Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 08:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to install Puppy without burning a CD
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
ssaigol

Joined: 08 May 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 09 May 2008, 13:26    Post_subject:  How to install Puppy without burning a CD
Sub_title: A no-CD installation procedure using Puppy iso
 

I Hate burning CDs. Its a slow tedious procedure and the CD is useless once the install is completed. So, faced with having no CDRs available to burn my newly downloaded Puppy Linux 4.00 iso. I searched around for a way to install puppy with out burning any CD.

I have a Sony Vaio FS630W laptop running Ubuntu. The general idea is to mount the iso so it can be read like a mounted CD. Copy the files on the iso to a directory and tell grub how to boot from that directory. Follow along:

1. Download Puppy Linux to your home or any directory.

2. Create a mount point for the Puppy iso.
sudo mkdir /media/iso

(In ubuntu use sudo; in other distros use su to become superuser)

3. Mount the iso
sudo mount /home/mydir/puppy-4.00-k2.6.21.7-seamonkey.iso /media/iso -o loop

4. Copy the files on the iso image to a permanent directory. This is the directory GRUB will boot Puppy from.

sudo mkdir /puppy
sudo cp /media/iso/* /puppy

5. Now that all the Puppy files are copied to your /puppy directory, you no longer need the iso so go ahead and unmount it.

sudo umount /media/iso

6. Now we change the menu.lst file of grub to enable booting our new pet.

sudo nano /boot/grub/menu.lst

7. Copy the configuration below to the bottom of the menu.lst file. Keep in mind the "root (hd0,2) means the 3rd partition on my machine. You must use the same number as the one where your /puppy directory is located.


#Puppy Linux
title PuppyLinux
root (hd0,2)
kernel /puppy/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0
initrd /puppy/initrd.gz

8. Save the menu.lst file and reboot your system. When the Grub menu comes up, use the down arrow to highlight the puppylinux selection and puppy will boot just as if you had booted the computer with a CD.

You can now install Puppy to HD or usb or just keep using it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
106498

Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2008, 01:29    Post_subject:  

Thanks! This is going to save me a lot of cd's!!
_________________
An expert is just a beginner with experience.
Shamelessly representing TdeM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sat 23 Aug 2008, 02:24    Post_subject: isomaster  

Puppy has ISO editing/building software like ISOmaster, so all you have to do is open the ISO and extract the files then use it in frugal install in the hard disk, or in flash drive.
_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4507
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 26 Sep 2011, 15:21    Post_subject: Using Netboot  

If you want to run PUPs without installing anything consider this

Instructions there offer you the ability to boot any PC on your LAN.
In fact, the instructions show you how to:
  1. have it boot without user interaction straight to desktop
  2. have it boot allowing user to hit F2 and tailor Puppy start options
  3. have it boot to a GRUB menu where the user can select which PUP the PC is to boot
Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
puppyto

Joined: 10 Apr 2010
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Tue 04 Oct 2011, 12:06    Post_subject:  

I ask if the mount point should be a folder or a partition on hd o usb disk, if I have ubuntu on hd can I create mount point on ubuntu and load puppylinux from a folder on ubuntu??? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 799

PostPosted: Fri 28 Oct 2011, 17:30    Post_subject:  

I do a frugall install to hard-disk like this.
Example for slacko in partition sda6 :
- create a new folder SLACKO-5.3 in partition /mnt/sda6/
- download slacko iso
- left click iso to mount it
- copy 3 files : initrd.gz, *.sfs and vmlinuz in folder /mnt/sda6/SLACKO-5.3/
- left click iso to unmount it
- for grub, add to menu.lst :
Code:
title Slacko version 5.3
 root (hd0,5)
 kernel (hd0,5)/SLACKO-5.3/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0
 initrd (hd0,5)/SLACKO-5.3/initrd.gz

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 04:55    Post_subject:  

linuxcbon

but that is if one have a grub legacy or grub4dos boot.

those that are on Ubuntu versions now them have grub2 so
you need to give them the curly {
things
}
and kernel is named linux and title is named entry most likely Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 799

PostPosted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 16:20    Post_subject:  

For grub2
/etc/grub.d/custom_40 contains
Code:
menuentry "Wary version 5.2 frugal on sda6" {
set root=(hd0,5)
linux /WARY-5.2/vmlinuz
initrd /WARY-5.2/initrd.gz
}

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 16:27    Post_subject:  

I've seen this one many times now.

root=/dev/ram0

how is that one different from this one

root=/dev/null

Does the grub4dos treat it as same code?

Kind of odd that a thread from 2008 suddenly get active 2011.

I mean that is many years. What did happen there Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3398
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 16:47    Post_subject:  

Yet another way to install is to download one of the install exe files for windows.
You download the exe for the Puppy of your choice, or follow the directions closely on making an exe install file for Puppy.
Run the exe file and Puppy gets installed.
No burning required.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 799

PostPosted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 19:27    Post_subject:  

Here is a link to install puppy from windows :
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=49077
It contains pup431-on-WinXP-install.exe to install puppy from windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
fopetesl

Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 31
Location: Yorkshire Dales

PostPosted: Tue 01 Nov 2011, 08:04    Post_subject:  Install Puppy onto USB Flash
Sub_title: An easier way to install Puppy onto USB Flash from Windoze
 

Worked for me:
Universal-USB-Installer-1.8.6.3.exe
http://www.pendrivelinux.com/universal-usb-installer-easy-as-1-2-3/

No hiccups, no burning CD first. Just have your Puppy iso name available, e.g. Lupid
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Norbertos

Joined: 19 Nov 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2011, 09:11    Post_subject:  

I use UNetbootin for this.

But it requires two Ubuntu packages:
"mtools", and "p7zip-full"

You can download it from here:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/unetbootin/

The required packages:
http://packages.ubuntu.com/oneiric/mtools
http://packages.ubuntu.com/oneiric/p7zip-full

I have almost forgotten !:
Boot parameters for booting from pendrive (or any usb flash device):
Code:
puppy pmedia=usbflash


Boot parameters for booting from an external HDD (USB):
Code:
puppy pmedia=usbhd


Greetings from Hungary: Norbert
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message MSNM 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 Dec 2011, 10:03    Post_subject:  

puppyto wrote:
I ask if the mount point should be a folder or a partition on hd o usb disk, if I have ubuntu on hd can I create mount point on ubuntu and load puppylinux from a folder on ubuntu??? Confused


Short answer: folder works fine. As long as you 'point' grub to where you are booting from, you can put puppy in a folder and tell grub to boot from that folder.

But as you can see from the various other posts, there are many, many ways to get Puppy installed and running. I've used the Window's exe installer many times on various types of Puppy as well, works great. Viva la versatility of Puppy!

The initial instructions listed by the first poster are a good outline of roughly what I do all the time, trying out new Puppy's and such. Takes as long as the download takes, installs quickly, etc. Did that to try out the new Slacko yesterday, works like a champ. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0851s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]