Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 04:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Firstrun-2.2 (Country Settings and more)
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2011, 09:55    Post_subject: firstrun-1.9.5  

I am not sure whether this firstrun still needs to survive when the Barry's Quicksetup is already out. But i made an update focusing speed up in lauching dialogue.
Test release: firstrun-1.9.5.pet. See the top post.

Note:
Older versions did not show all languages but only the ones the current font can display.
This new version shows all language codes which puppy potentially supports. But some language names are not readable beacuase of the font is not available.
You need to install those font before you select such a langage.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 29 Nov 2011, 17:00    Post_subject:  

Hello shinobar

Seems to work nicely Smile

I have a custom pinstall.sh that I use with firstrun-1.9 and previous that fixes the symlinks when installing firstrun from "woof" build system previous to November 2011.

However, since Barry has added "quicksetup" as a part of "woof" all the DOTdesktop files have changed. What I can do is modify the pinstall.sh to remove or patch all the "quicksetup" stuff and then firstrun get's priority. Of course woof users, you must modify the /usr/sbin/delayedrun script to call this firstrun. I fear that "quicksetup" is well entrenched in things like "video-wizard" so I will need to make patches for all apps that "quicksetup" affects and restore "firstrun".

When I have it working well I will publish the custom pinstall.sh here for developers.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 09:44    Post_subject: Re: firstrun-1.9.5  

shinobar wrote:
I am not sure whether this firstrun still needs to survive when the Barry's Quicksetup is already out. But i made an update focusing speed up in launching dialogue.

Yes please do make it 'survive'.. I always use Firtsrun, which is better (IMHO) and more mature, supporting a wider variety of puppies... Also you might need or want to port some upgrades from Barrys QuickSetup in the future... or vice vera...

Quote:
Test release: firstrun-1.9.5.pet. See the top post.

Will try it out soon

Quote:
Older versions did not show all languages but only the ones the current font can display. This new version shows all language codes which puppy potentially supports. But some language names are not readable becuase of the font is not available.

Actually, I am using Firstrun 1.8.2 in 'Akita Linux' and can still see some language names in the list (such as japanese, chinese, others) seem not to be supported by the default system font in Akita (Ubuntu-Light)... But Arabic, Russian and others display OK - it is mainly the Asian fonts that do not display correctly.

I prefer to have all languages listed (like I do now), so i would like to know:

Quote:
You need to install those font before you select such a langage.

...where can I get japanese, thai, chinese, fonts from? Ideally with a small filesize?
lang-list.png
 Description   
 Filesize   26.8 KB
 Viewed   960 Time(s)

lang-list.png


_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 17:09    Post_subject: Re: firstrun-1.9.5  

shinobar wrote:
I am not sure whether this firstrun still needs to survive when the Barry's Quicksetup is already out. But i made an update focusing speed up in launching dialogue.
Hi Shinobar.

I had sent you a PM on this in the past. This product of yours needs to survive. It currently is the only single screen utility that we have. As Puppy matures into the LAN arena as it has over the past 18 months, this single screen approach for localization is a mainstay.

It also provide a single point where users can easily (via Menu>Settings) come back to in order to update or change those localization settings. this is important if you travel to other areas of the world. Its also very important should anyone need to change the station's name when necessary. It a single place that provide an excellent at a glance UI.

Barry has a good tool, but its approach is different and the components are broken apart. Your tool keeps all of the components along with its information in eye's view.

This has become an important tool for, not just distro developers, but most of all for the USERS!

Your work and the contributions of others has created a very stable tools that has addressed all of its aspects for localization. its easy to understand and its very easy to use.

Please do not abandon us on this. It currently is the best tool for startup and easy understand for simple users, as well. We need this tool.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 02 Dec 2011, 02:13    Post_subject:  

Ok, here is the pinstall.sh for woof

Note that in a non-woof install (even with the current script in 1.9.5) the chooselocale symlink to Barry's quicksetup is not removed so quicksetup is still called.

