Other Distros

Puppy related raves and general interest that doesn't fit anywhere else
Message
Author
User avatar
8-bit
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 03:37
Location: Oregon

#181 Post by 8-bit »

Fragmentation of a hard drive will not stop it from booting.
Defragging a drive tries to put files back together in one piece on the drive So the read head does not have to move all over accessing pieces of a fragmented file. It also speeds read access up as a result.

I hope that was understandable to you.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#182 Post by nooby »

8-bit, I don't say you are always wrong on that one :)
I would say that I 've been told that for an iso to boot from
Flash USB memory the boot loader need it to be in one piece there.

So who knows maybe that is required from a NTFS internal drive too?

I have no idea how to find out other than to try.

Now I have a poor memory. I booted many and failed to boot many.

As I remember.

Ubuntu the latest 11.10 booted using the code that d4p
inspired me to test. And varieties of Ubuntu

d4p added a lot to the code like map and hook that worked for him
but never worked on my computer so I edited those part that failed
out for my computer. Then it worked. To my great surprise too.

I mean this is what I have wanted to work since 2008 and have
asked and asked on Ubuntu forum and Linux Questions and Linux
Mint forum and so on. Almost none cared. Them love to do partitions!

So very many Ubuntu derivatives do boots using the following code.

Here is the important part
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /linuxmint-11-gnome-dvd-32bit.iso and this part may be very important too.
iso-scan/filename=/linuxmint-11-gnome-dvd-32bit.iso

None has explained to me what this part do? --
are them needed? What role do them fill?

a few examples that boot on my computer. A Netbook with Atom CPU
title LMDE-11 Gnome Linux Mint Debian Edition 2011 persistent fails on frugal ntfs or I have no idea how to activate it.
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /linuxmint-11-gnome-dvd-32bit.iso
kernel /LMDE-11/casper/vmlinuz rw persistent file=/cdrom/preseed/mint.seed boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/linuxmint-11-gnome-dvd-32bit.iso noeject noprompt quiet splash --
initrd /LMDE-11/casper/initrd.lz

title ubuntu 11.10 desktop version
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /ubuntu-11.10-desktop-i386.iso
kernel /ubuntu/casper/vmlinuz file=/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/ubuntu-11.10-desktop-i386.iso kmap=se LANG=sv_SE.UTF-8 keymap=sv-latin1 noeject noprompt quiet splash --
initrd /ubuntu/casper/initrd.lz

title Bodhi Linux boots from bodhi_1.2.1.iso
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd
kernel /bodhi/casper/vmlinuz file=/cdrom/preseed/custom.seed boot=casper persistent iso-scan/filename=/bodhi_1.2.1.iso quiet splash --
initrd /bodhi/casper/initrd.gz

title Peppermint Linux boots from Peppermint-Ice-10012010.iso noeject noprompt splash --
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /Peppermint-Ice-10012010.iso
kernel /Peppermint/casper/vmlinuz file=/cdrom/preseed/mint.seed boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/Peppermint-Ice-10012010.iso noeject noprompt splash --
initrd /Peppermint/casper/initrd.lz

Now the following is more Debian than Ubuntu. And it did boot
but it has problem with permissions due to it being Debian?
Which the others based on Ubuntu above don't have.

title crunchbang-10-20110105-xfce-i686.iso
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /crunchbang-10-20110105-xfce-i686.iso
kernel /live/vmlinuz1 boot=live rw live-config live-config.hostname=crunchbang live-config.username=crunchbang noeject noprompt quiet splash --
initrd /live/initrd1.img

Ultimate Edition based on Ubuntu does boot but had some problem
that made me discard it. But if you like it do try this code. Not sure why
I did not like it.

title ultimate iso boot frugal ntfs
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /ultimate-edition-3.0-lite.iso
kernel /ultimate/casper/vmlinuz persistent file=/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/ultimate-edition-3.0-lite.iso noeject noprompt quiet splash --
initrd /ultimate/casper/initrd.lz

The following failed and I have no idea why. Them say or give error message that them fail to find the needed media. So maybe I did something wrong.

Asturix linux 3 lite, AriOS, Pinguy_OS, PureOS and Zorin,

Them can boot on other computers maybe. Or one have have to change something in the set up.

