Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 16:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Slacko Puppy 5.3.1 Released
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 19 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19
Author Message
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2424
Location: near here

PostPosted: Thu 09 Feb 2012, 13:11    Post_subject:  

what is the lucky video card? Twisted Evil
_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
esrom02

Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 20:53    Post_subject:  

NVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX 400, can you tell me what driver version is in Lupu 5.2.5? 96.43.x?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3210
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 22 Feb 2012, 19:22    Post_subject:  

Note to esrom02:

I have that graphics card and it is compatible
with all Puppies, so if you're having problems don't
blame the graphics card.

Lupu525 uses the nv graphics driver for this card.
It's the built-in driver.

If you want a bit more speed you can easily upgrade
to NVIDIA-96.43.16_lupu500-k2.6.33.2.pet

available at this site

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-lucid/

but this driver won't work with any other Puppy variant
other than Lupu.

____________________________________________________-
______________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Wed 22 Feb 2012, 19:54    Post_subject:  

esrom02

nvidia-glx-sdl-290.10-slacko.sfs here

http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/pup5/

see http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=592315#592315

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cuplis

Joined: 24 Jun 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 04:53    Post_subject: compiz on slacko  

here's mine using xwin dummy
compizslacko.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  compizslacko.png 
Filesize  795.32 KB 
Downloaded  436 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dk60902


Joined: 26 Sep 2010
Posts: 223
Location: In front of my computer

PostPosted: Sat 11 Aug 2012, 15:00    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
I should start another thread for the compiz biz.. I want to build a record of systems that are running it successfully, CPU, graphics card and driver, RAM etc. .. so until I do, can you post those specs. Cool


Maybe this should be on a 5.3.3 thread, but thought I'd share anyways.

I have Compiz running on my computer with these specs:

USB flash drive
Slacko 5.3.3 pae Frugal install
HP Desktop
AMD Athlon X 2 7550 2.5 GHz
nVidia GeForce 9100 chip GPU
8 GB RAM
750 HD

I installed an nVidia driver pet from the Slacko PPM (nvidia-2.95.20-k3.1.10-slacko_paeA-s). Then, I ran the Compiz helper pet, and loaded the Compiz sfs. Not sure what I did to get it working exactly. I restarted X, and I can't remember if I typed xwin or xwin dummy to get it to work. I think something strange happened where the upper scroll bar of the windows got cut off (I had the same problem with installing Compiz on Saluki), and I may have had to restart X, rerun xorgwizard, probe, select resolution, and typed either xwin or xwin dummy. Anyways, I finally got it to work, and made multiple backup copies of the savefile in case I screw up something in the future!

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dk60902


Joined: 26 Sep 2010
Posts: 223
Location: In front of my computer

PostPosted: Sat 11 Aug 2012, 15:02    Post_subject: Re: compiz on slacko  

cuplis wrote:
here's mine using xwin dummy


Nice wallpaper. Is that the Monaco F1 circuit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1446
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2012, 04:01    Post_subject: Re: compiz on slacko  

Hi

dk60902 wrote:
...Is that the Monaco F1 circuit?

Looks like turn 8 to me Wink Wink

CatDude
.
monaco.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   45.52 KB
 Viewed   1027 Time(s)

monaco.jpg


_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Arefacti

Joined: 10 Oct 2012
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2012, 13:23    Post_subject:    

Hello CatDude (me I'm a "Stray cat dude" !) thanks for your job !

is it possible to get a wbar "always on" like on this pic :



it's very very ergonomic, with my experience of a small eeepc Embarassed

the thread :
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67633&start=270

thanks to read me !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 2890
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sat 29 Dec 2012, 23:36    Post_subject: GCstar with Slacko
Sub_title: GCstar misses something to run, but what ?
 

See french puppy forum :
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=674233#674233
Pet furnished by Lobster in this forum

GCstar misses something to run, but what ?
I am not far fom success ! could you help, please.
That will improve the panel of tools in Slcko.

Merci.
Pelo
gcstar.jpg
Description  Libslang added, no missing dependancies now. perhaps perl ?
jpg

 Download 
Filename  gcstar.jpg 
Filesize  318.82 KB 
Downloaded  344 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
Tenvarwen

Joined: 01 Jan 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jan 2013, 22:22    Post_subject: precise vs slacko
Sub_title: which would run better on a compaq presario r3200 amd32bit 512mb ddr1
 

hi am looking for suggestion on which version to run i
have precise5.4.3 installed but while its very fast there are some quirks
foremost is the wireless constantly dropping at random times and most important
when sitting idle ie. no user apps running the ram monitor suddenly goes to max like all the ram is being used and everything freeze for several mins
am new to puppy so ask for ay info you deem neccesary
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2241
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jan 2013, 04:20    Post_subject: Re: precise vs slacko
Sub_title: which would run better on a compaq presario r3200 amd32bit 512mb ddr1
 

Tenvarwen wrote:
precise5.4.3 installed ...
when sitting idle ie. no user apps running the ram monitor suddenly goes to max like all the ram is being used and everything freeze for several mins



Hmmm... I am also running Precise 5.4.3 (retro) at the moment (Pentium M CPU) and had a problem with CPU (but not ram) suddenly going to 100% and thus freezing the system. Somehow that problem has disappeared on my system. Unfortunately I'm not absolutely sure what it is I added that sorted the issue out for me. I did install the following cpu frequency scaling pet in my attempt to improve matters, and that may or may not have been what worked for me, but that is just a suspicion I have and I don't have time to retest since the problem only arose intermittently also. I'm keeping that pet installed now though, whether it is relevant or not, since all now running smoothly here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=671030#671030

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 19 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0900s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0132s) ][ GZIP on ]