Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 13:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko Puppy 5.3.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 11 of 37 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
KRuCi8L3

Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Location: somewhere .... out there.

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 08:47    Post_subject:  Re: Slacko Puppy 5.3
Sub_title: feedback and bug reports
 

01micko wrote:

Please report anything good or bad.
Thank you.


<slightly OT>
OK, a brief intro if I may? I am new to forum, not new to linux (although have not used it for quite a while due to NO PC).
Firstly, I wish to thank ALL puppy users and devs. I love it, and have for some time! It is a truly powerful tool and useful for many forms of production. A truly heartfelt thanks to you all.
</slightly OT>

System:
Asus A42Jv laptop with Optimus/Intel/nVidia/Cuda hybrid (had I only known the grief that would come my way Confused), Intel iCore5, 4gb ram, latest bios (interesting story there) etc.

Initial Notes:
Live CD Slacko 5.3 booted fine and detected proper lcd rez. All smiles as I had nothing but grief with Wary (my fault as I was too eager to get back to Puppy and try to learn Linux and maybe some basic programming again to read the fine print which clearly stated Wary is aimed at older HW.)

Alsa sound surprisingly enough worked OOTB and retrovol gave a host of output options which I have as yet not touched.

Initial Heavy Encryption, ext2 savefile to 2+gb partition (ext4) of a 4gb usb flashdisk seemed to go well. Reboot and loading that savefile did not.

As I am quite the noob at linux "command line", I wrote down the error particulars:
...
Kernel panic Not syncing Attempted to kill init!
Pid: 1, comm: init Not tainted 2.6.37.6 #1
...
<Call Trace>
[<c12a2988>] ? panic + 0x4d/0x130
[<c1029179>] ? do_exit + 0x5a/0x59d
[<c1029868>] ? do_group_exit + 0x0/0x7b
[<c12a48a5>] ? syscall_call + 0x7/0xb
</Call Trace>

This left me at a blinking pipe symbol and no use of the machine so a hard shutdown was my only choice.

Any ideas? Obviously I did something wrong. Will my initial savefile be useable or not?

<slightly OT#2>
I cannot get ANY SFS dev file in any Puppy version to give me usage of MAKE. I googled and searched this and other forums but seemed to come up with only code snippets using make but no instructions on how to "install" or call make. I thought I remembered reading that all you had to do was mount the sfs and bash away to one's heart's content. I have several small bash and python sample bins/utils I hope to actually be able to use soon, so any tips here would be greatly appreciated. Initial tries at gcc does work a bit although I get constant errors and have only been able to either "configure" or read the help. Evil or Very Mad
</slightly OT#2>

Tx for any help in finding the solution to the savefile problem. Apologies for any typos as this is my first ever laptop and I am a die hard hunt and peck, full sized keyboard typist.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 14:10    Post_subject:  

KRuCi8L3 wrote:
...Any ideas? Obviously I did something wrong. Will my initial savefile be useable or not? ...
Hi and welcome to Puppyland.

I just tested a similar laptop over the weekend. BUT, I did something a little different.
  1. I booted the LiveDVD (this was created as a multi-session media when burning the ISO.
  2. Tailored couple of apps for the owner
  3. Created a 4GB SWAP (to match RAM size) partition
  4. And showed them how to save the work (session) back to the LIve media by answering correctly ("Save to CD") at shutdown/reboot. (This fascinated them, for, they never knew a PC could be run totally from a DVD....totally.)
Should you want to repeat what I did, I would strongly encourage you to delete the "Save session" you have, currently, on your hard drive. (Puppies are very particular about what they find on your HDDs/USBs at boot time.)

This may work flawlessly for you as well.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3387
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 15:27    Post_subject:  

As to your not being able to use "make", download the devx SFS file for Slacko 5.3 and the kernel source SFS file.
Be sure to save them to /mnt/home as your pupsave file can overflow really fast otherwise.

You can then use SFS-load-on-the-fly in the menu to load them.
After that, typing "make" or "gcc" from the command line should work.
And if you are trying to compile something, open the terminal in the directory containing the source for that application.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 16:28    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Or open a terminal window where the file lives and try to delete it with a wild card. If the first character in the name was "a", use
Code:
rm a*

Be careful what other files this would delete at the same time.


Quote:
sh-4.1# rm sl*ckosave-x19
rm: cannot remove `sl*ckosave-x19': No such file or directory
sh-4.1# rm Zoomer_Rewards*
rm: cannot remove `Zoomer_Rewards_a.rá\207\214f': No such file or directory
sh-4.1#

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
otropogo


Joined: 24 Oct 2009
Posts: 702
Location: Southern Rocky Mt. Trench

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 16:49    Post_subject:  

8-bit wrote:
What would happen if you created a dummy file with the same name, saved it and then tried copying it to that NTFS partition.
I normally get a popup that says that filename exists and do I want to overwrite it. Say yes and then delete the resulting file.

It may be worth a try.


