Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 07:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko Puppy 5.3.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 12 of 37 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
KRuCi8L3

Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Location: somewhere .... out there.

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 12:18    Post_subject:  

Quote:

I suggest you spend a little more time learning how Puppy works before trying to do anything.
There is a learning curve we all had to deal with.


Yes, thanks. Definately! As I stated in a previous post I am very much still in study mode. Smile And that first noob help post is superb! But I am one of those wierdos who just HAS to go ahead and break a few things before really seeing the big picture. But surely a boot-up from live cd and simple attempt at a common savefile operation aren't to be viewed as doing anything very special, right? If that were so, then maybe I need to re-think my desire to learn more about puppy and linux in general... nhhhaaa, maybe not. Wink

Quote:

You said you used heavy encryption option to make it.
That could be the problem. Encryption of save files is a very old option and from posts I have read, I do not think it works well anymore with the newer versions of Puppy.
I would delete the old save file and make a new one, but do not use encryption option.


Really?! How depressing! And confusing as there remains a clearly worded suggestion to USE heavy encryption in the savefile dialog. Should that be thrown out to avoid a trap, or possibly re-worded to include caveat or warning?

Quote:

Also, when using an install of Puppy that uses a save file. Best to make the save file first before installing any other programs.


That is just what I did. Immediate, and brief looksie, with an abortive attempt to get dev working then a shutdown to create the save. I distinctly had that in mind as I want a "pristine" clean slate savefile to use in case of corruption, fumble-fingering or whatever.

Thanks for the good advice. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5170
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 15:20    Post_subject:  

KRuCi8L3,

Please do not stop exploring and dive into the world of Puppy Linux.
I just wanted to make sure you had your life jacket on before you got to deep.
Dive in the water is fine. Very Happy

Yes making a save file is very basic and it should work with no problems. Most of the time it does. When someone has problems, it is hard to figure out what is causing it.

Not all versions of Puppy work on all computers.

We only know what you tell us, so sometimes we offer suggestions on what could be happening. Sometimes your problem is a bug no one has come across before.

The encryption idea was just something to try and see what happens. If it worked or did not, then we would have more info to go on.
Quote:
ext2 savefile to 2+gb partition (ext4) of a 4gb usb flashdisk seemed to go well

Specific details of how partitioned.
Putting save file on first partition is best.

Another idea.
One thing about making save file program. It does not give warning, if you choose size of save file that is too big for available free space. It will tell you how much free space, but not stop you from choosing a save file size too big.
If you do, it will seem to work OK, but of course it will not make a good save file.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1067

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 15:40    Post_subject:  

Q5sys wrote:
anyone manage to get slapt-get working or not? Just wondering as it'd be alot eaiser to be able to grab random libs that are missing with it once we start fine tuning our individual systems.
Unfortunately I've been so busy I havent been able to work with slacko much beyond installing it last weekend. Sad


anyone got any ideas?

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4298
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 16:30    Post_subject:  

Q5sys wrote:
... alot eaiser to be able to grab ... anyone got any ideas?
Saw this. He mentions getting packages.

It might help.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
John51

Joined: 16 Jan 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 17:20    Post_subject: 5.3 Problems  

System is not recognizing an SD card
Bcrypt isn't accepting passwords
HP nc4400 and MSI Wind120

I've been following Puppy's evolution now for about 3 years. I've tried a few different distros but keep coming back to Puppy. However in that 3 years the biggest improvements I've seen are Frisbee and Wbar. Seems too often the most conspicuous change is the background art. Do we really need several different "breeds" of Puppy, and is there enough expertise and energy out there to support 3+breeds?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
KRuCi8L3

Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Location: somewhere .... out there.

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 22:17    Post_subject:  

Thanks bigpup, heaps (no I mean that... really big heaps)! Excellent tips. After work today I plan to try again. Your advice is appreciated.

Quote:
When someone has problems, it is hard to figure out what is causing it.
...
Sometimes your problem is a bug no one has come across before.

Sometimes I feel exactly like that (I'm a bug no one has ... oh, forget it.)

Quote:
The encryption idea was just something to try and see what happens. If it worked or did not, then we would have more info to go on.


I see. Mad scientist experimentation 101, gotta love it! Wink

Quote:
Specific details of how partitioned.
Putting save file on first partition is best......If you do, it will seem to work OK, but of course it will not make a good save file.


