Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 14:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-520 Final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 8 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 22:00    Post_subject:  

kirk wrote:
Quote:
Is it necessary in Puppy to load MP3 functionality?


No, it's included.

Jim1911, is correct. I uploaded a pet package for BibleTime-2.8.1, It has a couple of bug fixes patched in. It requires the qt4, clucene, and sword packages installed. Please note the the qt4 package requires a reboot. Jim and Joe reported 'Install Works' wasn't downloading. That turned out to be a problem with the QT4 packages. I had some files in the qt4-dev package that should have been in the regular qt4 pet. I've re-uploaded the qt4 pets.
Thanks, your fix works great. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
joe0855

Joined: 05 Oct 2010
Posts: 60
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 22:46    Post_subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
kirk wrote:
Quote:
Is it necessary in Puppy to load MP3 functionality?


No, it's included.

Jim1911, is correct. I uploaded a pet package for BibleTime-2.8.1, It has a couple of bug fixes patched in. It requires the qt4, clucene, and sword packages installed. Please note the the qt4 package requires a reboot. Jim and Joe reported 'Install Works' wasn't downloading. That turned out to be a problem with the QT4 packages. I had some files in the qt4-dev package that should have been in the regular qt4 pet. I've re-uploaded the qt4 pets.
Thanks, your fix works great. Very Happy


Sorry to be the spoiler Kirk, but after removing and re-installing the latest qt4 (rebooted), sword, clucene, and Bibletime, still nogo on being able to download via 'Install Works' feature. Again, while I have the modules I need (downloaded manually), just thinking about someone else who may need this feature. Thanks!

jg.fw.tx - Please lighten up. Kirk was just trying to help. Take care.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1437
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 23:31    Post_subject:  

Yep, your right Joe. I messed up the qt4 package again. It's fixed now and re-uploaded. Give it a try.

Just a misunderstanding with Jon, It's all good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
joe0855

Joined: 05 Oct 2010
Posts: 60
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 23 Sep 2011, 23:47    Post_subject:  

kirk wrote:
Yep, your right Joe. I messed up the qt4 package again. It's fixed now and re-uploaded. Give it a try.


You're a good man Kirk. Re-loaded qt4, Bibletime is fully operational in Fatdog64.

Cheers,
Joe
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
entropyfoe

Joined: 23 Sep 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 02:43    Post_subject:  

kirk-

Thanks for the fast reply. I'll try that and reboot.

I rally like the frugal idea.
It is so easy to make backups of the fd64-520.sfs, and with the CD one can always revert to a known good configuration.

-Jay
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
entropyfoe

Joined: 23 Sep 2011
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 03:48    Post_subject: still no auto mount  

kirk

sdb1 existed already in /mnt

so i copied your echo and pasted it in the terminal

a reboot still has non-mounted sdb1.

What am missing?

Thanks for your help.

-Jay
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jg.fw.tx

Joined: 22 Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 04:05    Post_subject: uh...? oh...  

Caneri wrote:
@jg.fw.tx ,

Please be kind.

There is no need to use bold fonts as it looks like you are screaming at kirk.

I will ask Murga to stop you if you continue to post in bold type.
Be kind-rewind
Eric


i don't know what you are talking about, Eric, i wrote in the default font with a "large" font size (it says size=18) and that is NOT screaming in any kind of parlance i know of online.

i am quite aghast at the misrecognition of attempted humor here, @joe0855 and @Caneri, but @frankly it doesn't matter. what matters are answers. from a perhaps verbose post directed @kirk, only HE gave me one.


kirk wrote:

Quote:
please, Kirk, that was unnecessary chastisement

I'm sorry, it wasn't meant that way. Most new users just don't notice the FAQs.


my humor is sometimes too dry for a few people, i know. no need to apologize, i understand users, new or used. i guess that's why i often prefer computers to people, even though they don't chuckle at puns. yet.

kirk wrote:

Quote:
LibreOffice won't load because it says sfs 3 is required and the package is sfs 4.

There's a fix for that on page three of this thread or better yet just use the BootManager. This will be fixed in 521, coming soon.


BootManager did not work before - it does not find or see the VirtualBox package, the 2 i d/l-ed, anyway. even moving them out of the spot folder. BootManager did see a LibreOffice i d/l-ed, but tossed the sfs error at me.

as for "page 3", on my widescreen i have 7 full pages and 1 partial page of this thread, arranged newest to oldest, and even going backwards i cannot find a fix for the problem. perhaps i am missing something...? wait, one more rewind to be kind and i see an sfs-load-fix.pet. is that it?

i might not have to just wait for 521, lemme reboot out of Puppy into Fatdog64 and try...

appreciate the answer, i'll give'er all i've got, cap'n. regards, jon

---------------

There are none so blind as those who choose what they want to see.
Ancient Optometrist saying
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1437
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 10:22    Post_subject:  

Quote:
a reboot still has non-mounted sdb1.


Click on /etc/rc.d/rc.local. It should look like this:

Code:
#this file called from rc.sysinit
#you can edit this file
#When firewall is installed, will append lines to this file...
#
# If you need to change the scaling governor from the default "ondemand" uncomment le lines below
#modeprobe cpufreq_performance
#ONLINECPUS=$(cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/online | sed "s/-/ /")
#CPUPATH=/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu
#for cpu in $(seq $ONLINECPUS); do
#    CPUFREQ=${CPUPATH}${cpu}/cpufreq
#    if [ -d $CPUFREQ ]; then
#        echo "performance" > $CPUFREQ/scaling_governor
#    fi
#done

mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1


The last line is the important one. Also make sure the folder /mnt/sdb1 exists.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4507
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 11:14    Post_subject:  

FATDOG Development ... Thanks for the MP3 acknowledgement.

