Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 20:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 5.3.3-RC2 (5.3.2.4[0])
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 32 of 33 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 11:40    Post_subject:  

Quote:
5.3.2.4[0]

Mouse pointer keeps freezing, then, mostly, frees-up again???
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 12:27    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Hi shino

snipped

PenguinPupLin

I would say the reboot/restart X problem is inherited from the previous install. Could you try a clean install? If it's fixed I'll see if there is a way to upgrade and nullify that bug. I did notice a very small proportion of users have these issues but only with USB installs, yours is the only one I recall with a HDD frugal install. DId it ever reboot properly? I'd say it must have at one point if you were able to make a save file.
Yes,it rebooted properly before when after changing my LCD monitor to a widescreen one i.e.16:9 (previously 4:3) and it booted straight into xorgwizard, forcing me to choose fglrx and resolution for Radeon driver,not the ati-catalyst-11-8 that then popped up "initialization error" - so I rerun 'aticonfig --initial', while trying to do so I also encountered a strange keyboard misbehaviour where typing "z" gave me "y" and vice-versa.

Btw,my HDD frugal install is on an ntfs partition in a multiboot environment with Windows Vista and other puppies. Just to point it out in case it matters.

I guess I'd have to do a clean install as you suggested which means my existing and backup savefiles cannot be used (there goes all my softwares,updates,favourite websites and settings) and start from scratch with a new pupsave. Or I might wait until your final release ver 5.3.3 (quite soon?) to do so.

One more thing, all the desktop icons and widgets suddenly disappeared and I have to turn them on manually each time I boot up.

Cheers! Keep up the good work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 13:55    Post_subject:  

supra. - probably an HW issue!

Diminutive repo! Bunch of stuff won't work and dependencies not listed eg 'jack', 'portaudio','v4l-utils', inter alia. Not to mention Claws, EudoraOSE, etc. Afraid my old memory box doesn't run to remembering where every reference to individual files resides on the Forum, esp. as I juggle dozens of distros and rather more machines simultaneously daily. The PPM is the cornerstone for any distro. Sine qua non...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1145
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 15:04    Post_subject:  

Sage reported:

".... I juggle dozens of distros and rather more machines simultaneously...."
---------------------------------
Yet he is doubtless unable to edit his posts singly, let alone two-at-once.

I suggest he should probably edit his last two posts to rectify any mistakes.

Addendum:

I have just seen that "jack", "claws", etcetera, etcetera, etcetera are available from the Slacko Repository via the Slacko PPM. Perhaps 01micko has added them very recently as a result of Sage's compulsive appeal.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5867
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 16:02    Post_subject:  

Manual frugal install of 5.3.2.4 on the old P3 test box. Everything working correctly on initial boot.

Quote:
In fact I am bumping the minimum system requirements to 1GB processor. Keef reported it's very slow to decompress for him on a slow box, it is because of the xz compression. No issue on faster machines.


Since this box is 733 mhz and the difference is noticeable I'll confirm this. Still usable but slower.5.31 w/ 2.6.37.6,and the regular compression, is perfectly fine though.


# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 5.3.2.4

Chip description:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 (GMCH) Graphics Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:01.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 (CGC) Chipset Graphics Controller (rev 03)

Driver used by Xorg:


Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: "" Depth: Depth 24

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video


-Computer-
Processor : Pentium III (Coppermine)
Memory : 253MB (126MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Tue 21 Feb 2012 02:01:19 PM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ICH - Intel 82801AA-ICH
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 21:03    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Took me a while to work this out . . .

Do I need the PAE version?

normal slacko-5.3.2.4 - most users
PAE slacko-5.3.2.40 - those with 2006+ PCs or 4G or more of RAM

19 Feb 2012 RC2 includes the Seamonkey PNG security fix
have added temp link info for our intrepid Release Candidate testers
in Slacko tips
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/SlackoTips
PAE should run on of the shown computers regardless of RAM sizes from 512MB to 64GB; namely those shown.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5867
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 21:42    Post_subject:  

Been experimenting again, now if I can just get motivated to finish tweaking it........ Laughing
Slacko XFCE 4.8.png
 Description   
 Filesize   154.93 KB
 Viewed   1507 Time(s)

Slacko XFCE 4.8.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 23:22    Post_subject:  

5.3.2.4 frugal install pfix=ram to ext4 hdd on dual p6100 hp. frisbee menu installed with auto-detected broadcom wifi driver and connection made without issue. mesa installed via slickpet. glxgears shows expected output.

everything works so far will keep testing next few days. thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 22 Feb 2012, 02:01    Post_subject:  

I have upgraded from RC1 to RC2
- it has been a bit of a mess.
What I may have done is move from normal to PAE Embarassed
Adobe Flash (the well known proprietary disaster area) it tells me is the wrong version
Sound is not working.

