Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 13:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Racy Puppy 5.2.2 Final, 18 Nov. 2011
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 33 [487 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Author Message
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 409

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 03:52    Post subject: mplayer fullscreen
Subject description: mplayer fullscreen does not work
 

Running Racy 5.1.101 from USB (frugal).

Athlon64 platform
Xorg/sound/eth0 all automatic and working correct. Nice !!
Flash downloaded (after prompt) and working.

Problem: Mplayer is not scaling up to fullscreen.
- when video window is maximized, then dual small video (1 frozen, one active playing ... see attached).
- when screen is maximized through control window then window maximizes, but only small video is shown.

Tried "xv" video output, but result is the same. Tried to start Xorgwizard to see if I can debug or improve, but does not work.
Select Xorgwizard via menu tries to start via cmd line, but crashes, and reverts back to X11 desktop.

Same bug on Core2Duo7500 PC.

Mplayer works correct on the same hardware in Wary 5.1.4.1

Volhout.
mplayer fullscreen.png
Description  mplayer video
png

 Download 
Filename  mplayer fullscreen.png 
Filesize  157.97 KB 
Downloaded  361 Time(s) 

Last edited by Volhout on Thu 29 Sep 2011, 09:10; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 655
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 04:25    Post subject:
Subject description: another mplayer issue (no tv from my DTV card)
 

G'day,

Installed a frugal Racy-5.1.101 to my desk-top hard-drive copying files from mounted iso to a subdirectory (=manual install?).

Nice display using vesa driver. I have had problems with some debian/ubuntu-based radeon drivers but the racy vesa gives 1600x900, and the prompt for a save file before shutting down racy dodged any problem with loss of graphics from the radeon card/driver. I just need this in the lupu-based pups!

My loaded-at-boot sfs's run well (games, wine+programs, graphics, LibreOffice, etc). Internet (wired only) connected without delay.

I can also power-down this racy and not have the reboot-instead-of-power-down situation that this desktop has with slackos-b3 and newer, and with the previous racy (xxx.99).

Only problems I found worth noting:

1) mplayer can't do DTV like it used to?

2) tried to do a full install from the frugal using the universal installer and the racy files in /mnt/home/racy-5.1.101/ directory, but during the checking of the partitions on sda, I got the anonymous "sanity failure report" and failure to <Continue> with the full install past this. This hasn't been an issue with other recent Pups in creating a full install this way. There are some 'errors' on my hard drive partitions where they don't start and finish at some particular value, apparently a linux peculiarity?

Thanks,

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2578
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 05:04    Post subject: Racy Puppy 5.1.101
Subject description: defaultbrowser
 

Frugal install on a SSD

1 bug
# defaultbrowser
/usr/local/bin/mozstart: line 12: exec: mozilla: not found

started browser by changing /usr/local/bin/mozstart:
Code:
#[ "$COMTAIL" = "" ] && exec mozilla #v3.94
[ "$COMTAIL" = "" ] && /usr/lib/seamonkey-2.3.2/seamonkey # quick and dirty hack



1 success
OPENCHROME driver used out of the box Smile

Xorg.0.log
...
[ 688.476] Freed 12587008 (pool 1)
[ 688.476] (--) CHROME(0): Using SSE YUV42X copy for video.
[ 688.476] (WW) CHROME(0): [XvMC] XvMC is not supported on this chipset.
[ 688.477] (WW) CHROME(0): Option "PreferredMode" is not used
[ 688.477] (II) CHROME(0): - Done
[ 688.477] (**) RandR enabled
[ 688.477] (II) Initializing built-in extension Generic Event Extension
...
Thank you Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 05:23    Post subject:  

Quote:
Did a graphic card update but could not play an avi vid in double size or full screen.


Sorry Barry - only just seen this . . .
Basically (from what I remember) there is an extra drivers video wizard
available from wizard wizard (the master wizard) and I used that.

Beta 1 incidentally went to desktop, connected to Ethernet, played sound and video OK after the initial start up questions. I also looked to find what you had left out - I could not see any glaring omissions. So this is a great smaller Puppy for lean and mean modernity . . .
Put a link on the wiki
Hope others will be impressed with this 'retro sized' Puppy Smile

I have to mention styling. Stark I like, a lot. Partly because it would work great on a future tablet . . .
However some of the icons are variations on a circle that make no obvious differentiation.

