Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 03:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko RC
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 23 [331 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Author Message
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3398
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2011, 22:29    Post subject:
Subject description: USB desktop save button
 

Is anyone else having problems with the desktop SAVE button application?
I have a 512 meg save file and after the initial message displays and then the Saving Ram to file.... appears, it never disappears and I do not know if the save to USB has completed.
When I shut down or reboot, the save to the pupsave file is fast.
So what is happening here?
Is the Desktop save button application broke?
This is with a 4gig USB flash drive with a 512 meg save file.
Also, I am not running ant other applications when this happens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2011, 02:18    Post subject:  

I have been having some trouble with keybindings working inconsistently in JWM (latest with F11 fix) so have reverted to an earlier one for more testing.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 618
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2011, 02:25    Post subject:  

Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Currently installing of packages is a bit confusing



Click install
Click uninstall
That works Wink


Really?
Dear Lobster, that was not exactly my point, but thanks for the tip Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2011, 02:39    Post subject:  

Click install
Click uninstall
That is how it should ideally work . . .

I do not feel it does yet . . .
We have moved towards the ziggy interface in Slacko PPM.
A big part of Woof is trying to make more packages (and quicker) available for Puppy.

I think Barry and Micko are aware of the ideal - it is simple to state
difficult to implement . . . Cool

----

I used the upgraded Flash recently supplied.
No issues that I could detect - seems OK

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
john3voltas

Joined: 23 May 2011
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2011, 02:51    Post subject:  

As pemasu has pointed out on previous develp threads, I am also experiencing a veeery slow touchpad.
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2011, 02:54    Post subject:  

jim3630 wrote:
01micko,

this problem is beyond my skill level and looks like it is not my hardware since in other pups once the speakers are chosen via multi-sound card wizard on reboot sound continues to go to those speakers. have looked in other pups multi-sound card wizard and the choices are the same as in the pic of my first post here in RC. any ideas?


Was this a problem in any of the betas? If not I have a possible fix. Let me know please before I post it. Thanks.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Tasgarth

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 202
Location: France, Besancon

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2011, 03:49    Post subject:  

Don't know if this should be reported here or not, but I notice that through PPM :
Test 1:
PPM > Puppy-Slacko >Desktop => Blackbox 070. and >system > desktop => the same blackbox...
But PPM > Slackware 17.17 > Desktop => blackbox 0.70.1 (the same one)
Test 2:
PPM > Puppy-Slacko... > slacware 17.17... >Puppy-Slacko > Desktop => ati-fghx-11...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mave

Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 130
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2011, 05:47    Post subject: Scribus, QT4  

Quote:
hi all

@mave there is a QT pet in the PPM there is also a qt_all sfs that can be downloaded from slickpet

hope this helps

Don


Thanks Don,

the qt_all.sfs link in slickpet seems to be broken...
but meanwhile I think reaching the whole compiling of scribus 1.4x with all its neccessary 3d part libs Razz

mave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mave

Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 130
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2011, 06:00    Post subject: INFO: Trouble with mini pci wlan card: rt73usb
Subject description: post from Slacko B5 thread
 

Quote:
Hi 01micko,

I tried in a MSI VR610X notebook a min pci express wlan card RT73 (because the orginal Atheros 242 didn't work all).

Under Lupu 5.2.8 this runs good, also WPA2. In Slacko network wizard are showing the wlan-interface but scans reaches no results. Log:

Code:
Information about this interface:
Interface: wlan0 Driver: rt73usb Bus: usb MacAddress: 00:0D:F0:4A:A4:34
Description: Ralink RT73 USB Wireless LAN driver.

STEP1a: ifconfig wlan0 up
ifconfig: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not possible due to RF-kill

I'm not familar with rfkill (Barry told about somewhere), maybe there is a kernel issue...
...


INFO: Didn't get this running under Slacko RC with updated wag-profiles... then took a 5,- EUR Mini PCI Express card WLAN "ZCOM XG-920"out of Medion-Notbooks via eBay
http://www.ebay.de/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=140592932393&ssPageName=ADME:B:EOIBSA:DE:1123

... no trouble, runs out of the box Razz

mave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2011, 07:11    Post subject:  

Test frugal install of RC ++

AMD turion 64 x2 tl-50
ATI Radeon® Xpress 1150

Very very slow mouse on first boot - editing xorg.conf to:
Option "MinSpeed" "0.80"
Option "MaxSpeed" "0.80"
Option "AccelFactor" "0.0080"

Then refining setting further in flsynclient resolves problem.

Ram usage is rather high - around 75-80mb idle after boot, if i recall about on par with the older lucid 525 however considerably higher than the Dpups - Dlite 40-45, Exprime 55-60

New save file dialog worked ok.

cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3551
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2011, 09:22    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
Boot with pfix=usbsave to get PUPMODE 13 on HD frugal installs

UGH...
Does this mean I'd need to MANUALLY enter this command at EVERY bootup?
Or is there a way to have it done automatically at each bootup [of a live CD with pupsave file]?

p.s I'm off to London tomorrow to visit my son [who has a Lupu-526 CD], but will take a copy of my 526 lupusave on a Flash Drive, and attempt to continue posting from there on his PC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1030
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2011, 09:53    Post subject:
Subject description: slacko 5.29.5 on Laptop + siliconmotion video
 

Hi Mick,
01micko wrote:
Hi Charlie,
Strange your siliconmotions issue still as the pet I made for you and Indian is included.

