Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 09:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
Gramps: genealogical research program
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 06 Jun 2011, 01:00    Post_subject:  Gramps: genealogical research program  

http://gramps-project.org/

Made from the latest sourceforge debian release. It needs the attached libdb-4.4.so.pet, plus Technosaurus's Python%2B-2.6.4-i486.pet.

I've uploaded to mediafire here:

gramps-3.4.2-1.pet (3.22Mbytes)
gramps-NLS-3.4.2-1.pet (4.42Mbytes)

Run via Menu>Personal>Personal Info>Gramps

If you want to try the debian graphviz & ttf-freefont packages, I've converted them to pets here:

graphviz-2.26.3-12-i386.pet
ttf-freefont-20090104-5.pet


N.B. If run from the commandline it will give an error about missing spell checker.
libdb-4.4.so.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  libdb-4.4.so.pet 
Filesize  450.06 KB 
Downloaded  1430 Time(s) 
gramps.png
 Description   
 Filesize   46.67 KB
 Viewed   2958 Time(s)

gramps.png


Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 483
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 17:28    Post_subject:  

Thanks, muggins, just need to learn how to use it now.
_________________
Don't poop it down... Pup it Up ! http://pupitup.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 22:50    Post_subject:  

Uploaded v3.3.1-1.pet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MoebusNet

Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2011, 17:43    Post_subject:  

muggins wrote:
Uploaded v3.3.1-1.pet.


Installed Python+-2.6.4-i486.pet, libdb-4.4.so.pet, gramps-NLS-3.3.1-1.pet, gramps-3.3.1-1.pet in that order. Packages installed properly, program opens and runs. Lucid Puppy 5.28. Great job!

_________________
Acer Aspire One D255-2301 (N450 Atom @ 1.6 Ghz, 1 Gb RAM, 160 Gb HDD w/WinXP, ENE SD card reader, Alps touchpad) 5.28/5.3.1 via manual-frugal ext4 USB flash drive (4Gb) using GRUB4DOS
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zippytex

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Sun 05 Feb 2012, 15:53    Post_subject: installing gramps in puppy 528
Sub_title: it works
 

I follow the order of installation as above. There it is under menu, personal.

Thank you so much, for all the hard work you've done!! Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zippytex

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Mon 20 Feb 2012, 00:44    Post_subject: Pet package for gramps
Sub_title: installed the four packages...
 

I downloaded and installed the four packages.
I found gramps in the personal tab.
However, it will not execute the program.
I installed the Lucid puppy 528

Dell latitude c400, 1.2 ghz, 800mb ram

Thanks for you help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 02:01    Post_subject:  

Hello Zippytex,

I don't have an install of lupu528, but I do of lupu528-004-alt, which is pretty much the same, under the hood. On that I just installed the gramps pet, and it definitely started from the menu, and also from the commandline. (with a couple of errors with the latter about missing spellchecker, and some other plugin).

When you downloaded the pets, did you use a downloader that can resume breaks in trransmission? Because perhaps one the downloads was corrupted. For mediafire, (for the gramps package), you can just use, (in a console):

Code:
wget -c URL-of-gramps-package


Or, what error do you get, if you just enter gramps in a console?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zippytex

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 11:34    Post_subject: gramps on puppy lucid 528
Sub_title: install
 

muggins wrote:
Hello Zippytex,

I don't have an install of lupu528, but I do of lupu528-004-alt, which is pretty much the same, under the hood. On that I just installed the gramps pet, and it definitely started from the menu, and also from the commandline. (with a couple of errors with the latter about missing spellchecker, and some other plugin).

When you downloaded the pets, did you use a downloader that can resume breaks in trransmission? Because perhaps one the downloads was corrupted. For mediafire, (for the gramps package), you can just use, (in a console):

Code:
wget -c URL-of-gramps-package


Or, what error do you get, if you just enter gramps in a console?



Thanks for responding. Below is the console message.

sh-4.1# gramps
/usr/bin/gramps: line 28: /usr/bin/python: No such file or directory
/usr/bin/gramps: line 28: exec: /usr/bin/python: cannot execute: No such file

I am going to download the pet file via console.
Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zippytex

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 11:42    Post_subject: gramps on puppy lucid 528
Sub_title: download with console
 

It gave index.html as a place to go to. I opened the file and it took me to a century web site with nothing to do with gramps.

http://webhelper.centurylink.com/index.php?origURL=file%3A///root/index.html&r=

the above is where the index.html took me to.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zippytex

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 12:32    Post_subject: Muggins- It was the first python file listed
Sub_title: my fault not file
 

It was a case of not knowing where to put the extracted file, so I made up a folder and extracted it there.

