Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 00:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 31 of 33 [487 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 29, 30, 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
willem1940NLD

Joined: 06 Jul 2010
Posts: 205
Location: Sittard, Limburg, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue 07 Feb 2012, 21:08    Post subject:  

An old Office pet I already mentioned, works in my racy 522 on Harddisk ..... but keeps crashing in 2 rather new and cleanly installed USB sticks.

Apart from the seeming HD/usbStick difference, does somebody happen to know a newer Office that works in racy? I need Presentation for pps/ppt files. The sfs offered in package manager I cannot get to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 13:58    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
setxkbmap worked setting it for geany once but not typing into sakura terminal emulator .

Then i changed a lot and next time it worked perfectly .

Most of the times it worked ok as i can remember .

Being GTK applications, geany and sakura may not always honor your keyboard settings. GTK likes to add its own layers of complication to things.

For instance, using the default Racy 5.2.2 locale, en_US, and setting the intl variant of the us keyboard layout, hitting the key left of Enter (the apostrophe key on the us layout) followed by hitting c generates "ccedilla" (ç). If you test this with xev, it will correctly report:
Code:
XmbLookupString gives 1 bytes: (e7) "ç"

And when using urxvt the proper character is entered.

But in geany 0.19.1, the character entered is "cacute" (ć), and in sakura 2.3.8, the character entered is "c" (c).

When GTK first introduced this "feature", there was quite a bit of traffic on various forums from people in Brazil who were using US keyboards. Suddenly they had to learn where ç had moved to, and then retrain their fingers to break a lifetime habit of hitting ' and c to get ç. Not only that, but their fingers had to remember which applications used the new placement, and which applications still honored the keyboard settings they had defined.

Alternatively, they had to use a work-around, like setting a GTK input method.

Two input methods that work for this particular case can be set like this (using geany as an example):
Code:
GTK_IM_MODULE=cedilla geany

or
Code:
GTK_IM_MODULE=xim geany

The first corrects the cedilla problem while retaining other features of the default GTK input method (like direct entry of Unicode values). The second should honor all codes sent by X.

These commands will work for sakura as well, or you can use the sakura menu item Options -> Input methods.

I am of the opinion that if a user sets up a her keyboard settings a certain way, an application should honor those settings unless she specifies the --gtk-go-ahead-GTK-please-scramble-my-keyboard option. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
willem1940NLD

Joined: 06 Jul 2010
Posts: 205
Location: Sittard, Limburg, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 14:55    Post subject:  

@npierce

ć
Ć

Your charms seem to work in geany only, not here in my posting?

I experience(d) the same problem in various non-puppy distros and I happen to need USA-(alt)-int getting rid of the nuisance.

(sakura: not found)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 15:43    Post subject:  

willem1940NLD wrote:
. . .work in geany only, not here in my posting?

For seamonkey in Racy 5.2.2, quit completely from seamonkey (all seamonkey windows should close), and try this command:
Code:
GTK_IM_MODULE=xim seamonkey

If you enter that command before quitting, seamonkey doesn't actually start a new instance, just opens a new window, and continues to use the default input method.

ç
Ç

willem1940NLD wrote:
(sakura: not found)

Sakura Terminal Emulator
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
willem1940NLD

Joined: 06 Jul 2010
Posts: 205
Location: Sittard, Limburg, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 16:10    Post subject:  

@npierce:

I tested the "cedilla" command on firefox and office (525 pup this moment).

Thx, I see now; but the command does not stick, just lasts for the session that opens in reaction.

Anyhow, interesting to see that apps obey for the moment, openoffice as well (libreoffice in 5.2.5 puppy) but useless for durable repairs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Wed 08 Feb 2012, 23:56    Post subject:  

Willem,

If you want to set the "cedilla" input method permanently on your Puppy for one or more GTK applications, there are various ways to do it.

But we may be straying too far off-topic for this Racy bugs thread. Perhaps it would be best for you to start a new thread in the Users forum, and we can continue this conversation there.

N.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Thu 09 Feb 2012, 06:47    Post subject:  

npierce wrote:
Karl Godt wrote:
setxkbmap worked setting it for geany once but not typing into sakura terminal emulator .

