jwm_tools-0.9 (was jwm_menu_create)

Window managers, icon programs, widgets, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

#61 Post by sc0ttman »

to remove duplicates, using a quick dirty fix (im too dumb to understand technos guide above):

remove all tabs and spaces fro mthe start of the <Program> lines

then, right at the end of the script, echo it all to a VAR, then 'uniq' then echo to .jwmrc

# ugly fix to remove duplicates that end up in the same sub menu
FILE1=`cat ${HOME}/.jwmrc | uniq `
echo "$FILE1" > ${HOME}/.jwmrc#

this totally goes against the shell only thing, but it works
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#62 Post by technosaurus »

Hmm interesting solution, could probably pipe it through unique when echoing it to the .jwmrc[/img]
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#63 Post by technosaurus »

I have made some changes to eliminate duplicate menu entries and added support for keybindings... It borks the pretty formatting in the jwmrc, but it works, so I will upload when I get home.
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#64 Post by technosaurus »

v0.9 is uploaded and ready for testing, see initial post
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#65 Post by 01micko »

Ok, trialling this in Slacko on my lappy with jwm-svn572.

This works fine:

Code: Select all

jwm_menu_create && jwm -reload.
*If* I were to use this in the next release this is what I think I would have to do:
  • patch petget to run jwm_menu_create && jwm -reload (or -restart depending on version)
    patch the jwm_install_menu_create to read /etc/DISTRO_SPECS which provides DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX (eg "slacko", "wary5", "dpup") and only show those repos, maybe cross reference with ~/.packages/woof-installed-packages for obvious reasons, also filter out the DISTRO_COMPAT_REPOS with "Packages-puppy-*" instead of "Packages-"
    ---Possible support for closest geographical repo based on locale???
    set 'DRIVES=""' as default since I'm using rox-desktop
    anything anyone else can think of?
I really like the speed, simplicity and ease of use, not to mention built in locale support.
Attachments
jwm1.png
(99.51 KiB) Downloaded 799 times
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#66 Post by technosaurus »

jwm -reload ¦¦ jwm -restart
This should work regardless of version

I hard coded the repository locations in jwm_install_menu_create because there was no standard and Barry renamed a bunch of directories on ibiblio and broke all a lot of older versions... Let me know if it is at a permanent state and I will update them. (i initially had it using distrospecs)

The only other thing I will add before 1.0 is pseudo-icon support, but I am still debating the best way, I was thinking about using $HOME/Desktop as in many DEs, and supporting both rox and jwm. Any thoughts on that?
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#67 Post by 01micko »

Code: Select all

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/quirky/

pet_packages-common/	2012-Jan-08 19:24:08	- 	Directory
pet_packages-drake/	2011-Jul-28 04:42:14	- 	Directory
pet_packages-noarch/	2012-Jan-08 06:54:10	- 	Directory
pet_packages-quirky/	2011-May-28 03:40:42	- 	Directory
pet_packages-squeeze/	2011-Nov-25 21:18:50	- 	Directory
pet_packages-wary5/	2012-Jan-10 19:30:11	- 	Directory
that's the state of ibiblio/quirky atm (plus a wary5OLD, I guess deprecated), note "pet_packages-noarch/" for future arm support.. <OT>wonder if(when) arm-puppy becomes available if jwm will compile and run? I might put in a feature request to Joe for a restart when swithching from landscape to portrait mode (inverted, left, right etc) when switching with xrandr, probably will be needed for tablets/phones etc.</OT>

here's ibiblio/puppylinux

Code: Select all

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/

pet-packages-lucid/	2012-Jan-11 11:52:41	- 	Directory
pet_packages-2/	2009-Jun-09 23:44:00	- 	Directory
pet_packages-3/	2008-Apr-19 21:45:38	- 	Directory
pet_packages-4/	2011-Jan-23 12:18:50	- 	Directory
pet_packages-5/	2011-Feb-19 21:13:44	- 	Directory
pet_packages-lucid/	2012-Jan-11 11:52:41	- 	Directory
pet_packages-slacko/	2012-Jan-05 11:08:29	- 	Directory
...but pet-packages-lucid/ (hy-phen) isn't needed as pet_packages-lucid/ (under_score) is a link to it.
The only other thing I will add before 1.0 is pseudo-icon support, but I am still debating the best way, I was thinking about using $HOME/Desktop as in many DEs, and supporting both rox and jwm. Any thoughts on that?
I for one like that idea.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#68 Post by technosaurus »

My bandwidth is too low to download all of the packages to get the pet.specs files from all of the packages to generate the package lists (i didn't see them in the repo). Perhaps this would be a good thing to suggest to Barry as a way to get updated package lists (and save some of his scarce bandwidth too)
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#69 Post by 01micko »

Packages-puppy-2-official 2009-Mar-31 19:33:46 25.4K application/octet-stream
Packages-puppy-3-official 2009-Aug-05 11:10:12 28.4K application/octet-stream
Packages-puppy-4-official 2010-Feb-06 20:39:19 89.4K application/octet-stream
Packages-puppy-5-official 2011-Feb-19 07:11:27 24.1K application/octet-stream
Packages-puppy-lucid-official 2012-Jan-14 11:39:37 35.5K application/octet-stream
Packages-puppy-slacko-official 2011-Dec-12 06:42:18 56.2K application/octet-stream
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/dis ... uppylinux/

