Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 22 Nov 2014, 23:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko B2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 16 [234 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 05:49    Post subject:  Slacko B2
Subject description: woof 20110829
 

Hi Everybody!

It's that time again...

Time to get Slacko..

Slacko Beta 2

devx

Checksums:
Iso: 37369107746991af692ce9398f87a45b slacko-4.99.4.iso
devx: f04b2620813b6da694fe7f6d8487608c devx_slacko_4.99.4.sfs

This Woof has been, well, let's say a female dog! There are plenty of underlying changes. We won't worry about that, just focus on finding and fixing bugs.

This is pretty much how I want ti to be, I hope that fits a general sort of "user". Of course there are still bugs. Touchpads are still iffy but there is a script which attempts to make them sane, it's call flloopfix.. don't ask why.. Abiword is still garbage, sorry, will have to compile a decent version before final.

Changes
updates
-pmusic,
-pburn
-pprocess
-pequalizer
-pupradio
-pnethood
-pupdial
-firewallstate
-gv
-gtkdialog (rev-254)
-NO gtkdialog3 or gtkdialog2

fixed
-xcb
-KMS (modesetting)
--some other stuff
-loads of tiny things you won't notice

packages
-latest nvida and ati drivers
-gimp (pemasu)

known bugs
PPM bug where you have to switch to the slacko repo in the configuration

Ok, that's it for now..

Have fun!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 06:18    Post subject:  

Report I have installed it and looks good but as usual it fail to do
1024 x 768 it only accept 1024 x 600 on the external screen
which I have to use due to bad eye sight.

internal screen on computer netbook is 16:9 most likely
while outer screen is the old 4:3 so it can have to do with that?

How does one change such?

Lupu does accept 1024 x 768 but both Dpup and Spup fails at it.

So something did change when you guys was changing to D and S instead of L as in Lucid.

Now a friendly soul told me it help to restart X but this time it did not.

Edit Now I am in an upgraded version from 499-1 to 499-4 instead telling it to upgrade.

That did not allow it to get your new icons but it did allow it
to have 1024 x 768 instead of a mere x 600 in resolution.

A big relief stone from my heart.

Mick no criticism at all but what can it be that allow Lupu to allow
1024 x 768 while consistently neither Dpup nor Slack or Spup
wants to allow 1024 x 768 for the external screen and one need
to use obscure tricks to get it?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2154
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 06:56    Post subject: Slacko B2  

I did a manual frugal install of beta 2.
On first boot the screen resolution,sound,and network were good.
After finishing the startup screens I downloaded the ati pet using
slickpet and installed it according to the instructions given.

Mon 5 Sep 2011 Operating System: Slacko Puppy-4.99.4 Linux 2.6.37.6
0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5500 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS product: REDWOOD 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: vesa
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Radeon HD 5570
OpenGL version string: 4.1.11005 Compatibility Profile Context

AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 810 Processor
Core 0: 2592 1: 2592 2: 2592 3: 2592 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.
# glxgears
38822 frames in 5.0 seconds = 7764.294 FPS
41631 frames in 5.0 seconds = 8326.135 FPS
41641 frames in 5.0 seconds = 8328.143 FPS
#
I like the look of the desktop, very nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 07:12    Post subject:  

Couple of things..

For nvidia users there is still the Flashplayer bug Rolling Eyes ... well I don't ship with Flashplayer for a reason.. it's garbage! However there is very easy ways to install the latest.. so.. nvidia guys you'll need this: http://flashblock.mozdev.org/installation2.html#current

This puppy should be 99.9% reproducible with Woof from August 29. If anyone wants to try , go for it. All packages are uploaded. All you need is the latest specs and they are attached, just gunzip in your Woof tree. There are only 2 hacks on the way.. at the 3builddistro stage you need to dive into sandbox-3/rootfs-complete and delete some wallpapers.. also you need to go into /lib and make a symlink for liblzma.so.0. If you get all that right you should be able to reproduce an exact copy of this iso.

