Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 22:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Firefox official releases
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 15 [216 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 18:26    Post subject:  

Quote:
WARNING: Application calling GLX 1.3 function "glXCreatePixmap" when GLX 1.3 is not supported! This is an application bug!

Try to install xorg_high or equivalent libgl1-mesa-dri. It might help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 18:34    Post subject: Re: Firefox 7.0.1 official and 8.0 beta  

don922 wrote:

I am having trouble finding the Bookmarks file. What is it called and where should it be located? The bookmark file in the .mozilla directory in the Home directory appears to be a plain new unused file with no bookmarks.

The bookmarkbackups directory seems to be current and contain good data. Can this bookmarkbackups file be used to replace the bookmarks file when I install the Firefox-7.0.1.pet, after running the prepare-firefox.pet? If it can be used -- How do you use the backup?


Yes, your bookmark files are installed in the /root/.mozilla folder. Firefox updates your bookmarks to that folder by default and saves them according to the date.

To restore them within Firefox:
Bookmarks -> Show all Bookmarks -> Import and Backup -> Restore

It should have bookmarks there from your previous sessions.
You can back up your bookmarks to that default folder or to another location of your choosing. The Backup/Restore option uses files with the .json extension.

You can also save your bookmarks by Exporting to a .html file.
The Import option uses .html files and appends your saved bookmarks to whatever bookmarks you already have.

Just do some experimenting and you'll figure it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Peterm321

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 222

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 18:57    Post subject:  

Quote:


pemasu


Quote:
WARNING: Application calling GLX 1.3 function "glXCreatePixmap" when GLX 1.3 is not supported! This is an application bug!


Try to install xorg_high or equivalent libgl1-mesa-dri. It might help.



It is possible, I don't know for sure of course as I haven't had the bug, that this could be related to webgl.

I have the about:config preference
Code:
webgl.disabled
set to true and am able to view flash without problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1322
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 21:09    Post subject:  

Peterm321 wrote:
Quote:


pemasu


Quote:
WARNING: Application calling GLX 1.3 function "glXCreatePixmap" when GLX 1.3 is not supported! This is an application bug!


Try to install xorg_high or equivalent libgl1-mesa-dri. It might help.



It is possible, I don't know for sure of course as I haven't had the bug, that this could be related to webgl.

I have the about:config preference
Code:
webgl.disabled
set to true and am able to view flash without problems.


It didn't help, still the same problem, no flash, I tried a nightly build, it appears that all these problems we are having
has continued into these other releases also, I have never had a problem with Firefox in the past, with any of my PC's.

Oh well, back to the drawing board Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HiDeHo

Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 07:26    Post subject:  

Maybe i have missed something already in the post but what are the firefox libs.pet and prepare-firefox.pet for. and what do they do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 14:21    Post subject:  

In wary , when you type 'firefox' from the terminal, Firefox will run, but the terminal complains about missing libs. It does not complain about them in the lastest Lucid Pup. So I took those libs from Lucd-Pup and made firefox-8-libs.
I believe they should be compatible with Wary since both are Ubuntu-based...that is my opinion however, and I am not an expert on this.

Edit: sorry, my mistake; from what I've read, Wary is T2-based. ( With a mix of debian and Ubuntu packages? )

The pet was meant to be installed in Wary, as I have made the Wary-based SolidPup which I sometimes use. It is harmless if you've installed it in the latest Lucid Pup, since the files originate from it; but it is also unecessary for Lucid Puppy. However, Firefox does seem to run okay for me in Wary without the firefox-8-libs.pet, but it may be less optimized due to the missing libs.

As for prepreff, I made it to remove traces which may have been left behind from uninstalling older firefox pets, or even when unloading a firefox.sfs. I install the main firefox files in the /usr/lib folder, but I have seen other pets install them to the /usr/share folder.
Also, Firefox always creates it's own folder for your saved settings int the /root/.mozilla/firefox folder. This folder can get quite large.
My new firefox pets ( starting with version 8 ) gives the user the option to remove this folder when you uninstall it from the package manager, but my older pets did not.

