Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Aug 2014, 08:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko Puppy 5.3.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 16 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 16:34    Post subject:  

Thinkpad T60p. I can only get one video resolution, 1680x1050. This is because this computer is using the radeon driver, but actually needs radeonhd (as far as I can find out). Any one know where to get it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3364
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 16:37    Post subject:  

I just updated my frugal slacko 5.3 install to slacko 5.3.1.
The update went fine and the reboot caused no problems.

But...

I then figured I would try booting with pfix=ram and creating a encrypted save file.

What I saw that was different was that I saw the word Pausing a number of times, before it was once, and it loaded my existing pupsave file.
That is not supposed to happen when booting with a pfix=ram parameter.

I renamed my existing pupsave file so it would not be picked up and tried again with pfix=ram.

This time, it loaded like a fresh boot with no pupsave.
I set up, selected reboot, and chose to make a encrypted pupsave in my subdirectory.

I got a message that the file was being created, but no message that my settings were being saved.
Also, on rebooting, no encrypted pupsave file existed.

This is a major problem and needs verification of both not using an existing pupsave when the pfix=ram parameter is given and also the problem of a encrypted pupsave file not being created when chosen.

I do not know how much was changed with this update, but I am going back to the original slacko 5.3 main.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 16:47    Post subject:  

gerry wrote:
Thinkpad T60p. I can only get one video resolution, 1680x1050. This is because this computer is using the radeon driver, but actually needs radeonhd (as far as I can find out). Any one know where to get it?


gerry, this is direct from slackware http://slackware.cs.utah.edu/pub/slackware/slackware-13.37/slackware/x/xf86-video-radeonhd-1.3.0-i486-2.txz

Let me know if it works

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5085
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 17:26    Post subject:  

Quote:
This is a major problem and needs verification of both not using an existing pupsave when the pfix=ram parameter is given

The proper command is puppy pfix=ram
By chance the problem?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5085
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 17:33    Post subject:  

gerry wrote:
Thinkpad T60p. I can only get one video resolution, 1680x1050. This is because this computer is using the radeon driver, but actually needs radeonhd (as far as I can find out). Any one know where to get it?

What resolution do you want?
How are you trying to change it?
Could you run this command in the console and post its output.

xrandr

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3364
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 18:17    Post subject:  

bigpup,
The case where you do not use puppy with the parameter is in a temporary edit of the menu.lst entry of the kernel line.
I realize that puppy pfix=ram should be used when booting from CD.

When I reverted to the original puppy_slack_5.3.sfs file and added the patch to it using SFSedit, and rebooted, all was right with the world and I could make a encrypted pupsave file with my settings saved.
As a matter of fact, that encrypted file is in use as I type this.

If you have the time and inclination, try my test for yourself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 18:30    Post subject:  

I don't know how to post the result.

But to answer your questions:

Present resolution is 1680x1050

Range is from 1680x1050 down to 640x480

I'm trying to change it using xorgwizard. How else to do it. Never occurred to me that xorgwizard wouldn't do it. I'll have a look at xorg.conf.

I'd like to try 1280x800
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 18:34    Post subject:  

8-bit

I gather you did a cheat frugal? Did you swap the initrd.gz too? I can not reproduce your problem. I have no problem with heavy or light encryption on 3 machines.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 18:44    Post subject:  

@bigpup- Thanks for the kick- I've done it, modified /etc/X11/xorg.conf

I just assumed that if xorgwizard couldn't do it, then it was impossible.

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3364
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 21:16    Post subject:  

01micko,
I did swap out both the initrd.gz and the slacko SFS file before booting.
But I will try it again without a pupsave in a fresh directory to make sure that the existing pupsave did not mess things up.

Edited:

It must have been the slacosave file that I already had that messed things up.
I created a new frugal install and this time, everything worked.
So I would call it a false alarm.
Sorry if I alarmed anyone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2078
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 23:30    Post subject: Slacko Puppy 5.3
Subject description: slacko 5.3.0.2
 

I did a manual frugal install of the 5.3.0.2 iso to my acer laptop.
I copied my 5.3.0.2 save file from my emachines laptop to the directory.
I used SNS to set up the wireless network connection.