The shut down sequence went to a black screen (that needs to be confirmed by others) Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2578
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 08:29    Post subject: Racy Puppy 5.1.101 (5.2 beta1)
Subject description: shutdown
 

Lobster wrote:
...
The shut down sequence went to a black screen (that needs to be confirmed by others) Cool

Cannot confirm this. For me shutdown was expected behavior (last message on console translated) Cool
L
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4796
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 11:21    Post subject: eMachines D443 AMD Fusion E-350  

Booting via USB with no parameter in eMachines D443 AMD Fusion E-350 (with Radeon HD 6310). Xvesa has 1366x768 resolution. The screen blanks when idle but backlight is still on.

Broadcom BCM 4313 wireless has no loaded driver.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2578
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 11:53    Post subject: Racy Puppy 5.1.101 (5.2 beta1)
Subject description: gtk images
 

installed ymount in Racy 5.1.101, no go

Found the reason: missing image gtk-harddisk
used in
Code:
 yad --image="gtk-harddisk"


Code:
# yad --image="gtk-harddisk"
Segmentation fault
#


No idea where these gtk images are located normally.
And hope it was not intended to leave them off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2154
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 12:18    Post subject: Racy Puppy 5.1.101 (5.2 beta1)  

Running from DVD+RW.
Thu 29 Sep 2011 Operating System: Racy Puppy-5.1.101 Linux 2.6.39.4
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 1082 (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA product: GF110 Board - 12630002 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nouveau
X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes


Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU
Core 0: 1600 1: 1600 2: 1600 3: 1600 4: 1600 5: 1600 6: 1600 7: 1600 MHz

Computer
Processor 8x Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz
Memory 16613MB (152MB used)

HD 1080p videos play fullscreen perfectly at youtube.com,hardware
acceleration is not working so games that require it don't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1794

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 12:41    Post subject: Re: Racy Puppy 5.1.101
Subject description: defaultbrowser
 

L18L wrote:

OPENCHROME driver used out of the box Smile


Which VIA(?) chipset is that on?

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2578
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Thu 29 Sep 2011, 13:26    Post subject: Re: Racy Puppy 5.1.101
Subject description: defaultbrowser
 

mavrothal wrote:
L18L wrote:

OPENCHROME driver used out of the box Smile


Which VIA(?) chipset is that on?

VIA C7-D Processor 1500MHz
Board Name CN896-8237S, via.com.tw
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=71651
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1047
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 01:09    Post subject: racy101  

1/ Bootup went well on all my boxes, including the most troublesome, to a lovely puppy screen. Well Done! The oldest, however, even though it was ok via a cd start, kernal panic'd when booted via grub from a hard drive. Will investigate further and update here when I have something to add. EDIT: Existing statement stands, from a cd it works, from grub, i'm getting a kernal panic................!damn!

2/ I can't seem to install using Puppy Universal Installer onto anything, get to the continue/quit screen and it quits everytime. But it works if I just copy the files from the cd across, to give me a frugal install. Getting a Sanity Check Screen error in all cases, it talks about a readonly partition, even though I haven't told it which one I want it to install into!

3/ First shutdown (yellow screens) ?have a problem? >on the First Shutdown : Get Ready Screen we have some code visable on the left side, it's "${T_yesno3}" EDIT: message below from L18L fixes the problem, thanks.

4/ I have a savefile problem for you!
I usually clone a duplicate install onto a second partition so I can "play" with one while keeping the other pristine for both comparison and cleanup. ie the content of /sda1/racy101 is copied to /sda2/racy101. They each contain the same named savefile and have their own menu lines in grub.
Normally when I boot one of the two up I get a "select list" asking me to pick which savefile to use, but not in this case, it's using the first from /sda1/racy101 in all cases unless I change the name of the savefile in one of them. It seems / looks like that racy101 can't diferentiate between savefile partitions if the directories are the same name.

and (for now) Wink
5/ resizing a save file is taking much longer than before, nearly twice as long in fact in all cases.

regards
scsijon
updated

Last edited by scsijon on Mon 03 Oct 2011, 00:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 409

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 02:24    Post subject: save file
Subject description: choose from 2
 

Running Racy 5.1.101 from USB stick. Used universal installer to create stick from iso. Selected "Puppy linux, Wary" in universal installer.

