Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 04:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 16 of 33 [487 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2011, 19:47    Post subject: Re: Wifi problem  

BarryK wrote:
peebee wrote:
Hi Barry

Racy seems to lack support for my Broadcom B43 wifi on my HP550 laptop which works in other Puppies.

/lib/firmware/b43 is missing - I copied it across from lupu528

the b43 driver is not being loaded - I had to put
modprobe b43
into /etc/rc.d/rc.local

with these 2 changes, my wifi works with sns through reboots and I am posting this from Racy.....

I saw similar problems with the lupu528-k3.0.4 puplet from wuxiandianzi so it may be a k3 problem

Cheers
peebee


b43.ko is supposed to load automatically. This also causes the firmware (at /lib/modules/all-firmware/b43.tar.gz) to install.

...unless b43.tar.gz has the wrong firmware? That is possible. If you run:

# modinfo b43

it will show what firmware is expected.

It may be that b43.tar.gz in Lupu got upgraded, and we will have to do the same.


I checked, the firmware file ucode16_mimo.fw is needed, for certain hardware anyway. I got it out of here:

http://packages.ubuntu.com/oneiric/linux-firmware-nonfree

have put it into the 'b43' firmware in Puppy.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2376
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 13:22    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Suggest the appearance of Flashplayer is directly linked to first use of browser. Even better, to any use of browser requiring it

I am using this to do just that - loading flash-get (attached) from within delayedrun

Code:
  if [ "`echo "$ALLPS" | grep -v 'wget' | grep -v 'petget' | grep -v 'cut' | grep -v 'sed' | grep -v 'indexgen.sh' | grep -v 'grep' | grep -v 'yaf-splash' | grep -E 'seamonkey|firefox|opera|midori'`" != "" ];then
which works well enough, although it's ugly and crap code.. had to add indexgen, grep, yaf-splash etc, because PetGet was messing things up..

Quote:
Thanks, partview 2.2 PET will be uploaded to the 'common' repo soon.

does that one require Glade?

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1434
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 13:29    Post subject: Re: Wifi problem  

BarryK wrote:

I checked, the firmware file ucode16_mimo.fw is needed, for certain hardware anyway. I got it out of here:

http://packages.ubuntu.com/oneiric/linux-firmware-nonfree

have put it into the 'b43' firmware in Puppy.


Hi Barry

Don't think that file is anything to do with my problem.

My B43 wifi is the "13" version - I've proved this by booting a pristine frugal version of racy and copied just the "13" versions of the files from /lib/firmware/b43 from spup5.3 into a b43 directory in racy.

I then issued the modprobe b43 console command and could then use sns to detect all the wifi signals around my house (not all mine!!)

see the attached screenie

Before doing this there were no mentions of "b43" in dmesg or /var/log/messages on racy.

The relevant lines mentioning b43 from spup5.3 are

Code:
Nov 11 12:56:43 puppypc17231 user.info kernel: b43-phy0: Broadcom 4311 WLAN found (core revision 13)
Nov 11 12:56:43 puppypc17231 user.debug kernel: ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel_ht'
Nov 11 12:56:43 puppypc17231 user.debug kernel: Registered led device: b43-phy0::tx
Nov 11 12:56:43 puppypc17231 user.debug kernel: Registered led device: b43-phy0::rx
Nov 11 12:56:43 puppypc17231 user.debug kernel: Registered led device: b43-phy0::radio
Nov 11 12:56:43 puppypc17231 user.info kernel: Broadcom 43xx driver loaded [ Features: PML, Firmware-ID: FW13 ]

Nov 11 12:56:45 puppypc17231 user.info kernel: b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 410.2160 (2007-05-26 15:32:10)


Cheers!
peebee
b43.png
 Description   
 Filesize   117.88 KB
 Viewed   1439 Time(s)

b43.png


_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 18:09    Post subject:  

peebee,
Running Racy, with 3.0.7 kernel:

# modinfo b43
filename: /lib/modules/3.0.7/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/b43/b43.ko
firmware: b43/ucode9.fw
firmware: b43/ucode5.fw
firmware: b43/ucode16_mimo.fw
firmware: b43/ucode15.fw
firmware: b43/ucode14.fw
firmware: b43/ucode13.fw
firmware: b43/ucode11.fw

...and all of those are present.

But, I guess that we can experiment with Racy, put in those extra firmware files and then see if it works.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 18:13    Post subject:  

Racy 5.2.1.90 uploaded. This can be considered as 5.2.2 Release Candidate. Wary and Racy are going to be released together, with same version number.

