Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 12:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Juno Dialup Access Client Software
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2009, 01:15    Post subject:  Juno Dialup Access Client Software  

i forgot to announce this for a few months, so...

Note: Needs java.

juno.pet
md5sum

Link to java.

_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2009, 13:01    Post subject:  

Wolf Pup,

I am not in a position to try this now, but is this kernel-dependent or will this work on any Puppy?

-Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2009, 13:18    Post subject:  

should work on any.
_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2009, 13:27    Post subject:  

Thanks, Wolf Pup. I have used Netzero dial up (different OS) in the past, but Juno is about the same. In fact, I think they are both owned by the same company now -- or somehow linked in the business world.

At any rate, dial up is dial up, and I will be trying this out when I next hit the States.

Thank you for posting it!

-Roy

EDIT: Out of idle curiosity, do you think I might be able to edit your Juno .pet to actually work with NetZero instead? I have just now been looking at Juno's page and -- althought it "says" they offer a 10 hour per month free (ad-based) account -- selecting the free account just throws me back into the pay-for-account page. (Might be because I am transmitting from outside the U.S., though.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 02:21    Post subject:  

@Roy- If it's NetZero specifically you want, that's doable, too. I actually repackaged NetZero's Linspire package for myself a couple of months ago, and it seems to work well enough. I'll link to a cleaned-up version of it below; my original repackage had all manner of extra garbage stuffed inside that I added for myself.

Just a few notes: Your modem is most easily defined by the PupDial wizard(s) before running the NetZero dialer. I don't think it can detect the hardware itself. So long as you can probe and get a response from PupDial, though, it works fine. Once started, it looks for Mozilla and launches SeaMonkey.
To end the session, you have to start the dialer again and click cancel.
It also leaves two processes running after termination until/unless you kill them. They show up as "/bin/sh /opt/nzclient/runclient.sh" and "java -cp ./lib/zcast1_6.jar -Dnz.browser=mozilla -Dnz.clientName=/opt/nzclient/runclient.sh... etc." in Pprocess.
The menu entry is under Network.

I've run the dialer many times on my system without incident, so I hope it works for you too! And just like the Juno dialer, the NetZero dialer should only need Java.

Dialer client has since been repacked. Please use that package instead.
Get it here.

Last edited by TheAsterisk! on Wed 21 Dec 2011, 10:26; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 12:06    Post subject:  

Hey! Thanks a lot, 'TheAsterisk!' !

I am willing to use whatever is available, but am not sure that Juno has free accounts available (as originally advertised). I know that NetZero still has free accounts available,....

My thanks go to both of you guys for your assistance!

I had actually downloaded the Linspire version (deb) of netzero and un-debbed it, but failed to make a usable .pet out of the extracted directory myself.

-Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Tue 17 Nov 2009, 14:54    Post subject:  

Roy wrote:
Hey! Thanks a lot, 'TheAsterisk!' !

I am willing to use whatever is available, but am not sure that Juno has free accounts available (as originally advertised). I know that NetZero still has free accounts available,....

No problem, but if you're trying to use the free service, I have to warn you I've only tested it with the paid for service I have. Nobody even offers ad-supported Internet where I am.
Good luck, though! Hopefully it'll still work for you!
EDIT: There's a real download link now- please see my earlier post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Wed 18 Nov 2009, 21:43    Post subject:  

Last I knew the Linspire Juno/Netzero software is for the paid accounts only. Far as I know the free account software, which is different, is only usable in windows.

The free Juno accounts still work, had to use mine briefly recently. Its been a while since I downloaded free software, but I remember it took lot searching to get to a proper link. Seems they like to play games and keep trying to trick you into signing up for the pay account. Too long ago for me to remember how to find it, but searching for Juno free account software on google should help. Sure some third party sites give direct link.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1773

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jan 2011, 16:02    Post subject:  

Updated 12/31/2011:
Wolf Pup's Juno software is now here.
And md5sum is here.
(Special thanks to TheAsterisk!.)

