Pussy: potentially a Puppy with a perfect package manager

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
User avatar
sickgut
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 19:11
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.
Contact:

#461 Post by sickgut »

saintless wrote:If someone wants to add different keyboard-layout before the official beta version is ready, here are the commands:

This one will install other keyboard layouts:

Code: Select all

apt-get install keyboards-rg
After that type:

Code: Select all

dpkg-reconfigure keyboard-configuration
Follow the instructions and choose your layout. BTW you can choose also to exit X with Ctrl+Alt+BackSpace.
errr.... WTF dude?
you just solved the keymap issue single handedly, i have been looking into this to no avail.
looks like ill whip up a catroll-panel entry for this
nooby and john3voltas have both found the keymap thing a real problem and im glad we have a solution for this.
Thankyou very much saintless for your input, you have directly contributed to pussy and because of you we can cross "fix keymap issue" off the list, well done.

User avatar
sickgut
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 19:11
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.
Contact:

#462 Post by sickgut »

one question for everyone:

does the ACPI work now?

(ACPI is the power management, it controlls things like turning off a laptop display when shut it and turning off HDDs when they arent being used and entering suspend/ sleep etc after a set amount of time....)

because presently my pussy system is a desktop and my other test one is a virtual box i cant really tell is there is any ACPI-ing going on.

aarf

#463 Post by aarf »

put this code

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
mkdir /mnt/sdb2 2>/dev/null
mount /dev/sdb2 /mnt/sdb2 2>/dev/null
exec rox /mnt/sdb2
in a file called say mount-drives.sh into /addons
(give it these permissions in attached image.)
click it and it will open sdb2 in rox. it is also persistent through reboot without liverw partition. you can do this above from within pussy itself.

aarf

#464 Post by aarf »

after click unpacking and installing /drive/addons/dialup-pppoe.zip and /drive/addons/wvdial.zip
modified to exactly this is as my /etc/wvdial.conf

Code: Select all

[Dialer Defaults]
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Modem Type = USB Modem
Baud = 460800
New PPPD = yes
Modem = /dev/ttyACM0
ISDN = 0
  Phone = *99***1#
  Password = <Your Password>
  Username = <Your Login Name>
remember to remove the ; from the beginning of the last three lines.

then wvdial in a terminal will connect grps and i suppose 3G too. look something like this when it is already connected

Code: Select all

root@meow:~# wvdial
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.60
--> Cannot get information for serial port.
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT*99***1#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT*99***1#
~[7f]}#@!}!}!} }4}(}"}'}"}"}&} } } } }%}&y'gy![03]~
CONNECT
--> Carrier detected.  Waiting for prompt.
~[7f]}#@!}!}"} }4}(}"}'}"}"}&} } } } }%}&y'gyk>~
--> PPP negotiation detected.
--> Starting pppd at Sun Oct 23 13:25:51 2011
--> Pid of pppd: 3323
--> Using interface ppp0
--> pppd: `¸½ È»½ 
--> pppd: `¸½ È»½ 
--> pppd: `¸½ È»½ 
--> local  IP address 54.299.17.117
--> pppd: `¸½ È»½ 
--> remote IP address 11.84.60.64
--> pppd: `¸½ È»½ 
--> primary   DNS address 167.178.59.10
--> pppd: `¸½ È»½ 
--> secondary DNS address 167.178.59.26
--> pppd: `¸½ È»½ 
ctrl+c will disconnect
Last edited by aarf on Sun 23 Oct 2011, 06:56, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sickgut
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 19:11
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.
Contact:

#465 Post by sickgut »

aarf wrote:put this code

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
mkdir /mnt/sdb2 2>/dev/null
mount /dev/sdb2 /mnt/sdb2 2>/dev/null
exec rox /mnt/sdb2
in a file called say mount-drives.sh into /addons
(give it these permissions in attached image.)
click it and it will open sdb2 in rox. it is also persistent through reboot without liverw partition. you can do this above from within pussy itself.
thanks for your input aarf its much apreciated, ill learn about this and what it all means when i start work on pussy again

well done all of you for looking into the solutions for stuff, since pussy has come to these forums its been you guys who have been adding onto pussy and improving it by supplying all these solutions to stuff, i ts really you guys here that are building the next pussy.

thanks once again aarf

aarf

#466 Post by aarf »

what do you think of these images sickgut? http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 5e5e953bb5

User avatar
sickgut
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 19:11
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.
Contact:

#467 Post by sickgut »

aarf wrote:what do you think of these images sickgut? http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 5e5e953bb5
quite spiffy.

the desktop background i pussy isnt very good and just a placeholder for something good, i have a few people working on suitable replacements but if y ou guys find something you want included in the desktop background then let me kn ow and ill include it

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#468 Post by saintless »

Glad to help, sickgut, :)
I use pussy linux on old desktop PC and I can't tell if ACPI works or not.
I will try to find a way to test it on a friend's laptop.