Code:
#!/bin/sh
#firsrun pinstall.sh
#=================== check if running from woof =========================
if [ ! "`pwd`" = "/" ];then

echo "Configuring first start wizard"
 QSPROG="countrywizard.qs"
 #[ -s $QSPROG ] || exit
 #rm -f ./tmp/firstrun 2>/dev/null
 for P in ./usr/sbin/countrywizard  ./usr/sbin/xrandrshell ./usr/sbin/timezone-set ./usr/sbin/quicksetup; do
  [ -s $P -a ! -L $P ] && cp -f $P $P.org
  rm -f $P
  ln -sf $QSPROG $P
 done
#remove Barry's QuickSetup
[ -f ./usr/share/applications/QuickSetup.desktop ] && rm -f ./usr/share/applications/QuickSetup.desktop
#==================  end woof  ==========================================
 else
 #================= v 1.9.5    ==========================================
 QSPROG=/usr/sbin/countrywizard.qs
[ -s .$QSPROG ] || exit
 rm -f ./tmp/firstrun
 for P in /usr/sbin/countrywizard  /usr/sbin/xrandrshell; do
  [ -s .$P -a ! -L .$P ] && cp -f .$P .$P.org
  rm -f .$P
  ln -sf $QSPROG .$P
 done
 # some old version (Puppy-4.2x etc) corrupts by the comment line
 if grep -q '#.*LANG=' ./etc/profile; then
   sed -e 's/#.*LANG=/#LANG:/g' ./etc/profile > /tmp/profile
  [ -s /tmp/profile ] && mv -f /tmp/profile ./etc/profile
 fi

 # LupQ has extralang conflicts with firstrun  # v1.9 removed extralang
 #[ -x ./root/Startup/extralang -a -x ./root/Startup/fullstart ] && chmod -x ./root/Startup/extralang

 # v1.9: remove old /root/Startup/fullstart, now renamed root/Startup/firstrun
 OLDFILE=/root/Startup/fullstart
 rm -f ."$OLDFILE"
 #================= end 1.9.5===========================================
fi
[quote][/quote]

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 02 Dec 2011, 03:04    Post_subject: Re: pinstall.sh  

Tnx micko. Will merge at next update.
_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 02 Dec 2011, 03:14    Post_subject: unifont  

sc0ttman wrote:
...where can I get japanese, thai, chinese, fonts from? Ideally with a small filesize?

You can find them in the lang_pack_all.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51702
  • M+1P+IPAG.ttf 1.9M ... Japanese only
  • wqy-microhey.ttf 5M ... Chinese, Japanese and Korean, no thai
  • unifont.ttf 16M ... univasal including CJK and thai

/etc/fonts/fonts.conf may also need to replace with that of Multilingual Wary, wary-511-01m, to show bold and italic.

Well, need some files are needed to support ko_KR and zh_CN locale.
That is /usr/share/i18n/locales/transit_cjk_variant_compat and iso14651_t1_pinyn you can find in the lang_pack_all.
i am not sure on thai but may need libthai components in /usr/lib and /usr/share/libthai for input.
These components are not essencial if you only want to read them.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 03 Dec 2011, 18:34    Post_subject:  

Hi Shinobar
Please make it obvious that you are offering a single Page "FirstRUN" and a double_page FirstRUN here. Right now you are showing a double page version which is not the version that distro owners are offering for user to see at boot.

Personally, I'm still in favor of the very simple approach of a single-page FirstRUN.

Hope this helps all.
1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   78.53 KB
 Viewed   799 Time(s)

1.png


_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 18 Dec 2011, 17:27    Post_subject:  

@Shinobar. Are you aware of this (posted in green)?

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 01 Jan 2012, 01:52    Post_subject: UPDETE: v1.9.6  

v1.9.6: UTF-8 on main dialog(tnx to zigbert)
Refreshed pinstall.sh but 01micko reports it has still problem with recent woof install. The distributer need to correct them by hand.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4276
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 31 Jan 2012, 16:17    Post_subject: hostname  

Hi Shinobar

Since your introduction with your FirstRUN it has become a startup "statue" to single screen localization as many have taken advantage of your design.

As a result, some, many, most new Pups from Puppyland have tended to adopt or attempt duplication of FirstRUN, alias "Personalize Settings".

Because of this all 64bit and several 32bit PUPs will boot from CD all the way to desktop to complete localization versus stopping at text mode screens before getting to desktop.

One of the great benefits to your effort has been for users to set the local PC's name (hostname).

Here's an issue that I think FirstRUN can make consistent in its implementation for all in Puppyland. And, I'll begin by stating the issue and sharing who has addressed it, individually and perhaps differently.

Issue: Setting of the hostname properly in ALL system fields for system/subsystem application use. There are actually 5 system parms/fields that reflect the hostname. I see these by executing the following commands
# hostname
Slacko-LaptopP3
# echo $HOSTNAME
Slacko-LaptopP3
# cat /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost Slacko-LaptopP3
192.168.1.1 pc2
192.168.1.2 pc3
192.168.1.3 pc4
# cat /etc/hostname
Slacko-LaptopP3

I had found that is the cases where FirstRUN is being used, it was important to exit the desktop and issue a logout before restarting the desktop via xwin.
This is evidence that shows what FirstRUN provides during its operation after initial system start.

