Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 31 Aug 2014, 02:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary Puppy 5.2.2, 18 Nov. 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 14 of 25 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 18:37    Post_subject: Re: wary 5.2 pmusic 2.1.8 playlists change  

broomdodger wrote:
wary 5.2 pmusic 2.1.8 is the first time I have tried pmusic.

Strange things happen with playlists, they change after quiting pmusic and restarting!

I went back to wary 5.1.4.1 and did all the same initialization to pmusic 1.8.3 and the playlists seem stable.

The following is some info I could gather:

" -------1---------2---------3---------4---------5---------6----
wary 5.2
pmusic 2.1.8 also 2.1.9

+ index
+ add jazz to playlist 1 (5 pieces)
+ add classical to playlist 2 (3 pieces)
+ add rock to playlist 3 (4 pieces)
! all play ok

quit pmusic
restart pmusic
playlists have changed! Playlist 1 is now Playlist 2.

Could this have something to do with the newer gtkdialog or ffmpeg in wary 5.2?

# pmusic -D
Dependencies
R E Q U I R E D
bash [OK]
coreutils [OK]
awk [OK]
sed [OK]
gtkdialog >= 0.7.21 [MISSING]
ffmpeg >= 0.8 /usr/local/pmusic/pmusic: line 162: [: git: integer expression expected
[MISSING]
aplay (alsa) [OK]

R E C O M M E N D E D
libid3tag (meta-tagging) [OK]
cdda2wav (play/rip audio-CD) [OK]
wget (connection to www) [OK]

O P T I O N A L
Pburn (burning audio-CD) [OK]
Pschedule (podcast managing) [OK]
pEqualizer (10 band equalizer) [MISSING]

# gtkdialog -v
gtkdialog version 0.8.0 (C) 2003-2007 Laszlo Pere, 2011 Thunor

# ffmpeg -version
ffmpeg version git-2011-10-01-78f08c0, Copyright (c) 2000-2011 the FFmpeg developers
built on Oct 2 2011 07:10:53 with gcc 4.3.4

" -------1---------2---------3---------4---------5---------6----
wary 5.1.4.1
pmusic 1.8.3

seems to work ok
playlists seem stable

# pmusic -D
Dependencies
R E Q U I R E D
bash [OK]
gtkdialog [OK]
ffmpeg [OK]
aplay (alsa) [OK]

R E C O M M E N D E D
libid3tag (meta-tagging) [OK]
cdda2wav (play/rip audio-CD) [OK]
wget (connection to www) [OK]

O P T I O N A L
pburn (burning audio-CD) [OK]
pschedule (podcast managing) [OK]

# gtkdialog -v
gtkdialog version 0.7.21 (C) 2003-2007 Laszlo Pere, 2011 Thunor

# ffmpeg -version
FFmpeg version SVN-r25158-snapshot, Copyright (c) 2000-2010 the FFmpeg developers
built on Sep 24 2010 21:49:52 with gcc 4.3.4


broomdodger,
Would you mind posting this over in zigbert's pmusic thread? He is the only one who can fix it, and he might not be reading this thread.

Pmusic:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=31206

Well, I can help out, I will send a pm to zigbert.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 18:42    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
DaveS wrote:
Wary frugal. I get exactly the same error as in Racy when trying to print form anything other than the CUPS test page,
Code:
Set Allowed Users
HP (Default Printer) "/usr/lib/cups/filter/pdftops failed"

The CUPS printing problem in Wary/Racy also appeared in Drake Puppy and the solution is the same. Any application that prints through the GTK print backend /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/printbackends/libprintbackend-cups.so now needs the missing filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/pdftops. Trying to substitute a like-named program from another package simply won't work.

The attachment below contains the correct filter from a different build of CUPS 1.3.11.

You may need to do a CUPS restart to make it work.
Code:
/etc/init.d/cups restart


Thanks very much for fixing printing!

I have posted about it on my blog:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02567

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 18:53    Post_subject:  

nubc wrote:
Clicking the "Playback" tab in 'Adobe Flash Player preferences' causes the gui to crash and close.


