Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 06:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko Puppy 5.3.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 26 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3307
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 15:40    Post subject:  

Code:
Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02) 
oem: Intel(r) 82945G Chipset Family Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(r) 82945G Chipset Family Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0
 
X Server: Xorg
Driver used: intel



I tested Slacko 531 on a Pentium4 with intel graphics
and it selected the intel driver and booted nicely.

No problem with sound either.

________________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3307
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2011, 15:44    Post subject:  

I installed Right click on Slacko and it worked nicely
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=67013

But first install ghasher or gtkhash to get md5sums.

________________________________________________

I upgraded gtkhash to version 0.5.0 and checked it on slacko
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=576619230&t=73839

__________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1051
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 15 Dec 2011, 07:00    Post subject:  

Viewing the text in this forum, particularly the text in blue or hyperlinks, default fonts in Seamonkey 2.5 could stand a little tweaking. Nice color scheme, particularly the menu tree. Task bar does a cute disappearing trick when unoccupied. Uh-oh, no "mount" icon. I'm gonna miss this. I guess it was considered to be redundant?
Last edited by nubc on Sun 18 Dec 2011, 05:49; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1907
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Thu 15 Dec 2011, 17:28    Post subject:  

Running 3builddistro with a vanilla Slacko build with Woof2. I'm looking for creative ideas for 5.3.2 and trying to get certain packages to work right (most notably, wbar and idesk).

Works splendidly so far, except some mess in 3builddistro. It fails to create /root/.packages for some reason.

I'd like to thank you, Mick, for all your hard work and the willingness to cooperate with other developers, as you did with the Trinity SFS and the /opt prefix fixes.

EDIT: found the problem, it was my fault. Hurray for Woof2!

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4296
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 15 Dec 2011, 18:15    Post subject: First Impression with SLACKO 5.3.1 AND SAMBA 3.61 marriage  

WoW!

i'm running PAE 5.3.1 in a RAM based LIve media environment. This system, on a laptop, screams, its so fast.

The only change I have made is the addition of FULL SAMBA 3.61 from the Network Section of the PPM. Your tool that you include to help newbies (or even experienced Puppy users) to start immediate use is phenomenal. IN fact, the total arrangement of how you start the system as well as how you start SAMBA makes this so easy to have a Puppy which matches the experience I get OOTB from OSs from the Big 2 Ms (MACs and Microsofts). And, it shares all of my media flawlessly with entertainment devices that I have had problems with, in Linux, before now.

The RAM use is ONLY 134MB on this 4GB system with SAMBA sharing going and a user transferring a file from this laptop. This is a phenomenal feat. And after 2 days, I still haven't rebooted to save-session the current desktop. This experience is polished, its stable, its fast, and its feature-rich. This is all I could ever ask for from any distro, but, the speed of this exceeds wildest dreams.

Thanks 01Micko......THANKS!

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Sun 18 Dec 2011, 17:12; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 15 Dec 2011, 19:43    Post subject:  

Iguleder wrote:
I'm looking for creative ideas for 5.3.2


I am using wbar with a Puppy config script
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=589073#589073
and also the Should I customise tip (don't try this without accelerated graphics)
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/SlackoTips Smile
Also updated Transmission - there was a reason Mick was using the 1.2 version but it is slow (to the point of not working for some)

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1907
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Fri 16 Dec 2011, 04:57    Post subject:  

Running a home-made 5.3.1 and it's amazing how fast it is.

I'll probably rebuild all the packages in my repository with a /usr prefix, so the existing packages can be easily replaced.

I really like all the small gems of this version (e.g the SFS loading feature), they make it much nicer than 5.2.x.

By the way, I have three bug reports:
- Annoying flickering in JWM's tooltips when the cursor hovers above the tray.
- Visual artifacts under 2.6.37.6; I use the i915 driver (for my Intel 3150 GPU) and I see small diagonal lines in random places. Opening an application "cleans" its area, but they appear again once something moves.
- My Synaptics touchpad support multi-touch, but two-finger scrolling is disabled by default, as in any other distro. However, flsynclient doesn't work.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 16 Dec 2011, 09:45    Post subject:  

Iguleder, about your bug report,

jwm.. Joe has been active but his latest has layer problems. I stuck with 508. Yes jwm is getting a bit behind, but it's tiny, the bloat with jwm is the tools!

i915 .. could be jwm, but I did find a minor bug with woof to do with glib, may be unrelated. There are numerous "tricks" you can perform on xorg, including fooling it into not reading a xorg.conf at all, but being a laptop you'd possibly need to add some "synaptics.conf" stuff in /etc/xorg.conf.d/

Synaptics .. either try the newer kernel or try flsynclient -0.7 in PPM.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1907
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Fri 16 Dec 2011, 13:39    Post subject:  

First of all, I want this to be clear - this isn't a bug report, but a RFC Smile

Since OpenGL is unsupported out-of-the-box, I was thinking - why don't we build a tiny Mesa package with just the DRI software rasterizer (e.g a CPU-based driver) so 3D stuff work out of the box?