Edit:
The monitor is switching off in a few minutes even on my old desktop PC. A don't know if that is a sleep mode, but should be an ACPI option.
I asked a friend if we can test it on Toshiba laptop in a few days.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#469 Post by nooby »

I am in Pussy now and using the toram boot code and that makes it
works fast but

My frugal booting seems to make the partition it boot from owned
by some user that is Live Session User or some other formal name.

Named Meow maybe?

So it does not help me being root. whoami says that I am root
And I did manually log in as root with password pussy too


But the sda3 partition is owned by that other user.

Not even root has permission to use that partition because the Meow or
Live Session User has already mounted it for to be able to boot most
likely.


So maybe I have to unmount it first and them mount it as root.

But I fail to know how to do that unmount and then remount again.

I had same problem with AntiX and also Archiso and Slitaz before Slitaz
made the change that suddenly allowed me to make edits and save them.
AntiX and Archiso still fails

When I try to do the commands I've been then the OS says that that drive is already busy and owned by another user.


I am kind of beginning to like Pussy so would be cool if somebody could solve this thing with owning the partition.
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#470 Post by nooby »

Somebody? maybe at crunchbang told me to do this

sudo mkdir -p /media/sda3
sudo ntfs-3g /dev/sda3 /media/sda3

So I did and the xterm answer
ntfs-3g-mount: mount failed: Device or resource busy


That is why I trust it is owned by the boot in user that get activated
before I log in as root. It is the boot process itself that assign that user
to own the partition one boot from. That is the only way I logically can
explain why it fail.

So hope somebody can tell me how to boot up and really own the partition.

TinyCore had this issue too until them made some change.
But I know too little to know how to mimic what then did.

Ubuntu and Linuxmint too had this problem before but now them allow
me to be owner of that partition which is a big surprise them are very
keen on security so I trust it is by accident and not by design.

So can somebody explain how one change this for Pussy?
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#471 Post by saintless »

Nooby, here is some advices from sickgut for your problem. Don't bang your head against the wall: :wink:
sickgut wrote:If its not mounted rw then you cant remount it to another dir either because you get a message saying the device is busy .

i have not tested writing to the boot partition with ntfs yet as im burnt out from releasing the latest version of pussy and ill test it maybe tomorrow or sometime soon.

all that stuff with mounting to /media and /dev/null isnt going to work. These scripts presume your running a full debian standard desktop install with kde and or gnome or xfce or lxde.

in short: be patient, i will sort out a howto on writing to the boot parition with ntfs soon... please wait till i do this and dont spend your time banging your head against the wall as if it doesnt do it immediately after you boot, it wont do it at all and there is nothing you can do to fix it. in a few days ill be ready to start working on this again and ill upload my report then, in the mean time just chill, as the issue will be dealt with as my absolute first priority.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#472 Post by nooby »

Thanks!

Guys then none of us should bang the head. But we can relax and
listen to good music and do headbanging that is relaxing instead. :)

Anyway. Meow is growing on me so I don't give up so easy.

But I will give you the time you need Sickgut. I check in now and then!

Thanks for the Cheer Up!
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
sickgut
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 19:11
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.
Contact:

#473 Post by sickgut »

saintless wrote:Glad to help, sickgut, :)
I use pussy linux on old desktop PC and I can't tell if ACPI works or not.
I will try to find a way to test it on a friend's laptop.

Edit:
The monitor is switching off in a few minutes even on my old desktop PC. A don't know if that is a sleep mode, but should be an ACPI option.
I asked a friend if we can test it on Toshiba laptop in a few days.
yep thats the acpi working, i noticed this today on my destop running pussy. Since this shows the acpi is actually installed correctly, then if the laptop behaves wrongly then it can be fixed by editing settings somewhere or running a script. If there is no battery usage icon on the task bar then i will have to add an application that does that.

