Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 08:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko Puppy 5.3.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Author Message
KBD47

Joined: 27 Jul 2011
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 18:48    Post subject:  

Are the repositories for slacko package manager working for anyone? About to give up on this distro, nothing will download from the repositories from me besides slackpet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 19:25    Post subject:  

KBD47 wrote:
Are the repositories for slacko package manager working for anyone? About to give up on this distro, nothing will download from the repositories from me besides slackpet.


works for me. did slickpet>morepets>updatepuppypackagemanager first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 20:02    Post subject:  

this problem is long standing and unreported since didn't know but just tried racy beta2 and found out how good it can be when it works correctly.

racy auto-detects 1920x1080 display with a HDMI cable connected to external monitor AND fills the width of my computer monitor. How sweet!

slacko auto-detects 1024x768 with a HDMI output to large screen but the computer display monitor has a diminished width.

slacko highest can choose is 1600x900 and computer display is full width but cannot get HDMI output to external screen. kind of box looking and 1024x768 is only resolution can get to work with external monitor.

slacko unable to choose 1920x1080. noticed Racy auto-detected vesa driver and Slacko uses my intel driver.


how can get 1920x1080 or 1600x900 display on external monitor display? Or how can get 1024x768 display that fills the width of computer display?
thnaks

------------

persistance... got 1600x900 on HDMI external and full screen computer monitor by re-running xorg Wizard instead of trying menu>XorgWizard>resolution changer.

can get 1024x768 display that fills the width of computer display and external monitor?

Last edited by jim3630 on Thu 27 Oct 2011, 20:36; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DPUP5520

Joined: 16 Feb 2011
Posts: 802

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 20:14    Post subject:  

Just realized audio is not working either on my Satellite E205-S1980, tried reconfiguring audio options and checked everything I could think of and still cannot get it working.
HTOP.png
 Description   
 Filesize   31.73 KB
 Viewed   1182 Time(s)

HTOP.png


_________________
PupRescue 2.5
Puppy Crypt 528
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MoebusNet

Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 22:18    Post subject:  

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 5.3

Chip description:
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation N10 Family Graphics Controller
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation N10 Family Graphics Controller

Driver used by Xorg:
intel

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: “1024x600“ Depth: Depth 24

# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.197 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.957 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.957 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.957 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.958 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.957 FPS

-Computer-
Processor : 2x Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU N450 @ 1.66GHz
Memory : 1023MB (174MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Thu 27 Oct 2011 09:10:09 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x600 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Mesa DRI Intel(R) IGD x86/MMX/SSE2
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
-Input Devices-
AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
ImPS/2 Generic Wheel Mouse
Power Button
Sleep Button
Lid Switch
Power Button
PC Speaker
1.3M WebCam
Video Bus
-Printers (CUPS)-
CUPS-PDF : <i>Default</i>

Hardware: See signature. Touchpad still thinks it's a mouse Sad

EDIT: Forgot to mention that my built-in ENE card reader is working flawlessly with this Pup. Thank you for all the hard work! This Pup is working well for me.

_________________
Acer Aspire One D255-2301 (N450 Atom @ 1.6 Ghz, 1 Gb RAM, 160 Gb HDD w/WinXP, ENE SD card reader, Alps touchpad) 5.28/5.3.1 via manual-frugal ext4 USB flash drive (4Gb) using GRUB4DOS

Last edited by MoebusNet on Fri 28 Oct 2011, 10:07; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 23:29    Post subject:  

Those users with sound issues:

If you have the speaker icon in the tray then sound is recognised. You need to right click that icon and configure retrovol,

Failing that, there is a generic mixer menu entry in the multimedia menu. This runs alsamixer. Adjust and turn on what you think needs adjusting, then hit the TAB key for more settings.

For multiple sound cards run Multiple-Sound-Card-Wizard in a terminal emulator (rxvt).

If you have trouble with multiple sound card settings in gnome-mplayer there is an older version in PPM which is reported to work better with multiple sound cards.

There is also a sound configuration utility from the setup icon. Please try all these before attempting to use alsaconf.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 28 Oct 2011, 03:17    Post subject:  

KBD47 wrote:
Are the repositories for slacko package manager working for anyone? About to give up on this distro, nothing will download from the repositories from me besides slackpet.


Working fine here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wingevil

Joined: 28 Oct 2011
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Fri 28 Oct 2011, 10:42    Post subject: ZIM
Subject description: don't work after install
 

I installed slacko today on my old notebook and OOB all run very well. Then I installed "zim" (a desktop wiki) from the salix repos. The installation with the neccessary dependencies was working without any error message, but after the installation ZIM won't start. Nothing happens! Crying or Very sad

I installed zim on several other boxes with Salix and also with native slackware 13.x so I know, that the app works fine. Can someone give me a hint, how to solve the problem under slacko???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tony

Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 319
Location: Montreal.ca

PostPosted: Fri 28 Oct 2011, 12:44    Post subject:  

Hi,

pupcamera works better than anything similar I have seen before in puppy but only works once per session. To use it again I have to reboot.

