Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 07:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy 5.3.3 and Puppy School for Beginners
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 7 [93 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 07 Apr 2011, 18:14    Post subject:  

I am a noob so I will only comment on this known thing.

The volume seems to be very low

As far as I know that is a very well known thing.

The roundabout seems to be to use some kind of booster that exists in some programs. You should use search or the search that is in my signature.

My poor memory fails me. Was it Retrovol that had a booster or what was it?

The bad thing with the booster is that you can overload and get distortion so you have to test where that happens and go below. I now bow out of this thread.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Al13n

Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu 07 Apr 2011, 18:33    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:


The volume seems to be very low



I also can't get emesen to work, puppy should have come with it along with an irc client
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rsanders

Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 07 Apr 2011, 21:15    Post subject:  

I want my old menu button back.

5.25 has gone to the orangey Ubuntu-logo thing instead of the menu button, and I find this far less usable due to the missing width, causing frequent browser selection events.

How do I change it? I found a sort of menu icon after lots of Googling but have already forgotten which directory it was in (nested like five layers deep in the middle of nowhere), but I could not find the orange one and so could not even try to just copy over, if such a maneuver would even work.

Please advise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 09:28    Post subject:  

rsanders wrote:
I want my old menu button back.

5.25 has gone to the orangey Ubuntu-logo thing instead of the menu button, and I find this far less usable due to the missing width, causing frequent browser selection events.

How do I change it? I found a sort of menu icon after lots of Googling but have already forgotten which directory it was in (nested like five layers deep in the middle of nowhere), but I could not find the orange one and so could not even try to just copy over, if such a maneuver would even work.

Please advise.


hello rsanders
If you navigate to /usr/share/fbpanel/images directory with rox filer file manager you will see the old menu button in there.

if you right click on the current start-button.png and rename it to something like old-start-button.png - then - right mouse click on the 1start-button.png and rename it to start-button.png that will make it the used menu button.
then go to:
Menu > Desktop > Desktop Settings > Fbpanel refresh menu and tray.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 422
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2011, 18:04    Post subject: The menu button  

(some snipping)

stu90 wrote:
rsanders wrote:
I want my old menu button back.
hello rsanders
If you navigate to /usr/share/fbpanel/images directory with rox filer file manager you will see the old menu button in there.

if you right click on the current start-button.png and rename it to something like old-start-button.png - then - right mouse click on the 1start-button.png and rename it to start-button.png that will make it the used menu button.
then go to:
Menu > Desktop > Desktop Settings > Fbpanel refresh menu and tray.

Thank you!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rsanders

Joined: 07 Apr 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 14 Apr 2011, 12:53    Post subject:  

Indeed, thanks a lot Stu90! That was the one spot I had not found.

I have actually combined the two images in Gimp to create a 176x48 menu button which includes the Ubuntu-esque Puppy logo menu (start) button. I have yet to improperly select the browser-chooser as a result.

I'll attempt to include it here just so others don't have to spend the five to ten minutes makin' it purty.
start-button.png
 Description   /usr/share/fbpanel/images/start-button.png
 Filesize   6.41 KB
 Viewed   3020 Time(s)

start-button.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5231
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 17 Apr 2011, 16:59    Post subject: Re: Puppy 5.2.5
Subject description: Some help
 

Al13n wrote:
Hey guys, i tried puppy 5.2.5 and it is super fast, however i am having a few troubles. The volume seems to be very low, it doesn't detect my graphics card, its very hard to find things you need, i downloaded compiz and i can't find it anywhere after i install it. I wanted to run xpgnome on it and it won't.

my stats are

nvidia geforce GT 430
motherboard gigabyte g31m-es2l
pentium dual core CPU e5200 2.50ghz
realtek HD audio sound
I have 2 gig RAM and 320GB HD

Volume control:
Try this, Right-click the speaker icon in the system tray and choose Full Window. Enable Master, PCM, Front and any others that seem likely and also turn up the volume in each. This should fix things a good percentage of the time. If not, then please try Menu -> Setup -> Alsa Sound Wizard.

Graphics card:
In Quickpet->drivers
Try running click here to test your graphics card.
install the recommended driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lcm123

Joined: 22 Apr 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2011, 18:49    Post subject: please help  

I am currently using lucid puppy.

since I am using scim to key-in Japanese, I installed these pets in the system:

1.scim-1.4.9.pup4.4.2.2.1.pet
2.scim-anthy-1.2.7.pup4.4.2.2.1.pet
3.scim-bridge-0.4.16-pup4.pet
4.anthy-9100h.patch13Bptn23/2009527.1.pet

The scim is working fine with these pets installed.

