Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 12:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Other Distros
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 17 of 112 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 110, 111, 112 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 17:39    Post_subject:  

As I remember a dvd did boot around 35 to 35 seconds and not 4 minutes.

So I trust you have multisession with many many changes and that takes time to go through.

Why not give a detailed description exactly how you boot and what programs and so on so others can reproduce your results.

Edit when I boot from USB it does take up to 3 to 5 minutes depending
on things like if it is first time or after creating a pupsave and how big it is.

So I take back my surprise. But my memory is that if one have a very standard version of puppy on DVD then it it took at most 45 seconds.

So one would need someone with patience and a watch to do some statistics. Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1523

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 18:32    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
There was such an attempt yes but
maybe it was too difficult to accomplish?


Maybe, but I don't know why it would be any harder than any other distro to build a Puppy from.

while I am at it. Archiso by Gedano is the only arch
that allow one to boot frugal install on NTFS?

I totally failed with ArchBang. It search something
but never find it.

S.


That's a shame. I made the mistake of trying to do a full upgrade in my ArchBang install, and then found I'd burned it and it wouldn't boot up properly (and the live CD won't boot so I couldn't fix it).

I'm back in Vector 6 for the time being, which despite being nearly three years old now is still a surprisngly usable distro; the latest version of Opera (11.52) and also the latest versions of both Flock and Swiftfox (an optimised version of Firefox) run well in it.

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running PuppEX 14.1, New Year's Pup 02, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy X-Precise 2.4, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS, Puppy Diamond 528_512 (full) and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 16 Nov 2011, 06:21    Post_subject:  

Vector Soho Delux preview worked very good for me on
the win XP I had some years ago. The Developer on their
forum was so nice that he made a special file for me so
I could make saves to it on NTFS. Then when I tried it on Win7
then it failed to boot. Not sure why. So I gave up on Vector.

I trust it boot if one do like them describe
but I am a fanatic fundamentalistic frugalist (FFF) Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jamesjeffries2

Joined: 27 Apr 2008
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 14:08    Post_subject:  

I currently dual boot between puppy (for quick browsing mostly) and gentoo on my netbook. I also have two servers. One runs FreeBSD and the other runs Debian. I would run gentoo on all of them if it didn't take so long to set up.

Oh and I have a 300mhz thin client that runs puppy. I use is to host a database so I can simulate heavy load by it just being slow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 18:15    Post_subject:  

Gento is one of those linux distros that I totally failed
to boot frugally. I ahve not tested it for a while and
I am too lazy just now.

Today I compared SuperOS and Netrunner Linux OS.
And them are rather alike. Both are close to Ubuntu.
Netrunner to Kubuntu but SuperOS to Gnome Ubuntu I guess
unless it is Unity based now. I am too lazy to find out.

Anyway I like Nettrunner best. It works almost as good as Puppy
if one boot it frugally using iso booting.

It can edit and save on the HDD without being root.
I trust the reason is some mishap that them did when
them developed latest Ubuntu and now every ubuntu
variation does have it except a few that has done changes
to how it boots. Sadly none of the debians work that way.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2138
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 11:07    Post_subject: Other Distros
Sub_title: Vector Gold 7.0
 

During a lull in the puppy action I installed Vectorlinux 7.0, it's working nice so far.

EDIT: Been using it for a day and becoming more familiar with it, it's good.
vl7scrn2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   121.44 KB
 Viewed   578 Time(s)

vl7scrn2.jpg

VL7.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   172.64 KB
 Viewed   745 Time(s)

VL7.jpg


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 12:02    Post_subject:  

How did you install it? Vbox? CD DVD USB Frugal on NTFS HDD ?
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2138
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 12:27    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
How did you install it? Vbox? CD DVD USB Frugal on NTFS HDD ?


I did a full install to the hard drive using the vector installer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 13:08    Post_subject:  

Yes I have a computer now that I should be able to do full installs on.
Does the boot use isolinux or grub4dos or grub2?