Aha. I think you may have poked the potato right in the eye on that one. The file WAS put on the second partition and was close to max cap of the disk. Also, the flashdisk was partitioned with a different gparted version from an earlier puppy months ago. I will try again from live cd and wipe/reconfigure that flashdisk this afternoon. Thanks ever so much!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5799
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 00:53    Post_subject:  

Especially for 01micko....... Smile
Slacko-530-k-3.10.png
 Description   
 Filesize   20.27 KB
 Viewed   1538 Time(s)

Slacko-530-k-3.10.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1067

PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 13:16    Post_subject:  

Another question for the vets. On my past systems the Alt-Tab key combo would be used to cycle the active window. However it always would cycle through the windows from most recent active to the very last used. However on slacko it seems to just change in order of things in my taskbar.
When I have a ton of windows open it was nice to be able to Alt-Tab between the last two active windows.. Instead of having to cycle between every program to just use the last two.
Any way to change this? Ive searched online but havent found much.
Thanks guys.

EDIT:

In some free time today I got Slapt-get up and running with the gslapt interface. Thread HERE

_________________



Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dawg

Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 113
Location: still here

PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 14:22    Post_subject:  

Serial mouse problem here - can't get it working at all in Slacko. It works fine in Lupu (5.2.8) and Wary (5.2), though.

Any ideas?

_________________
I used to only like Puppy as a friend, but now I think our relationship is starting to develop into something more... Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICQ 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5170
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 14:49    Post_subject:  

dawg wrote:
Serial mouse problem here - can't get it working at all in Slacko. It works fine in Lupu (5.2.Cool and Wary (5.2), though.

Any ideas?

Try menu->setup->mouse/keyboard wizard->choose type of mouse

May have to reboot or do a restart X server if you change any settings.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dawg

Joined: 09 Aug 2009
Posts: 113
Location: still here

PostPosted: Sun 06 Nov 2011, 16:56    Post_subject:  

Bigpup, actually, I forgot to mention I had tried that and it's the same, but thanks..

So I went and messed with the module priorities, and still no luck.
I then tried messing with the Xorg settings similarly as described here: http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/linux-newbie-8/serial-mouse-on-slackware-13-a-757321/ But no luck at this point...I might retry again later sometime.

_________________
I used to only like Puppy as a friend, but now I think our relationship is starting to develop into something more... Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICQ 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5170
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 07 Nov 2011, 22:19    Post_subject:  

SilvioTOO wrote:
Same problem here...


bigpup wrote:
Slacko 5.3 main

Still having this problem.

Frugal install to USB flash drive
Save option - save to partition sdb1(the flash drive)

menu->shutdown->reboot or poweroff

Goes to saving session to sdb1 message

Then back to desktop.

Does not poweroff computer or reboot.

If you make a save file to flash drive. no problems.

This only happens if you use save option save to sdb1 (the flash drive)

Possible solution to this bug here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=73225

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 07 Nov 2011, 23:49    Post_subject:  

A Puppy Package Manager bug has been reported that seems to list the entire repo for certain apps as dependencies Shocked

I have found that bug and have attached a fix, Barry has been informed and the fix will filter through to woof.

It is recommended that everyone use this patch if you require apps from slackware/salix/slacky repos.
petget_patch-1s.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  petget_patch-1s.pet 
Filesize  2.91 KB 
Downloaded  406 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2011, 16:15    Post_subject: Bootmanager Problem  

Fresh frugal installation on an ext3 partition. Created a 3fs save file upon reboot. No extra progams are installed.

Bootmanager configure bootup gives an error (see below) when you try to choose which extra SFS files to load at bootup. I received the same error message at the opening screen after rebooting to create a save file.
The error message shows if the /mnt/home directory contains too many SFS files. (See /mnt/home directory below.) I did not determine how many SFS need to be present to generate the error, however, when I reduced the number of SFS files to 8, it operates.

Another problem that I've noticed and reported previously is that shutdown reboots instead of shutting power off when installed on an ext4 partition. This problem does not occur with this ext3 frugal installation.

Regards,
Jim
image-3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   66.03 KB
 Viewed   1204 Time(s)

image-3.jpg

image-2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.75 KB
 Viewed   1139 Time(s)

image-2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 255

PostPosted: Tue 08 Nov 2011, 17:17    Post_subject:  

Please update Pidgin

The latest version is 2.10

The version in the repo is 2.7 and there are a lot of improvements and fixes in 2.10 Sad

http://pidgin.im
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 37 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1055s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0102s) ][ GZIP on ]