Gtkdialog Development

Under development: PCMCIA, wireless, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
8-bit
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 03:37
Location: Oregon

#261 Post by 8-bit »

In my case, "Severe case of thickness disease" :oops:
Or "My brain must have went on vacation." :oops:

But after looking closely at the code in the Fileselect example,
the light showed through and I got my brain back! :)

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#262 Post by zigbert »

The latest gtkdialog has changed the behavior of the fileselect function. Before I go through all my scripts, I will ensure that this is intended behavior or an issue for gtkdialog.

The following code used to work, but now it fails because of the line <action>refresh:SEARCHPATHS</action> which is not necessary, and leads to no action of the fileseletion.

Code: Select all

     <hbox>
      <entry accept="directory">
       <variable>SEARCHPATHS</variable>
       <input>echo '$SEARCHPATHS'</input>
      </entry>
      <button>
       <input file stock="gtk-open"></input>
       <action type="fileselect">SEARCHPATHS</action>
       <action>refresh:SEARCHPATHS</action>
      </button>
     </hbox>
Could this be solved in gtkdialog to keep backwards compatibility, or should I update my scripts?


Regards
Sigmund

btw, what exactly does the -ltr mean?

User avatar
thunor
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu 14 Oct 2010, 15:24
Location: Minas Tirith, in the Pelennor Fields fighting the Easterlings
Contact:

#263 Post by thunor »

zigbert wrote:The latest gtkdialog has changed the behavior of the fileselect function.
...
btw, what exactly does the -ltr mean?
Investigating...

Internationalisation: left-to-right and right-to-left writing.

Mick's menuitems are wrong as you're probably aware. I'll break the bad news to him when he wakes up ;)

Regards,
Thunor

User avatar
thunor
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu 14 Oct 2010, 15:24
Location: Minas Tirith, in the Pelennor Fields fighting the Easterlings
Contact:

#264 Post by thunor »

Sigmund

Unfortuntely it's not a complete working example so I'll have to guess what you are doing.

I think that you are using the shell variable $SEARCHPATHS at XML construction time to initialise the entry widget with saved data from a previous session.

Then you press the button to select a file which will be auto-inserted into the entry widget and then you refresh the entry widget with whatever value was in the shell variable $SEARCHPATHS at XML construction time!

It does what is expected, but the unnecessary refresh is wiping out the filename from the fileselect function.

Regards,
Thunor

User avatar
8-bit
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 03:37
Location: Oregon

#265 Post by 8-bit »

thunor,
run this from a terminal with the updated gtkdialog3.
enter a directory path and after clicking open and then click cancel twice. You will see that $SEARCHPATHS returns a null string.
Then try it with the original gtkdialog3 and you will see $SEARCHPATHS has a string.

Code: Select all

#! /bin/bash
export MAIN_DIALOG='
     <hbox>
      <entry accept="directory">
       <variable>SEARCHPATHS</variable>
       <input>echo '$SEARCHPATHS'</input>
      </entry>
      <button>
       <input file stock="gtk-open"></input>
       <label>open</label>
       <action type="fileselect">SEARCHPATHS</action>
       <action>refresh:SEARCHPATHS</action>
      </button>
      <button cancel></button>
     </hbox>
'

gtkdialog3 --program=MAIN_DIALOG

User avatar
thunor
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu 14 Oct 2010, 15:24
Location: Minas Tirith, in the Pelennor Fields fighting the Easterlings
Contact:

#266 Post by thunor »

Looking now...

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#267 Post by zigbert »

Thunor
Sorry that I didn't gave you an executable example. I'll put that in mind.

But you got it right, and I understand your explanation, - it's just that (as 8-bit shows) it used to work, but not anymore......

I'll start updating my scripts......


