Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 10:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 33 [487 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Wed 02 Nov 2011, 16:16    Post subject: systeminfo.pet
Subject description: from PCLinuxOS
 

@sage

Hi Matey - hope things are going well over in Blighty.
Attached is a pet package that I purloined from the PCLinuxOS repo and converted it to a pet.

The guy who developed it (called Leiche - LOL German for corpse Laughing ) did a good job on it - so I think that you are right in that it would be worth having available in Puppy.

Tested in Wary 5.2, Iguleder's Guy Dog 5.01, Luci 529 (3- Headed Dog). Should also work in most recent Puppies.

You may need the DBUS packages - certainly in Wary and maybe in the Lucid series as well, so if it doesn't start, install the DBUS packages from the PPM. You'll find the program in the JWM menu under "system".

Over and out.

Tronkel
systeminfo-0.6.3.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  systeminfo-0.6.3.pet 
Filesize  335.62 KB 
Downloaded  368 Time(s) 

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 02:41    Post subject:  

That's amazing tronk - very many thanks to you and the undead, Leiche! Tell me he's from Transylvania. Looks as if quite a few nibbles already. Small utilities like this strengthen the breed.
Quote:
You may need the DBUS packages

- and Racy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 04:20    Post subject:  

Unintended consequences!
Running the Flashplayer option immediately and involuntarily at the start of play tends to ellicit the answer 'Yes, please'. For users, esp. experimenters, of the liveCD, this can be disastrous. Running it numerous times a day soon gobbles up even the most generous ISP d/l allocations, doubtless reflected in the monthly account.
Suggest the appearance of Flashplayer is directly linked to first use of browser. Even better, to any use of browser requiring it (I don't use BBC iPlayer on test machines).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 08:49    Post subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
glxgears : command not found


It will be in next Racy.

Also, problem with glxgears hanging with Intel video fixed for next Racy.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 09:07    Post subject: Re: FirstRun and Internet Tool changes in RACY  

gcmartin wrote:
Internet Connection Wizard
There are 3 items of issue in this.
[list][*]The SMB/CIFS international "valid" characters for a hostname is A-Z, 0-9, and the hyphen character(s). When used in the tool, it is stripping our the hyphen when found.(For example, RACY-RCtest1 is being changed to RACYRCtest1)[*]When the hostname is changed via the tool, should one want to re-enter to verify, before restarting the desktop, the original information is found in the tool.
[*]And, I have found that most, if not all system fields are attempted to be changed, even though the desktop was not restarted. Fields are:[code]# hostname
RACYRCtest1
# echo $HOSTNAME
RACYRCtest1
# cat /etc/hosts
127.0.0.1 localhost RACYRCtest1
192.168.1.1 pc2
192.168.1.2 pc3
192.168.1.3 pc4
# cat /etc/hostname


Thanks for the report. I have fixed the first two in /usr/sbin/hostname-set. I don't know what the problem is in your 3rd point.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 09:30    Post subject: Re: FirstRun and Internet Tool changes in RACY  

gcmartin wrote:
  • FirstRUN
  • Internet Connection Wizard
FirstRUN
After making initial changes, the desktop restarts. If you should need or want to revisit FirstRUN (say, Menu>Settings>FirstRUN) one does NOT find their changes showing as one would expect.


Thanks, fixed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 09:36    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
One tiny matter, (I think raised by DaveS?) : the display in 1024x768, but no other resolutions, is shifted a bit less than half-an-inch to the left. This is a new feature for me but not DS.


We think this might be fixed in the next Racy.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4211
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 13:04    Post subject: Re: FirstRun and Internet Tool changes in RACY  

BarryK wrote:
gcmartin wrote:
Internet Connection Wizard
There are 3 items of issue in this.
  1. ...
  2. ...
  3. (Restated) Your Network tools seems to have made all necessary changes even though the desktop was not restarted. Thus, it allows you to consider if the desktop restart would be a necessary item.
    The following is what I found before the tool restarted the desktop. "The felds were all set properly."
    Code:
    # hostname
    RACYRCtest1
    # echo $HOSTNAME
    RACYRCtest1
    # cat /etc/hosts
    127.0.0.1 localhost RACYRCtest1
    192.168.1.1 pc2
    192.168.1.2 pc3
    192.168.1.3 pc4
    # cat /etc/hostname
    ..
.... I don't know what the problem is in your 3rd point.
No problem. Its an account just to show the effects of the tools in correctly setting system needs, even before a restart. Thus, a restart after a mere hostname change may not be necessary.