Then i changed a lot and next time it worked perfectly .

Most of the times it worked ok as i can remember .

Being GTK applications, geany and sakura may not always honor your keyboard settings. GTK likes to add its own layers of complication to things.

.

I am of the opinion that if a user sets up a her keyboard settings a certain way, an application should honor those settings unless she specifies the --gtk-go-ahead-GTK-please-scramble-my-keyboard option. Smile


Superduper , npierce ..
May i ask you what is your profession ?

I actually use your diff for
Subject: filemnt won't mount two files with same base name.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=430987#430987
Since /usr/sbin/filemnt in Racy has the feature to mount encrypted save files by GUI would like to have this feature in Racy too . Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Fri 10 Feb 2012, 23:26    Post subject: Various fixes for filemnt  

Karl Godt wrote:
I actually use your diff for
Subject: filemnt won't mount two files with same base name.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=430987#430987
Since /usr/sbin/filemnt in Racy has the feature to mount encrypted save files by GUI would like to have this feature in Racy too . Cool

Hi Karl,

Thanks for the reminder. As it happens, I was working on a Racy version of this about three weeks ago, but didn't have time then to finish testing it. Then I got distracted by other things and didn't get back to it -- well, not until now. Here it is.

==========================================================

The attached filemnt has five changes:

1. Corrects false positives in test that checks to see if file is already mounted.

Because having a single file mounted at two mount points is a confusing and possibly dangerous thing, filemnt tests to see if it is already mounted. This has been true for years. But the existing code has a quirk.

If you happen to have two different files with the same base name, attempting to mount the second file will give you something similar to the following xmessage which is quite puzzling because it simply isn't true.
Quote:
Sorry /mnt/sr0/puppy_racy_5.2.2.sfs is already mounted and in-use by Puppy

With this new version, you may mount two or more files that happen to have the same name, as long as they are not actually the same file.

For instance, if you are comparing two versions of an .sfs file, you may mount both the old and new versions (at different mount points, obviously) without the need to temporarily rename one of them.


2. Corrects false negatives in test that checks to see if file is already mounted.

With the current filemnt, if the filename itself (not a directory name) is a symlink, then filemnt will allow the file to be mounted twice. This new version corrects this.


3. Expands the error message that appears when a user does attempt to mount a single file twice.

Now it gives not just the pathname of the file you tried to mount, but also the mount point of the mounted file and the pathname that was used when it was mounted. This helps the user to find the already mounted file.


4. Prevents creation of directory in /mnt/ when given an invalid pathname.

Since most people access filemnt by clicking on icons in ROX-Filer, this would rarely happen. But if you run the existing filemnt from the command line, and pass it a bad filename, it will go ahead and create a directory for it in /mnt/ even though it has no file to mount. This new version prevents this.


5. Corrected code that determines absolute pathname of a file in the current directory.

filemnt creates a unique name for the mount point which is based on the pathname of the file. If the user mounts a file that is in the current directory, and doesn't give the absolute pathname, filemnt determines the absolute pathname so that it can create a unique name.

But due to a minor bug, this was not working. Instead the mount point was based only on the name of the file. So if you had a file named "test.sfs" in two directories, went to the first directory, mounted its test.sfs with the command filemnt test.sfs, then changed to the other directory and mounted its test.sfs with the same command, filemnt would be confused. Because it thinks the absolute pathname is the same for both files, it assumes that the file is already mounted, so the second file would not be mounted, and the first file would be unmounted.

Again, this would rarely be a problem, since most people use filemnt through ROX-Filer, which supplies absolute file names.