Thank you
Sigmund

User avatar
8-bit
Posts: 3406
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 03:37
Location: Oregon

#268 Post by 8-bit »

zigbert,
I may not have got everything right trying to create an executable script from your example, but I tried.
Anyway, since I kept a copy of the old gtkdialog3 and renamed it "old_gtkdialog3" in /usr/sbin all I had to do was change the gtkdialog3 at the end of the script to old_gtkdialog3 to check with the old version.

User avatar
thunor
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu 14 Oct 2010, 15:24
Location: Minas Tirith, in the Pelennor Fields fighting the Easterlings
Contact:

#269 Post by thunor »

I now know why that worked, but I fixed it back r219.

There are some fundamental functions that were bugged (they weren't reentrant) and this resulted in iterating through a list of actions being prematurely terminated. In your example using the old gtkdialog3 0.7.20 Patriot Edition, the refresh action wouldn't get executed because the fileselect function would terminate the action list.

Place "<action>echo This fails to execute</action>" below the fileselect action and you'll see that now it gets executed but before it wouldn't. Making the functions reentrant stopped the corruption of the action list.

Regards,
Thunor

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#270 Post by zigbert »

I have updated my scripts, so this should now be an unexisting issue.

User avatar
thunor
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu 14 Oct 2010, 15:24
Location: Minas Tirith, in the Pelennor Fields fighting the Easterlings
Contact:

#271 Post by thunor »

Added tree widget support for inserting stock or theme icons from an input file

From issue 8.

Example:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

# NOTE: This example requires at least gtkdialog-0.7.21 (please visit
# http://code.google.com/p/gtkdialog/). Additionally if you are using
# Puppy Linux then you may find that an historical version of gtkdialog
# already exists in /usr/sbin, and if that is the case then you should
# modify the shell variable below to point to the new gtkdialog binary.

GTKDIALOG=gtkdialog

inputfilestockCreate() {
   echo "gtk-dialog-authentication | | gtk-dialog-authentication | 2
		gtk-dialog-error | | gtk-dialog-error | 2
		gtk-dialog-info | | gtk-dialog-info | 2
		gtk-dialog-question | | gtk-dialog-question | 2
		gtk-dialog-warning | | gtk-dialog-warning | 2
		gtk-info | | gtk-info | 2
		gtk-new | | gtk-new | 2
		gtk-save | | gtk-save | 2
		gtk-undo | | gtk-undo | 2
		gtk-redo | | gtk-redo | 2
		gtk-open | | gtk-open | 2
		gtk-about | | gtk-about | 2
		gtk-add | | gtk-add | 2
		gtk-apply | | gtk-apply | 2
		gtk-bold | | gtk-bold | 2 " > inputfilestock
}

# NOTE: The following image names should hopefully represent physical
# files that exist upon your computer minus their paths and extensions,
# but if you find them to be missing then substitute them with something
# that you do have within /usr/share/icons or /usr/share/pixmaps.

inputfileiconCreate() {
	echo "gimp | | gimp | 2
		gnumeric | | gnumeric | 2
		geany | | geany | 2
		glade-3 | | glade-3 | 2
		uget-icon | | uget-icon | 2
		viewnior | | viewnior | 2
		xarchive | | xarchive | 2
		scribus | | scribus | 2
		inkscape | | inkscape | 2
		html | | html | 2
		gz | | gz | 2
		top | | top | 2
		midori | | midori | 2
		adblock | | adblock | 2
		abiword | | abiword | 2 " > inputfileicon
}

inputfilestockCreate
inputfileiconCreate

export MAIN_DIALOG='
<window title="tree widget icons from input files" resizable="false">
	<vbox>
		<hbox>
			<frame Stock icons from input file>
				<tree>
					<variable>tre0</variable>
					<label>0 | 1 | 2</label>
					<height>400</height><width>250</width>
					<input file stock_column="0">inputfilestock</input>
				</tree>
			</frame>
			<frame Theme icons from input file>
				<tree>
					<variable>tre1</variable>
					<label>0 | 1 | 2</label>
					<height>400</height><width>250</width>
					<input file icon_column="0">inputfileicon</input>
				</tree>
			</frame>
		</hbox>
		<hbox homogeneous="true">
			<button ok></button>
		</hbox>
	</vbox>
	<action signal="hide">exit:Exit</action>
</window>
'