Yes, unfortunately, nothing I can do about that. We are at the mercy of the Adobe developers. I wonder if they have a bug reporting thingy somewhere?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 19:13    Post_subject: Re: Wary desktop black, no icons, wallpaper, no ROX  

From the terminal run these two commands:

rm /etc/gtk-2.0/gdk-pixbuf.loaders
gdk-pixbuf-query-loaders >/etc/gtk-2.0/gdk-pixbuf.loaders

When you reboot all should be as expected.[/quote]

Where do I find a book to learn this sort of thing? I really struggle with understanding man pages and command line options as I have never studied them . If you could suggest a book , or some tutorials that are designed to teach these things I would greatly appreciate it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 19:19    Post_subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
nubc wrote:
I substituted a 'bookmarks.html' file into the .mozilla folder in root, but the bookmarks do not appear in SM 2.3.1, even after a reboot.

Incidentally, I don't see a YT download app in the menu tree.
.


I move my saved bookmarks file to root, then use bookmarks
manager to import.

For youtube:
Install video download helper 4.9.5 from here.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/video-downloadhelper/versions/

When installed right click around navigation bar until you see
a little window with "customize" at the bottom. Click customize.
Drag the little colored balls up between the printer and search
icons.


I found out something interesting, a smaller video_download_helper:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02568

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 19:23    Post_subject:  

p3m4la5 wrote:
I am install fresh Wary 52 ( frugal ). everything ok, like detect my huawei e173 modem etc until klick power off > save file > Administrator .........
and until wait.... there is nothing happen ( wary not shutdown ). Did i miss something ?
sorry for bad english.....


Someone else reported having to wait a very long time, but the shutdown did eventually happen -- that was for a beta release of Wary.
I never found out what their problem was, as I cannot repeat the problem on any of my computers.

So, try waiting, a long time. I think he reported 15 minutes or thereabouts.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 19:33    Post_subject: Re: insert kills seamonkey  

Shep wrote:
BarryK wrote:
Hmmm, I just tried the xmodmap workaround, reassigned Insert key as BackSpace -- then started geany and Insert key worked as before!

It did seem to reassign, though, did it?
Code:

# xmodmap -pk |grep Insert
     90       0xff9e (KP_Insert)   0xffb0 (KP_0)   
# xmodmap -pk |grep BackSpace
     22       0xff08 (BackSpace)   0xfed5 (Terminate_Server)   
    106       0xff08 (BackSpace)


My Insert key now functions exactly as the backspace key. If I need the Insert toggle action (so chars get overwritten while typing), I tap the numeric keypad's Insert key, that key still works as normal.


Yes, it did seem to reassign. Have you also tried starting geany after the reassign, see if you get the same problem?

Well, it is not really a problem, as really only want the reassign to work in FF/SM.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 19:41    Post_subject:
Sub_title: radeon driver ignored in Wary-5.2
 

01micko wrote:
BarryK wrote:

I did set 777 to rootfs-skeleton/tmp (and var), but the build in sandbox3/rootfs-complete has lost that, become 755.

So, I have placed a couple of lines in the build script, 3builddistro, that changes tmp and var back to 777.


Would it be better in /etc/rc.d/rc.update? Full installs suffer the 755 permissions on /tmp too.


Ok, done. It's done in both places.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 19:48    Post_subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
puppyinstaller
Code:

Updating /etc/networkmodules...
ERROR: modinfo: could not find module acx
...


This is in file /usr/sbin/updatenetmoduleslist.sh. I have added 2>/dev/null to make modinfo quiet.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 19:53    Post_subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
puppyinstaller
[code]dc: syntax error at '596.2'
dc: syntax error at '8.204'


i don't know what to say about this. I have looked at /usr/sbin/puppyinstaller, there are two lines that use the 'dc' utility. I put in those same values, works fine.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 20:35    Post_subject: Re: wary 5.2 pmusic 2.1.8 playlists change  

BarryK wrote:
broomdodger,
Would you mind posting this over in zigbert's pmusic thread? He is the only one who can fix it, and he might not be reading this thread.