If the /root/.mozilla/firefox folder is not removed before installation of a new firefox pet, Firefox may run, but it may not be 100% as the petmaker intended. I add my own browser preferences to my firefox pets.

So I made prepare-firefox.pet. You just type 'prepareff' in the terminal before installing your pet, and firefox will install cleanly, and with the preferences I intended for it to have. Hope this makes everything clear.

Update - Feb-09-2011.

prepareff.pet is has it's functions integrated into my latest Firefox builds. Firefox-8-libs.pet is not really required for Firefox to run in Wary and I am not sure if those libs originally taken from Lucid will break something in Wary or not. Both have been removed.

Last edited by Tman on Thu 09 Feb 2012, 03:00; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2666
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 14 Nov 2011, 18:41    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
RetroTechGuy wrote:
Geoffrey wrote:
I'm having a problem with FF8, hangs for ages , it was 7.01 that upgraded itself, put on another copy of 7.01 and it runs fine, I'm running lucid 5.2.8.

anyone else having this happen, is there a solution?


Yes, I had the same problem ("upgrade"). You found the solution... Wink


I found how to fix it, replace libnss3.so that's in /usr/lib with the one that comes with FF8 in /usr/lib/firefox

then no errors, it was doing this this in the terminal


Worked perfectly (so far)...

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Peterm321

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 222

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 04:54    Post subject:  

Quote:
Geoffrey Sun 13 Nov 2011, 21:09

It [about:config webgl.disabled=true] didn't help, still the same problem, no flash, I tried a nightly build, it appears that all these problems we are having
has continued into these other releases also, I have never had a problem with Firefox in the past, with any of my PC's.

Oh well, back to the drawing board


My reply was really about the GLX error and my point was that hardware acceleration appears not to be required by the flash plugin.

As a general point, in the /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/ directory there is the file libflashplayer.so, mine is 11MB in size. Firefox appears to find and load it automatically. I have updated Firefox quite a few times including nightly builds and so far this plugin seems unaffected. Unfortunately flash can be affected by many factors including network issues e.g firewall settings or similar and might be worth a look if no other solution arises.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1322
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 17:12    Post subject:  

Peterm321 wrote:
Quote:
Geoffrey Sun 13 Nov 2011, 21:09

It [about:config webgl.disabled=true] didn't help, still the same problem, no flash, I tried a nightly build, it appears that all these problems we are having
has continued into these other releases also, I have never had a problem with Firefox in the past, with any of my PC's.

Oh well, back to the drawing board


My reply was really about the GLX error and my point was that hardware acceleration appears not to be required by the flash plugin.

As a general point, in the /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/ directory there is the file libflashplayer.so, mine is 11MB in size. Firefox appears to find and load it automatically. I have updated Firefox quite a few times including nightly builds and so far this plugin seems unaffected. Unfortunately flash can be affected by many factors including network issues e.g firewall settings or similar and might be worth a look if no other solution arises.


Hi Peterm321,

The GLX error doesn't seem to cause a problem It is only with FF 8 and nightly builds that flash doesn't work,
nothing else has changed in the system, it doesn't say that flash needs to be installed,
but the flash player window is just black and right clicking on it doesn't bring up any adobe flash settings,
it goes through all the motions but just don't quite get there.

