Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 08:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko Puppy 5.3.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 23 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 844
Location: SE

PostPosted: Sat 10 Dec 2011, 19:02    Post subject:  

Hello Smile!

Catching up ...........

The K2.6.39.4(PAE), was it compiled by you or originally by BK? The reason I ask is that (now, quite) a while ago I attempted to recompile it with the only compile-time change as to make it non-PAE; wouldn't even boot Shocked.

Yes, I do run the K2.6.39.4 slackos, due to highly(?) improved graphics compared to K2.6.37 - yes, BROOKDALE, but would, just for the sake of it , like to run this, more modern kernel, in a non-PAE fashion.

Cheers Smile/ MHHP (still in spup5297plus, just about to go 5.3.0.1)

_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 10 Dec 2011, 19:15    Post subject:  

Quote:
The K2.6.39.4(PAE), was it compiled by you or originally by BK? The reason I ask is that (now, quite) a while ago I attempted to recompile it with the only compile-time change as to make it non-PAE; wouldn't even boot


Me. The DOTconfig is in /etc/modules, I guess you know Smile

I compiled in a full install using BK's exact instruction for 2.6.39.4 but I altered the kernel configuration to add some scsi drivers suggested by tempestuous and something else I forget, anyways you can diff mine as is to BK's. PAE should be easy to turn off. BTW, I use Xconfig as my full install of the early alpha 130 or sumthing (Shocked ) is still rock solid with kde4 and I'm lazy! It's had a about 10 different kernels Shocked Shocked , each worked ok, except an early attempt where I did something realy, really stoopid (re some thread by l0wt3ch, too lazy to find link Rolling Eyes )

Cheers!
DOTconfig-2.6.39.4.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  DOTconfig-2.6.39.4.gz 
Filesize  25.68 KB 
Downloaded  397 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 844
Location: SE

PostPosted: Sat 10 Dec 2011, 19:33    Post subject:  

Ta, just wanted to make sure... Smile.

Yes, I re-compiled it non-PAEing your DOTconfig and http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-slacko/kernel_src-2.6.39.4-patched.sfs, must have been a hiccup here on my side ...

Cheers Smile/ MHHP

_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 10 Dec 2011, 20:09    Post subject:  

TBH I've never tried compiling from the sfs sources. I always get pristine from kernel.org and do it the hard way.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 844
Location: SE

PostPosted: Sat 10 Dec 2011, 20:21    Post subject:  

Took the lazy way out ... Smile

Didn't want to find, and apply, all the patches.....

Cheers Smile/ MHHP

_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aikidave

Joined: 11 Dec 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2011, 14:10    Post subject: Sound problem with Slacko  

Hi. I downloaded Slacko and created a bootable USB stick. I am using it on an older laptop without a hard drive. When I first booted with Slacko, the sound worked fine on the computer. At some point the sound stopped working. The volume control disappeared from the bottom of the screen. I deleted Slacko from the stick and created another bootable version on the stick. When I used this on the laptop, the sound worked fine initially but then after some time it stopped working again.
Anyone experienced this on their machines?
Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2011, 21:53    Post subject:  

hi aikidave,

Does this happen on second boot or several after? The answer to this is critical.

I ask this because sound is reconfigured on every boot so should be consistent. It may be that some file system corruption has crept in. What type of filesystem is on the root of the stick? FAT32 is ok but I prefer ext2 linux. It does seem more robust and is a maintained technology.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4609
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2011, 22:25    Post subject:  

01micko,

Lost sound is in heavy troubleshooting in the Lucid Puppy 528 topic. Same type problems are happening, as stated above. It starts on around page 40 of topic.
You can look at last 3 or 4 pages, of topic, for latest discussions. Your ideas needed.
It seems, Lucid 528, is not the only version of Puppy, having these lost sound issues.
Does seem to be tied to USB devices.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=582845#582845

About format of a USB stick.
Some computers will not boot from a USB stick formatted in any Linux format. It has to be Vfat. It is a bios thing. I have one.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 02:56    Post subject: Slacko Puppy 5.3.1  

I burned the iso to a DVD+RW.
I installed the devx and kernel source sfs with SFS-Load on-the-fly.
I installed the proprietary Nvidia driver.

Mon 12 Dec 2011 Operating System: Slacko Puppy-5.3.1 Linux 2.6.39.4
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G84
[GeForce 8600 GT] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA product: G84 Board - p402h00 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (411x263 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 8600 GT/PCI/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 290.10

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600
Core 0: 1603 1: 1603 2: 1603 3: 1603 MHz
Computer
Processor 4x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Memory 8310MB (254MB used)
# glxgears
50389 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10077.775 FPS
50443 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10088.429 FPS
50403 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10080.398 FPS

I borrowed an icon set from Saluki because it matches my holiday
wallpaper Smile

Everything seems to be working well.
531scrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   150.99 KB
 Viewed   3440 Time(s)

531scrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 04:55    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
I altered the kernel configuration to add some scsi drivers suggested by tempestuous

Yes, I see this in your new kernel configuration -
Code:
CONFIG_FUSION=y
CONFIG_FUSION_SPI=m
CONFIG_FUSION_FC=m
CONFIG_FUSION_SAS=m

This will generate 3 new "Fusion MPT" SCSI drivers:
mptspi
mptfc
mptsas

Very cool, Dell PowerEdge users should be very happy.
I have just mentioned this new feature in the forum post about SCSI support, here -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=588699#588699

I should point out that these 3 new drivers are kernel modules. This means that Fusion MPT interfaces will only be accessible after Puppy has booted, so you will still need to boot Puppy from a "conventional" interface (IDE, SATA, USB) and then just use drives connected to Fusion MPT interfaces as secondary drives.