$GTKDIALOG --program=MAIN_DIALOG
Regards,
Thunor
Last edited by thunor on Tue 30 Aug 2011, 21:13, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#272 Post by 01micko »

thunor wrote:[snip]

Mick's menuitems are wrong as you're probably aware. I'll break the bad news to him when he wakes up ;)

Regards,
Thunor
Really? [ :lol: ]

Guess I'll see the right way when I get pmusic-2.0.1 :wink:

Cheers!
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
thunor
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu 14 Oct 2010, 15:24
Location: Minas Tirith, in the Pelennor Fields fighting the Easterlings
Contact:

#273 Post by thunor »

01micko wrote:Really? [ :lol: ]

Guess I'll see the right way when I get pmusic-2.0.1 :wink:
I'm not focusing primarily on you here OK, but I may as well illustrate how it is recommended to be implemented for the benefit of anyone and everyone.

This is your method:

Code: Select all

<menuitem icon="gtk-undo-ltr" accel-key="0x07a" accel-mods="4">
	<label>'$LOC118'</label>
	<action>. '$APPDIR'/func -undo</action>
	<action>refresh:PLAYLIST</action>
</menuitem>
<menuitem icon="gtk-redo-ltr" accel-key="0x079" accel-mods="4">
	<label>'$LOC119'</label>
	<action>. '$APPDIR'/func -redo</action>
	<action>refresh:PLAYLIST</action>
</menuitem>'
This is the more suitable method:

Code: Select all

<menuitem stock="gtk-undo" label="'$LOC118'" accel-key="0x07a" accel-mods="4">
	<action>. '$APPDIR'/func -undo</action>
	<action>refresh:PLAYLIST</action>
</menuitem>
<menuitem stock="gtk-redo" label="'$LOC119'" accel-key="0x079" accel-mods="4">
	<action>. '$APPDIR'/func -redo</action>
	<action>refresh:PLAYLIST</action>
</menuitem>'
Doing it this way makes GTK+ deal with the left-to-right and right-to-left internationalisation of the icons if applicable. You might be thinking that this isn't going to work because GTK+ will make a stock label "_Undo" and it will, but straight afterwards it will update the label with $LOC118 or $LOC119 and additionally because it was initially a stock label, "use-underline" is already true so you can use underscores in your custom text.

Actually I think that this qualifies as a Gtkdialog Tip :D

Regards,
Thunor
Attachments
01micko-menuitem-icon-issue.gif
I added underscores to demonstrate that &quot;use-underline&quot; is automatically true
(11.06 KiB) Downloaded 1457 times

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#274 Post by 01micko »

I'm not focusing primarily on you here OK, but I may as well illustrate how it is recommended to be implemented for the benefit of anyone and everyone.
:) It's all good.. every bit I learn is great. ..and thanks for the explanation.

Cheers
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#275 Post by zigbert »

I have updated some tricks (and removed some not needed anymore) in the tips thread. Also linked more to Thunors pages.

I tested the new notebook example which has this VERY interesting feature to control the tabs from external wigdets like buttons... With tabs hidden, it really looks like a dynamic gui.

Code: Select all

<notebook show-tabs="false" show-border="false"> 
But when running the example here, the tabs still shows up.

Image


Sigmund

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#276 Post by BarryK »

Guys,
I'm pissed off. It is nice that gtkdialog is getting developed, but I was caught unawares.

Ok, there was the bug with password-entry box having invisible text, only two apps needed to be fixed. Although, I still don't see why the original syntax couldn't have continued to be supported.

I released Wary Puppy 5.1.4 a couple of days ago, then yesterday I discovered that Pfind is broken, as the directory-select dialog is broken. I informed zigbert, and he finds the bug and then informs me that this means Pburn, Pmirror and Pbackup are also broken.

