wifi is always connected after boot. Nice
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0437s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]