Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 09:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Guy Dog 5.0.1
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 21 [312 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5678
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 18:13    Post subject:  

Did another frugal install on an old P4 with onboard Intel 82865 graphics.....everything working ootb on that box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1365
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 18:18    Post subject:  

Hi Iguleder

Some quick feedback (manual frugal install on my HP550):

- Network Wizard doesn't seem to work at all
- sad to see that Samba hasn't been included
- really missing being able to click on a .pet file to install it and clicking on a .iso or .sfs to access the contents

Maybe somebody could do a quick tutorial explaining how to do the things we've come to expect of Puppy in this different new world for people who would like to experiment but aren't clever enough to work it out for themselves??

Really exciting what you've managed to cram into such a small ISO though - congrats.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnnywinner

Joined: 19 Jul 2010
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 18:23    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:
- Network Wizard doesn't seem to work at all


See: http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02544
New pet: http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/pet_packages-common/net_setup-20111015.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elraven

Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 82
Location: wnc-usa

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 18:28    Post subject: guydog
Subject description: setting wallpaper
 

how do set the wall paper or change it rather? i can't find the wallpaper app
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1867
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 18:29    Post subject:  

Any Puppy wallpaper setter should work - put your wallpaper in either /usr/share/backgrounds/default.jpg or /usr/share/backgrounds/default.png. This is something I want to address in the next release.
_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
ICQ Number 
pacer106

Joined: 11 Jan 2011
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 18:34    Post subject:  

To install .pets use open with & then type in petget or read below.

This is a little walk through for how to add installing .pets with a double click in emelfm2 file manager.

There are 2 pictures to reference if my instructions are not clear enough.

In image 1 you will see the right click menu for emelfm2 & the option for editing filetypes. click on that & you will see image 2.

As you can see in image 2 I have already added the pet option.

To do what I have done is pretty simple.

Step 1 is to scroll to the bottom of the Catergories column and click on the bottom item which should be object files so it is hi-lited in blue.

Step 2 is to click on the +Add button at the bottom of the screen as seen in image 2. You should now see a new item named new & it should be hi-lited in blue. Click on the word new & you should be able to edit the word from new to pet. After you enter pet press enter key so it sticks.

Step 3 is to click on the column named Extensions then click the +Add button at the bottom. You should now have a blue hi-lited item in the Extensions column. Click on that item & enter in pet then press enter to commit the item.

Step 3 is to click on the column named Labels & Commands. click in the blank area anyplace under Labels & Commands once it is showing a blue hi-lited item click on the +Add button at the bottom. Now click on the blue hi-lited item under the Label part & enter in install.pet then press enter to commit it. Next you will want to click the blue hi-lited area under command enter petget then press enter to commit.

Step 4 (final step) is to click on Apply then Commit at the bottom. (I am not sure if both Apply & Commit need to be clicked on. I did it just to be sure.)

If all went correctly a double click on any .pet should install the .pet.

Feedback is always welcome. I am no writer (far from it). I probably have grammer & punctuation errors in this. I am sorry if it bothers some people.




Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
deepsea

Joined: 17 Jan 2009
Posts: 154
Location: Deutschland

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 18:41    Post subject:  

Moin
Iguleder

Download your guy puppy
make frugal install
runs great

include XFCE4.8.pet ~ 8,8 MB prepared for " Next Puppy Wink "
(only deb packages therefore the red notification bar in Thunar)

It is a pet with the basics of Xfce4 and Thunar
[ No thumbnails in thunar , some icons missing ..]

At moment seems to be working well


Here the result
screen.png
 Description   screen
 Filesize   189.29 KB
 Viewed   1796 Time(s)

screen.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5678
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 19:33    Post subject:  

Finally starting to get this figured out...... Laughing

Just realized I've got a misspelling in Conky too...
2011-10-15_18-31-21.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   43.35 KB
 Viewed   1810 Time(s)

2011-10-15_18-31-21.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5678
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 19:38    Post subject:  

Much better...
2011-10-15_18-37-47.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   42.74 KB
 Viewed   1782 Time(s)

2011-10-15_18-37-47.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 78
Location: Pickering, ON Canada

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 19:55    Post subject:  

Thanks for what on first impressions is an excellent puppy. Have done a frugal install, extended wbar to include additional apps. Wireless connection (bcm43) is re-established on restart. Everything is working extremely well.


Thanks iguleder, your work is excellent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubeguy


Joined: 28 Aug 2009
Posts: 1326
Location: Park Ridge IL USA

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 20:01    Post subject:  

johnnywinner wrote:
tubeguy wrote:
I have found that right-clicking an app in the task bar closes it. Is that the intended behavior?


It is, but you can change it. The setting is at line 83 in /root/.config/tint2/tint2rc, "mouse_right = close". The available settings are explained at the link below.

http://code.google.com/p/tint2/wiki/Configure#Mouse_action_on_task


tubeguy wrote:
Also how do I switch between desktops?


Ctrl-Alt-Left Arrow or Right Arrow or scrolling on the desktop are two ways.

Thank you!!

_________________
Toshiba M115-S1061: PupServer |HP/Compaq D330ST: Dpup 486
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pacer106

Joined: 11 Jan 2011
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 20:35    Post subject:  

not completely happy with this but here is my idea.


guydog1 by J. P. Stunna, on Flickr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 764
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 20:55    Post subject: Can not achieve desktop with Ati Radeo 3100 Graphics  

Hi iguleder & All:

I'm really disappointed that I am unable to explore what looks to be an exciting puplet. My system uses Ati Radeon 3100 graphics. Trying probe, it tests OK, but clicking "finish" results in "No Signal" being reported by my monitor. Trying Chose, tests OK, but drops me back to "type xwin", which fails. Selecting vesa does the same.
In the early development of Slacko, iguleder's dpup and Exprimo, adding "pfix=radeon.modeset=0" enabled me to obtain a working desktop; but doing so for Guydog produced the same results as above.

mikesLr

Edit: Ignore above ('Embarassed')
See http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=574307#574307

Last edited by mikeslr on Tue 18 Oct 2011, 19:29; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
roadkill13

Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 74
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 20:55    Post subject: No Joy on Acer D255  

Did manual frugal install and booted to desktop without incident. Setup networking. A dialogue box popped up asking to download flash player. So I downloaded flash player but did nothing else.

Created save file and rebooted. Desktop locks up as soon as X loads after booting with save file. No mouse, no hot keys. Had to cold cock it and restart. Rebooted without incident. Don't know what caused that. Like the look and layout of this puplet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 764
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Sat 15 Oct 2011, 22:49    Post subject: Pmount on Wbar = Desktop Drive Icon Workaround
Subject description: Guydog working fine on Thinkpad T42
 

Hi iguleder & all,

I guess I really did want to explore Guydog. See prior post. My right-brain tossed up the idea, "Why not try it on your Thinkpad T42?" Holding my breath as I clicked thru Xorgwizard --my T42 also uses Radeon Graphic, albeit 7500-- it gave me a desktop before I passed out.

Regarding the absence of desktop drive icons, I supposed a workaround would be to add pmount to Wbar. As Wbar config didn't seem to accept the non-png icon associated with pmount, I gave it the attached, which I stole from some collection of icons and re-labeled.

Damn! Now I'll have to figure out how to work without rox-filer as the default file manager.

mikesLr

p.s. Love the wbar config app. It's subjective, but Guydog may be the fastest puppy I've tried on the T42.
pmount.png
 Description   
 Filesize   31.07 KB
 Viewed   1717 Time(s)

pmount.png


Last edited by mikeslr on Wed 19 Oct 2011, 19:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 21 [312 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0880s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]