Hmm...this post several times re-edited as I could not get reproducible results and a stable savefile;
«stable» is meant that the X desktop that comes after have ran xorgwizard is reproducible, and uses the siliconmotion driver + the «be» locale.

Instead what is only reproducible when booting fresh (pristine) on slacko 5.29.5 is:
- X desktop starts automaticaly OK with driver = vesa + fr_belgium keyboard if the <Probe> option is activated;
- if doing <Choose> , then xorgwizard displays the drivers full list; there the siliconmotion driver choice and <Test_X_now> brings return to the prompt; doing xwin returns to the prompt again + message «Starting X, specs...If X failed to start, type "xorgwizard" to setup X».
- /usr/lib/x/drivers and /usr/lib/x/drivers-backup folders are empty;

Later tests (before issuing slacko RC) with the xorg4charlie_indian.pet installed brought the drivers list as shown below when running xorgwizard and doing <Choose>. Choosing then siliconmotion and doing <Test_X_now> brings X to start. That 2-drivers list never got displayed using slacko 5.29.5.

Note: in slacko5.29.5 siliconmotion_drv.so and vesa_drv.so are still the earlier version (resp 109K and 21K: later are 119K and 26K sized).

Attached are screenshots of a current slacko5.29.5 with /usr/lib before (orange) and after (green) having copied the /usr/lib/x and /usr/lib/xorg contents from a fixed slackoB2.
Original 5.29.5's folders have been renamed /usr/lib/xX and /usr/lib/xorgX.

Here is a link for downloading a nice working slackosave-4992becy.3fs (except that locale is 'us' which has been updated for slacko5.29.5 - size= 64MB:
http://www.datafilehost.com/download-8b3e6f81.html

Hope this could help!

Cheers, charlie
x_silic.JPG
 Description   this works on 5.29.5 after having copied the /usr/lib/x and /usr/lib/xorg/modules picked up from a fixed slacko4.99.2 + xorg4charlie_indian.pet
 Filesize   9.3 KB
 Viewed   869 Time(s)

x_silic.JPG

usr_lib_xorg.jpg
Description  works: /usr/lib/xorg/modules/ is far more populated than on 5.29.5's original as seen in /usr/lib/xorgX/modules/
jpg

 Download 
Filename  usr_lib_xorg.jpg 
Filesize  65.13 KB 
Downloaded  155 Time(s) 
usr_lib_x.jpg
Description  works: /usr/lib/x/drivers-backup contains only 2 drivers
don't works: /usr/lib/x/drivers-backup contains all drivers (5.29.5 original)
jpg

 Download 
Filename  usr_lib_x.jpg 
Filesize  69.05 KB 
Downloaded  158 Time(s) 

Last edited by charlie6 on Thu 13 Oct 2011, 03:09; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2011, 11:21    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
sc0ttman wrote:
Boot with pfix=usbsave to get PUPMODE 13 on HD frugal installs

UGH...
Does this mean I'd need to MANUALLY enter this command at EVERY bootup?
Or is there a way to have it done automatically at each bootup [of a live CD with pupsave file]?

p.s I'm off to London tomorrow to visit my son [who has a Lupu-526 CD], but will take a copy of my 526 lupusave on a Flash Drive, and attempt to continue posting from there on his PC.

If I get you. When you visit your son then you boot up like this
Quote:
will take a copy of my 526 lupusave on a Flash Drive

then you can put it on the boot code for the usb.

Is it iso linux? or do you have grub4dos on the usb?

I try to show on both. I almost never use usb so not sure.
I take an official code as example
Code:
default puppy
display boot.msg
prompt 1
timeout 50

F1 boot.msg
F2 help.msg
F3 help2.msg

label puppy
kernel vmlinuz
append initrd=initrd.gz pmedia=usb pfix=usbsave


But note this it does say:

scottman wrote:
Boot with pfix=usbsave to get PUPMODE 13 on HD frugal installs


So does that really apply to CD or DVD or USB? it says it only apply to frugal on HDD

So maybe me misunderstand what is supposed to happen?

if you have grub4dos then you add it here

Code:
 title Slacko-5295 B5
  root (hd0,0)
  kernel /slacko5295/vmlinuz psubdir=slacko5295 puppy pfix=usbsave
  initrd /slacko5295/initrd.gz
 


So if I get it then you boot on your son's puppy but want to boot fresh and save on your usb but not boot from the usb then you have to edit by hitting e during the 5 seconds at the start. Ot edit his boot code Smile

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2011, 11:36    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
jim3630 wrote:
01micko,

this problem is beyond my skill level and looks like it is not my hardware since in other pups once the speakers are chosen via multi-sound card wizard on reboot sound continues to go to those speakers. have looked in other pups multi-sound card wizard and the choices are the same as in the pic of my first post here in RC. any ideas?


Was this a problem in any of the betas? If not I have a possible fix. Let me know please before I post it. Thanks.


01mikco yes a problem I reported in prior betas.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2011, 12:56    Post subject:  

When the final is released, what will it be called?
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 23 [331 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 21, 22, 23 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1090s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]