Also getting lots of these error messages with dmesg :-

aufs au_lkup_dentry:273:rdev[25208]: I/O Error, both of real entry and whiteout found, seq, err -5

Thanks for all your efforts. Regards Tony.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tpw

Joined: 27 Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Location: Brisbane

PostPosted: Fri 28 Oct 2011, 16:21    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
tpw

Welcome to puppy Smile

You will notice after you run flsynclient there is a Xdialog which pops up asking if your touchpad settings are ok. if you answered "yes" then run flsynclient again and answer "no". restart X. I have the issue with the main version on my r51 Thinkpad and this resolves the issue.


Thanks for the the welcome and the help 01micko. My problem is that at no stage do I ever see the Xdialog you are referring to. Even on a fresh frugal install with no savefile loaded. Any ideas? In desperation I've tried editing the xorg.conf file directly. I can speed up the touchpad but can't get tapping for mouseclick functionality.

Thanks again
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Fri 28 Oct 2011, 17:31    Post subject: Re: I like, couple issues  

KBD47 wrote:
... Usually touchpad on my netbook works pretty well with default puppy setting, but with slacko had to turn everything up because touchpad response and movement was terribly slow compared to other puppies. But that I could fix.


How did you fix the slow touchpad? I have had no luck with the configure touchpad tool. usb mouse works fine. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 28 Oct 2011, 18:25    Post subject:  

tpw wrote:
01micko wrote:
tpw

Welcome to puppy Smile

You will notice after you run flsynclient there is a Xdialog which pops up asking if your touchpad settings are ok. if you answered "yes" then run flsynclient again and answer "no". restart X. I have the issue with the main version on my r51 Thinkpad and this resolves the issue.


Thanks for the the welcome and the help 01micko. My problem is that at no stage do I ever see the Xdialog you are referring to. Even on a fresh frugal install with no savefile loaded. Any ideas? In desperation I've tried editing the xorg.conf file directly. I can speed up the touchpad but can't get tapping for mouseclick functionality.

Thanks again


There is a file, /etc/$TOUCHPAD-configured, where TOUCHPAD= synaptic, elantech or alps. Delete it and try again.

The script is at /usr/sbin/flsynclient-wrappper. I probably should remove the creation of /etc/${TOUHCPAD}-configured as flsynclient is usually only run the once or twice and that little nag screen is not too intrusive.

______________________________________________________________________

I just tested light encryption, working fine except that gdk-pixbuf-query-loaders --update-cache needs to be run to get icons working, else you get the warning symbols (triangles).

I also tested this in Racy and a similar gdk-pixbuf bug is apparent. Same fix.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MoebusNet

Joined: 04 Jun 2011
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Fri 28 Oct 2011, 21:52    Post subject: Dell D800 notebook  

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Slacko Puppy, version 5.3

Chip description:
oem: NVIDIA
product: NV28 Board Chip Rev A2

Driver used by Xorg:
nvidia

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: “ 1280x800 “ Depth: Depth 24

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video

# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
6635 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1326.967 FPS
9860 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1971.919 FPS
15184 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3036.728 FPS
15667 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3133.283 FPS
15468 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3093.420 FPS
15618 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3123.421 FPS

-Computer-
Processor : Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1400MHz
Memory : 2074MB (99MB used)
Operating System : Unknown distribution
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sat 29 Oct 2011 01:46:39 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1280x800 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : GeForce4 4200 Go/AGP/SSE2
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ICH4 - Intel 82801DB-ICH4
-Input Devices-
AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
DualPoint Stick
AlpsPS/2 ALPS DualPoint TouchPad
Video Bus
Lid Switch
Power Button
Sleep Button
PC Speaker

Dell Latitude D800 running manual-frugal install to ext4 USB flash drive w/ Grub4DOS

_________________
Acer Aspire One D255-2301 (N450 Atom @ 1.6 Ghz, 1 Gb RAM, 160 Gb HDD w/WinXP, ENE SD card reader, Alps touchpad) 5.28/5.3.1 via manual-frugal ext4 USB flash drive (4Gb) using GRUB4DOS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 01:00    Post subject:  

Moved up to number 5....
puppy on distrowatch.png
 Description   
 Filesize   31.52 KB
 Viewed   2718 Time(s)

puppy on distrowatch.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 29 Oct 2011, 03:53    Post subject:  

Whenever they became available I always made use of the ++ or PAE hi mem version of Slacko during testing.
However my main computer is older than two years and 'only' has 2GB of ram. I run from DVD and set up a 4GB save file, so this time I stuck with the standard Slacko . . .

I have noticed that Seamonkey after a lot of use and a lot of open tabs does slow down and eventually stop responding, something I did not notice previously during beta and RC stage using the PAE.

Is there any other advantage of PAE? Should I go over to that to see if it works as before? Cool

Thanks guys. Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Sat 29 Oct 2011, 06:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 37 [551 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 35, 36, 37 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1122s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0180s) ][ GZIP on ]