Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Sep 2014, 22:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 33 [487 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2011, 02:21    Post subject: Re: cups||gtklp printing with another pdftops binary by rcrsn51  

Karl Godt wrote:
Printing seems to work OK with

cups_pdftops_filter-1.3.11.pet found there :

Just printed a puppy_drake thread page from the

Drake Puppy feedback

from SeaMonkey-2.3.1 and after adjusting the settings in the print preview the gtklp window showed up and the html page was send directly to my usb-epson-scanner-printer without having opened the cups-web-interface .


I ran into problems with it Karl. Here is a scan of a document printed from Slacko and Racy (patched). You can see some of the characters in the Racy section (the upper one) are garbled.
testprint.png
 Description   
 Filesize   275.64 KB
 Viewed   1785 Time(s)

testprint.png


_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2011, 07:34    Post subject:  

I dont know, but I guess there is some way to tell Puppy to use another font when the required font is not on the system, something like verdana=sans.
I suspect this may be missing for Arial, but dont know where to look. Advice please.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2011, 08:27    Post subject:  

No idea , I do not know .

In some puppy derivatives , the preview looks blurry in the browser tabs from similar .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2011, 15:45    Post subject:  

There def seems to be a problem with fonts in Racy. Here is a screenshot of a tiny little .doc file using Arial font. As can be seen, it is scrambled. Every other Puppy on my system, including Wary, can display this file.
Somewhere there has to be a file that tells Puppy what to use when a specified font is absent. My guess this file is either absent, or does not contain a reference to Arial, but I dont know where to look.
arial.png
 Description   
 Filesize   14.96 KB
 Viewed   1725 Time(s)

arial.png


_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 19 Oct 2011, 20:14    Post subject:  

Dave,

Just a hunch.

Barry has a new thing in woof that sets minimum font size. Maybe adjusting that and resetting the gtkrc fontsize will cure that issue, both printing and abiword.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 03:21    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Dave,

Just a hunch.

Barry has a new thing in woof that sets minimum font size. Maybe adjusting that and resetting the gtkrc fontsize will cure that issue, both printing and abiword.


No luck.... BUT.... all the font aliassing info seems to be in /etc/fonts. Comparing the contents of this dir with the one in Slacko shows a major re-write, so I swapped them out. Deleted /etc/fonts, and installed the one form Slacko, and, I'll be Damned.... it fixed it!
So far, nothing broke Smile

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 23:21    Post subject: Re: failure in puppyinstaller  

mave wrote:
Hi Barry,

while reporting trouble of un/mounted drives in puppyinstaller I didn't looked closer, sorry. That's not the problem, but puppyinstaller script breaks in Racy when going "CONTINUE" on my test machines:

Code:
# ./puppyinstaller

** ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 1, near token '(null)': syntax error

aborting...
./puppyinstaller: line 589: [: too many arguments

** ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 1, near token '(null)': syntax error

aborting...
#


Some changes....?

mave


I think that is fixed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 00:19    Post subject: Re: racy101  

scsijon wrote:
4/ I have a savefile problem for you!
I usually clone a duplicate install onto a second partition so I can "play" with one while keeping the other pristine for both comparison and cleanup. ie the content of /sda1/racy101 is copied to /sda2/racy101. They each contain the same named savefile and have their own menu lines in grub.
Normally when I boot one of the two up I get a "select list" asking me to pick which savefile to use, but not in this case, it's using the first from /sda1/racy101 in all cases unless I change the name of the savefile in one of them. It seems / looks like that racy101 can't diferentiate between savefile partitions if the directories are the same name.


It is not a matter of "can't differentiate", it was a deliberate design decision, requested by forum member Beem.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 00:50    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
There def seems to be a problem with fonts in Racy. Here is a screenshot of a tiny little .doc file using Arial font. As can be seen, it is scrambled. Every other Puppy on my system, including Wary, can display this file.
Somewhere there has to be a file that tells Puppy what to use when a specified font is absent. My guess this file is either absent, or does not contain a reference to Arial, but I dont know where to look.


I fixed it. I edited /etc/fonts/conf.avail/30-metric-aliases.conf.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 08:06    Post subject:  

Racy 5.1.110 (5.2 beta2) is released:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02570

Hopefully this has fixed most things posted about in this thread.

It also has the new Quick Setup, but you will only see that if you start without a prior save-file.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2102
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 09:27    Post subject: Racy Puppy 5.1.110 (5.2 beta2 - 27 Oct 2011)  

I did a manual frugal install.
First boot to desktop but resolution was wrong so I chose the video
upgrade option and restarted X.
I chose probe and the proper resolution and it installed the nouveau
driver.
Racy Puppy, version 5.1.110 on Thu 27 Oct 2011

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
nVidia Corporation Device 1082 (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF110 Board - 12630002 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: nouveau

X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

Rebooted creating save file.
===============================================================================
I wanted to install the proprietary nvidia driver (for games) so I found
nouveau.ko with Pfind and deleted it, changed the menu.lst entry to
pfix=nox and rebooted.
I installed the nvidia driver and ran xorgwizard and chose nvidia then
xwin to get back to the desktop.
I changed the menu.lst entry back to what it was.

Racy Puppy, version 5.1.110 on Thu 27 Oct 2011

Chip description:
0.0 VGA compatible controller
nVidia Corporation Device 1082 (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF110 Board - 12630002 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: nvidia

X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (513x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

I think I should have skipped the video upgrade option and just installed the
proprietary driver after creating the save file and installing the
devx and kernel source sfs files.