User avatar
sickgut
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 19:11
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.
Contact:

#474 Post by sickgut »

Hi people, ive started working on Pussy again, currently im testing the NTFS boot partition writing issue while im uploading the ISO of the new version, i was going to hold out till the extra application squashfs was done then i realized i was going to release a version without it anyway... so why wait?

This is the standard version of the OS, and the size is 244mb. I think this is quite an acceptable size for a mini distro. When the upload is complete i will edit this post and provide a url. Note that there is 17mb of extras in the /addons dir of the iso, and if you dont need these you can manually remove them from the iso and be left with a 227mb iso. This is only worth while if you use copy to ram, as this copies the entire iso to RAM, including the /addons dir... this is a bug in the copy to ram option and i am looking at ways to fix it.

2 more versions will be released, one that will be the console only skeleton that contains the 67mb filesystem.squashfs... but i will modify this slightly so it has the nano text editor and the ability to connect to networks using the commandline. the final size for this version will be between 69 and 80mb. if incorporate the wicd-curses application that provides wifi support then the final size will be around the 80mb mark. This console only version of pussy will provide everything you need to connect to a network and start apt-getting stuff to buid your system.

The 3rd version will include the new pussyxtra.squashfs file that contains all the extra apps, the only limmit that im imposing on this version is that it stays within the 700mb size so that it fits on a normal cdrom. The idea here is to provide absolutely everything that a user will need on their system like java, wine, open office, gimp, inkscape. dvd / audio cd ripping, maybe a few games, virtualbox, development tools, etc etc.
Last edited by sickgut on Mon 24 Oct 2011, 12:30, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sickgut
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 19:11
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.
Contact:

#475 Post by sickgut »

re: writing to NTFS boot partition when using HDD install.

Hi people, I have discovered that the NTFS mounting application that is part of the kernel or the ntfsprogs package that is installed in Pussy is loading and mounting the NTFS partition at boot, this locks out the ntfs-3g package and it errors out while booting, then once your in pussy your locked out of it with no way to unmount then remount with ntfs-3g..

The fix for this is another remaster of either just the pussyos.squashfs file or both the pussyos.squashfs and the filesystem.squashfs files and the fix being to completely remove the ntfs=progs package and maybe editing some configs to tell the kernel not to touch the ntfs partition with its own driver.

also please note that the normal booting method and the copy to ram method work differently. The normal booting method will mount the parition as read only during boot, however the copy to ram method only copies the files contained on the parition to ram then continues booting without mounting the boot partition at all and this lets you remount it.....

BUT ...

There is a huge bug with booting from HDD with the copy to ram option enabled.... every file on the partition gets loaded to ram, this means if you are dual booting with windows and windows is on the NTFS boot parition then even this gets loaded into ram, however the copy to ram will quickly fail as there will be not enough ram in such cases, then continue to boot mounting the squshfs files normally and not copying them to RAM.
If this happends you are beck to square one with the partition being mounted read only and no way to unmount it.

One possible fix is to manualy specify what "modules" to load at your vmlinuz grub line, this will make the copy to ram option only copy the squahfs files to ram, not the entire partition. If this works the writing to your ntfs boot partition will work if you use copy to ram, aslong as you mount the partition again once in pussy. This is the next thing im going to investigate. If this fails to work then another remaster is the only answer.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#476 Post by nooby »

Cool that you see solutions. Yes I saw some warning about
not enough RAM flash bye but had no way of writing it down.

Do you know if Pussy and Grub4dos combined allow for debug to make a readable file after boot. Then one could find every such error warning?

I mean take the warnings that B43 gives about not having right driver and such? IRQ 16 also warns at times not sure if it was Pussy or maybe LMDE?
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
sickgut
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 19:11
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.
Contact:

#477 Post by sickgut »

url for the iso of pussy beta preview:

http://www.thepussycatforest.info/linux ... w-base.iso

Currently working on the smaller commandline only Pussy, and will upload the iso for this soon, its going to be more of a server edition rather than just the commandline + apt-get + wicd-curses and MC, as ive included lighttpd, openssh-server, telnetd and pure-ftpd servers. Also telnet, ssh, ftp clients, aswell as lynx text web browser. When Pussy server boots it shows an info screen when you login, detailing what server programs are running and on what port, aswell as listing the other installed programs.

The wicd-curses application completely blows out the small filesize budget, and for just an extra few more MB we could have a complete server solution so i added the server stuff.
The ISO size will be under a 100mb but above 75mb, will post the URL when ive finnsihed and uploaded.