-----

Nooby.. did you try xorgwizard or at first boot there is the Country settings with options to change video res. If it displays with your update method then it can display without it Smile .

Cheers all.
DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS-slackware-13.37.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS-slackware-13.37.gz 
Filesize  6.24 KB 
Downloaded  246 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 07:30    Post subject:  

BEOS/Haiku icons and default desktop theme = Nice! Cool

Desktop, ATI Catalyst, Sound, Ethernet, Flash and 'Lastpass'
all set up and running.

When setting up the ATI catalyst
I did a 'reboot' from the prompt - rather than 'xwin'
and my resolution went up a degree and the drive icons
were floating 2 inches above the menu bar.

updated wiki - gonna play for a while . . .

Slacko = Slick
Many thanks Mick Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 07:33    Post subject:  

I guess one need to be patient and do it again and again changing one thing at a time and write down every step but I fail to be that at it. sorry.

It is one of those things.

so now how do I get the more good looking icons instead of the old gray?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 07:48    Post subject:  

You are right about touchpad Mick. Worse than ever Smile
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 10:16    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
You are right about touchpad Mick. Worse than ever Smile

I solved that one by skipping the TouchPad and instead use USB Mouse and USB Keyboard that way everything moves steady and don't jump around.

Dave. You know that you can set in "config?" to less than integer 1 by doing 0,1 or 0.1 not sure in some editing there and that makes the movement slower ?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 10:25    Post subject:  

01micko I love what you do and don't want to come through as the annoying guy I most likely am Sad

But are you sure about what you suggested there.
I mean why don't I have these problems at Lupu then
but have them always on Dpup and Spup and Slacko.

Totally impossible most of the time to get 1024 x 768
so what is the recommended way to go at it then?

I have Intel 945 most likely on all chips inside Acer D250 Netbook.

sometimes I just probe but other times I chose Intel and hope that one works better sometimes I go for the quickpet thing and download the special driver.

Okay I have to test and see what works I do a pfix=ram and test several different approaches then.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 450
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 10:42    Post subject:  

Thanks for Slacko B2 Micko.

I did a manual frugal install (this time only three filest)to a test folder as I normally do.
On booting,I noticed instead of booting straight to the desktop(which may be intentional?),it halted at the 'Puppy Video Wizard'and I had to select 'Probe' and then choose the correct resolution from the list, which for my machine is 1440x900x24.
Sound and network connection both present.
Created a savefile,shutdown and then added Nvidia drivers from Slickpet.
Rebooted and installed Firefox Aurora 6,Opera and Thunderbird so far.

Tried some mp3's in Pmusic.Played fine.One thing,I couldn't seem to get the volume control to work?

Looking really nice Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 12:27    Post subject:  

oops I am a poor reader of text look at next post
_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Last edited by nooby on Mon 05 Sep 2011, 12:42; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 450
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 12:37    Post subject:  

nooby wrote:
BrownMouse
Quote:
I couldn't seem to get the volume control to work?


right click on the loudspeaker icon in lower right corner chose full
then pop up a window where you can click on things.

Now if absolutely no sound happens then maybe your motherboard has two output jacks sockets. one on front that works with RealTech on Ms Windows and one standard on the rear/back side panel which work for all OS?

But it could also be you have to run ALSA sound from Menu or Retrovol


nooby

Sorry for the confusion.I was referring to the volume control within 'Pmusic audio player'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 13:55    Post subject:  

installed b2 frugal manually to ext4 on box with my troublesome wl.ko broadcom driver.

Installed and loaded broadcom-wl.2.6.37-6.spup.pet successfully.

SNS and the network wizard as usual thier miserable scripts times out.

Is there someone I can report this to who will do something? all through 262,264, etc I reported the same with SNS and network wizard apparently to no avail. I realize both work for people without broadcom drivers but frustrating for those who do I guarantee.