See blog post:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02590

Testers welcome!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1434
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 18:23    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
peebee,
Running Racy, with 3.0.7 kernel:

# modinfo b43
filename: /lib/modules/3.0.7/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/b43/b43.ko
firmware: b43/ucode9.fw
firmware: b43/ucode5.fw
firmware: b43/ucode16_mimo.fw
firmware: b43/ucode15.fw
firmware: b43/ucode14.fw
firmware: b43/ucode13.fw
firmware: b43/ucode11.fw

...and all of those are present.

But, I guess that we can experiment with Racy, put in those extra firmware files and then see if it works.


Hi Barry

I don't think any files are missing - I think the problem lies in the detection and loading logic in some way........

I say this because I can make it work manually whereas it happens automatically in all previous k2.6 version puppies...

It is somehow k3.0 related as there is the same problem with the lupu528+k3.0.8 experiments

Thanks for your interest
Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 20:26    Post subject:  

2.
racy-5.2.1.90
/usr/sbin/pgprs-shell is NOT updated to handle NEW /lib/modules/all-firmware/ files ...
suggestion:
Code:

--- /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/sbin/pgprs-shell   2010-12-04 10:30:35.000000000 +0000
+++ /usr/sbin/pgprs-shell   2011-11-10 01:59:22.536586399 +0000
@@ -12,12 +12,24 @@
 #script. If it isn't there, you get this message."
 
 #install firmware tarball...
+old_func(){
+if [ -f /lib/modules/all-firmware/pgprs.tar.gz ] ; then
 cp -f /lib/modules/all-firmware/pgprs.tar.gz /tmp/
 cd /tmp
 tar -zxf pgprs.tar.gz
 cp -a --remove-destination /tmp/pgprs/* /
 sync
 cd /
+fi
+}
+old_func
+##KRG new_func for all-firmware not tar.gz anymore [racy-5.2.1.90 [ 2011-Nov ]]
+new_func(){
+if [ -d /lib/modules/all-firmware/pgprs ] ; then
+cp -a --remove-destination /lib/modules/all-firmware/pgprs/* /
+fi
+}
+new_func
 
 #101204...
 yaf-splash -bg violet -placement center -timeout 3 -text "Updating menu, screen will flicker..."



1.
racy-5.2.1.90 first-run :
gtkdialog4 combobox dropdown button consuming 100% CPU resources on P4-2800GHZ,1GB DDR-RAM [Rolling Eyes Crying or Very sad Mad Shocked Confused Sad Surprised Very Happy]

seems a maneuver area for gtkdialog ....
firstrun-gtkdialog-combobox-forces-100%CPU-usage.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  firstrun-gtkdialog-combobox-forces-100%CPU-usage.png 
Filesize  279.99 KB 
Downloaded  458 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2114
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 21:05    Post subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:


1.
racy-5.2.1.90 first-run :
gtkdialog4 combobox dropdown button consuming 100% CPU resources on P4-2800GHZ,1GB DDR-RAM [Rolling Eyes Crying or Very sad Mad Shocked Confused Sad Surprised Very Happy]

seems a maneuver area for gtkdialog ....


Same thing in wary at this point:
htopscrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   277.66 KB
 Viewed   1397 Time(s)

htopscrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 22:24    Post subject: cpu usage with gtkdialog3/4 combobox  

Karl Godt wrote:
racy-5.2.1.90 first-run :
gtkdialog4 combobox dropdown button consuming 100% CPU resources on P4-2800GHZ,1GB DDR-RAM [Rolling Eyes Crying or Very sad Mad Shocked Confused Sad Surprised Very Happy]

seems a maneuver area for gtkdialog ....

I can reproduce the issue also on Wary-5.2.2 RC.
Seems the gtkdialog3/4 problem on the recent Wary/Racy.
It also occurs on Wary-5.2 and does not on Wary-511.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54056&start=120

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 22:31    Post subject:  

seems gtkdialog4 does not like the <combobox> very much .

tried
<combobox tooltip-text=\"${TT_tz1}\">
and
<combobox>

still scrolling is very very slow .. and since the MainBoard is screwed only twice the vibrations of the CPU are sounding remarkably ... Smile

What i think i could add from /tmp/xerrs.log :

JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[10]: invalid tag in Active: Corner
JWM: warning: /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme[16]: invalid tag in Inactive: Corner

Hadn't they been commented like
Code:

--- /initrd/pup_ro2/root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme   2011-11-10 16:58:57.000000000 +0800
+++ /root/.jwm/jwmrc-theme   2011-11-11 02:41:14.836533429 +0800
@@ -7,13 +7,13 @@
     <Active>
        <Text>white</Text>
        <Title>#393F96:#30528D</Title>
-       <Corner>#4A5966</Corner>
+       <!-- <Corner>#4A5966</Corner> -->
        <Outline>black</Outline>
     </Active>
     <Inactive>
        <Text>white</Text>
        <Title>#84CFF1:#393F96</Title>
-       <Corner>#DCDAD5</Corner>
+       <!-- <Corner>#DCDAD5</Corner> -->
        <Outline>gray30</Outline>
     </Inactive>
 </WindowStyle>