DataPrince. Nevery heard of them so maybe it is some general
Mother board from China that them have put their own bran name on.
AMD Athlon 64 bit 1gb memory? so that is a but on the small side.

Would you say that Vector is pure Slackware. Does it get repos from
their own exclusive repo site or can you take it from Slackware?

Can you log in as root or do you have to do su or sudo or such?

What is it about it that made you chose Vector when you could have been
using some other linux distro. Arch or Linux Mint or whatever.
Just me trying to learn how others relate to free software.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2138
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 13:30    Post_subject:  

nooby wrote:
Yes I have a computer now that I should be able to do full installs on.
Does the boot use isolinux or grub4dos or grub2?

DataPrince. Nevery heard of them so maybe it is some general
Mother board from China that them have put their own bran name on.
AMD Athlon 64 bit 1gb memory? so that is a but on the small side.

Would you say that Vector is pure Slackware. Does it get repos from
their own exclusive repo site or can you take it from Slackware?

Can you log in as root or do you have to do su or sudo or such?

What is it about it that made you chose Vector when you could have been
using some other linux distro. Arch or Linux Mint or whatever.
Just me trying to learn how others relate to free software.


I installed vector to the second partition on my hard drive, it installed grub2 but I booted from my slacko cd with pfix=ram and ran grub4dos so now I can boot the puppy installs on the 1st partition or the full vector install on the 2nd partition.

There is a vector package manager but I haven't used it yet, I compiled seamonkey 2.5 and goggles music manager and that's it so far.

You can log in as root, during the install process it asks you to enter a root password and then create a user with a different password.

I used vector 6.0 a year or so ago and liked it so I decided to try out the new release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 13:55    Post_subject:  

Just spent some time with Xubuntu. Very nice, fast, lovely Xfce/Thunar interface. Everything just worked. I like the new drop down list launchers in Xfce.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bert


Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 954

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 16:01    Post_subject:  

DaveS wrote:
Just spent some time with Xubuntu. Very nice, fast, lovely Xfce/Thunar interface. Everything just worked. I like the new drop down list launchers in Xfce.


Hi Dave,

I'm so prejudiced against Xubuntu, because of past experiences on my low-power hardware.
So it was a nice surprise to read your positive experience.

Can I please ask what are the specs of the machine you've been testing Xubuntu on?
Any idea about ram usage?

Thanks!
Bert

PS Nice to see your name again, after the forum intermezzo Wink

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 16:28    Post_subject:  

I think Zeven is a kind of xubuntu but with all the codex installed
already. Now those that are good at finding and installing only
get upset over such bloat but for us who do frugal iso install
we love such because the iso is ready out of the box it is like
a remix and remaster. Very practical.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 30 Nov 2011, 18:13    Post_subject:  

Bert wrote:

Can I please ask what are the specs of the machine you've been testing Xubuntu on?
Any idea about ram usage?

Thanks!
Bert

PS Nice to see your name again, after the forum intermezzo Wink


Hi Bert. Acer laptop, Pentium Dual-core T2330 1.6Gh CPU, 1 gig of ram. Not enough for Ubuntu/Unity but a pleasant surprise with Ubuntu/Xfce. Dont know about ram usage, probably not very much as it does not load programs into ram on boot like Puppy, and things therefore load more slowly the first time I open them, but it never feels ram challenged.
I failed to mention similar problems with the Broadcom wifi as with 3. series kernels Puppies. Not the easiest to fix either, but once I got it going it has been bullet-proof. Still Puppy (Racy or Slacko) is my main distro though. The new Mint sounds interesting but I think it will need a lot of ram.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5890
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 01 Dec 2011, 04:03    Post_subject:  

I installed Xubuntu on one of my old P3's as a dual-boot with Debian Squeeze.On a 866 Mhz/512 Mb ram/1Gb swap box Xubuntu was much slower and more resource intensive than I anticipated.Already removed it...think I'll try Vector on it next.
Xubuntu does run fine on more powerful hardware though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 112 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, ..., 110, 111, 112 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1251s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0434s) ][ GZIP on ]