OK I will go for a pristine puppy pfix=ram install
as I notice many little improvements despite my difficulties

Other people seem to be having a better experience
Thanks Mick. Thanks guys.
Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 22 Feb 2012, 20:54    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
I have upgraded from RC1 to RC2 ... [/i]
Hi @Lobster.

I'm not sure if the upgrades were built to be able to upgrade non-PAE to PAE. While I clearly understand why you would want to approach an upgrade path, I think there are some "gotchas" that exsit to not let that be an optimum approach.

You may want to consider getting the PAE iso and starting there. You should expect a better experience.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 22 Feb 2012, 23:35    Post_subject:  

Quote:
You may want to consider getting the PAE iso and starting there


Yes I think you are right Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Thu 23 Feb 2012, 19:01    Post_subject:  

James C wrote:
Quote:
In fact I am bumping the minimum system requirements to 1GB processor. Keef reported it's very slow to decompress for him on a slow box, it is because of the xz compression. No issue on faster machines.


Since this box is 733 mhz and the difference is noticeable I'll confirm this. Still usable but slower.5.31 w/ 2.6.37.6,and the regular compression, is perfectly fine though.


I can't test 5.3.2.4 on my K6 machine due to the CPU not having support for the CMOV instruction (which is presumably the reason why I encounter 'Illegal Instruction' errors with i686 stuff) so 5.3.1 will be the newest Slacko I can run on there.

What I have noticed on the K6, with most of the versions of Puppy I've used on it, is that a full install will be noticeably quicker in use than a frugal or LiveCD. I assumed that this was down to decompression on the latter setups using more CPU time.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 451
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Thu 23 Feb 2012, 20:31    Post_subject:  

Performance of 5.3.2.4 continues to be excellent on the Pentium D machine, I'm very pleased! Still using it as LiveCD and USB stick as I strongly suspect that the hard drive is failing on me, can't even start to boot XP at the moment.

I forgot to report earlier that setting up the wireless networking with the Netgear WN111v2 has a couple of additional steps compared to setting it up on other versions of Puppy. I've attached screen grabs of the two windows. I assume these pop up because some devices using the carl9170 drivers don't always work properly. I chose 'Add to List' on the first one as I knew the device is capable of WPA2 and for the second one I clicked 'OK' without changing anything.

Security I'm using is WPA2 with maximum-length hidden SSID and maximum-length key. Speed is very good, at least the same as Lupu 528 and possibly better.
carl9170wpa1.png
 Description   First additional window for setting up wireless networking with Netgear WN111v2.
 Filesize   21.41 KB
 Viewed   1183 Time(s)

carl9170wpa1.png

carl9170wpa2.png
 Description   The second additional window for setting up wireless networking with Netgear WN111v2.
 Filesize   14.6 KB
 Viewed   1175 Time(s)

carl9170wpa2.png


_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5867
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 24 Feb 2012, 02:25    Post_subject:  

Don't know if it's affected anyone else but I was unable to reformat an ext3 partition on my P4 test box using Gparted in my frugal installation of 5.3.2.4. I attempted to format to both ext3 and ext4 but Gparted errored out both times.
Installing the latest Exprimo so I used that to format...... no problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 24 Feb 2012, 05:47    Post_subject:  

That's weird James, I have been using gparted a fair bit lately, ext 4, no problems.

Anyway.. the bug with aufs has reared it's head again.. it seems to be hanging intermittently mostly in USB installs. A bloke in my class (a linux head) has this issue on a fairly fast lappy, 4G RAM.

I didn't want to recompile a kernel but I have, with union fs, made a new build script too, the headers package is fixed (pemasu Wink ). Worked first go.. building a test woof now.

I am considering moving to the latest woof, just because development has been slow with my heavy schedule. I have managed to keep seamonkey up to date and that's about it!

Thoughts?

_________________________________

Later..

Ok, the union_fs kernel boots and runs fine, small bug with xorg that wasn't apparent with aufs but I know why. Smile


__________________________________

Jades, just noticed about your carl9170 issue, this is because the module name is changed apparently (formerly ar9170) and wag-profiles.sh (netwizard functions library) doesn't know about it, Thanks for the heads up, it's an easy fix.
build-kit-k3.1.10-4gU.tar.gz
Description  kernel build kit
gz

 Download 
Filename  build-kit-k3.1.10-4gU.tar.gz 
Filesize  29.71 KB 
Downloaded  227 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 32 of 33 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1046s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0126s) ][ GZIP on ]