Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Aug 2014, 19:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 54 of 190 [2837 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Author Message
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2011, 19:03    Post subject: Re: Chromium and Chinese Fonts
Subject description: Cant read chinese fonts in Chromium
 

ferro10n wrote:
otropogo wrote:


Do you know of any program that will allow you to use a pen tablet device to enter the Chinese characters into a browser or AbiWord?

What happens when you load this sfs. Is it active for just that session, or does it make changes to your 2fs file?


Sorry, I have no idea, I type Chinese and Japanese from my keyboard by SCIM-ANTHY input method and type in AbiWord then copy & paste because my browser doesn't enable the choice of an imput method. And no, loaded SFS files don't disappear at next boot unless you're running from liveCD without pupsave.


Is there a pet for and/or a description of this input method online? I assume you're using it in lupu 5.2.8?

If the loaded sfs file persists (ie. is reloaded automatically on the next boot), as I understand you to say above, how do you remove it or stop it from loading when no longer needed? Or is that something you can do without rebooting, before shutting down?

Also, what happens if puppy can't find the sfs file? Does it hang?

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5085
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2011, 21:58    Post subject:  

Lost sound issue.

Here is a post in the Slacko 5.3 bug topic about lost sound.
Seems to be related to problems in Lucid 528.
Something in common between the two versions?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=588564#588564

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2011, 22:55    Post subject: Re: Lost sound issue  

bigpup wrote:
Lost sound issue.

Here is a post in the Slacko 5.3 bug topic about lost sound.
Seems to be related to problems in Lucid 528.
Something in common between the two versions?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=588564#588564

Of course yes. It is an issue of the woof.
Rerwin and i suspect the snapmergepuppy and 10alsa.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3421
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2011, 23:07    Post subject:  

@ playdayz & shinobar

A. Typing this from Firefox-3.6.24 within...
test02-lupu-528x [ISO provided in a PM from playdayz]
Lupusave made on a Flash Drive, using installed Pupsaveconfig-1.9.9.

B. All is looking good, and functioning well.
After 4 reboots, the loudspeaker icon remains present/displayed/functioning.

C. One small and temprary glitch:
I installed xfe-1.32.2-lucid52 from the PPM.
At the end of the 1st install, it looped into a 2nd install sequence, and completed at the end of the 2nd, with 2 entries in the PPM.
I uninstalled the 2nd entry and both were removed from the PPM.
Re-installed xfe, and 2nd time around, all was well, with normal install and only one entry.

D. If needed...
Can provide a detailed list of steps completed so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5085
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 00:37    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:

C. One small and temprary glitch:
I installed xfe-1.32.2-lucid52 from the PPM.
At the end of the 1st install, it looped into a 2nd install sequence, and completed at the end of the 2nd, with 2 entries in the PPM.
I uninstalled the 2nd entry and both were removed from the PPM.
Re-installed xfe, and 2nd time around, all was well, with normal install and only one entry.

This could have been caused by simply hitting the OK button more than once, by accident, when you ran the pet install.

In PPM.
If you uninstall a package, that has more than one entry, of the same exact name.
Both entries will be removed.
Normal operation. Usually means package got installed twice.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1352
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 02:07    Post subject:  

The issue I had with the sound a month or so ago was I lost the sound after getting my usb headset working, normally I would only have to plug it in to use it with teamspeak3,

as teamspeak would auto detect it, which allowed me to select either sound cards from it's setup, but this time I had to go though the trouble of selecting it in the multiple sound card setup and that didn't work,

so I ran the alsa wizard which seemed to do the job, but on next reboot I had no sound mixer, the strange thing though is the the sound will play using Audacity, I was never able to get the mixer back,

nor would it use the headset and no sound cards show in the multiple card wizard for this reason I'm unable to use 5.2.8,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3421
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 05:23    Post subject:  

Now running the 5th reboot session of test02-lupu-528x and all is still well. Very Happy

Just finished burning:
test03-lupu526x.iso to a CD-RW. [Provided by playdayz in the same PM as above]

Will now run test03 [note that it's lupu526x rather than 528x] in the same manner as test02, and report back with results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 06:42    Post subject:  

Was it Micko writing that the lost sound can be about having
ext3 or ext3 instead of Fat32 due to some error creeping into the way USB is keeping track of things internally?

I know too little. But maybe we have to do a lot of testing to find out.
I have a free usb to test on and maybe others have too.

So we need some structured way to do it reliably? I can volunteer
to be consistent only using fat32 and others live ext2 or ext3 and we
could compare when the lost sound happen.

I have ext3 formatting on the internal SSD on Asus Eeepc 900 and
fail to really know if it was on that one that I did lose sound.

I did not know at that instance that it was something general and
I thought it was me screwing things up. So I started using old Snow 5
again and abandon both Lupu 528 and Slacko53

But now that Barry wants us to use Slacko as the main puppy distro
then it is important we do get a grip on this sound getting lost thing.

so could some structured person suggest how we can test it together many of us?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3421
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 11:22    Post subject:  

@ playdayz

A. Typing this from Firefox-3.6.24 within...
test03-lupu526x [ISO provided in a PM from playdayz]
Dedicated lupusave made on a Flash Drive, using installed Pupsaveconfig-1.9.9.