Would it be possible to boot from a Fusion MPT interface? Yes, but that would require either the drivers were built directly into the Puppy kernel image, or alternatively that the new kernel modules were included in Puppy's initial ramdisk.
This is extra work, for another day.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 05:38    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:

Would it be possible to boot from a Fusion MPT interface? Yes, but that would require either the drivers were built directly into the Puppy kernel image, or alternatively that the new kernel modules were included in Puppy's initial ramdisk.
This is extra work, for another day.


Barry has an option in Woof.. Boot scsi, I accepted this for k2.6.29.4 and in this release k2,6,37.6

Aitch has reported success on an old server box of his a few pages back.

Here is the list of /lib/modules/2.6.39.4/kernel/drivers/scsi in the initial ramdisk of k2.6.39.4 version of slacko-5.3.1
Code:
3w-9xxx.ko.gz
3w-sas.ko.gz
3w-xxxx.ko.gz
a100u2w.ko.gz
aacraid
advansys.ko.gz
aic7xxx
aic94xx
arcmsr
atp870u.ko.gz
be2iscsi
bfa
BusLogic.ko.gz
dc395x.ko.gz
dmx3191d.ko.gz
dpt_i2o.ko.gz
fcoe
fdomain.ko.gz
fnic
gdth.ko.gz
hpsa.ko.gz
hptiop.ko.gz
initio.ko.gz
ipr.ko.gz
ips.ko.gz
iscsi_boot_sysfs.ko.gz
libfc
libiscsi.ko.gz
libsas
lpfc
megaraid
megaraid.ko.gz
mpt2sas
mvsas
nsp32.ko.gz
osst.ko.gz
pcmcia
pm8001
pmcraid.ko.gz
qla1280.ko.gz
qla2xxx
qla4xxx
qlogicfas408.ko.gz
raid_class.ko.gz
scsi_transport_iscsi.ko.gz
scsi_transport_sas.ko.gz
scsi_transport_spi.ko.gz
scsi_wait_scan.ko.gz
sg.ko.gz
stex.ko.gz
st.ko.gz
sym53c8xx_2
tmscsim.ko.gz
vmw_pvscsi.ko.gz


and here's the others found in modules.dep

kernel/drivers/message/fusion/mptbase.ko
kernel/drivers/message/fusion/mptscsih.ko
kernel/drivers/message/fusion/mptspi.ko
kernel/drivers/message/fusion/mptfc.ko
kernel/drivers/message/fusion/mptsas.ko

..which aren't in initial ramdisk

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10506
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 06:45    Post subject:  

I tested to use the new 5.3.1 and did ofix=ram to not use the old
save file and put all the iso files in a new subdir and booted with
grub4dos on NTFS and rebooted 3 times and never lost sound.

So maybe it has to do with usb and ext3 something.

---


I did a typical Nooby post over at Lupu528 that may be relevant for Slacko 531 too?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=588713#588713

I have also lost sound but fail to remember if it was on Asus using ext3 or if it was on Acer with NTFS formatting.

I do remember that suddenly after some restart of xorg to get the resolution I wanted then suddenly I had no speaker icon in the tray.

So I got back to using Snow puppy 5 instead. And did forget all about it.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Mon 12 Dec 2011, 11:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1031
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 10:16    Post subject: 5.3.1 Upgrade
Subject description: Multi-session live-CD
 

Hi 01micko,

Thank you for 5.3.1 Main; however I have two items to report:

(1) SeaMonkey remained as 2.4

so I tried to check other numbered updates, and

(2) Pfilesearch - did not seem to be included in the Menu
*** SEE ADDENDUM for update
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I installed the SeaMonkey 2.5 Slacko pet and all seems well.
Pfilesearch runs from the Console, but I did not quickly (or at all)
find its version number.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My regards

I was using 5.3 Main full time and it remained stable, fast and totally trouble free. I expect to use 5.3.1 Main full time now and will advise if there is anything you may wish to know about.

PS Having used Firefox and Thunderbird for a year and more, I very quickly got used to SeaMonkey and its email program - and I'm well pleased.

ADDENDUM:

Pfind is under Menu>Filesystem and Pfilesearch can be obtained using the "Advanced" option of Pfind (as well as directly from the Console).

Last edited by Jasper on Wed 14 Dec 2011, 06:07; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 10:57    Post subject:  

Quote:
Aitch has reported success on an old server box of his a few pages back


Yes my server has a Supermicro X5DA8 mainboard, and may be a Viglen
It has an Adaptec SCSI Card 29160 Ultra160 SCSI, with a 2.5" 80gb SCSI hard drive

Hdd found at boot using liveCD/frugal, but peculiarly, not using noryb's win32.exe installer, where even using pmount fails to find it

Mick, can 5.3.1 be frugal installed using old 5.3 savefile, annd have all the bugs been squashed? Wink

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 12 Dec 2011, 13:22    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Barry has an option in Woof.. Boot scsi, I accepted this for k2.6.29.4 and in this release k2,6,37.6

I'm unfamiliar with Woof, but that's interesting. It appears that a basic set of SCSI drivers (as specified by Barry) is then included in the initrd.

Obviously the 3 new Fusion SCSI drivers are not included, so if desired these would need to be manually inserted (and modules.dep updated) ...
or maybe the Woof script could be modified to automatically include these new modules?
But anyway, no one has specifically asked for boot support from a Fusion SCSI interface at this stage.


01micko wrote:
Aitch has reported success on an old server box of his a few pages back.

Yes, it appears that booting from SCSI works, that's great ...
but of course Aitch's SCSI hardware uses the aic7xxx SCSI driver, nothing to do with the 3 new drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 23 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0976s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0111s) ][ GZIP on ]