Great effort. Thanks for everything. This has been stable since startup last week.
Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2078
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 09:44    Post subject: Racy Puppy 5.1.110 (5.2 beta2 - 27 Oct 2011)  

Manual frugal install to acer netbook.

Fri 4 Nov 2011 Operating System: Racy Puppy-5.1.110 Linux 3.0.7
5.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc M880G [Mobility Radeon HD 4200]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS product: RS880M 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1024x600 pixels (270x158 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

AMD Athlon(tm) II Neo K125 Processor
Core 0: 1695 MHz

Computer
Processor AMD Athlon(tm) II Neo K125 Processor
Memory 1812MB (104MB used)

# glxgears
1026 frames in 5.0 seconds = 204.917 FPS
1012 frames in 5.0 seconds = 202.241 FPS
1025 frames in 5.0 seconds = 204.834 FPS

On first boot the screen resolution and sound were good,I used sns to
set up the wireless network connection.
Ethernet controller Atheros Communications AR8151 v1.0 Gigabit Ethernet
Network controller Broadcom Corporation BCM43225 802.11b/g/n

I tried to install the ati-driver-installer-11-9-x86.x86_64.run
proprietary driver but couldn't, it compiled without error but after
fighting with it for a while I gave up and settled for the radeon
driver.
Other than the ati problem racy is working well on this netbook.
racyscrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   139.02 KB
 Viewed   1171 Time(s)

racyscrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 10:57    Post subject:  

Quote:

I tried to install the ati-driver-installer-11-9-x86.x86_64.run
proprietary driver but couldn't, it compiled without error but after
fighting with it for a while I gave up and settled for the radeon
driver.

Join the club!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 12:33    Post subject:  

Quote:
tronkel
Attached is a pet package that I purloined from the PCLinuxOS repo and converted it to a pet.
systeminfo-0.6.3.pet

Noted that 8-bit has produced something with the same name!

Any idea how to convert it from PCLOS to a .deb for my Mint system?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 15:23    Post subject:  

@sage

in Mint, you can install the alien package and then convert the systeminfo rpm package to a deb package.

I have already converted it to a deb. Since I could only find a i386 version on the web this is the architecture that it prefers to run on - that's the bad news.

The good news though, is that even if you have a 64bit Mint version (either the Ubuntu or Debian based variant "lmde"), you can force the install at the command line by using:

sudo dpkg -i --force-all "name ofpackage"

You can have a go yourself if you want to try it, but I'll upload the deb that I built to datafilehost anyway after I have finished scoffing my dessert. Keep an eye on this thread for the download URL.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 15:52    Post subject:  

OK here's the download URL for the systeminfo DEB package for Linux Mint/Ubuntu.

http://www.datafilehost.com/download-7b75ce74.html

Enjoy!

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2011, 16:47    Post subject:  

Just tried systeminfo on my Linux Mint LMDE 64 bit installation. It works, but only just. The output windows are truncated and just as in the Puppy version, the offer to install any missing packages doesn't work - as you would expect though, since Puppy Linux has a different package management system to PCLinuxOS.

I then thought I'd have a go with installing it to my Debian Wheezy partition - again a 64 bit version - the same system that Linux Mint LMDE is based on. In this case and using the same deb file that I built for Mint, systeminfo works perfectly - including the ability to install stuff directly from the Wheezy repo.

There's no explaining why things work sometimes in Linux an not other times.

Linux Mint and Wheezy seem to be 2 different animals even although Mint LMDE is based on Wheezy. I wonder where the difference is.

I like this current Debian Wheezy - second only to Puppy though of course! Needs a bit of tweaking though to set it up to my liking, but worth the time spent IMHO

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 05 Nov 2011, 02:48    Post subject:  

Quote:
There's no explaining why things work sometimes in Linux an not other times.

...has a certain incongruity with your motto!
Thanks for all that, tronk. My Mint machine is still running Xfce9. That poor fellow's wife stopped that series in its tracks. Since it works, I didn't bother to change to the Deb or LXDE later versions. Too much else going on, but Xfce is still my favourite.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 33 [487 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0959s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0105s) ][ GZIP on ]