Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 16:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary Puppy 5.2.2, 18 Nov. 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 11 of 25 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 07:29    Post_subject:  

popguy wrote:
Hi, I'm booting wary on my Portege 2000 (PIII 750, 512, 20GB, Trident Microsystems cyberblade XPAi1-rev d2), after giving up booting with lupu 5.2.8. (hangs after "ISOLINUX.." writing flashes). However, when wary gets to the point where it says "Setting up services (network, printing, etc.)... it hangs.
Thanks for any help!

I see you have made only a handful of posts to the forum, so I assume you are relatively new to using puppy (though I have noted the 2007 join date). Surprised I'm wondering have you succeeded in running ANY version of puppy on that P3 machine? Does microsoft's windows run happily?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
popguy

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 09:25    Post_subject:  

Thanks for your reply. Sorry for my posts a bit here and there, I only now realized my second last was out of place. Anyhow, I've been a happy puppy user on many machines, and 4.3.1 works fine on my p3, like practically all versions before. 5.2.1 worked, but my orinoco wireless had trouble, so i hoped for joy with 5.2.8 or wary. I would however like to get 5.2.8. or 5.2 wary running on it. Yes, windoze works on the machine of course.
thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9123
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 10:10    Post_subject:  

Is the CD-ROM drive still working OK? Can you still boot an older Puppy CD off it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
popguy

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 10:25    Post_subject:  

Thanks. Yes, The cd drive is fine, I can boot 4.3.1. The media is fine too, no probs in booting from another machine. I tried turning acpi to off while booting, but that didn't seem to solve it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 10:47    Post_subject:  

Wary was designed with old machines in mind - nothing amiss with your 750. But there have been lots of changes with Puppy recently and dozens of issues have arisen with almost all variants. Presently, too many matters remain to be addressed, in my opinion. However, refinement and polishing takes forever and is less exciting for developers. The best option for your machine might be john biles' LegacyOS. But before you do a full install, clear out your HD completely, including the MBR, if necessary with a debug script (dd scripts don't always do the biz from within Linux). Make sure you destroy, rather than 'delete', any hidden partitions. You may need one of the specialist Linux CD utilities - I use System Rescue, but not everyone around here likes it; there are others.

PS. As recommended many times before, if you insist on using laptops, always a good idea to remove the HD, mount it in an IDE adapter and run/install it in a desktop. There are no issues when you swap it back for Puppy.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 10:48    Post_subject:  

Quote:
everything ok, like detect my huawei e173 modem etc until klick power off > save file > Administrator .........
and until wait.... there is nothing happen ( wary not shutdown ). Did i miss something ?

Nope - you didn't miss anything - see my item above. SeaMonkey is totally inadequate for some tasks. Setting up routers can be one of those. Not all the option boxes are visible for Huawei routers. Seem to remember having this problem with other ones, too. Load a decent browser like Opera, Firefox or maybe Midori and try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
popguy

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 12:25    Post_subject:  

Thanks, i'll see how legacy works out, if not the idea of taking the hd out is definately worth giving it a go. Thanks so much. I'd like to stick to puppy, I really like it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 445
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 14:05    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
The attachment below contains the correct filter from a different build of CUPS 1.3.11.


I can confirm that after installing that pet I could print from both Abiword and Gnumeric. Looks like you've fixed it. Thanks. Smile

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
LoboGrande

Joined: 07 Aug 2009
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Thu 20 Oct 2011, 15:45    Post_subject: Got the thumbdrive working  

I reinstalled Wary 5.2 without encryption and it will load on the 2nd reboot no problem. The first try says it can't find wary 5.2 sfs file but I know it's there because it loads on the 2nd reboot.

For any P3 computer except those faster than 1.1 ghz, I'd recommend Puplite 5.0 or Turbo Puppy. There's a version that's 80mb designed for computers older than 2001. My Dumpster Dell is from 2001 and runs the larger 120mb version just fine though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 01:10    Post_subject: Soundcard drivers  

I tried several sound cards before I realised it was finding the cards but did not have the drivers.

One of the cards is an l INTEL 8280 vendor 8086 device 24c5 kernel module ich
00:1f.5

The other is
cmedia electronics inc cm87 38 vendor 13f6 device 0111 c-media PCI
02:01.0
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 13:48    Post_subject: tray cpu graph - how to add click  

wary 5.2

How / where to edit to add clicking the cpu graph in the tray so it will open a file such as top or hardinfo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Frank Cox

Joined: 01 Nov 2009
Posts: 381

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 15:39    Post_subject: Re: tray cpu graph - how to add click  

broomdodger wrote:
wary 5.2

How / where to edit to add clicking the cpu graph in the tray so it will open a file such as top or hardinfo?



Not sure how to do that but would it not be just as well to drag the desktop file from /usr/share/applications?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2630
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 00:06    Post_subject: Re: Gimp Bug report  

don570 wrote:
I tried a version of Gimp 2.7.1 that shinobar made for
Wary and it couldn't save a document. The
application would disappear Crying or Very sad

shinobar wrote:
There seem sharing library problem. I will check it up on Wary 5.2.

EDIT:
I am not sure what was wrong, but try gimp-2.7.1-1-w5.sfs.
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/pup5/

Still got segfault at exporting the image... Embarassed
Exactly, it crashes at looking up saving folder.

(gimp-2.7:9752): GLib-WARNING **: goption.c:2132: ignoring no-arg, optional-arg or filename flags ( 8 ) on option of type 0
** Message: Module '/usr/lib/gegl-0.1/ff-load.so' load error: libavformat.so.52: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
This is a development version of GIMP. Debug messages may appear here.

gimp-2.7: fatal error: Segmentation fault

EDIT:
I removed the SFS, and installed gimp-2.7.1-w5.pet, bable-0.1.2-w5 and gegl-0.1.2-w5 from the PPM. libavformat.so.52 is missing.
Got same result(Crash when looking up saving folder ).

EDIT2:
Tried compile new babl-0.1.4, gegl-0.1.6 and gimp-2.7.3 on Wary-5.2.
But the result is the same(Crash when looking up saving folder ).

EDIT3:
It seems the nVidia driver(nvidia-glx-285.05.09) and the kernel problem.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=577166#577166

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7802
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 01:41    Post_subject: Re: tray cpu graph - how to add click  

broomdodger wrote:
wary 5.2

How / where to edit to add clicking the cpu graph in the tray so it will open a file such as top or hardinfo?


Not likely. It is a "swallowed" app by JWM, which simply means that xload (the app you see in the tray) is actually a standalone app that JWM can reduce to a tray app. It would require a different (or totally recoded) xload to accomplish your goal... unless some JWM expert knows another way?

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3444
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 07:01    Post_subject:  

1. Setting up Wary-5.2 on 2003 hardware [mobo = ASUS A7A266].
Generally going well and looking good. Very Happy
Except for the following bugs. Sad

2. Problems with Psip32 Puppy Phone, as reported on its thread and seen and replied to by BK.

3. Installed Parcellite-1.0.0-i486.
Things copied appear in its list, but these will not "Clear".

4. Installed Frisbee-beta-2-lucid52:
Seems to be working, but...
Doesn't look or function like the version I have in Lupu-526.
i.e. Doesn't offer the various super options in the right-click menu.

5. Is it possible to do THIS with this Wary?
i.e. Make a pupsave on an internal HDD work as though a pupsave on a Flash Drive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 25 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1028s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0183s) ][ GZIP on ]