Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 18:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko Puppy 5.3.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 14 of 37 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9207
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 00:15    Post_subject:  

Indy452 wrote:
Hi, I have been playing with this pup and I can't seem to get flash player to install. The links are all bad no matter which download mirror I choose


Here is a download link:

Get the .tar.gz version.

Unpack the tarball to get the file libflashplayer.so

Copy it to the folder /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Indy452


Joined: 21 Feb 2011
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 07:20    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Indy452 wrote:
Hi, I have been playing with this pup and I can't seem to get flash player to install. The links are all bad no matter which download mirror I choose


Here is a download link:

Get the .tar.gz version.

Unpack the tarball to get the file libflashplayer.so

Copy it to the folder /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins.


Right but my point is if the average user wants to install from the ppm all the links are broken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 09:11    Post_subject:  

chrismt wrote:
I am not sure.

But I guess Firefox has this lag on Puppy when I use Wlan.

I bought a new wlan adapter but still there is this lag.

Perhaps, developers don't keep in mind the way browsers utilize the network connection in Linux when building puppy so that browsers get screwed up trying to display pages.

Perhaps, I am wrong Very Happy


I guess, its just that I have to click several times to get my browser to move to that page where in Windows its much smoother.

I noticed that when my PC gets to standby mode. Sometimes, it gets totally disconnected although i don't see the disconnected icon in the taskbar

I would be great to get a Pidgin and TOR update though :3
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 14:13    Post_subject:  

Mick, can you help with this, posted in noryb's win32 thread?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=580663#580663

I don't know if noryb used the same 530 scsi pae for his 530pae.exe installer, but the live CD works, the .exe, not....no CD on desktop??...and often no savefile loads...may be timing?

thanks

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 20:55    Post_subject:  

It seems Flashplayer have moved their repo so Barry's or my flash installer will not work.

I have made a simple gui that takes you to the flash site so you can download flash manually but at least install it easily. It works with seamonkey and chromium confirmed but should be fine with iron, opera, firefox. You are prompted to close the browser, in fact installation halts if you leave the browser open, you can continue when you close the browser.

It's almost impossible to keep flash in the puppy repo because it is updated randomly and often. So I hope this makes life a little easir for those who don't like digging into the filesystem.

EDIT: A newer getflash is posted 2 posts down, based on Barry's findings on an opensuse page. I'll leave this one up, since it's completely different.
flash_install-0.1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  flash_install-0.1.pet 
Filesize  3.28 KB 
Downloaded  521 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sat 12 Nov 2011, 21:01    Post_subject:  

thanks Mick
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 02:05    Post_subject:  

Hmmmm....

getflash has been a PITA for the past few days.. but with Barry's find I managed to alter the current getflash prog and it seems to work ok. There is no ping to google, it just finds the url by parsing the flash webpage.. so if that webpage can be parsed then that's good enough to check connection! If not the loop stops.

Here it is, direct download of flashplayer.. take 3!
getflash-0.5.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  getflash-0.5.pet 
Filesize  6.2 KB 
Downloaded  2699 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 03:19    Post_subject:  

Works OK for me - have added here:
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/SlackoNews

Good plan load Flash and go to Flashblock all as one option Wink

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 03:57    Post_subject:  

Firefox 9 Beta or Firefox 10 Aurora

http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/channel/

Adobe Flash doesn't work

Perhaps, they are moving to HTML5 but I am not sure why. Can anyone check it out. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 09:34    Post_subject:  

chrismt....
Quote:
Perhaps, they are moving to HTML5 but I am not sure why. Can anyone check it out. Thanks


correct! [And not a moment too soon, heh heh, ask Apple Wink ]

http://internetbusinessmastermind.com/finally-sigh-adobe-moving-away-from-flash

http://www.quackit.com/html/codes/html_video_codes.cfm

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7836
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 09:50    Post_subject:  

Well.. seems encryption is fixed in the latest woof... this was a major bug in my opinion so expect an update soon.

Posting from a heavy encrypted Slacko-save now.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 14:15    Post_subject:  

Aitch wrote:
chrismt....
Quote:
Perhaps, they are moving to HTML5 but I am not sure why. Can anyone check it out. Thanks


correct! [And not a moment too soon, heh heh, ask Apple Wink ]

http://internetbusinessmastermind.com/finally-sigh-adobe-moving-away-from-flash

http://www.quackit.com/html/codes/html_video_codes.cfm

Aitch Smile


Thats cool but I wonder if its that easy to replace flash by all websites. Firefox 9 is too early to be flash free.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 14:16    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Well.. seems encryption is fixed in the latest woof... this was a major bug in my opinion so expect an update soon.

Posting from a heavy encrypted Slacko-save now.


Keeping the Faith Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3382
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 15:08    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Well.. seems encryption is fixed in the latest woof... this was a major bug in my opinion so expect an update soon.

Posting from a heavy encrypted Slacko-save now.


I posted a temporary patch I made that works. It can be found under the Users section.
It is not needed with the latest Racy version.
But it works with Slacko if instructions in the post are followed.

It can be found here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 13 Nov 2011, 17:55    Post_subject: Re: Xsane issue Threshold not available.  

01micko wrote:
Béèm wrote:
Xsane issue Threshold not available.
Having been done some testing for Peasyscan, I discovered an issue in Xsane lineart (binary) mode.

When selecting the scan mode panel, I don't have the threshold bar.
My device is epson2

I have it in Icepuppy 012 and when discussing with rsrcn51 he advised to use the libsane-epson2.so.xxx library files in /usr/lib/sane from Ice to slacko 5.3

I did so and I could use the threshold bar.

Code:
# ls -l libsane-epson2*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     24 2011-11-10 08:17 libsane-epson2.so -> libsane-epson2.so.1.0.20
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     24 2011-11-10 08:17 libsane-epson2.so.1 -> libsane-epson2.so.1.0.20
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 162780 2011-05-26 17:18 libsane-epson2.so.1.0.20
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 160800 2011-10-24 13:39 libsane-epson2.so.1.0.21org
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root     24 2011-10-24 13:32 libsane-epson2.so.1org -> libsane-epson2.so.1.0.21
#
The library files ending in xxxxorg are the slacko 5.3 ones.
The others (which work) the ICE puppy 012 ones

I thought I just mention this for those who are using a epson2 backend.
Béèm

To save me downloading ice puppy can you do me the favour of tarballing the libsane-epson2.so.1.0.20 file please? I can pet it up as a z_sane_hack and it will overwrite the slacko libs in woof.

TIA.
Micko,
I have been away a lot the WE.
I added a fake .gz extension to the file, just remove it after the download.
libsane-epson2.so.1.0.20.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  libsane-epson2.so.1.0.20.gz 
Filesize  158.96 KB 
Downloaded  367 Time(s) 

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 37 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0971s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0105s) ][ GZIP on ]