I see the opposite from "scsijon". I have a single save file on the stick. None of the HD's on the PC are mounted, and I keep getting a question at bootup "which save file to use".

0 none
1 sdb1 /racysave.2fs
2 sdb1 /racysave.2fs

Option 1 and 2 are identical however.... And there is only 1 save file on sdb1.

Volhout
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4814
Location: GB

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 04:09    Post subject:  

Great wallpaper!
Confirm "Cannot display this resolution" - default set too high for the average punter, but no issue with drivers after CTL-ALT-BKSPCE/xorgwiz. Why not try a Midori swap now?!
Otherwise, everything working well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4796
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 04:28    Post subject: Re: save file
Subject description: choose from 2
 

Volhout wrote:
I have a single save file on the stick. None of the HD's on the PC are mounted, and I keep getting a question at bootup "which save file to use".

0 none
1 sdb1 /racysave.2fs
2 sdb1 /racysave.2fs

Option 1 and 2 are identical however.... And there is only 1 save file on sdb1.

Volhout

Yes, that happened to me, too, with sdb1 a flash disk from which Racy booted. Also, at save time, Racy saves only to the media from which it booted, not where it found the pup.sfs (it was in a subdirectory in hard disk sda3).

I was able to install vlc and qt4 using the package manager, so now I can play video at full screen, which MPlayer can't do (in this eMachines AMD Fusion E-350 laptop).

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4436
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 30 Sep 2011, 04:43    Post subject: Reporting RACY on X2 4GB  

The system used for testing in a 4GB RAM AMD X2 which will run both 32/64bit OS.

The MB has 2 LAN adapters. This system uses ETH1 (NOT ETH0) for its wire LAN service connection and I have alway configued it this way as I use ETH0 for a completely different system mission...always have. So, there is NO LAN cable plugged in ETH0 AND there IS A LAN CABLE [u]present in ETH/u].
RACY is ID'ing all 4GB RAM for the Puppy Filesystem as expected. Thank you very much.
I also attached a system report so where you could see, first-hand, the RACY system.

In accordance with some of what I think you;re after, I have categorized issues as High Impact and Little Impact in terms of it affect on a user.

High Impact
  • System has 2 LAN ethernet adapters via the motherboard. But, system does not autodetect the 2nd adapter where DHCP server would assign LAN-WAN services. This system does NOT have a cable in eth0; only eth1. All 64bit Pups have solved this. And, I believe it MAY (I don't remember) be solved in both Puppy 5.25 and Slacko.
  • To set the hostname is still a problem any puppy that does NOT include Shinorbar's tool "Personalize Settings". When hostname is changed to assign a meaningful name to the PC, all of Puppy's fields are not updated. All systems that ship with Shinobar's Personalize Settings can assign a menaingful name and ALL Puppy fields are updated via the utility without any user knowledge about Linux and Linux fields, necessary.
Little Impact
Menu shows 2 new additions which assist our reporting to you. Namely Report-Videon-GLX and Sys-Info.
But the Menu references preceed them with the word "LightHouse ...". To avoid any confusion by the user community, the word LightHouse probably could be removed for clariy. I do understand, though, that you are trying to make clear that TaZOC has contributed these items.

This system is really turning out to be a GEM. I will test on the lower RAM - lower CPU powered systems as soon as I return.

Hope this helps
System-Report.txt.tar.gz
Description  An additional report on RACY with Hardinfo Performance measurements.
gz

 Download 
Filename  System-Report.txt.tar.gz 
Filesize  6.15 KB 
Downloaded  275 Time(s) 
sys-info-110929.gz
Description  System Report
gz

 Download 
Filename  sys-info-110929.gz 
Filesize  10.97 KB 
Downloaded  268 Time(s) 

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 33 [487 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 31, 32, 33 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1115s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0104s) ][ GZIP on ]