Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 00:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse 64 5.14.2 Beta 4
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 29 Feb 2012, 09:03    Post_subject:  

HiDeHo,

I haven't seen Tazoc on this forum for a little while and he said here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=600595#600595
that he is not well.

You may have to wait for a response to your queries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4297
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 29 Feb 2012, 14:59    Post_subject:  

Hi @HiDeHo
You may have already found this out:
  • You can run 32bit OSes on 64bit platforms.
  • You can run 64bit OSes on 64bit platforms.
  • You CANNOT run 64bit OSes on 32bit platforms
Most PCs since 2007 are 64bit, but, you should alway check the PC's literature to be sure. Further, you will get an error message at boot time should you attempt to start a Lighthouse64 CD/ISO on a 32bit PC or VM client.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Anniekin


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Wed 29 Feb 2012, 21:50    Post_subject:  

WE'RE NOT WORTHY!

WE'RE NOT WORTHY!

WE'RE NOT WORTHY!

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2012, 17:51    Post_subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Hi @HiDeHo
You may have already found this out:
  • You can run 32bit OSes on 64bit platforms.
  • You can run 64bit OSes on 64bit platforms.
  • You CANNOT run 64bit OSes on 32bit platforms
Most PCs since 2007 are 64bit, but, you should alway check the PC's literature to be sure. Further, you will get an error message at boot time should you attempt to start a Lighthouse64 CD/ISO on a 32bit PC or VM client.

Hope this helps


thanks i did realise what you aid. was wondering what teh 23 bit libs did. and as teh 32 bit version os lhpup is no longer maintained accoerding to the forum post click here what can peopel do on a 32 bit computer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4297
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2012, 18:42    Post_subject: 32bit is a good stable release. I am not sure if there will  

HiDeHo wrote:
... to the forum post click here what can peopel do on a 32 bit computer.
That's a very good complete 32bit verion built by TaZoC. After clompleting this,he wanted to try a build of a 64bit distro. This was named LighHouse64.

The 32bit versin and the 32bit software it contains continue to provide useful services. But, I would guess that some of the version of packages in the ISO have had updates.

But, there are still inquiries being answered on the forum in that version of LightHouse. And should you have any problems using that verion and you post on that thread, I would guess it will be answered by someone.

It behaves, operates, and updates similar to all PUPs. You should expect carefree use.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
spb37

Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 01 Mar 2012, 20:26    Post_subject: dropbox in l64
Sub_title: Need help installing dropbox
 

I have tried the various debian packages on the dropbox page as well as the instructions for installing it from the terminal. Anyone have it working in a way that my beginners brain can follow. Thanks so much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 30 Apr 2012, 07:02    Post_subject: grub4dosConfig-1.7.9  

tazoc , how are you feeling these days? I hope your fast recovery.

NEWS:
Test release: grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.7.9, works with/on Lighthouse 64:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=624118#624118

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 18:07    Post_subject:  

If anyone has an update on how Tazoc's doing, it would be nice to know.

Finally got virtual box working on Lighthouse64... Not sure what I finally set right or I'd post it.

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4297
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 01 May 2012, 18:37    Post_subject:  

Eathray wrote:
If anyone has an update on how Tazoc's doing, it would be nice to know.

Finally got virtual box working on Lighthouse64... Not sure what I finally set right or I'd post it.

Eathray
Great EarthRAY.

Should you figure out what was done, feel free to post here.

I have been running my LH64 Mariner of which I have ONLY booted once in Januarry after a save-session. This, too, is a LIve Media environment via a DVD. It is rock solid and it rocks!

Here to help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
snayak

Joined: 14 Sep 2011
Posts: 231

PostPosted: Wed 02 May 2012, 01:49    Post_subject:  

When you have internet, it is simple to install and run vbox.
Otherwise, it is bit harder.

Sincerely,
Srinivas

_________________
Machine: Wary 530, AMD Athlon 2000+, ASUS A7N266-VM board, 512MB DDR RAM, 40GB HDD, 52xCDRW, PS/2 Mouse/Keyboard, USB 2.0.
Home: http://www.mathmeth.com/sn/
Blog: http://srinivas-nayak.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Wed 02 May 2012, 11:23    Post_subject:  

gcmartin wrote:


Should you figure out what was done, feel free to post here.


I guess I was trying to select the version from the install list, which ought to have been the x86linux version, but the self-install tool wanted the amd64linux version. That makes no sense to me because my processor is Intel 64bit dual core... not amd... but maybe the chipsets also come into play. It could be my rig can use intel or amd, and something in the chipset makes the amd64linux version more compatible/preferable to VirtualBox.

That's just a guess, but whatever, it's working...

I started playing with it a little by sticking a copy of SnowPuppy on a virtual disk.

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4297
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 02 May 2012, 17:02    Post_subject:  

Eathray wrote:
gcmartin wrote:


Should you figure out what was done, feel free to post here.


I guess I was trying to select the version from the install list, which ought to have been the x86linux version, but the self-install tool wanted the amd64linux version. That makes no sense to me because my processor is Intel 64bit dual core... not amd... but maybe the chipsets also come into play. It could be my rig can use intel or amd, and something in the chipset makes the amd64linux version more compatible/preferable to VirtualBox.

That's just a guess, but whatever, it's working...

I started playing with it a little by sticking a copy of SnowPuppy on a virtual disk.

Eathray
I think I understand what confused you.

In the computer industry, some of the jargon IS confusing.

But, should you ever see "amd64..." or "intel64" or "x86-64" or similar references in a filename or article, it simply is implying 64bit computers. Those names for programs are a developers attempt to let you know that it is designed specifically for 64bit Operating Systems(OS) running on 64bit PCs. Thus, it is NOT specific to AMD or to Intel.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eathray

Joined: 06 Sep 2009
Posts: 506

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2012, 16:03    Post_subject:  

I might post some questions about VirtualBox on Lighthouse, but I'm not sure if I should start a new thread dealing with VB specifically, or post here where people may have the exact same setup going as I do... On Lighthouse64. The latter seems to make sense to me.

Please advise.

Thanks.

Eathray
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4297
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 06 May 2012, 14:16    Post_subject:  

Eathray wrote:
I might post some questions about VirtualBox on Lighthouse, but I'm not sure if I should start a new thread dealing with VB specifically, or post here where people may have the exact same setup going as I do... On Lighthouse64. The latter seems to make sense to me.

Please advise.

Thanks.

Eathray
I understand. Either way, your contribution will spur interest and guidance.

Thanks in advance.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
atv


Joined: 16 Nov 2011
Posts: 19
Location: Tambo, Ecuador

PostPosted: Thu 10 May 2012, 12:00    Post_subject: Tazoc  

Does anyone know how Tazoc is doing? It sure would be nice to know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 17 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0936s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0110s) ][ GZIP on ]