Thu 17 Nov 2011 Operating System: Slacko Puppy-5.3.0.2 Linux 2.6.39.4
0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Manhattan [Mobility Radeon HD 5000 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS product: PARK 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1600x900 pixels (423x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Mesa Project
OpenGL renderer string: Software Rasterizer
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.10.2

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 430
Core 0: 1199 1: 1199 2: 1199 3: 1199 MHz
# glxgears
2559 frames in 5.0 seconds = 511.772 FPS
2526 frames in 5.0 seconds = 505.118 FPS
2601 frames in 5.0 seconds = 520.079 FPS

Ethernet controller Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM57780 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe
Network controller Atheros Communications Inc. AR928X Wireless Network Adapter

It's working well.
slackoscrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   121.78 KB
 Viewed   1029 Time(s)

slackoscrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2011, 23:57    Post subject:  

Delta patch 5.3.0.1 applied to 5.3Main then installed a frugal manually to ext4 pfix=ram on Pentium M Dell latitude D610.

mesa downloaded from slickpet. gears shows jerking halting even in small size window. although, it will play a movie. phony gz on report.

--------

after couple reboots gears is not as jerky. pic is small then expanded full screen.
gears.png
 Description   
 Filesize   11.93 KB
 Viewed   285 Time(s)

gears.png

hardinfo_report.html.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.gz 
Filesize  58.08 KB 
Downloaded  112 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 06:51    Post subject:  

8-bit wrote:
I just updated my frugal slacko 5.3 install to slacko 5.3.1.
The update went fine and the reboot caused no problems.

But...

I then figured I would try booting with pfix=ram and creating a encrypted save file.

What I saw that was different was that I saw the word Pausing a number of times, before it was once, and it loaded my existing pupsave file.
That is not supposed to happen when booting with a pfix=ram parameter.

I renamed my existing pupsave file so it would not be picked up and tried again with pfix=ram.

This time, it loaded like a fresh boot with no pupsave.
I set up, selected reboot, and chose to make a encrypted pupsave in my subdirectory.

I got a message that the file was being created, but no message that my settings were being saved.
Also, on rebooting, no encrypted pupsave file existed.

This is a major problem and needs verification of both not using an existing pupsave when the pfix=ram parameter is given and also the problem of a encrypted pupsave file not being created when chosen.

I do not know how much was changed with this update, but I am going back to the original slacko 5.3 main.


Ok, so this is basically sorted, but I did have a minor glitch myself, rather annoying. I upgraded a frugal on sda6. All went fine but on reboot I got the "PAUSING" messages then a list of all the slackosaves on sda6! (About 10 in my case). That's not supposed to happen. The work-around was to add pdev1=sda6 on the kernel line.

The reason it happens is that in the upgrade something gets lost in the translation, somewhere. The evidence of this is in /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE.

The PDEV1 variable is empty..
Code:
PDEV1=''
should be
Code:
PDEV1='sda6'
.. also the DEV1FS var is missing. With the pdev1=sda6 on the kernel line (in menu.lst) the PDEV1 var returns.

Manually inserting the PDEV var does not work.(as I didn't think it would, the problem occurs earlier and the value is the result)

Intriguing.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 07:27    Post subject:  

I also missed grub4dos-config update (1.7.1), will be in.

Also, the update of the internet connection wizard with the hostname box was missed, fixed.

We need some packages folks. I am onto openshot and samba (hopefully, with gcmartin's help)
Openshot 1.4 does run from the slacky repo, misses deps though, notably python, ..plus anything with a .csh extension in /etc/profile.d needs deleting, fix will be to pet up openshot and remove those in the pinstall.sh..edit, better idea, I'll patch petget to remove them.. rm -f /etc/profile.d/*.csh

We probably need some updated music apps, maybe aqualung, deadbeef , .. some one want to package blender? Anyone try gtk-recordmydesktop?.. it's in Slacky repo, needs python, which often isn't listed as a dep as it's in the devx, but probably needs python modules too, such as py-gtk, py-cairo etc, when you run it and get errors check them, they are useful Wink

Anyone? Smile (how can you resist that smiley eh?)

Shooting for 5.3.1 on Sunday/Monday

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5675
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2011, 13:01    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Shooting for 5.3.1 on Sunday/Monday
I see you got Pmusic (hopefully 2.2.2), but please also include pfilesearch 1.28 which makes Pmusic work better.


Thank you
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 16 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1028s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0123s) ][ GZIP on ]