Ok, I will bring out an emergency upgrade to Wary Puppy, but I'm not happy.

The 'common' repo currently has gtkdialog revision 224, and that's it. I'm not going to upgrade. If you bring out strict bugfixes for that, fine. Any further development should be in a separate development thread. All apps that are to be publicaly released should be tested to work on the reference gtkdialog as available in the 'common' repo at ibiblio.org.

I don't intend to upgrade gtkdialog again unless there is a very good reason to do so, nor will I upgrade any more apps that use gtkdialog unless they are tested against that version of gtkdialog.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
frafa
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu 04 Aug 2011, 14:48
Location: MONTPELIER
Contact:

#277 Post by frafa »

@zigbert
Hi
in the example of Thunor only primary tabs are hidden

A simpler example hidden tabs

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
export MAIN_DIALOG='<vbox>
<notebook show_tabs="false" page="0" labels="One|Two|Three|Four">

<!-- Tab1 -->
<hbox>
<text label="This is page 0"></text>
</hbox>

<!-- Tab2 -->
<hbox>
<text label="This is page 1"></text>
</hbox>

<!-- Tab3 -->
<hbox>
<text label="This is page 2"></text>
</hbox>

<!-- Tab4 -->
<hbox>
<text label="This is page 3"></text>
</hbox>

<variable>tab_0</variable>
<input file>inputfile</input>
</notebook>

<hbox>
<vbox>
<button  image-position="0" tooltip-text="View tab 0">
<label>View tab 0</label>
<input file stock="gtk-connect"></input>
<action>echo 0 > inputfile</action>
<action>refresh:tab_0</action>
</button>

<button  image-position="0" tooltip-text="View tab 1">
<label>View tab 1</label>
<input file stock="gtk-connect"></input>
<action>echo 1 > inputfile</action>
<action>refresh:tab_0</action>
</button>

<button  image-position="0" tooltip-text="View tab 2">
<label>View tab 2</label>
<input file stock="gtk-connect"></input>
<action>echo 2 > inputfile</action>
<action>refresh:tab_0</action>
</button>

<button  image-position="0" tooltip-text="View tab 3">
<label>View tab 3</label>
<input file stock="gtk-connect"></input>
<action>echo 3 > inputfile</action>
<action>refresh:tab_0</action>
</button>
</vbox>


<vscale height_request="200" range-min="0" range-max="3" value-pos="0"  tooltip-text="vscale change d'\''onglet">
<variable>hsc0</variable>
<output file>inputfile</output>
<action>save:hsc0</action>
<action>refresh:tab_0</action>
</vscale>
</hbox>

</vbox>'
export MAIN_DIALOG="$(sed 's@<!--.*-->@@g' <<<"$MAIN_DIALOG")";
gtkdialog3 --program=MAIN_DIALOG
exit 0

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#278 Post by zigbert »

BarryK wrote:Guys,
I'm pissed off.
You have no need to be. This is a development release, and you are the one to choose to include this code. I find it rather ambitious to include 'new' libs/backends in bugfix releases.

I have not used any new gtkdialog features in my scripts else of Pmusic 2 and the latest pprocess (because of much better performance). My intentions is to start using 0.7.21 at once it is released as stable.


Best wishes
Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#279 Post by zigbert »

frafa wrote:@zigbert
Hi
in the example of Thunor only primary tabs are hidden
:oops: :oops: :oops:

Is stupidity a decease :lol:


Thank you for the eureka (and welcome to the forum)
Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#280 Post by zigbert »

BarryK wrote:yesterday I discovered that Pfind is broken, as the directory-select dialog is broken.
Very important. The directory-select dialog is not broken. In fact it is now working. My way of adding too much lines into the xml-code was ignored by gtkdialog-0.7.20. Now my dirty lines actually executes and *ucks up the result.

MY FAULT

I think we should encourage Thunors initiative... which could give Puppy a boost.



Sigmund

Post Reply