It is like a lottery.

title LMDE-11Gnome worked and is the best one
while title LMDE-11 xfce failed. Could be bad iso or something?
Or are them set upo differently when them made the iso?
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
lowrider
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri 24 Jun 2011, 20:37
Location: Germany

#183 Post by lowrider »

just to bring this up to topic :D
i am using archbang for about 5 month now. update once maybe twice a week. still working good and looking good... (the few issues i have were sortet out quick by looking on this great archwiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Main_Page

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#184 Post by nooby »

Archbang?

I have tried to get that one to boot for some 10 months or so.

I trust you boot it from USB or from it's own partition formatted to
ext2 or 3 or at least Fat32? I don't trust it boot from NTFS partition.

If it does please give code how one boot it :)

Archiso by Godane boot but one have to activate the ntfs-3g to allow to save to same partition I guess. Maybe I should test that one again?
http://godane.wordpress.com/ He is into Slitaz making it modular now. Maybe he go back to Arch sooner or later. I have no idea.

title Archiso-live
root (hd0,0)
kernel /archiso/boot/vmlinuz from=/dev/sda3/archiso rw elevator=deadline load=overlay session=xfce
initrd /archiso/boot/initrd.img
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
lowrider
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri 24 Jun 2011, 20:37
Location: Germany

#185 Post by lowrider »

Yes, i have archbang installed as my main OS on sda1 (ext4). What i really like is that AB is still using grub1 for its bootloader. That makes it so easy to reach all my puppys on sda3 (sda2 is my swap).

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#186 Post by nooby »

How is Archbang different from Archiso then?
Do you know if Godane made many changes?
I mean why would Archiso boot and not ArchBang?
What is different? Okay thanks. You have at least
a working system :)
Last edited by nooby on Sun 23 Oct 2011, 13:01, edited 2 times in total.
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
lowrider
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri 24 Jun 2011, 20:37
Location: Germany

#187 Post by lowrider »

Well, Archbang comes preconfigured with openbox as its windowmanager, tint2 as a panel and conky for systeminfo on the screen. Also with a few preinstalled apps for browsing, multimedia and so on...
The archiso gives you a basic arch system with no graphical environment and on top of that you can install whatever you want, just like a debian netinstall. This of course means a lot more work to do ;-)
Don't know about Godane, sorry.

User avatar
jim3630
Posts: 791
Joined: Mon 14 Feb 2011, 02:21
Location: Northern Nevada

#188 Post by jim3630 »

looked at Archbang last week saw it on distrowatch. maybe it had a recent upgrade.

decided on Linux Mint Debain Ed, lmde with gnome3. a bleeding edge rolling release with frequent testing repos for updates.
has boot menu dual option of 3.0x kernel or 2.6.37.x. 1.1g download but this thing is fast.

lmde uses Grub2 bootloader iirc. after full hdd install I started puppy for my usual Grub4dos loader which picked up lmde
and the list of frugal puppy installs on the hdd.

On booting got kernel panic. good thing about Grub4dos has a "find Grub" option in the bottom of it's list
and did correctly start lmde boot menu.

long way around to boot maybe easier way to get a list of frugal and full hdd installs?

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#189 Post by nooby »

Jim wrote:long way around to boot maybe easier way to get a list of frugal and full hdd installs?
Now my poor English get confused. Are you disappointed about LMDE
or happy about it booting on grub4dos? :)

I use this code for grub4dos. I am on third partion original NTFS HDD.

title LMDE-11 Gnome Linux Mint Debian Edition 2011 iso boot
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /linuxmint-11-gnome-dvd-32bit.iso
kernel /LMDE-11/casper/vmlinuz rw file=/cdrom/preseed/mint.seed boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/linuxmint-11-gnome-dvd-32bit.iso noeject noprompt quiet splash --
initrd /LMDE-11/casper/initrd.lz

Being on ntfs it does not allow it to get persistent using an casper-rw file. Them work on Fat32 and on ext3 but not on ntfs AFAIK.

But apart from that the LMDE works very good. Slow due to too big to do toram having only 1GB.