-- Information about this interface:
Interface: eth1 Driver: wl Bus: x MacAddress: AC:81:12:1D:A9:5E
Description: x

STEP1a: ifconfig eth1 up
STEP1b: iwlist eth1 scan
eth1 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:19:E4:4B:D3:19
ESSID:"2WIRE789"
Mode:Managed
Frequency:2.457 GHz (Channel 10)
Quality:5/5 Signal level:-55 dBm Noise level:-98 dBm
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
11 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
STEP1c: ifconfig eth1 down
STEP2: iwconfig eth1 mode managed
STEP3: iwconfig eth1 channel 10
STEP4: iwconfig eth1 essid "2WIRE789"
STEP5: iwconfig eth1 key restricted 9977453890
STEP5a: ifconfig eth1 up

ERROR, TIMEOUT. Have not got an Access Point.
Result of 'iwconfig eth1':
eth1 IEEE 802.11 ESSID:"" Nickname:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.457 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:72 Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Managementmode:All packets received
Link Quality=5/5 Signal level=0 dBm Noise level=-97 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


STEP5: iwconfig eth1 key open 9977453890
STEP5a: ifconfig eth1 up

ERROR, TIMEOUT. Have not got an Access Point.
Result of 'iwconfig eth1':
eth1 IEEE 802.11 ESSID:"" Nickname:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.457 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:72 Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Managementmode:All packets received
Link Quality=5/5 Signal level=0 dBm Noise level=-97 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0



*********************************************************
LAST 10 LINES of /var/log/messages:
Sep 5 10:28:28 puppypc14169 daemon.debug dhcpcd[13978]: eth1: sending DISCOVER (xid 0x1991ed5b), next in 63.56 seconds
Sep 5 10:28:52 puppypc14169 daemon.info dhcpcd[13978]: eth1: carrier lost
Sep 5 10:28:52 puppypc14169 daemon.info dhcpcd[15846]: sending signal 1 to pid 13978
Sep 5 10:28:52 puppypc14169 daemon.info dhcpcd[15846]: waiting for pid 13978 to exit
Sep 5 10:28:52 puppypc14169 daemon.debug dhcpcd[13978]: eth1: deleting route to 169.254.0.0/16
Sep 5 10:28:52 puppypc14169 daemon.debug dhcpcd[13978]: eth1: deleting IP address 169.254.251.65/16
Sep 5 10:28:52 puppypc14169 daemon.debug dhcpcd[13978]: eth1: executing `/usr/libexec/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason NOCARRIER
Sep 5 10:28:52 puppypc14169 daemon.info dhcpcd[13978]: received SIGHUP, releasing
Sep 5 10:28:52 puppypc14169 daemon.info dhcpcd[13978]: eth1: removing interface
Sep 5 10:28:52 puppypc14169 daemon.debug dhcpcd[13978]: eth1: executing `/usr/libexec/dhcpcd-run-hooks', reason STOP
--

For folks who need frisbee to make wifi connection having it in slick pet which needs to connect to the internet to download the pet doesn't make much sense. In 528 it's in the menu, clicking will install it from the iso.

Frisbee-beta-2-spup.pet in my kennel so was able to connect in previous versions but not now in B2. see tar ball report.

regardless of manual inputting my internet connection settings or trying to acquire auto and rebooting would not connect.

