Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 15:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
CUPS 1.4.3 500 internal server error spup100 [SOLVED]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2011, 08:43    Post subject:  CUPS 1.4.3 500 internal server error spup100 [SOLVED]  

I had this error also in lucid, so it didn't seem to be restricted to spup.
Had a good look at posts about this error in the forum.

One thing that struck was that a loaded sfs could be the cause.
So I walked that road.
I unloaded (on the fly) the sfs's I have and when I unloaded google-earth 6.2.2074 the error went away and I could add a printer.

I could do my printing.

But as soon as I reloaded this sfs I got the error again and couldn't print either.

So now the question. How can I go from there to diagnose further.
I mounted the sfs to look inside, but I see nothing special.
In fact I don't really know what I have to look for.

Well in fact I got a reminder that it could be something with permissions and ownership.

I checked the directories in that sfs when mounted separately with those of the system. They correspond being rwx,r-x,r-x root root
I suppose this stands for 755 in the permissions.

As they correspond, it might be something else then?

If someone has an idea it's welcome.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch

Last edited by Béèm on Sun 08 May 2011, 17:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8028

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2011, 09:57    Post subject: cups
Subject description: cups
 

Perhaps down in /var region.

Anyway have a good weekend Smile

regards

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8906
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 29 Apr 2011, 11:30    Post subject:  

Quote:
google-earth 6.2.2074

Could you please provide a link to this sfs package?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 08 May 2011, 17:26    Post subject:  

Well, the long WE has become a long week Wink
But I have cured the issue.

I got the sfs from http://smokey01.com/stu90/lucid.puppy.pets/google-earth_6.2.2074.sfs

I mounted the sfs by clicking on it.

As stated before, I didn't see anything special about permissions.

So I created another directory and copied the mounted google-earth 6.2.2074 directory to it.
I then recreated a sfs from this.
When mounting this newly created sfs on the fly, the issue was gone.
I could add a printer.

I also could run google earth. Smile

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8906
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 08 May 2011, 20:31    Post subject:  

Here is the problem with the Google Earth SFS.

First, if you turn on the CUPS debug mode, the error message is "/usr/lib/cups/cgi-bin/admin.cgi - permission denied". Keep in mind that CUPS wants to run the web interface as the unprivileged user root:nobody.

Now go to /initrd and check the properties of the mount point used by the Google Earth SFS. The permissions are 700, instead of the usual 755. This loss of permission filters all the way down to the CUPS files and keeps the web interface from working.

Repacking the SFS file restores the correct permissions and everything works properly.

Imagine what these malformed SFS and DEB packages would do to the Fido user!

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Wed 11 May 2011, 16:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 09 May 2011, 05:08    Post subject:  

Thanks rcrsn51 for the explanation.
I saw that the permission was indeed 700 and when I tried to change it, it couldn't be changed. As the mounting point is a read-only one.

Therefor instinctively I did already the repackaging you recommended now.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2424
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sun 04 Dec 2011, 10:21    Post subject:  

I have a very similar problem using SFS-Load 1.2 with frugal Puppy 528.

When I loaded Java Runtime Environment using

SFS-jre-1.7.0.01-20111027.sfs from
http://www.smokey01.com/coolpup/javaruntimeenvironment.html

it broke CUPS - I could not print from AbiWord and CUP's 'printers' and 'print jobs' pages returned 'Internal Server Error 500'

---

Unloading SFS-jre-1.7.0.01-20111027.sfs fixes the problem.

---

Inside the SFS are the dirs:-
opt
root
usr

How can I repackage to allow me to load SFS and use printer?

---

Is it possible SFS Load could check for this problem and use a work-a-round?

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8906
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 04 Dec 2011, 10:46    Post subject:  

Click on this SFS package to mount it, then check the mount point. The ownership and permissions are all wrong.

It needs to be repackaged so it has root:root ownership and 755 permissions.

You should report this to smokey01.

Quote:
How can I repackage to allow me to load SFS and use printer?

Copy the original SFS to a location with lots of space.
Code:
unsquashfs SFS-jre-1.7.0.01-20111027.sfs
chown root:root squashfs-root
chmod 755 squashfs-root
mksquashfs squashfs-root newjre.sfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2424
Location: near here

PostPosted: Tue 06 Dec 2011, 11:26    Post subject:  

Much thanks Rcrsn51

Thanks for the code - i can now have java and print ; -)



i've unloaded the repackaged sfs, will let coolpup know.
http://www.4shared.com/get/OKzC_cmH/jre-17001-20111027a.html

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2424
Location: near here

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jan 2012, 13:28    Post subject:  

Hi rcrsn1,

I thought I'd solved my problem but now loading

jre-1.7.0.01-20111027a.SFS in Puppy5.28 with SFS Load 1.1

doesn't seem to work.

I get the java control panel in the menu but it won't run

---

also I tried to make a k3b sfs work with printer by using the code above,

similarly I get k3b in the menu but has missing libs when run,

the original SFS works but break printing

see http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=593565#593565

any ideas?

Twisted Evil

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0640s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]