So most likely a smaller version like Bodhi Linux or Peppermint would
allow me to run from RAM but then I have to install programs and do
remix and such. So much to learn and all of that I already have in Puppy
so seems over kill to me.
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
jim3630
Posts: 791
Joined: Mon 14 Feb 2011, 02:21
Location: Northern Nevada

#190 Post by jim3630 »

nooby wrote:
Jim wrote:long way around to boot maybe easier way to get a list of frugal and full hdd installs?
Now my poor English get confused. Are you disappointed about LMDE
or happy about it booting on grub4dos? :)

I use this code for grub4dos. I am on third partion original NTFS HDD.

title LMDE-11 Gnome Linux Mint Debian Edition 2011 iso boot
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /linuxmint-11-gnome-dvd-32bit.iso
kernel /LMDE-11/casper/vmlinuz rw file=/cdrom/preseed/mint.seed boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/linuxmint-11-gnome-dvd-32bit.iso noeject noprompt quiet splash --
initrd /LMDE-11/casper/initrd.lz

Being on ntfs it does not allow it to get persistent using an casper-rw file. Them work on Fat32 and on ext3 but not on ntfs AFAIK.

But apart from that the LMDE works very good. Slow due to too big to do toram having only 1GB.

So most likely a smaller version like Bodhi Linux or Peppermint would
allow me to run from RAM but then I have to install programs and do
remix and such. So much to learn and all of that I already have in Puppy
so seems over kill to me.
nooby thanks for the boot code will copy and try with my specs.
my hdd has many partitions and now all are ext4.

very happy with LMDE I have 4g ram and 6g swap. someone said
swap should be 2x physical ram but I've never used swap in puppy.
LMDE now may well use it will have to start looking.

use LMDE for high graphics games and seems to run very fast without slowdowns, stopages and such.

nooby LMDE with xfce is smaller ~700-800mb iirc.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#191 Post by nooby »

Yes lxde is smaller. I have tried twice to get it going but failed both times.
But you using ext4 most likely get it going.

I don't trust you should use the code I have on an ext4 though if you make
full install. LMDE knows best how to make full installs with swap files.

My suggestion was for to get a quick and dirty boot on ntfs without having to make partitions and full installs or mess with usb memory.
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
jim3630
Posts: 791
Joined: Mon 14 Feb 2011, 02:21
Location: Northern Nevada

#192 Post by jim3630 »

nooby wrote: My suggestion was for to get a quick and dirty boot on ntfs without having to make partitions and full installs or mess with usb memory.
nooby, ok understand now. thanks

User avatar
Colonel Panic
Posts: 2171
Joined: Sat 16 Sep 2006, 11:09

#193 Post by Colonel Panic »

jim3630 wrote:looked at Archbang last week saw it on distrowatch. maybe it had a recent upgrade.

decided on Linux Mint Debain Ed, lmde with gnome3. a bleeding edge rolling release with frequent testing repos for updates.
has boot menu dual option of 3.0x kernel or 2.6.37.x. 1.1g download but this thing is fast.

lmde uses Grub2 bootloader iirc. after full hdd install I started puppy for my usual Grub4dos loader which picked up lmde
and the list of frugal puppy installs on the hdd.

On booting got kernel panic. good thing about Grub4dos has a "find Grub" option in the bottom of it's list
and did correctly start lmde boot menu.

long way around to boot maybe easier way to get a list of frugal and full hdd installs?
Archbang is a good live distro IMO and an easy entry route into Arch, but its themes are too dark for my taste. It now has Firefox as its default browser instead of Chromium which the last one had.
Gigabyte M68MT-52P motherboard, AMD Athlon II X4 630, 5.8 GB of DDR3 RAM and a 250 GB Hitachi hard drive running Ubuntu 16.04.6, MX-19.2, Peppermint 10, PCLinuxOS 20.02, LXLE 18.04.3, Pardus 19.2, exGENT 200119, Bionic Pup 8.0 and Xenial CE 7.5 XL.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#194 Post by nooby »

CP your signature says Swift Linux 0.1.2 instead of AntiX 11 or something?

How do them compare? What is it in Swift that makes you prefer Swift?
As far as I know it is exactly the same only different theme?
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
jim3630
Posts: 791
Joined: Mon 14 Feb 2011, 02:21
Location: Northern Nevada

#195 Post by jim3630 »

Colonel Panic wrote: Archbang is a good live distro IMO and an easy entry route into Arch, but its themes are too dark for my taste. It now has Firefox as its default browser instead of Chromium which the last one had.
CP haven't installed Archbang. like most here have another older box but gave up trying to find something other than puppy for it. read the reviews at times but in print nothing seems to make a compelling argument.

rokytnji
Posts: 2262
Joined: Tue 20 Jan 2009, 15:54

#196 Post by rokytnji »

Played around with Ubuntu 11.10 on Usb with persistence with Unity 3d. Too many clicks to run desktop and slow. Felt like driving a tractor trailer.