B. All is looking good, and functioning well. Cool
After 5 reboots, the loudspeaker icon remains present/displayed/functioning. Very Happy

C. I like the gold coloring of the buttons etc.
Makes them very easy to see.
Perhaps some color other than gold would be even better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ferro10n

Joined: 15 Jun 2011
Posts: 106

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 01:06    Post subject: Re: Chromium and Chinese Fonts
Subject description: Cant read chinese fonts in Chromium
 

otropogo wrote:
ferro10n wrote:
otropogo wrote:


Do you know of any program that will allow you to use a pen tablet device to enter the Chinese characters into a browser or AbiWord?

What happens when you load this sfs. Is it active for just that session, or does it make changes to your 2fs file?


Sorry, I have no idea, I type Chinese and Japanese from my keyboard by SCIM input method and type in AbiWord then copy & paste because my browser doesn't enable the choice of an imput method. And no, loaded SFS files don't disappear at next boot unless you're running from liveCD without pupsave.


Is there a pet for and/or a description of this input method online? I assume you're using it in lupu 5.2.8?

If the loaded sfs file persists (ie. is reloaded automatically on the next boot), as I understand you to say above, how do you remove it or stop it from loading when no longer needed? Or is that something you can do without rebooting, before shutting down?

Also, what happens if puppy can't find the sfs file? Does it hang?


You can remove the SFS file by launching SFS Load on-the-fly, selecting the SFS from the list and clicking "unload". The current session will first be saved, and then you have to wait until the SFS file is removed. You don't need to reboot for changes to take effect, but you may need to restart X. Right-click any text field in a program, if the dialog includes the "Input Methods" option click it and select "SCIM Input Method", then press CTRL + space key and click the button that appears at the bottom right of the screen to choose a language (Chinese, etc.). AbiWord, Gnumeric and Chromium/Chrome/etc. enable the selection of an input method. Um and Puppy won't hang if the SFS file is not found, but you'll get a message like "unable to launch (no such file or directory).

Sorry, I'm afraid this off-topic is taking space from developers trying to fix an important bug. Embarassed If you still have any questions please start a new post in the beginners section.

_________________
A beginner Puppy Linux user
Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.13GHz 512MB
LiveCD user
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 11:59    Post subject:  

Quote:
Now running the 5th reboot session of test02-lupu-528x and all is still well.

test03-lupu526x [ISO provided in a PM from playdayz]

Sylvander, Are things still well? test02-lupu-528x is the best case, if it works, because it is the simplest fix--just changes in 2 files. So that is the one I am rooting for. After so much trouble I am sure you are like me and don't want to get your hopes up. What I did with test03-lupu526x is to go back to lupu-526 and add many of the enhancements from Instant Update 002--so that would be a possible way to proceed *if* test03 fails. Thanks.

Quote:
I like the gold coloring of the buttons etc.
Makes them very easy to see.
Perhaps some color other than gold would be even better.

if we get this fixed we might celebrate with a new desktop theme Wink

Last edited by playdayz on Tue 13 Dec 2011, 12:39; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 12:03    Post subject:  

I made a small Xscreensaver package on lucid located athttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=588971#588971
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3788

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 12:46    Post subject:  

Quote:
I made a small Xscreensaver package on lucid located athttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=588971#588971
ttuuxxx

Thanks ttuuxxx, I passed it on the Sizzlechest who was looking for something like that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3421
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 16:26    Post subject:  

1.
playdayz wrote:
Sylvander, Are things still well? test02-lupu-528x is the best case, if it works, because it is the simplest fix--just changes in 2 files. So that is the one I am rooting for. After so much trouble I am sure you are like me and don't want to get your hopes up. What I did with test03-lupu526x is to go back to lupu-526 and add many of the enhancements from Instant Update 002--so that would be a possible way to proceed *if* test03 fails. Thanks.

(a) Regarding test02-lupu-528x, it was working well, and I feel sure it will continue to do so when I go back to using it once more.

(b) I stopped after reboot-6 of test02-lupu-528x to move on to try test03-lupu526x, which is now at reboot-13 [from where I type this], and working well.

(c) I'll now go back to working in test02-lupu-528x, and report back on how it's continuing to perform.

2. I should perhaps mention that I've cut corners a little, as follows:
(a) Instead of my normal arrangement of making the config change to ataflash in the isolinux.cfg file in the ISO, and using it with a lupusave file on an internal HDD...
I simply used a lupusave file on a REAL Flash Drive.
It shouldn't make any difference surely? What do you think?

(b) I also didn't bother to go so far as to make this change to the rc.shutdown file.
Instead, I'm using the shut-down choice arrangement provided by the Pupsaveconfig-1.9.9 program.

(c) If you'd like, I can go the whole way, and use my normal arrangements, just to make sure they don't introduce any problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fuzzy

Joined: 22 Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Location: Honolulu HI

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 19:06    Post subject: USB sound
Subject description: I THINK YOU GOT IT
 

I'm using an IBM R52 Laptop and I've had sound
problems like Sylvander.
I down loaded and installed 'test 2, 528X' and it's
working great.
I use JWN and the 'speaker icon' stays between the
green save space, icon and the red CPU, icon.

I've been using it for 3 days, now.
It's working great.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 54 of 190 [2837 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, ..., 188, 189, 190 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1334s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0330s) ][ GZIP on ]