This could be a nice addition and I don't think it's big. For new machines, OpenGL will work, while it will be slow on older machines. But the key feature here is the fact it works.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Fri 16 Dec 2011, 14:15    Post subject:  

Hi all

Mick have found a few little problems

1. there is no "more" command in the bash, usually in /bin/ (was working in 530 but not in 531) (found by CatDude and Smokey01) during a scripting session on psip. (great tool for development)

2. the rox focus bug.

3. the important one. the link from the shed to you playing guitar doesn't work

everything else seems to be working great, congratulations on another great puppy

cheers

Don
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5163
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 16 Dec 2011, 17:04    Post subject:  

Here is a bug that I reported in development and the answer was you will have to live with it.
Maybe you will have more time now to investigate. Hard to figure I am the only one this is affecting.

Problem:
1366X768 resolution
At first fresh boot of Slacko 5.3.1
I am able to select 1366X768 resolution in xorgwizard.
Personalized setting says it is 1368X768
Desktop looks like it is off to right slightly.
So, desktop looks like 1368X768.
In personalized setting, I can choose 1366X768, and it shows as that in all settings.
However, the desktop is still looking like 1368X768 is used.

My monitors native resolution is 1366X768, but it will not auto adjust to 1368X768
In fact, I do not think that is even a standard excepted resolution.
The problem seems to be that 1368X768 gets used, even after selecting 1366X768.

These pictures are after I change setting.
Frugal + save file and rebooted.
NV driver.
xrandr.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   33.09 KB
 Viewed   1223 Time(s)

xrandr.jpg

resolution settings.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   49.31 KB
 Viewed   1223 Time(s)

resolution settings.jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked

Last edited by bigpup on Fri 16 Dec 2011, 17:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tekeli-li

Joined: 16 Dec 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 16 Dec 2011, 17:43    Post subject:  

Hi,

thank you for slacko puppy. Works great so far on my Dell mini 9. First I had a problem with wifi (broadcom bcm4312) connecting to my router but using himem-pae iso fixed it (newer kernel I suppose).

Iguleder wrote:

- Visual artifacts under 2.6.37.6; I use the i915 driver (for my Intel 3150 GPU) and I see small diagonal lines in random places. Opening an application "cleans" its area, but they appear again once something moves.

This is related to intel video drivers (xf86-video-intel). I updated to 2.17.0 and intel "fixed" it by removing the upper border edges. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 16 Dec 2011, 18:48    Post subject:  

Iguleder

Hmm.. interesting idea about the cut down mesa. Using mesa does solve some i915 issues.

Stripe

1) I don't know what happened there with "more". It may be the busybox upgrade in woof. You can symlink to busybox.
Code:
ln -s /bin/busybox /bin/more
, or use "less", a more comprehensive iteration of "more", confused yet? Laughing

2) CatDude also found a work-around for the rox bug, another oversight Embarassed
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=585851#585851
Hmmm... just tried that, didn't work for me Confused , maybe that's why I left it out? (rebooted)

3) Woops, need to re-upload that clip!

bigpup
Can you please try shinobar's latest "firstrun-1.9.5" to see if this fixes that issue. I tried to use it in woof but it has some weird bug where it won't install in the woof environment but installs fine in a running pup.
EDIT: No, firstrun wont make a difference. It seems a problem of the NV driver. One other has reported the issue in an early alpha, wuwei. The nouveau driver worked better for him. I took it out because it is problematic with many older nvidias and it would always get chosen, even if it was hidden in the "drivers-alternate" directory. Nouveau driver is in PPM under "Setup". Please give it a try while I see if I can find a patched source for NV.

tekeli-li
Welcome and I hope you continue to enjoy Slacko. There is the "wl" driver for broadcom in PPM for the older kernel if you want to try it again. I guess the problem is I should include it, but it's huge and proprietary.. I perhaps should have mentioned in the release notes that for modern machines with broadcom wireless that the PAE kernel is best.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 542
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 17 Dec 2011, 09:22    Post subject: Possible bug in Slacko 5.3.1 PAE Possible bug in Slacko 5.3
Subject description: Testing manual frugal install on fat32 USB 2 stick -ext2 save
 

01mick0

Re: line 303 of rc.sysinit.
Given that the kernel now contains built in support for both USB core & storage, this line would appear to be redundant.

Finally many thanks for this very slick pup - SLICKO ? Smile

_________________
Regards ETP
Accessibility Pups: -- Magoo -- The Pup With No Name -- MouseCam -- Obedient

Last edited by ETP on Sun 18 Dec 2011, 05:05; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dawg

Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 113
Location: still here

PostPosted: Sat 17 Dec 2011, 13:09    Post subject:  

Slacko 5.3.1: serial mouse still won't work.
_________________
I used to only like Puppy as a friend, but now I think our relationship is starting to develop into something more... Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICQ Number 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 26 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1212s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0170s) ][ GZIP on ]