Playing around with http://semplice-linux.sourceforge.net/ this week on pendrive.

User avatar
jim3630
Posts: 791
Joined: Mon 14 Feb 2011, 02:21
Location: Northern Nevada

#197 Post by jim3630 »

rokytnji wrote: Playing around with http://semplice-linux.sourceforge.net/ this week on pendrive.
it's sid with open box option of 3.0x kernel looks fast. the 64bit ver was 544mb.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#198 Post by nooby »

Guys! Please Teach me how to boot into root on Semplice!
Thanks for telling about it.

Any suggestions what would work on grub4dos booting on ntfs?
I used the one in the isolinux but adapted it for grub4dos.

I am in Semplice now. Not easy when one is a poor reader.
I could only log in as live User.

User name User
password =live

Testing Root psw toor and root and nothing and SempliceLive

What else could one test? Do them tell in a FAQ or on forum?

Now I need to do setxkbmap se and to find the /mnt/home drive

Wow each debian has it's own name for things

semplice name my home drive to be /live/image and one need to enter it as root

while another named it drive and another imagesource?

I don't remember.

Anyway to be able to open it I needed to open as root but I don't know
how to change to root if them allow that. Please tell me.
Here is my way of booting it.

I place the semplice iso on my /mnt/home/ being in puppy. Same as C:/ for Ms Win7

Anyway I extract the live dir out of the iso and also place it there
Then one have to be careful how one answer or else it seems to get into a loop or start to install. I don't know if this part needs to be there
username=user hostname=SempliceLive isolinuxcfg had it

title semplice_2.0beta1_140.1.iso
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /semplice_2.0beta1_140.1.iso
kernel /live/vmlinuz boot=live noprompt noautologin username=user hostname=SempliceLive
initrd /live/initrd.img


It is surprising it booted. I have tried to boot many debian now
the latest three or four days and almost none of them boot.
I guess due to them require a CD or something that them know is there
and I boot on the internal hdd using iso boot on grub4dos.

So thanks to Semplice for allowing iso boot
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

rokytnji
Posts: 2262
Joined: Tue 20 Jan 2009, 15:54

#199 Post by rokytnji »

Code: Select all

sudo -s
gives you a root prompt in the terminal in semplice. No password needed.

Ntfs voodoo is your territory from there nooby. :)

At the boot prompt type
help
I don't know if root login is possible. Not my bag with sudo distros. Since this is live distro. I don't think root login is possible anyhows as you are probably using syslinux for boot. Unless you know the ins and outs of editing semplice and syslinux.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#200 Post by nooby »

no I boot using grub4dos on my internal hdd ntfs formatted
and I use frugal install code.

title Pussy live
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /pussy.iso
kernel /pussylive/vmlinuz live-media-path=/pussylive boot=live noautologin quickreboot noprompt toram nosmp
initrd /pussylive/initrd.img



title semplice_2.0beta1_140.1.iso username=user hostname=SempliceLive locale=sv_SE.UTF-8 keyb=se timezone=Europe/Berlin klayout=se kvariant=nodeadkeys noprompt quiet splash
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /semplice_2.0beta1_140.1.iso
kernel /semplice/vmlinuz live-media-path=/semplice boot=live noprompt noautologin username=user hostname=SempliceLive
initrd /semplice/initrd.img


title crunchbang-10-20110105-xfce-i686.iso config live-config live-config.hostname=crunchbang live-config.username=crunchbang
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /crunchbang/vmlinuz1 rw live-media-path=/crunchbang boot=/live noeject noprompt nomodeset nosmp noautologin quiet splash --
initrd /crunchbang/initrd1.img


Both pussy and semplice boots without needing password
while Cruncbang need both username and password.

And I don't have them and the cute thing is that Crunchbang don't tell either.

Usually many small OS do tell that one write root toor or like pussy
one write root pussy

Puppy have root woofwoof

which I did not know for some three years or so.

The surprising thing is that pussy has changed the password so
some time under the creation he must have been asked what to have.

So the Devs of Crunchbang also have been asked and then can tell to us.
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Post Reply