I tried installing FF8 from the first post, on my main PC as a new frugal install to see if it works,
seems to have a problem with settings with an error message at startup, but it don't get the libnss3.so error
and loads pages ok, I'll sort this out and may try it on the laptop, but fear of the wife not being happy with me if I break it again stops me for the time being. Wink

Geoffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Peterm321

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 222

PostPosted: Tue 15 Nov 2011, 19:57    Post subject:  

Quote:
I tried installing FF8 from the first post, on my main PC as a new frugal install to see if it works,
seems to have a problem with settings with an error message at startup, but it don't get the libnss3.so error
and loads pages ok, I'll sort this out and may try it on the laptop, but fear of the wife not being happy with me if I break it again stops me for the time being. Wink

Geoffrey


Hi Geoffrey

I'm not sure if I can be of much more help. I have used various Firefox versions from 4.0 up to 10.0 (Alpha Nightly) and all have had no issues with flash, though I dont block any ports with a firewall etc. As far as I am aware, flash should not be affected especially if you run flash as a separate process which I believe is the default setup. So flash should remain more or less the same plugin even if Firefox is updated according to my understanding.


you may want to check the
Code:
about:plugins
page and some of the ipc settings in "about:config"

Some values:

dom.ipc.plugins.enabled=true
dom.ipc.processCount=1
dom.ipc.plugins.timeoutSecs=20
dom.ipc.plugins.processLaunchTimeoutSecs=20
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigphil

Joined: 28 Apr 2011
Posts: 18
Location: South East UK

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 14:54    Post subject:  

@Geoffrey

thanks for the info re. libnss3.so - all working perfectly.

Now all I gotta figure out is how you done the upside down/back to front lettering in your profile.

Regards
bigphil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dk60902


Joined: 26 Sep 2010
Posts: 223
Location: In front of my computer

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 21:41    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
RetroTechGuy wrote:
Geoffrey wrote:
I'm having a problem with FF8, hangs for ages , it was 7.01 that upgraded itself, put on another copy of 7.01 and it runs fine, I'm running lucid 5.2.8.

anyone else having this happen, is there a solution?


Yes, I had the same problem ("upgrade"). You found the solution... Wink


I found how to fix it, replace libnss3.so that's in /usr/lib with the one that comes with FF8 in /usr/lib/firefox

then no errors, it was doing this this in the terminal
Code:
(firefox:22314): Pango-WARNING **: libthai.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

/usr/lib/firefox/plugin-container: /usr/lib/libnss3.so: version `NSS_3.12.10' not found (required by /usr/lib/firefox/libxul.so)
/usr/lib/firefox/plugin-container: /usr/lib/libnss3.so: version `NSS_3.12.9' not found (required by /usr/lib/firefox/libxul.so)

now it's all good Cool


Thanks, man. You're a genius. Worked for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1322
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2011, 10:22    Post subject:  

bigphil wrote:
@Geoffrey

thanks for the info re. libnss3.so - all working perfectly.

Now all I gotta figure out is how you done the upside down/back to front lettering in your profile.

Regards
bigphil


Hi bigphil,

Thanks but it wasn't my fix, I found it posted on the Firefox help page not long after it was posted, I had to find a fix for it somewhere, if I had investigated a little more myself,
I most likely would have found how to fix it, but I always look first, you never know someone else may have already done it and they had.

ʇxǝʇ uʍopǝpısdn ǝɥʇ ʇǝƃ uɐɔ noʎ ǝɹǝɥʍ sı sıɥʇ You do the text thing online, here's one http://www.sherv.net/flip.html

Geoffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2372
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 21 Nov 2011, 19:29    Post subject:  

Just wanted to say thanks for the .pets Tman..

I'm using Firefox8 on Akita Linux - very fast indeed, I really like it, even the new AJAX-laden UI of facebook is smooth (FF-3.6 is starting to show its age in that repect...)

The only problem is, I cannot get either HTML5 or Flash video working in FF8 - which is a great shame, it is the only thing stopping me from using this browser package!

(I also tested your Opera-latest in Akita as well, and it works very nicely indeed, except for Flash as well! so thanks again for the pets, can't wait to sort out Flash on these packages!!)

Scott

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sun 27 Nov 2011, 22:00    Post subject:  

No problem, sc0ttman. Opera is a modified version of Teryphi's, so credit should go to him.
I'm surprised flashplayer doesn't work for you and am stumped as to why it isn't working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 15 [216 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1131s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0068s) ][ GZIP on ]