In ROX the corrupted character is replaced by a single character, a domino for the rtf file, a rectangle with an X in it for the "a" in Slacko. In the Abiword file navigator, the corrupted character is represented by an "a" with an accent on it (forward slash) followed by two dominos (rectangles containing four dots) in both filenames.

I created a new rtf file with Abiword with the same name, and tried to save it to the same directory as the corrupted file. The result was a popup that says:

Quote:
Writing error when attempting to save the file:///mnt/sda5/Zoomer_Rewards_a.rtf




I repeated it, just to make sure I hadn't done anything improperly.

_________________
otropogo@gmail.com facebook.com/otropogo
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zulhilmi

Joined: 23 Oct 2011
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 04:41    Post_subject: libreoffice
Sub_title: cannot install
 

i tried to install this office software in slacko 5.3 without success....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
KRuCi8L3

Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Location: somewhere .... out there.

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 05:27    Post_subject:  

First, thank you very much for the advice.
[quote="gcmartin"]
this was created as a multi-session media when burning the ISO.
[/quote="gcmartin"]

The problem I see with multi-session rw disc is that anyone can write to it, or call a script at shutdown to "add something" to the disc or savefile. That's why my goal was to create an "uncorruptible" save which I could revert to the moment problems arise and start from scratch again. I don't want to marry the os, I just want to use it as a tool and then wipe it off and put it away. My initial thinking was to simply boot that savefile one time, then back it up to other media (cdr), as the successful bootup would be proof of (at least) initial usability. But since it would not load that save, I am stuck with a hesitant "redo".

[quote="gcmartin"]
Tailored couple of apps for the owner[/quote="gcmartin"]

One thing I did not mention before was that the goal is to implement some newish Linux version with compatibility with my HW to create a highly mobile and "foolproof" usb or mini cd based desktop environment that will load a specific set of progs/data and have the ability to save on the fly. I am still very much in study mode, but that is the end goal.
Said another way, I simply want to get ONE stable linux os setup and working the way I want it to then KEEP it that way to MAXIMIZE productivity and stop chasing my tail. Caveat, I tend to enjoy tail/goose chasing from time to time. The other goal is to learn to dev, so that I can create/tinker with some apps I think will be very useful in my line of work.

[quote="gcmartin"]
[*]Created a 4GB SWAP (to match RAM size) partition [/quote="gcmartin"]

So the swap should match the available ram? OK,
when I get back on that project I will check it out. I do have a dedicated linux swap on the HD but am not sure of the size at
the moment.
[quote="gcmartin"]
[*]And showed them how to save the work (session) back to the LIve media by answering correctly ("Save to CD") at shutdown/reboot.[/quote="gcmartin"]
Don't you just love it when a plan comes together? Wink
But my save was on a USB. I followed the advice to heavily encrypt in the pupsave dialog box, but something went awry somewhere... Looking at the TRACE data, I suspect something to do with this version and ACPI not seeing bit to bit, but that is just a guess. I tried earlier Wary versions with and without ACPI and always had problems no matter what. Now that I think of it, this sounds like a classic faulty ram scenario, hmmm. I will be taking it to be serviced soon as the W7 (forgive my weakness o Lord) that came on the pc has been corrupted beyond recognition. And, as I question its "genuine-osity", I do hope to resolve the problems with puppy sufficiently so as to be able to bid a final and total farewell salute to all MS bloatware.

[quote="gcmartin"]
* I would strongly encourage you to delete the "Save session" you have, currently, on your hard drive. (Puppies are very particular about what they find on your HDDs/USBs at boot time.)[/quote="gcmartin"]

Are they? I've had and still have several differing versions of puppy savefiles all in the same partition and have been booting from cd with nary a savefile related issue before. Also, all of those saves are over the suggested size limit (1.8/2gb???).
Your reasoning? If it saved the save file ok, then during the load/init it obviously bypassed that point ok, why should the savefile be corrupt? I still think it is something else HW, FS, or procedural related. Keep in mind it is an el cheapo laptop with delusions of grandeur (imo). On an aside, the bios was also recently "corrupted" by the simple fact that I had both a system pwd and a user pwd set up at the same time (I was tired). Presto chango and one reboot later, every usable option in the bios was grayed out. I searched literally for two weeks for any clues as to why, with no success and heaps of outdated info none of which shed any light on a possible solution. When I say grayed out I mean it, the F9, Load optimized defaults was also incapacitated. As I could not reset defaults and could not flash the bios (due to it having the latest one already and the flash util would not allow a retrograde) I was temporarily stymied. Finally, I put the brakes on my racing brain, took a deep breath, let it out, and voila, there was the answer in the winflash app error msg (hint: dates can be changed with a simple hex edit). One quick edit and voila, new, usable bios (there's a peculiar fact about that event which may be interesting to some, but as this "saga-like" post has probably already stepped on a few toes, I'll digress.

[quote="gcmartin"]
This may work flawlessly for you as well. [/quote="gcmartin"]
I can dream can't I? Thanks so much for the tips. I'll give it a shot this weekend when time should be my own again. One final thought-how's the hybrid graphics working on that system there? Any tips on step-by-step setup so I can disable the Intel onboard that you could PM to me? Pretty please!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
KRuCi8L3

Joined: 29 Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Location: somewhere .... out there.