Quote:
To end the session, you have to start the dialer again and click cancel.

This applies to both Juno and NetZero.

Last edited by Dewbie on Sat 31 Dec 2011, 01:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2011, 20:05    Post subject:  

TheAsterisk! wrote:
@Roy- If it's NetZero specifically you want, that's doable, too. I actually repackaged NetZero's Linspire package for myself a couple of months ago, and it seems to work well enough. I'll link to a cleaned-up version of it below; my original repackage had all manner of extra garbage stuffed inside that I added for myself.

Just a few notes: Your modem is most easily defined by the PupDial wizard(s) before running the NetZero dialer. I don't think it can detect the hardware itself. So long as you can probe and get a response from PupDial, though, it works fine. Once started, it looks for Mozilla and launches SeaMonkey.
To end the session, you have to start the dialer again and click cancel.
It also leaves two processes running after termination until/unless you kill them. They show up as "/bin/sh /opt/nzclient/runclient.sh" and "java -cp ./lib/zcast1_6.jar -Dnz.browser=mozilla -Dnz.clientName=/opt/nzclient/runclient.sh... etc." in Pprocess.
The menu entry is under Network.

I've run the dialer many times on my system without incident, so I hope it works for you too! And just like the Juno dialer, the NetZero dialer should only need Java.

netzero.pet
netzero.pet.md5.txt


I have had nightmare of super slow isps this summer, must have tried 4 or so to no good effect. They were connecting at like 9k to 12k. Had given up and was tethering my cell to computer. This is the SLOW 19k data connection pay as you go cell, not one of the super fast and super expensive 3G or 4G deals.

Anyway it failed for about a week and I was scrambling with free Juno and free Netzero accounts on that other operating system. Surprisingly these two with their junk software and banners and all that crap, gave me my normal blazing 26k connection like I used to have. But I was running naked with windoze. I dont normally take it online since I dont want to deal with updates and virus and such. Well frankly you cant keep up with windoze updates on dialup even if you wanted to.....

Remembered this thread. Downloaded your Netzero.pet and the humongous java pkg necessary to run it. That java pkg could use some work. Finally got it installed with one error, but it worked. Let me connect via my free Netzero account.

Should explain that I dont know if it normally would work with free account. Netzero is having one of their "free weekends" where users of the free software get to experience the wonders of the pay "Platinum" version of service.

Anyway the linux Netzero software seems to work fine and big bonus, there is no stupid Platinum banner (yea the pay windoze version has a banner above your browser too). So even after the horror stories I've heard of Netzero being the devil itself to try and cancel, looks like they will get a customer, cause of all the dialup isps I've tried last few months, theirs is the best connection and its a dollar a month cheaper than Juno. Still dont understand that since its same company... But I am willing to pay $10 a month for what passes as a good dialup connection out here in the boonies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 13:21    Post subject:  

Been using the netzero.pet for few days now. Last night got a scare as numbers it was dialing wouldnt connect. Then I noticed only one number was same as the latest numbers the windows netzero software was using.

The linux netzero software isnt updating its numbers list. I looked and darn if I can find a file to manually add numbers.

Anybody using the netzero/juno software with suggestions? That one number is working again this morning, but rather be able to have choice.

I did search and for those still using win95/98 with Netzero software (yea they still support win95/98!), there is a special program you can download to force the software to update number. The newer software does it by itself. But the linspire linux software is no longer supported so no supported way to update it.

Also another less important bug, Netzero software cant remember my password whether I tick the box to save it or not. I assume on linspire there was a file where it tries to store password, but such doesnt exist in Puppy? I am using Puppy 4.3.1 if it matters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mouldy


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 482

PostPosted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 15:13    Post subject:  

Ok, package uninstall doesnt uninstall Netzero, leaves files behind. Instead of trying to find all of them (far as I can tell they are all in Netzero directory in OPT), I just created a new instance of Puppy, reinstalled Netzero package on that Puppy and connected. Let it load the Netzero homepage, then disconnected. On second connection it gave me the option of adding the new current numbers. I accepted. Apparently if you ignore this or turn it down, there is no way to force it to offer again. At least none I can find.