Those lists are based on the pet.specs, same is in the quirky repo respectively.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#70 Post by technosaurus »

Ah, I was expecting to see them in each directory, that will actually simplify using wget to get updates... Maybe a checklist to turn on/off different repos too.
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#71 Post by 01micko »

Ok, so I have .9 in the Slacko-5.3.1.2 alpha .. fairly raw, as in I didn't really hack anything. I did attempt to patch PPM, diffs and files attached.
Attachments
ppmdiffs.tar.gz
(15.82 KiB) Downloaded 412 times
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

button size in window tittle

#72 Post by mavrothal »

It would appear that changing the window hight and/or the window tittle font size does not affect the size of the minimize/maximize/close buttons.
Is there a way to resize them accordingly?
Thx
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#73 Post by technosaurus »

They are hard coded ... As is the default icon (the ugly X) if you send an alternative set I can recompile jwm with them.
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#74 Post by 01micko »

Wasn't that hard to actually patch jwm (newer version with older version icons widened a bit.), getting it to look right was another thing.

I'll post the patch and mavrothal I'll pm a bin for you.

The patch could be adjusted to suit your needs provided you know what you are doing with the xbm image format. Mtpaint handles it better than gimp actually.
Attachments
jwm_deco-wider.patch.gz
for late model jwm (made in 576). I don't know
when Joe hard coded the icons so I don't know how far
back this patch will support.
(488 Bytes) Downloaded 423 times
deco-wider.png
(2.81 KiB) Downloaded 610 times
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#75 Post by mavrothal »

01micko wrote:Wasn't that hard to actually patch jwm (newer version with older version icons widened a bit.), getting it to look right was another thing.

I'll post the patch and mavrothal I'll pm a bin for you.

The patch could be adjusted to suit your needs provided you know what you are doing with the xbm image format. Mtpaint handles it better than gimp actually.
The slacko version works just fine :D
I also made an XOpup/Lupu version
Thanks!
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#76 Post by 01micko »

Boy I can be a dumb ass! Only have to tell fixmenus that jwm_menu_create exists and that solves a bunch of stupid patches!
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
sc0ttman
Posts: 2812
Joined: Wed 16 Sep 2009, 05:44
Location: UK

#77 Post by sc0ttman »

01micko wrote:Boy I can be a dumb ass! Only have to tell fixmenus that jwm_menu_create exists and that solves a bunch of stupid patches!
In case anyone else wants to add this to their puppy.... Here is Akitas fixmenus.. it's been using jwm_menu_create for a while now...

Code: Select all

#!/bin/ash
LANG=$LANG
SUBMENU=0 myLANG=$LANG /usr/bin/jwm_menu_create
pidof jwm 2>&1 && jwm -restart
pidof openbox 2>&1 && ob-xdgmenu
pidof openbox 2>&1 && obmenu-refresh
pidof fbpanel 2>&1 && fbpanel_menu_refresh
pidof fbpanel 2>&1 && [ "`which variconlinks`" != "" ] && variconlinks #100404 for my fbpanel pkg.
pidof lxpanel 2>&1 && lxpanel_menu_refresh
pidof xfdesktop 2>&1 && xfdesktop -reload # xfce fix, dec15 2012
pidof xfce4-panel 2>&1 && rm ${HOME}/.cache/xfce4/desktop/menu* # xfce fix, dec15 2012
exit 0
[b][url=https://bit.ly/2KjtxoD]Pkg[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2U6dzxV]mdsh[/url], [url=https://bit.ly/2G49OE8]Woofy[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/bzBU1]Akita[/url], [url=http://goo.gl/SO5ug]VLC-GTK[/url], [url=https://tiny.cc/c2hnfz]Search[/url][/b]

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#78 Post by musher0 »

:P Thee probleme, mon ami technosaurus, eet ees that yoouur scrîpt does not peeck up thee *.desktop files à /usr/local/share/applications also. I had too doo all sorts of deerectory contorsions to incorporate dem, with very petit success. (How do you laîke my French accent?) :D

TWYL.
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

musher0
Posts: 14629
Joined: Mon 05 Jan 2009, 00:54
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

#79 Post by musher0 »

I found a solution, working on aragon's spm2.

It is ridiculous to leave out perhaps one third of the programs because we do not access /usr/local/share/applications, no ?

Please see that thread. Thanks.

TWYL.
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
"You want it darker? We kill the flame." (L. Cohen)

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#80 Post by technosaurus »

musher0 wrote:I found a solution, working on aragon's spm2.

It is ridiculous to leave out perhaps one third of the programs because we do not access /usr/local/share/applications, no ?

Please see that thread. Thanks.

TWYL.
WTF, You get to be in the same list with otropogo... mon ami

Code: Select all

for DESKTOP_FILE in /usr/share/applications/*.desktop ; do
to this

Code: Select all

for DESKTOP_FILE in /usr/share/applications/*.desktop  /usr/local/share/applications/*.desktop ; do
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

Post Reply