I downloaded the python +-2.6.4-i486.pet and extracted it to a folder I created called 'downloads/extract' and the extraction created a folder called Python+-2.6.4-i486. Inside that folder were two more folders, called, usr and var and file called pet.specs.
Inside the usr file are two folders called, bin and lib.
Inside the bin folder were files called python and python2.6
I merged the all the files to the 'real' storage place for these files, root/usr

Now it works. I hope I haven't screwed it up for anything else. I would have to just reformat and start all over.

I need to learn more about extraction and where to do it.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 21 Feb 2012, 19:15    Post_subject:  

Code:
/usr/bin/gramps: line 28: /usr/bin/python: No such file or directory


The above indicates that the python pet didn't download properly, as it does have /usr/bin/python, as you later confirmed.

You didn't say if you were using a downloader that can resume. Two, for firefox, are FlashGot and DownThemAll. Or, under the menu, in the
internet subsection, you could use Uget.

Regarding downloading just an index file, from Mediafire, if you had refreshed the mediafire page, then the link would be right.

If the pets aren't corrupted, just clicking them should have installed them. However if you want to look inside, to see what they contain, copy xxx.pet to xxx.tgz, then, when clicked, choose No to install, and they will be opened with xarchive.

Glad you got it working eventully.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zippytex

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Mon 05 Mar 2012, 22:59    Post_subject: downloading the first python file
Sub_title: archive
 

When I start to install it, it asks me do I want to install it in an existing archive or make a new one. What do I answer? Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3518
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 06 Mar 2012, 10:35    Post_subject: Re: downloading the first python file
Sub_title: archive
 

zippytex wrote:
existing archive or make a new one. What do I answer?

1. Background:
I haven't been following this thread, and I don't use Gramps, because I've used the Windows program = "RootsMagic" for years now...
But....

2. This sounds like you've run the Gramps program for the 1st time, and it's doing what all Genealogical programs do...
Which is to give you the opportunity to...
Either import an EXISTING archive...
Or else...
Set up or make a NEW archive.
So...

3. Do you already have an existing archive set up and in use?
My database has been made in a folder I made and specified to be the home of the [35] database files.

4.
(a) It is possible to make multiple databases, each for a different Family Tree.
And/or...
(b) You can import another family tree [provided by someone else?] into your own tree.
[Importing can produce a single combined tree, if you do the right thing as explained below]
If I remember right, to make them connect to become a single tree, you need to LINK two people who have some relationship.
It helps to know/plan in advance whom you will link, and what should be the result.
Beware of the result producing duplicate individuals, if they exist in both the original trees!
(c) You can have a combined tree [new combined database] PLUS the original 2 separate trees [the original 2 databases]
Can't remember the details of how I did this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zippytex

Joined: 06 Feb 2009
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2012, 03:26    Post_subject: THANK YOU! THANK YOU!
Sub_title: I installed gramps with no problem!
 

I do not know what I did the first time, but this time I downloaded all four packages and installed them (I do not remember the order). It worked! Before it had been in personal, but would not execute, but this time, it did! I sure do thank you for all your hard work!! It means a lot to me!. I installed gramps on a Dell latitude c400 (ultra-light) with 1 gb memory, 1.2ghz cpu, running slacko. I was going to run roots magic with wine, but gramps is better. Thanks! Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
autofyrsto

Joined: 24 Jun 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2012, 13:30    Post_subject: Gramps 3.4.0
Sub_title: New Release
 

Thanks for these! I'm new to Puppy, and these .pets got me off on the right foot.

After installing Gramps-3.3.1 as described above, making .pets for the latest Gramps-3.4.0 was a snap. I uninstalled Gramps-3.3.1 before I installed these, and they seem to work just fine. Enjoy!

gramps-3.4.0.pet (3.13 Mbytes)
gramps_NLS-3.4.0.pet (4.33 Mbytes)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 2.7326s ][ Queries: 13 (2.6506s) ][ GZIP on ]