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#478 Post by nooby »

I am willing to test this thing you mention.
One possible fix is to manualy specify what "modules" to load at your vmlinuz grub line, this will make the copy to ram option only copy the squahfs files to ram, not the entire partition.
But I don't know how one do such specification on the boot code.

Here is a problem for me. I already have Semplice booting which also want the live directory to be placed on its own in the /mnt/home/
and Pussy being debian also want to have it's live there so them collide having same name.

If I rename you pussy live directory to pussylive should I them rename it in menu.lst also but should it have say


title Pussy live
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /pussy.iso
kernel /pussylive/vmlinuz boot=pussylive noautologin quickreboot noprompt toram
initrd /pussylive/initrd.img

or


title Pussy live
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /pussy.iso
kernel /pussylive/vmlinuz boot=live noautologin quickreboot noprompt toram
initrd /pussylive/initrd.img



title semplice_2.0beta1_140.1.iso username=user hostname=SempliceLive locale=sv_SE.UTF-8 keyb=se timezone=Europe/Berlin klayout=se kvariant=nodeadkeys noprompt quiet splash
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /semplice_2.0beta1_140.1.iso
kernel /live/vmlinuz boot=live noprompt noautologin username=user hostname=SempliceLive
initrd /live/initrd.img


title LMDE-11 Gnome Linux Mint Debian Edition 2011 Persistent does not work.
find --set-root --ignore-floppies --ignore-cd /linuxmint-11-gnome-dvd-32bit.iso
kernel /LMDE-11/casper/vmlinuz rw file=/cdrom/preseed/mint.seed boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/linuxmint-11-gnome-dvd-32bit.iso noeject noprompt quiet splash --
initrd /LMDE-11/casper/initrd.lz
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

nooby
Posts: 10369
Joined: Sun 29 Jun 2008, 19:05
Location: SwedenEurope

#479 Post by nooby »

Edit from within your old version of Pussy.
The old iso works. It boots while the new one
says it can not find the live medium.
So something has changed drastically.

Can one combine something that is the same and not changed
from the old to the new? I mean which files are changed in the new iso

Debian is very stingy on booting.

Only this works

kernel /live/vmlinuz boot=live

this one works not
kernel /pussylive/vmlinuz boot=live
or this kernel /pussylive/vmlinuz boot=pussylive

But on Ubuntu derivatives many of them allow this

kernel /LMDE-11/casper/vmlinuz rw file=/cdrom/preseed/mint.seed boot=casper

So how does one make a casper dir out of a live dir?
How are them different?

As it is now. I want to be able to boot four different Debian and
all of them have their own live dir that wants to be totally alone on /mnt/home
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

User avatar
sickgut
Posts: 1156
Joined: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 19:11
Location: Tasmania, Australia in the mountains.
Contact:

#480 Post by sickgut »

nooby wrote:Edit from within your old version of Pussy.
The old iso works. It boots while the new one
says it can not find the live medium.
So something has changed drastically.

Can one combine something that is the same and not changed
from the old to the new? I mean which files are changed in the new iso

Debian is very stingy on booting.

Only this works

kernel /live/vmlinuz boot=live

this one works not
kernel /pussylive/vmlinuz boot=live
or this kernel /pussylive/vmlinuz boot=pussylive

But on Ubuntu derivatives many of them allow this

kernel /LMDE-11/casper/vmlinuz rw file=/cdrom/preseed/mint.seed boot=casper

So how does one make a casper dir out of a live dir?
How are them different?

As it is now. I want to be able to boot four different Debian and
all of them have their own live dir that wants to be totally alone on /mnt/home
@nooby

when changing the /live dir to something else you need to use the live-media-path boot code . Below is an example im using myself on my desktop system, i have change the /live dir to /poosy (i have a few test dirs setup, pussy, poosy, poosycait, pussy1, pussy2... etc ... all with different pussy squashfs files)

menuentry 'poosy no specified root fs test' {
linux /poosy/vmlinuz boot=live config persistent noautologin noprompt quickreboot swapon live-media-path=/poosy
initrd /poosy/initrd.img
}

also please note that the 'boot=live' tag has nothing to do with specifying the /live folder... the 'boot=live' tag is used to boot the "live" system as pussy is based on debian live, not normal debian. I dont think it boots at all if you dont specify 'boot=live config' followed by whatever other boot codes like persistent swapon etc

hope this helps.

Post Reply