==========================================================

Karl, I'm glad that you found my old version useful. I hope this Racy version works as well for you. My profession? Just an old hardware guy trying to make it in a software world. Smile
filemnt.gz
Description  Modified filemnt, based on Racy-5.2.2 filemnt
gz

 Download 
Filename  filemnt.gz 
Filesize  2.57 KB 
Downloaded  348 Time(s) 
filemnt.diff.gz
Description  diff -u for Racy-5.2.2 filemnt and above filemnt
gz

 Download 
Filename  filemnt.diff.gz 
Filesize  983 Bytes 
Downloaded  337 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3289
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 11 Feb 2012, 17:16    Post subject: new version of Right click package  

I've made a new version of Right click package
with newest bacon recorder and ffconvert

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=603817#603817

________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb 2012, 11:55    Post subject:  

I attempted to install the latest ati catalyst driver, namely amd-driver-installer-12-1-x86.x86_64.run for my Radeon HD5450 graphics card, with the devx_racy_5.2.2.sfs and the kernel_src-3.0.7-patched.sfs (both checked for md5sum integrity) loaded in bootmanager config bootup. Installation completed successfully, then run aticonfig --initial, and reboot.

But it failed to boot straight into puppy, so had to run xorgwizard, "choose" fglrx, selected the resolution, yet it fell back to using the radeon driver instead. Also the AMD Catalyst Control Center wasn't found,no menu item created. Report-video showed radeon not fglrx driver used.

I've also removed the Xorg-High-GLX driver that was installed from quickpet>drivers and reverted to vesa before running the AMD-driver-installer again, but to no avail. Have repeated the process a number of times, the same result each time.

Wonder what went wrong; am quite familiar with installing ATI or NVidia drivers for my various puppies. Hope someone can point it out to me.

Added: Just discovered there is a nouveau driver offered in the xorgwizard list, I suspect this could be causing the conflict,problem is how to remove it.

Last edited by PenguinPupLin on Wed 15 Feb 2012, 12:30; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2099
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb 2012, 12:16    Post subject:  

PenguinPupLin wrote:
I attempted to install the latest ati catalyst driver, namely amd-driver-installer-12-1-x86.x86_64.run for my Radeon HD5450 graphics card, with the devx_racy_5.2.2.sfs and the kernel_src-3.0.7-patched.sfs (both checked for md5sum integrity) loaded in bootmanager config bootup. Installation completed successfully, then run aticonfig --initial, and reboot.

But it failed to boot straight into puppy, so had to run xorgwizard, "choose" fglrx, selected the resolution, yet it fell back to using the radeon driver instead. Also the AMD Catalyst Control Center wasn't found,no menu item created. Report-video showed radeon not fglrx driver used.

I've also removed the Xorg-High-GLX driver that was installed from quickpet>drivers and reverted to vesa before running the AMD-driver-installer again, but to no avail. Have repeated the process a number of times, the same result each time.

Wonder what went wrong; am quite familiar with installing ATI or NVidia drivers for my various puppies. Hope someone can point it out to me.


I installed the ati driver and it's working, I did it in the terminal not from the prompt, when it finished I entered aticonfig --initial and exited the terminal, then rebooted.
atiscrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   179.69 KB
 Viewed   1125 Time(s)

atiscrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb 2012, 12:55    Post subject:  

Thanks,Billtoo,for your quick response. You've got AMD CCC working though your report-video still showed vesa driver. My AMD CCC suddenly appeared in the menu minus the icons after I unloaded the devx and kernel source files and rebooted.

Then I did what you suggested and run the installer in the terminal ( i now recalled ever once doing it this way before for one of my other puppies,successfully). Again, it failed to boot into racy and had to run xorgwizard, choose fglrx,etc, to get in, and clicking on the AMD CCC popped up "initialization error".

Btw, I also have other sfs loaded together with the devx and kernel source files on bootup, namely opera-11.62.sfs, cjk_lang_pack.sfs and jre.sfs - thought it's ok.

It's getting very late,past midnight here, I'll try again tomorrow and report back; maybe I'd revert to vesa driver first before reinstalling the amd driver. Another thing,in my previous post,I added the remark about nouveau driver inbuilt in racy522.

Just noticed you're using HD2400 XT card, AFAIK, I think your graphics card is no longer supported by the newer catalyst driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2099
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 15 Feb 2012, 14:21    Post subject:  

PenguinPupLin wrote:


Just noticed you're using HD2400 XT card, AFAIK, I think your graphics card is no longer supported by the newer catalyst driver.