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 05:36    Post_subject:  

8-bit wrote:
As to your not being able to use "make", download the devx SFS file for Slacko 5.3 and the kernel source SFS file.
Be sure to save them to /mnt/home as your pupsave file can overflow really fast otherwise.

You can then use SFS-load-on-the-fly in the menu to load them. After that, typing "make" or "gcc" from the command line should work. And if you are trying to compile something, open the terminal in the directory containing the source for that application.


Sage advice 8bit. Thank you. I thought I had done just that. I know I was opening the console through rox that way. So where can the source sfs be procured? I don't remember my kernel version atm, but it is quite recent. Anyway I don't have a krnl src sfs and have not read of that requirement anywhere before. Is there a noob sticky I missed somewhere? I got the slacko-5.3-MAIN and the matching dev sfs, added the dev sfs to the main iso (a kludge??) and made the boot disc to simply look under the hood and see if my HW would freak out/balk in the face of slacko (or vice-versa would be more accurate).
Aha! So you have to load the dev sfs via the util? I can't just click on the dev sfs to load it and have it usable as I am sure I remember reading on Mr. Kauler's blog page on compiling somewhere (at least I think I'm sure, maybe, kinda)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5251
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 15:43    Post_subject:  

KRuCi8L3,

I suggest you spend a little more time learning how Puppy works before trying to do anything.
There is a learning curve we all had to deal with.
The first topics, in the beginners section of the forum, have a lot of information.

About the save file problem.
You said you used heavy encryption option to make it.
That could be the problem. Encryption of save files is a very old option and from posts I have read, I do not think it works well anymore with the newer versions of Puppy.
I would delete the old save file and make a new one, but do not use encryption option.

Also, when using an install of Puppy that uses a save file. Best to make the save file first before installing any other programs.
When Puppy is rebooted, now using the save file, make the changes and additions.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 00:40    Post_subject:  

hi all

trying to run a program I compiled in slacko 5.3 PAE and get the following error when trying to start the gui from terminal.

# zenmap
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/bin/zenmap", line 94, in <module>
import zenmapGUI.App
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/site-packages/zenmapGUI/App.py", line 116, in <module>
import gtk
ImportError: No module named gtk
#


I read it as a gtk module is not installed, (but which one ??)
and I thought gtk was installed as standard and when I compiled the program it never asked for gtk as a dependancy
Is it a slacko fault ? or am I missing something ?

cheers

Don

edited to add: have compiled and ran it in lucid 528 without problem (if that helps Laughing )

_________________
Very Happy Testing PuppyPhone version 1.3PRE Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zulhilmi

Joined: 23 Oct 2011
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 01:00    Post_subject: libreoffice  

i tried to install libreoffice in 5.3 but a lot of errors...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 618
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 02:01    Post_subject:  

@Stripe
This error comes from Python - it seems that slackos Python in the Devx dont has the Python gtk Module. This could be a starter http://www.pygtk.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 02:10    Post_subject:  

Thanks very much emil I will try it.

Don
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 618
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 03:22    Post_subject:  

Actually having a working Python gtk module would be great because a a good deal of python software use it for it's GUIs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1017
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 09:04    Post_subject:  

Hi Don !
Stripe wrote:

# zenmap
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/bin/zenmap", line 94, in <module>
import zenmapGUI.App
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/site-packages/zenmapGUI/App.py", line 116, in <module>
import gtk
ImportError: No module named gtk
#


I read it as a gtk module is not installed, (but which one ??)
and I thought gtk was installed as standard and when I compiled the program it never asked for gtk as a dependancy
Is it a slacko fault ? or am I missing something ?

cheers

Don

edited to add: have compiled and ran it in lucid 528 without problem (if that helps Laughing )


Having earlier already tried to install Python apps on Puppy included slacko, but not experienced in Python programming, perhaps
- You maybe need installing the PyGtk module - this can be downloaded from the slacky repo (i.e. pygtk-2.22.0-i486-1.txz ...have already experienced it with success; maybe other extra-modules needed as pycairo-1.8.10-i486-1.txz and pygobject-2.26.0-i486-1.txz ; those .txz packages get installed just clicking on it like a .pet package - then no devx package requested provided the python2.6.6 package is installed).
- check also if the PyGtk module is in the right directory !! It is sometimes installed in the dist-package subdirectory; whereas python supposes to find it in site-package . Then a solution (also succesfully experienced) is to symlink, if present , the requested modules folder from dist-package to site-package. Note there could be both python2.6 an python2.7 folders.

Check whether the module (here = pygtk) is right installed doing in a console:
(if you get something like this without ImportError message, then you are done with that module installation - type quit() to exit from python session)

Code:
#python
...
>>> import pygtk
>>>
>>>quit()
#


You maybe need also to reboot (I am not sure, but requested for some modules)

Hope this helps !
Have fun!
Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 37 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1309s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0101s) ][ GZIP on ]