BUT i finally found that this had been already ^ worked around ^ :
# grep 'jwm \-p' /usr/local/jwmconfig2/*
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/taskbarConfig:jwm -p 2>&1 | grep -v 'warning' > $TMP
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/taskbarHeight:jwm -p 2>&1 | grep -v 'warning' > $TMP
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/taskbarPlace:jwm -p 2>&1 | grep -v 'warning' > $TMP
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/trayInsert:jwm -p 2>&1 | grep -v 'warning' > $TMP
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/virtualDesk:jwm -p 2>&1 | grep -v 'warning' > $TMP

AND
Input string is '3'
ls: cannot access /tmp/jwmrc-tray-tmp-3.txt: No such file or directory

lets try a sed fix ...
# for i in /usr/local/jwmconfig2/* ; do echo $i; grep '`ls ' $i; echo; done
ONLY panel-buttons with 3 hits ..
Code:
# sed -i 's/`ls \(.*\)`/`ls \1 2>\/dev\/null`/g' /usr/local/jwmconfig2/panel-buttons

worked for me today .. sed-gymnastics for my little brain ... Smile
had thought i would have to escape the backticks fist , but that did not worked for me ...
BUT OF COURSE a " test -f FILENAME " would be much more elegant i think
[edit some hours later : needs additionally
Code:
 # sed -i 's/"`ls \(.*\)`" = "" ]/\! -f \1 ]/g' /usr/local/jwmconfig2/panel-buttons

to the code line below : \edit]
Code:
# sed -i 's/"`ls \(.*\)`" \(.*\) ]/-f \1 ]/g' /usr/local/jwmconfig2/panel-buttons

lets see how much attempts i did on this :
# grep sed $HOME/.history | wc -l
10
WOAOOO: Master of the SEDIVERSE Very Happy
[edit some hours later : grep sed $HOME/.history | wc -l == 17 /edit]

SINCE THAT IS ALL COSMETICS i somehow did not mention these before .

Now i want to ^ *** off early ^ for the early morning here , hopefully the shutdown fix for encrypted save-files would work ... [edit : works OK /edit]

Last edited by Karl Godt on Fri 11 Nov 2011, 09:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5795
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 01:59    Post subject:  

Billtoo wrote:
Karl Godt wrote:


1.
racy-5.2.1.90 first-run :
gtkdialog4 combobox dropdown button consuming 100% CPU resources on P4-2800GHZ,1GB DDR-RAM [Rolling Eyes Crying or Very sad Mad Shocked Confused Sad Surprised Very Happy]

seems a maneuver area for gtkdialog ....


Same thing in wary at this point:


Not a problem here in Racy.
Racy.png
 Description   
 Filesize   125.84 KB
 Viewed   1396 Time(s)

Racy.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5795
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 02:07    Post subject:  

Racy 5.2.2 RC live multi-session cd.Sound and internet working on initial boot. Incorrect screen resolution on boot, ran xorgwizard and used nouveau driver to get desired 1366x768 resolution.

No real problems noticed yet.

-Computer-
Processor : 4x AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 620 Processor
Memory : 3884MB (167MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Fri 11 Nov 2011 12:06:31 AM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1366x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Software Rasterizer
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
VGA compatible controller : nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a]
Audio device : nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1633

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 03:11    Post subject:  

James C wrote:

Not a problem here in Racy.


You have to open the dropbox to see it. It is also in timezone set.
In a slow machine (XO-1) is really lethal. Take about 1 minute to do 5 scroll clicks Sad

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5795
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 03:22    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
James C wrote:

Not a problem here in Racy.


You have to open the dropbox to see it. It is also in timezone set.
In a slow machine (XO-1) is really lethal. Take about 1 minute to do 5 scroll clicks Sad


Figured I was missing something..... Laughing

Didn't go to 100%.....but two cores went crazy.
racy.png
 Description   
 Filesize   128.69 KB
 Viewed   1382 Time(s)

racy.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4790
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2011, 04:39    Post subject:  

5.2.1.90 is unusable. Confirm issues with mouse (PS/2 non-functioning, USB like treacle - too slow to access locale settings). Inappropriate messages re. Flashplayer, panel for which pops up before selecting browser. Cannot continue testing.

Later:
The PS/2 mouse non-functioning is partly machine specific - runs on one out of three! New feature.

The locales can, with extreme patience, be set from the k/b, but timezones are restricted to Asia and a few African locations. Europe can be set from the right-click/desktop/set timezone, though.

Good news is that Opera, which has recently become essential rather than a personal preference, works with the new 11.6beta (Other DEB).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 16 of 33 [487 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2285s ][ Queries: 13 (0.1121s) ][ GZIP on ]