This is what I get on a new racy 522 install:

# report-video
Racy Puppy, version 5.2.2 on Wed 15 Feb 2012

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 2400 XT
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: M74 01.00

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: # vesa

X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1680x1050 pixels (444x277 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
# glxgears
2250 frames in 5.0 seconds = 449.868 FPS
2260 frames in 5.0 seconds = 451.843 FPS
2257 frames in 5.0 seconds = 451.377 FPS
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is after loading the devx and kernel source sfs files and installing the ati proprietary driver:

# report-video
Racy Puppy, version 5.2.2 on Wed 15 Feb 2012

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 2400 XT
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: M74 01.00

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: # vesa

X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1680x1050 pixels (444x277 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
# glxgears
24559 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4911.760 FPS
24985 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4996.982 FPS
25102 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5020.259 FPS
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is what hardinfo reports after installing the proprietary driver:

Display
Resolution 1680x1050 pixels
OpenGL Renderer ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2400 XT
X11 Vendor The X.Org Foundation

OpenGL
Vendor Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Renderer ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2400 XT
Version 3.3.11399 Compatibility Profile Context
Direct Rendering Yes

There is a bug in report-video and report-video-glx and it always
reports the "driver used" as vesa but you can see by the glxgears fps
rate that hardware acceleration is working.

Nexuiz also plays great now (my favorite shoot'em up game) Smile

That's the latest ati driver as far as I know, it was just released last month.
part1scrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   187.5 KB
 Viewed   1084 Time(s)

part1scrn.jpg

part2scrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   207.8 KB
 Viewed   1090 Time(s)

part2scrn.jpg

part3scrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   167.3 KB
 Viewed   1099 Time(s)

part3scrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PenguinPupLin

Joined: 23 Dec 2011
Posts: 126
Location: The Little Red Dot

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2012, 06:26    Post subject:  

Nice,happy for you, but,unfortunately, no such luck for my PCIe Radeon HD5450 - I tried 3x today to install the AMD catalyst driver 12-1 in terminal, twice in vesa, all to no avail, each time having to use the --force command to override the previously installed (but same ver) catalyst driver .

Seeing that your AGP Radeon HD2400 XT works fine with the latest catalyst driver is a small consolation for me as I've an older AGP Radeon HD2600 Pro graphics card that I can use for another older desktop PC which presently has the AGP Radeon 9550.

Meanwhile, for the PCIe Radeon HD5450, I've reverted back to the Xorg_High-GLX driver recommended under Quickpet>Drivers until such time a working Catalyst driver is posted in the PPM repository for Racy 522.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2099
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 16 Feb 2012, 11:37    Post subject:  

PenguinPupLin wrote:

Seeing that your AGP Radeon HD2400 XT works fine with the latest catalyst driver is a small consolation for me as I've an older AGP Radeon HD2600 Pro graphics card that I can use for another older desktop PC which presently has the AGP Radeon 9550.


I used the same method on my aao netbook which has ati hd4200.

Thu 16 Feb 2012 Operating System: Racy Puppy-5.2.2 Linux 3.0.7
5.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc M880G [Mobility Radeon HD 4200]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS product: RS880M 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: # vesa
X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1024x600 pixels (270x158 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series
OpenGL version string: 3.3.11399 Compatibility Profile Context

# glxgears
9007 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1801.331 FPS
8983 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1796.447 FPS
9116 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1823.138 FPS

I'm running from the live dvd (cheaper than cd here) with a save file on this netbook and the imac which has the HD 2400 XT.
I hope you get it working, good luck Smile

EDIT: One more, acer laptop with ati 5470:
Thu 16 Feb 2012 Operating System: Racy Puppy-5.2.2 Linux 3.0.7
0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Manhattan
[Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS product: PARK 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: # vesa
X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1600x900 pixels (423x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4om
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5400 Series
OpenGL version string: 4.2.11399 Compatibility Profile Context

# glxgears
27505 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5500.844 FPS
27720 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5543.973 FPS
27835 frames in 5.0 seconds = 5566.824 FPS

Maybe you could try running from the live cd/dvd with a save file just
to see if it will work for you?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 31 of 33 [487 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 29, 30, 31, 32, 33 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1419s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0143s) ][ GZIP on ]