Pmusic:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=31206

Well, I can help out, I will send a pm to zigbert.
BarryK
I had posted both places, not knowing if it was a gtkdialog problem or pmusic.

zigbert asked for that info I posted, and also said he was busy with version 2.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9061
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 20:43    Post_subject:
Sub_title: radeon driver ignored in Wary-5.2
 

BarryK wrote:
I thought that I had fixed this. Well, it only occurs for some people, as in live-CD and frugal installation modes, a tmpfs is mounted on /tmp, which has 777 permission (group and world writable).

Having been bitten by this bug a few times myself, I know one of its sources. Certain PET packages contain a /tmp folder which the developer has used to distribute files before committing them to the end user's filesystem. But if the /tmp folder in the PET has 755 permissions, it will replace the correct 777 permissions on the user's actual /tmp folder.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 00:36    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
linuxcbon wrote:
puppyinstaller
[code]dc: syntax error at '596.2'
dc: syntax error at '8.204'


i don't know what to say about this. I have looked at /usr/sbin/puppyinstaller, there are two lines that use the 'dc' utility. I put in those same values, works fine.


I have just realised what your problem might be. I had removed the global LANG=C from the puppyinstaller script.

If you have a language that uses a comma instead of a dot for the decimal point, example 25,34 then that is what 'dc' will expect.

Ok, I will prefix 'dc' like this:

LANG=C dc ...

This problem seems to be because the 'disktype' utility is reporting partition size with a dot, not a comma.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 06:53    Post_subject: Re: insert kills seamonkey  

BarryK wrote:
Shep wrote:
My Insert key now functions exactly as the backspace key. If I need the Insert toggle action (so chars get overwritten while typing), I tap the numeric keypad's Insert key, that key still works as normal.


Yes, it did seem to reassign. Have you also tried starting geany after the reassign, see if you get the same problem?

Well, it is not really a problem, as really only want the reassign to work in FF/SM.

The re-assign persists for all programs. Yes, geany sees the insert key now as another Backspace key. So does the shell command line. (I'm still using an earlier Wary, 5.1 or so, not the latest.)

You could modify /root/.Xmodmap instead
Code:

# cat /root/.Xmodmap
keysym Insert = BackSpace
pointer = 1 2 3 4 5
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2618
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 27 Oct 2011, 20:30    Post_subject: Re: Gimp Bug report
Sub_title: Seems nvidia driver problem
 

don570 wrote:
I tried a version of Gimp 2.7.1 that shinobar made for
Wary and it couldn't save a document. The
application would disappear Crying or Very sad

shinobar wrote:
There seem sharing library problem. I will check it up on Wary 5.2.

EDIT:
I am not sure what was wrong, but try gimp-2.7.1-1-w5.sfs.
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/pup5/

shinobar wrote:
Stil got segfault at exporting the image... Embarassed
Exactly, it crashes at looking up saving folder.

(gimp-2.7:9752): GLib-WARNING **: goption.c:2132: ignoring no-arg, optional-arg or filename flags ( 8 ) on option of type 0
** Message: Module '/usr/lib/gegl-0.1/ff-load.so' load error: libavformat.so.52: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
This is a development version of GIMP. Debug messages may appear here.

gimp-2.7: fatal error: Segmentation fault

EDIT2:
I removed the SFS, and installed gimp-2.7.1-w5.pet, bable-0.1.2-w5 and gegl-0.1.2-w5 from the PPM. libavformat.so.52 is missing.
Got same result(Crash when looking up saving folder ).

EDIT3:
Tried compile new babl-0.1.4, gegl-0.1.6 and gimp-2.7.3 on Wary-5.2.
But the result is the same(Crash when looking up saving folder ).

It seems the nVidia driver(nvidia-glx-285.05.09) and the kernel problem.
I changed the graphic driver to vesa (nv didn't work) and disappeared the problem.

EDIT4:
Most recent nvidia-glx-290.10 driver seems no problem.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=72405

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 25 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1169s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0087s) ][ GZIP on ]