But, here's the problem. The above shows ALL fields to be set properly, resulting from it being changed in FirstRUN, But, there is some in-memory remnants of the original hostname that remain for system use UNTIL A LOGOUT OCCURS! When a logout occurs, then all in-memory as well as these above parms are properly set for any system/subsystem/application use as it carries out operations on behalf of the user.
  • TaZoC solved it one way
  • Playdayz solved it a different way
  • 01Micko solved it in a different way


I feel that (barring no obstacles, of course) FirstRUN, logically, should be the place which addresses this need for correct system settings. Thus, no distro owner need to "create" a different approach.

So, my question is as following
Can/should/would FirstRUN address the hostname issue by a "logout and xwin restart" whenever a hostname change is entered in the hostname field of FirstRUN.

If this is done, the total community benefits because there will be a consistent fashion for handling of desktop startup for all distro builders and users, alike.

Please weigh a practical solution for this in FirstRUN. And, please keep in mind that a logout seems be a key ingredient of proper settings for all hostname fields.
Also, remember that 01Micko, Playdayz, and TaZoC have addressed this...but in different ways. A common approach would remove the need for specific, independent designs to address this issue.

In summary, i feel that should any user use FirstRun to set/reset the PC's name (hostname), some utility (FirstRUN) should schedule an immediate Logout and restart of the desktop when the OK button is clicked in FirstRUN.

Thanks in advance.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Tue 14 Feb 2012, 14:01    Post_subject:  

Downloaded the firstrun-1.9.6.pet which is actually a .gz file, i.e firstrun-1.9.6.gz(not tar.gz).

XArchive in Slacko 531 couldn't recognize or didn't support the format and therefore unable to extract the file.

Tried using the older Xarchiver (xarchiver-0.5.2-i386-v4.pet), also to no avail.

Please advise. Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb 2012, 08:53    Post_subject: Re: hostname  

gcmartin wrote:
In summary, i feel that should any user use FirstRun to set/reset the PC's name (hostname), some utility (FirstRUN) should schedule an immediate Logout and restart of the desktop when the OK button is clicked in FirstRUN.

I think it need not.
See my post:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=604667#604667

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 23 Feb 2012, 20:56    Post_subject: xinerama, dual screens  

I have a problem once I have enabled 2 screens through the "Nvidia Settings" program...
See screenshot.. List of resolutions not working.

Current resolution is apparently 'Choices'!

EDIT: I see some duplicate info in my xorg.conf, the 'driver'....


Here is my xorg.conf (old style, version 7.3)

Code:
......stuff
....
...

Section "Monitor"

#DisplaySize 300 230 # mm
### Comment all HorizSync and VertRefresh values to use DDC:
#UseModes "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "LG L1520B"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 63.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
    Option         "PreferredMode" "1024x768"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "TV-0"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 63.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Device"

### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "HWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "ShadowFB" # [<bool>]
#Option "UseFBDev" # [<bool>]
#Option "Rotate" # [<str>]
#Option "VideoKey" # <i>
#Option "FlatPanel" # [<bool>]
#Option "FPDither" # [<bool>]
#Option "CrtcNumber" # <i>
#Option "FPScale" # [<bool>]
#Option "FPTweak" # <i>
#Option "DualHead" # [<bool>]
        Driver      "vesa" #card0driver
    Identifier     "Card0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName      "NV34 [GeForce FX 5200]"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce FX 5200"
    BusID          "PCI:2:0:0"
    Screen          0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce FX 5200"
    BusID          "PCI:2:0:0"
    Screen          1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
# Removed Option "TwinView" "1"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: 1024x768 +0+0, TV: nvidia-auto-select +1024+0"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Videocard1"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT: 1024x768 +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Videocard0"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "TV: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
screeny1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   35.4 KB
 Viewed   621 Time(s)

screeny1.png


_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3289
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 07 Mar 2012, 21:29    Post_subject:  

Note to Shinobar

I did an experiment to switch the "OpenWith' folder
from an English version to a German version
automaticlly.

I used Lazy since it has a lot of right click menu items and is mainly German.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=610425&sid=2c9882d32be53d5bc604e5aa54b1da83#610425

Note that your recent version of Firstrun 1.9.6 isn't totally
compatible but I'm sure that a little work will it compatible.

_____________________________________________________-
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1315s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0123s) ][ GZIP on ]