Well fine, so reboot into normal instance of Puppy and mount that new instance. Copy the Netzero files over to the Netzero directory in OPT replacing existing files. Connect and voila I now have the new numbers. so they are buried in one of those files I cant open with normal text editor.

Anyway I can just see all the old numbers becoming unusable. Then since the netzero.pet only has those old numbers, I couldnt ever again connect to get update and I havent yet figured where numbers file is buried nor how to edit it manually. So going to burn all current netzero files to a cdr just as insurance that I wont get locked out of using linux version of connection software in future. if hard drive should go bad or something. Or at least make it less likely.

I figure this linspire linux connection software will work as long as Netzero supports win95/98 which they currently do. Software for those two operating systems is older version like the Linspire software is. Think they also support old Mac connection software from the powerpc era which would be same era. They dont have software for current Macs. The newer connection software is only for windows, win2k and newer. Sure eventually they will discontinue ability to use anything but the newer connection software if their dialup buisness lasts that long. I still dont know why they require software for pay service at all, but guess they collect info to sell.

This is crazy to jump all these connection software hoops for stupid dialup connection, A PAY CONNECTION at that, but this is only usable dialup connection I've found for some time. I even tried using dialguard to grab the modified username/password in windows, then use it directly in wvdial. But they do more than just modify the username/password cause when dialed via wvdial with modificed username/password, it connected, but dropped connection almost immediately.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1773

PostPosted: Sun 23 Oct 2011, 14:31    Post subject:  

Quote:
Ok, package uninstall doesnt uninstall Netzero, leaves files behind. Instead of trying to find all of them (far as I can tell they are all in Netzero directory in OPT)

Use Pfind (Menu / Filesystem / Pfind file finder) to locate them, clicking on All files (slow) button.
Enter the following keywords, one at a time:

netzero
nz

This should locate pretty much all of them.
The NetZero menu entry is particularly stubborn...takes a while to remove itself after all NetZero files are deleted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Mon 19 Dec 2011, 08:10    Post subject:  

@mouldy, Dewbie:

I;ve gotten a few messages about the NetZero dialer being nigh impossible to uninstall, so I might just re-pack it sometime in the next day or two, see if that helps things. I originally built it on a possibly-corrupted full-install of Puppy 412 retro -- this was back in my first Puppy days, and I had a habit of modifying files at whim to the detriment of my system -- and it might have caused some funny business in the packaging.

And the dialer never saved a password for me, either. To be honest, I didn't worry about it, as the dialer would not run on Ubuntu, and I'd been trying at it for a few weeks, but Puppy did it perfectly. It's what started me on the Pup, actually.



@mouldy:

I haven't used NetZero in almost two years, since I switched to Verizon and then a local ISP for DSL, so I forgot about the phone numbers getting updated. I have no way to grab the new numbers myself anymore, but if you can figure out which files are responsible for the update, and compress them into an archive, I can try to add them to the package. We'll just need to test them first.

It would just be a good idea to keep them handy, in case anyone else needs them at some point.


Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
TheAsterisk!


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 403
Location: SE Wisconsin, US

PostPosted: Wed 21 Dec 2011, 10:22    Post subject:  

Alright, I've repacked the dot-pet. If you've already run the client, parts of the /opt/nzclient/ directory stay behind after uninstallation, but I think that's just meant to preserve some of your personal settings, so I wouldn't worry about it.

Menu entry removal worked properly in both Puppy 400 and Lucid 528. Haven't tested it in others, though.

Both the NetZero and the Juno dialer packages can be downloaded from the relevant page on my website. [LINK]



Let me know if that helps at all.

I'll remove the old dot-pet.

Last edited by TheAsterisk! on Sun 18 Nov 2012, 18:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0842s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]