Did you see @Shinobar's post re: FATDOG sfs_load?

I am wondering if adding his Pesonalize Settings to the Menu>Setup would have a positive or negative impact in FATDOG?

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4507
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 12:14    Post_subject:  

No offense to anyone here with this offer.

@JamesBond helped me with an understanding of the steps REQUIRED to set up a VirtualBox on FATDOG several months ago.
I also understand the request being made here in this thread for VirtualBox guidance.
I also understand that when VirtualBox installs, it becomes one of subsystems similar as is CUPS or SAMBA or etc.

Question
Would it be appropriate to ask that someone start a new thread titled VirtualBOX discussion for the 64bit kernels that are now present in Puppyland?

I, for one, would also welcome an OTB VirtualBox (VB) solution that would use Puppy as a Host to exploit my 64bit systems and its RAM. I would consider this a new thread and a separate thread because of the additional elements that are unique in its use in a 64bit host.

In that forum thread we could discuss Host setup, Host assist, VM setup, VM assists, and specifically address the differing incarnations of Puppy Linux, (Live media-RAM based, Frugal based), Win8, Win7-Vista, XP, and other virtual machines that would run via the 64bit Fatdog/LightHouse64 Host(s). This has particular basis as the thread would certainly help in guiding and understanding some of the peculiarities within the host such that successful operations of the virtual machines, the network(s), and the internal operations of the peripherals that the individual virtual machines would see and attempt usage as they run under the auspices of the 64bit host.

The thread would allow everyone to contribute along the lines of VM Host and allow concentration(s) on the virtual machines that pose quirks when running in a VM host environment. Many of these things do not surface in the "normal non-VM" use.

Hope this helps. I don't feel that I have the skill level to start this AND IF IT IS STARTED, it WILL NEED THE ASSISTANCE of the 64bit Distro developers. The reasons for this need is obvious: Their distros will be host for the VM subsystems that will be added.

Lastly, before even going further, I have already reported to Kirk that there are remaining problems in the "hostname" implementation that SHOULD be fixed should progress with a thread like this move forward. This problem does NOT exist in the LH64 PUP implementation. This most certainly will need to be addressed at some point if for no other reason than the fact that using a VB host subsystem will allow any user to add multiple virtual machines to the LANs such that a means of being able to assign meaningful names to the virtual FATDOGs that may come into play will become even more necessary. Better to fix the problem now, than wait, I feel.

I am on record as highlighting the Great work of Kirk and Jamesbond on the product. I have been a user for quite a while. I believe that this continues to be a stellar within the Puppy Linux community And I again, applaud the work of everyone who has contributed items which have made this a great-great OS for our use.

Hope this help

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 12:43    Post_subject:  

Great! I for one would like to learn how to use virtual box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jg.fw.tx

Joined: 22 Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 14:42    Post_subject: VirtualBox et al...  

@gcmartin
Quote:
Question
Would it be appropriate to ask that someone start a new thread titled VirtualBOX discussion for the 64bit kernels that are now present in Puppyland?


great idea, and yes, i'd be glad to contribute whatever tidbits i can glean from using any 64 bit Puppy in any host and guest environments. not that i'm by any standard an expert, more a lazy user. since i'm lazy i'm always trying to find the easiest, cheapest, fastest, least complicated way to do something.

while my own interests in VirtualBox are aimed at 64 bit because it's the only platform that offers effective and full use of all the base computer hardware, more than 3 Gb of RAM, and 64 or 32 bit guests, i realize there's lots of 32 bit users who could benefit from VirtualBox. there's a lot of crossover commonality.

but on the subject of threads - and everybody should be aware i'm a newcomer to the Puppy Linux Discussion Forum and its established protocols - i can see distinct advantages in forming a new "Advanced Topic" that addresses 64 bit things (as opposed to Puppy's de facto 32 bit).

regardless of the possible preponderance 32 bit machines and OSs in the wild, the industry trend toward 64 bit was irreversibly established some years ago. sometimes backward compatibility is overemphasized - but i digress... 64 bit is here to stay. yea, even though only 3/8 of my machines here are 64 bit they're my main ones.

so a 64 bit VirtualBox thread is one thing, but a 64 bit (Puppy Linux) thread would be broader and could include a lot more. that's my 2 devalued American cents.

regards, jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jg.fw.tx

Joined: 22 Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 15:31    Post_subject: md5 sum  

i was loading LibreOfffice - thanks, kirk, the pet worked - and tried to double check the md5 checksum against the downloaded .sfs file, but couldn't find any app to do that in Fatdog64. am i missing something...?

anyway, it did install fine anyway but then protested strongly there wasn't any JRE loaded. uhm. more dependencies...

the only JRE i could find was in Fatdog64's ibiblio index, but it's an .sfs. i'm wondering how fast i'm going to reach the 5 .sfs limt...

nothing is showing up in package manager, so i'm going to reboot and see if they pop up.

regards, jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4507
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 15:56    Post_subject: Re: md5 sum  

jg.fw.tx wrote:
... find any app to do that in Fatdog64....
In a terminal window, Try
Code:
md5sum fn.sfs   <=== The name of the d/l
Hope this helps
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WillM

Joined: 30 Dec 2009
Posts: 146
Location: Oakland, California

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2011, 17:46    Post_subject:  

This will check md5sum. Can also be added to right click menu.
Fixed the directory structure.
ghasher-1.2.1-x86_64.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  ghasher-1.2.1-x86_64.pet 
Filesize  18.5 KB 
Downloaded  197 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1061s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]