But I also want to have another language input, which is the chinese.

So, I went to www.scim-im.org and downloaded an archive named scim-pinyin-0.5.91.tar.gz

that claims to be able the user to use pinyin to input the chinese.

Since this is not a pet file, how I am going to let my puppy recognize the files inside the archive? For example, where should I extract the folder to? And what are the steps after the extraction? Or I am still lack of some other files to complete my installation?

Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lcm123

Joined: 22 Apr 2011
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed 04 May 2011, 07:08    Post subject: Re: please help  

lcm123 wrote:
I am currently using lucid puppy.

since I am using scim to key-in Japanese, I installed these pets in the system:

1.scim-1.4.9.pup4.4.2.2.1.pet
2.scim-anthy-1.2.7.pup4.4.2.2.1.pet
3.scim-bridge-0.4.16-pup4.pet
4.anthy-9100h.patch13Bptn23/2009527.1.pet

The scim is working fine with these pets installed.

But I also want to have another language input, which is the chinese.

So, I went to www.scim-im.org and downloaded an archive named scim-pinyin-0.5.91.tar.gz

that claims to be able the user to use pinyin to input the chinese.

Since this is not a pet file, how I am going to let my puppy recognize the files inside the archive? For example, where should I extract the folder to? And what are the steps after the extraction? Or I am still lack of some other files to complete my installation?

Thanks for the help.



Just configure the Puppy Package Manager as to let it know more repositories. Click the Ubuntu repository so that PPM has more options to choose for. There are Scim for chinese input, only thing is there is no package for traditional font.

Thanks to Ubuntu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3331
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 05 May 2011, 20:19    Post subject: new version of my right click option package  

new version 4.8 of my right click options package
which offers additional right click options for convenience.

I made a few small changes to my Right click package on the suggestion of
smokey01

1) More options for text files and internet files
2) Also a partition can be searched by pfind
3) MIME was changed so that GIMP xcf files can be opened with a
single click

lupu-right-click-4.8.pet size 30k

Go to this thread for details
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=519996#519996

__________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
malato

Joined: 18 May 2011
Posts: 18
Location: italy

PostPosted: Thu 26 May 2011, 04:43    Post subject: devx issue
Subject description: me verry noooob
 

hi all
i've installed lupu 5.2.5, and tried to install lupu_devx_525.sfs:
i've saved the file in /mnt/home (which seems to me the same as /root) and tried to tell boot setup to recognize it, but it keeps telling me that -provided there's a sfs file in mnt/home- it's not the right version
i've tried both to mount and unmount the file by left-clicking on it but nothing has changed

am i doing something wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICQ Number 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5231
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 26 May 2011, 19:21    Post subject: Re: devx issue
Subject description: me verry noooob
 

malato wrote:
hi all
i've installed lupu 5.2.5, and tried to install lupu_devx_525.sfs:
i've saved the file in /mnt/home (which seems to me the same as /root) and tried to tell boot setup to recognize it, but it keeps telling me that -provided there's a sfs file in mnt/home- it's not the right version
i've tried both to mount and unmount the file by left-clicking on it but nothing has changed

am i doing something wrong?

Loading SFS files with Bootmanager configure bootup.
This only works for frugal installs of Puppy Linux.
If you have a full install of Puppy you have to do it another way.
Explained here:
http://puppy.b0x.me/wiki/doku.php?id=installing_sfs_extensions#full_installations
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
malato

Joined: 18 May 2011
Posts: 18
Location: italy

PostPosted: Thu 26 May 2011, 19:26    Post subject:  

thank you very much
i'm trying that next morning Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICQ Number 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 10 Aug 2011, 00:21    Post subject:  

Questions should be asked in the appropriate forum thread. Usually this is Beginners or Users.
_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jusuf

Joined: 04 Nov 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 05:29    Post subject:  

I have a Compaq Armada M300:- 600 MHz, 320 MB Ram, 10GB hdd
I am using a PCMCIA wireless network card: EZ connect SMC2632Wv2
Its has both Windoze XP and a Poor man's install of Puppy Linux 4.3.1. Everything worked fine on my old notebook.
Downloaded Lupu 5.0.1 recently... but it did not detect my wireless card.
Does this mean that 4.3.1 will be the final version of Puppu Linux for this computer?texas Hold Em Tex

Last edited by Jusuf on Thu 20 Jun 2013, 23:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 7 [93 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1048s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0097s) ][ GZIP on ]