Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 08:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Firefox official releases
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 15 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sat 01 Oct 2011, 23:47    Post_subject:  Firefox official releases
Sub_title: latest version is 16.0.2
 

I have packaged the lastest generic builds for Firefox Official (non-beta) versions. They should work in most newer Pups, and perhaps some older ones.

Currently available versions are as follows: Firefox-7.0.1, 12.0, 15.0.1, 16.02
They can be downloaded from --> here.

- prepare-firefox.pet has been removed, as its functions have been integrated into the updated Firefox packages.

Language Packs:
forum member, vicmz has a collection of language packs for Firefox, which can be downloaded --> here
For more info on this, see --> here

Also, there is a fontfix pet found in the Saluki thread that makes the fonts in Firefox much nicer, thanks to DaveS...
fontfix-1.0.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  fontfix-1.0.pet 
Filesize  5.53 KB 
Downloaded  1453 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Peterm321

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 16:57    Post_subject:  

Quote:

Also I noticed that when I installed the pet in Wary 5.1.1, it says there are some missing libs, but Firefox will still run. I don't know if it will crash in Wary or not due to the missing libs. I copied the libs over from Lucid 5.2.8 and made firefox-8b-libs.pet of them, but don't know if there will be library compatability issues. So use it at your own risk.


I noticed a related issue myself. When Firefox started it complained (but still ran apparently OK) about a few missing libraries. But on my system one or two of them were already in /usr/local/lib, so I included a reference to this directory by amending LD_LIBRARY_PATH in the firefox/run-mozilla.sh startup script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Luluc


Joined: 16 Mar 2011
Posts: 200

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 17:39    Post_subject:  

Thanks, but I am going to wait for Firefox 15. I've heard that is going to be the bestest version ever. Around Christmas, supposedly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 18:01    Post_subject:  

Luluc wrote:
Thanks, but I am going to wait for Firefox 15. I've heard that is going to be the bestest version ever. Around Christmas, supposedly.


Laughing Yes, new versions come out so fast now but I can update fairly quickly by modifying the older pets.

Peterm321,

When you get a chance, can you post your run-mozilla.sh script? I'm just being curious.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4779
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 23:31    Post_subject: run-mozilla.sh  

Here is run-mozilla.sh from fatdog64-520 running Aurora 6.0.1.
run-mozilla.sh.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  run-mozilla.sh.gz 
Filesize  3.14 KB 
Downloaded  947 Time(s) 

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 03 Oct 2011, 06:36    Post_subject: Re: run-mozilla.sh  

raffy wrote:
Here is run-mozilla.sh from fatdog64-520 running Aurora 6.0.1.


Am I too nosy if I ask what is a run-mozilla with Aurora?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2011, 10:01    Post_subject: Re: run-mozilla.sh  

raffy wrote:
Here is run-mozilla.sh from fatdog64-520 running Aurora 6.0.1.


Thank You raffy. I will check it out and compare it to one in the later versions of firefox.

nooby wrote:

Am I too nosy if I ask what is a run-mozilla with Aurora?


Aurora is the nightly build version of Firefox. It has newer stuff than even the beta version. However, it is also the most experimental build, so there is more possibility of bugs. The official version is supposed to be the most stable. run-mozilla.sh is a script included in the firefox builds. I am not sure of all of its functions, but I will be deciphering the code as best I can.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2011, 10:23    Post_subject:  

Ah thanks, I was sure if that it was some kind of Text only browser
that one click on a picture to activate it and that each link was almost
raw html that one click on Smile Ar them named Gecko or something then?

Sorry no need to answer. Thanks for explaining it to me.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 07 Oct 2011, 10:34    Post_subject: Re: run-mozilla.sh  

Tman wrote:
run-mozilla.sh is a script included in the firefox builds. I am not sure of all of its functions, but I will be deciphering the code as best I can.


I think one of the functions is to prevent more than one instance of Firefox/Seamonkey to be running at the same time.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2462
Location: near here

PostPosted: Tue 18 Oct 2011, 10:56    Post_subject:  

Aurora not to be confused with Arora

firefox nightly build
http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/all-aurora.html

Arora web-kit browser
http://code.google.com/p/arora/

added Tman's fox2wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Peterm321

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 236

PostPosted: Fri 21 Oct 2011, 02:51    Post_subject:  

Quote:

Tman


PostPosted: Sun 02 Oct 2011, 18:01

Peterm321,

When you get a chance, can you post your run-mozilla.sh script? I'm just being curious.



My run-mozilla.sh is practically the same as the standard run-mozilla.sh that comes with the standard linux binaries that can be downloaded from the mozilla website.

At the very end of the script the routine to run the firefox-binary is called up:

Code:

if [ $moz_debug -eq 1 ]
then
   moz_debug_program ${1+"$@"}
else
   moz_run_program ${1+"$@"}
fi

exit $exitcode


So just before that code I inserted the line:


Code:
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH="$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:/usr/local/lib"




The LD_LIBRARY_PATH quoted above is simply the old LD_LIBRARY_PATH with ":/usr/local/lib" added to it. I haven't noticed any difference mind you, though Firefox no longer complains about the missing libgconf library. I would presume there is nothing in /usr/local/lib to trip firefox up, on my system there isn't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tman


Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 814
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Sat 22 Oct 2011, 16:32    Post_subject:  

Peterm321, thank you for the clear explanation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don922

Joined: 19 Jan 2008
Posts: 380
Location: The land of 14" monitors

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2011, 09:17    Post_subject: Re: Firefox 7.0.1 official and 8.0 beta  

Tman wrote:
I have packaged the latest generic builds for Firefox 7.0.1 official and 8.0 beta.

I have also added a script which will remove things left behind when you uninstall firefox from the package manager or when you unload a firefox.sfs file.
Just install the prepare-firefox.pet and in the terminal type bash prepareff. Then install the new Firefox pet or sfs. Running prepareff first will give a cleaner install.
**warning - running prepareff will also remove your firefox bookmarks so please back them up somewhere if you don't want to lose them.


I let Mozilla replace FF7 with FF8. I am not happy with FF8 and want to install the Firefox-7.0.1.pet. My Firefox installation is a little bit unconventional as the .mozilla directory is in the Home directory and it is sym-linked to the root directory.

I am having trouble finding the Bookmarks file. What is it called and where should it be located? The bookmark file in the .mozilla directory in the Home directory appears to be a plain new unused file with no bookmarks.

The bookmarkbackups directory seems to be current and contain good data. Can this bookmarkbackups file be used to replace the bookmarks file when I install the Firefox-7.0.1.pet, after running the prepare-firefox.pet? If it can be used -- How do you use the backup?

_________________
Don -- Thailand

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
TLM


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 173
Location: Central United States

PostPosted: Wed 09 Nov 2011, 13:00    Post_subject:  

Hi, Thanks for the FireFox PETS. I had progressively upgraded to 7.01 in 525 from version 5.01 from the About Firefox-Check for Updates Link. All had went well until I upgraded to Firefox 8. Browser took forever to open pages and froze. Flash did not work. So I uninstalled the Firefox 5.01 package and deleted the firefox folder in usr/lib. Rebooted and ran your 7.01 PET and then upgraded to version 8 via Check for Updates link. Reinstalled all my favorite addons and now Firefox is running great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1435
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2011, 00:41    Post_subject:  

I'm having a problem with FF8, hangs for ages , it was 7.01 that upgraded itself, put on another copy of 7.01 and it runs fine, I'm running lucid 5.2.8.

anyone else having this happen, is there a solution?

Geoffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 15 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0918s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0059s) ][ GZIP on ]