Computer
Processor 8x Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz
Memory 16613MB (98MB used)
racyscrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   116.54 KB
 Viewed   1581 Time(s)

racyscrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 13:12    Post subject:  

First time it needs acpi=off to boot.

dmesg is full of blahblah like :
Code:
 unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=1, name=3.0.7)
unionfs: new lower inode mtime (bindex=1, name=etc)
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 13:37    Post subject:  

Unable to connect to internet. My Broadcom wifi not detected. Tried loading module... fail Sad

EDIT: re-install, was able to load module. Survived re-boot, but no auto-detection.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!

Last edited by DaveS on Thu 27 Oct 2011, 14:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 603
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 13:46    Post subject: Racy 5.1.110 (5.2 beta2)  

Well done Barry!!!!

Racy 5.1.110 (5.2 beta2)

Auto configed everything on boot... correct graphics (1440x900), sound was there, internet connection was there and ready to go... Never had a pup do all that before, not to mention I have intel SIS graphic card on an old (probably 10 to 15 years old) PIII which I had no problems on startup with (most other puppy's gave me a headache and a half with) and the new 307 Kernel works really great and is FAST on this old box.

I know you favor Seamonkey Browser and it's really a pretty good browser however, after trying them all, Iron (for clarity, speed and overall performance) and I for one would like to see a .pet available for Racy with Iron-14? I tried the Iron-14's for Slacko and Luci but they don't even fire up, at all...

Most other regular programs work good so far, will test more!

Overall, I'd say you are going to have a real 'winner' here!!!!!

>>>---Indian------>

PS: My little 'Cloud .pet' installed and works great in Racy.

_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 15:04    Post subject:  

Hi Barry,

I’ve been trying your latest Racy that uses the 3.0.7 kernel. It’s working fine although I’ve run into two problems.

1. Bootmanager will not operate if the frugal installation is located on an ext4 partition that has more than 6 sfs files. I got the following message when running it in a console and trying to choose which sfs files to load. I tried it again with a frugal installation on an ext4partition that had only 5 sfs files and it works fine.

# bootmanager
/usr/sbin/bootmanager: eval: line 236: syntax error near unexpected token ‘(‘
/usr/sbin/bootmanager: eval: line 236: ‘pupdialog --helpwindow “/tmp/bootmanager_help_sfs” --backtitle “Choose which SFS files are to be loaded at bootup” --title “BootManager: SFS files” --stdout --ok-label “OKAY” --cancel-label “Cancel” --checklist “Note1: No more than 6 SFS files may be selected\nNote2: These files are at /mnt/home or /mnt/home/Test6 (in sdb2 partition)” 0 0 0 1 4-KDE-4.4.4-G.sfs off 2 5-Voyager-5G.sfs off 3 Acrobat_Reader-9.3.3-Lucid.sfs off 4 amarok-1.4-lucid.sfs off 5 Bibletime-2.7.2b.sfs off 6 Bibletime-2.8.0-1.sfs off 7 bibletime-2.8.0-i486.sfs off 8 Bibletime_lucid-2.7.2a.sfs off 9 ch4-GoogleEarth-6.0.3.2197-i386.sfs off 10 Firefox-6.0-sp.sfs off 11 GoogleEarth-5.2.1.sfs off 12 java_jre-6u22-Lucid-sfs4.sfs off 13 jre-1.6.0.24-20110216.sfs off 14 jre-1.6.0.27.sfs off 15 jre-1.6u25-i586.sfs off 16 kde-apps-trinity-3.5.12.sfs off 17 kde-core-trinity-3.5.12.sfs off 18 kernel_sources-2.6.37.6-patched_spup2.sfs off 19 kernel_sources-2.6.39-4(0).sfs off 20 kernel_sources-2.6.39-4.sfs off 21 kernel_src-2.6.37.6-patched.sfs off 22 kernel_src-2.6.39-3-patched-lupe28.sfs off 23 kernel_src-2.6.39.4-lupe-29-patched.sfs off 24 kernel_src-2.6.39.4-patched.sfs off 25 LibreOfc-3.3.1_en_US_sfs4.sfs off 26 LibreOffice-3.3.1_en-US.sfs off 27 LibreOffice-3.3.2_en-US.sfs off 28 LibreOffice-3.4.1_en-US-fixed.sfs off 29 LibreOffice-3.4.2_en-US.sfs off 30 LibreOffice-3.4.3_en-US.sfs off 31 LibreOffice-3.4.3rc2_en-US.sfs off 32 Musescore-1.0-lucid525.sfs off 33 vlc-1.0.6+streamtuner-lucid.sfs off 34 Xfce-4.6.2-L2.sfs off >/tmp/bmrettags.txt’

2. Power-off computer reboots rather than shutting the computer down.

Otherwise, I really like your new 3.07 kernel which is fast and works fine on everything I’ve tried.

Cheers,
Jim

System: BFG NVIDIA Geforce 8400 GS 512MB, Asus P6T Motherboard, Intel core i7-920 (8MB Cache, 2.66 GHz), DDR3 3GB 1333MHz ram, Pioneer DVR-2910 DVD+-RW Dual Layer Burner, Realtek ALC1200 Audio, HP Photosmart C5280 All-in-One
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 33 [487 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1025s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0091s) ][ GZIP on ]