--Information about this interface:
Interface: eth1 Driver: wl Bus: x MacAddress: AC:81:12:1D:A9:5E
Description: x

STEP1a: ifconfig eth1 up
STEP1b: iwlist eth1 scan
eth1 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:19:E4:4B:D3:19
ESSID:"2WIRE789"
Mode:Managed
Frequency:2.457 GHz (Channel 10)
Quality:5/5 Signal level:-54 dBm Noise level:-98 dBm
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s; 9 Mb/s
11 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
STEP1c: ifconfig eth1 down
STEP2: iwconfig eth1 mode managed
STEP3: iwconfig eth1 channel 10
STEP4: iwconfig eth1 essid "2WIRE789"
STEP5: iwconfig eth1 key restricted 9977453890
STEP5a: ifconfig eth1 up
STEP6a: dhcpcd eth1
dhcpcd[13258]: version 5.2.9 starting
dhcpcd[13258]: eth1: checking for 169.254.251.65
dhcpcd[13258]: eth1: using IPv4LL address 169.254.251.65
dhcpcd[13258]: forked to background, child pid 13390

*********************************************************
LAST 10 LINES of /var/log/messages:
Sep 5 10:43:42 puppypc14169 daemon.err dhcpcd[12234]: dhcpcd not running
Sep 5 10:44:20 puppypc14169 daemon.info dhcpcd[13258]: version 5.2.9 starting
Sep 5 10:44:20 puppypc14169 daemon.info dhcpcd[13258]: eth1: checking for 169.254.251.65
Sep 5 10:44:26 puppypc14169 daemon.info dhcpcd[13258]: eth1: using IPv4LL address 169.254.251.65
Sep 5 10:44:26 puppypc14169 daemon.info dhcpcd[13258]: forked to background, child pid 13390
Sep 5 10:44:26 puppypc14169 daemon.info dhcpcd[13390]: eth1: carrier lost
Sep 5 10:44:26 puppypc14169 daemon.info dhcpcd[13403]: sending signal 1 to pid 13390
Sep 5 10:44:26 puppypc14169 daemon.info dhcpcd[13403]: waiting for pid 13390 to exit
Sep 5 10:44:26 puppypc14169 daemon.info dhcpcd[13390]: received SIGHUP, releasing
Sep 5 10:44:26 puppypc14169 daemon.info dhcpcd[13390]: eth1: removing interface
---

Micko01 why not install Frisbee or get someone to fix SNS?

----
trying to make this post sound positive and not like bleeding and on fire.
pnetworkdiag-20110905.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pnetworkdiag-20110905.tar.gz 
Filesize  28.35 KB 
Downloaded  197 Time(s) 

Last edited by jim3630 on Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:04; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JonT

Joined: 06 Dec 2009
Posts: 62
Location: northeast Tennessee, USA

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:00    Post subject:  

DaveS pretty much covers what I see, but this time I don't notice much difference bewteen Slacko betas 1 and 2. The default cursor movement is really slow in both.

Logically, changing the "MaxSpeed" parameter is the way to go and that helps. This time I got better results fiddling with "AccelFactor". In Slacko, the first running of flsynclient writes the file .flsynclient where the values can be edited. Restarting X causes the new values to take effect. Don't mean to sound like I actually know anything, just observations. Trying to help so you don't have to commandeer your son's lappie for testing.

The following values were cut-and-pasted from .flsynclient for comparison, so listed as "code".
slacko beta 2 default values
Code:
    MinSpeed                = 1
    MaxSpeed                = 3
    AccelFactor             = 0.003

lupu 528 default values
Code:
    MinSpeed                = 0.1
    MaxSpeed                = 1
    AccelFactor             = 0.003

slacko altered AccelFactor to give approx. cursor movement in lupu 528
Code:
    MinSpeed                = 1.0
    MaxSpeed                = 3.0
    AccelFactor             = 0.1

wary 514 (fastest cursor movement of this group) values from synclient -l, has no .flsynclient
Code:
    MinSpeed                = 0.1
    MaxSpeed                = 0.3
    AccelFactor             = 0.003


Could it be that there is an internal numerical format difference to account for the large factors? Wild guess.

Otherwise, looks nice, runs well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 05 Sep 2011, 14:28    Post subject:  

Still get horrid screen flash with xcompmgr enabled when moving a file in Rox or moving an icon on desktop.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 16 [234 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 14, 15, 16 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1497s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0287s) ][ GZIP on ]