(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Sep 2020, 14:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 - Updated ISO Version 005 - APR 05 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 191 [2858 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 189, 190, 191 Next
Author Message
einar

Joined: 12 Nov 2010
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 02:35    Post subject:  

kevin bowers wrote:
einar,
Did you try disabling the onboard video card in the BIOS setup? Or perhaps it may give options for "first video device" or some such similar? If this is necessary I would think you'd have the same problem in Windows, do you know if you do? Good luck!


tought of that , but the bios on this laptop or any i have witness is very limited. no choise to disable the intel card.

The problem is that the Intel® Core™ i3 Processor has a gpu integrated. and i think many more will have the same issue as me when these new processors becomes regular. I just hope there is a newbie friendly way to disable it

best regards

Einar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2549
Location: near here

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 03:34    Post subject:  

Hi Playdayz,

Your version of G Chome-13 with glibconf works for me.

The one I tried before was Chromium 10.0.630.0, which is in the PPM and Quickpet tools.

Have added to wiki.

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Chrome

Cool Much thanks Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10548
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 06:19    Post subject:
Subject description: Intel i3 CPU laptop with Intel onboard making life hard for Nvidia
 

einar wrote:
Hi

i was trying to impress people with 528 and im having trouble installing nvidia drivers on a Intel i3 laptop. On first boot xorgwizard shows Intel as the driver and the resolution 1360*768 works flawless. But this laptop has a better nvidia gpu on it. The onboard intel gpu is not dissabled when i install nvidia drivers. Resulting in failing to load x after i have installed the drivers.

Is there way to solve this ?

best regards

Einar


So if I get it it has two graphic cards, one that is built into the CPU chip? and one card you added in that is good for games and higher quality things?

But it does work with the built in though only that you then have no use of the better card?


How does Ubuntu and Arch and such high profile distros deal with that situation. Can one learn from then to turn that internal one off?

Could you join the Intel forum something and them there have experts knowing what to do?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
einar

Joined: 12 Nov 2010
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 06:42    Post subject:
Subject description: Intel i3 CPU laptop with Intel onboard making life hard for Nvidia
 

nooby wrote:
einar wrote:
Hi

i was trying to impress people with 528 and im having trouble installing nvidia drivers on a Intel i3 laptop. On first boot xorgwizard shows Intel as the driver and the resolution 1360*768 works flawless. But this laptop has a better nvidia gpu on it. The onboard intel gpu is not dissabled when i install nvidia drivers. Resulting in failing to load x after i have installed the drivers.

Is there way to solve this ?

best regards

Einar


So if I get it it has two graphic cards, one that is built into the CPU chip? and one card you added in that is good for games and higher quality things?

But it does work with the built in though only that you then have no use of the better card?


How does Ubuntu and Arch and such high profile distros deal with that situation. Can one learn from then to turn that internal one off?

Could you join the Intel forum something and them there have experts knowing what to do?


Hei Nooby

You are correct, only that the nivida card is not added by me. This is a samsung laptop and the nvidia is default in windows 7. i have not tried ubuntu, but will try opensuse or somthing else than puppy if it cannot be solved.

Best regards

Einar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3794

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 09:22    Post subject:  

Quote:
Your version of G Chome-13 with glibconf works for me.

The one I tried before was Chromium 10.0.630.0, which is in the PPM and Quickpet tools.

darkcity, I thought that Chromium 10 from PPM would work. Not?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 13:38    Post subject:  

Futwerk has made some more wallpapers for Lucid Puppy 5.2.8
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=556398#556398

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 14:39    Post subject:
Subject description: Intel i3 CPU laptop with Intel onboard making life hard for Nvidia
 

einar wrote:
bigpup wrote:
einar wrote:
Hi

i was trying to impress people with 528 and im having trouble installing nvidia drivers on a Intel i3 laptop. On first boot xorgwizard shows Intel as the driver and the resolution 1360*768 works flawless. But this laptop has a better nvidia gpu on it. The onboard intel gpu is not dissabled when i install nvidia drivers. Resulting in failing to load x after i have installed the drivers.

Is there way to solve this ?

best regards

Einar

Run Quickpet
Go to drivers tab
Run "click here to test your graphics card"
What does it say about your graphics card?



it says that i had a nvidia 6800 series, but the card is the newer GT310. but i think it will not load the driver because the intel is selected first somehow. any suggestions ?

What driver does this test recommend?

Yes you have one of the second generation Intel i3 processors with integrated GPU in the processor.
Not sure if Liunx has adjusted for these.
It was my understanding that the motherboard would auto switch to add on GPU and disable the integrated GPU.
I would go to the computer manufactures website and see what info they have about this setup.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3794

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 15:58    Post subject:  

***Experimental***

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=557914#557914

Last edited by playdayz on Sun 28 Aug 2011, 14:54; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Enrique Corbellini


Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 110

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 20:18    Post subject: flash player for this puppy  

i still cannot use flashplayer with puppy 5.2.8
probed get pet, and didn't find it
after that i went to forum advices and still nothing
is there any solution? thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3794

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 21:40    Post subject:  

This is the latest Flashplayer pet.

http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Flashplayer-10.3.183.5-lucid.pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 362
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 10:15    Post subject:  

Playdayz

Thanks for providing the updated Mplayer. I have tried it with my H.264 TV recordings.

It works with Gnome/Mplayer and UMplayer. No crashes so far.

It supports multi threading whereas the old one was only one thread. But there seems to be a huge overhead when more than one thread is used.
If I set h.264 decoding to one thread it behaves exactly the same as the old mplayer.
If I set it to 2 threads then 3 processes are running and the extra one takes 60% x 1 core. As I add more threads the extra thread continues to take about the same amount.

The decoding efficiency is not very good. So I still can't play 1920x1080x25i and deinterlacing without mplayer dropping frames.

(the winner by a mile is still the ffdshow directshow decoder in Windows. That can do 1920x1080x25i and YADIF double framerate deinterlace without dropping frames, on my Athlon II x2 240)

Would compiling mplayer for an up to date processor rather than i386 be likely to improve things? Or is the overhead a kernel dependent effect?

TIP: For anyone who plays TS or M2TS files. The default demux MPEG-TS in mplayer does not decode the time codes correctly so the slider doesn't work.
In UMplayer you can change the demux setting to libavformat and then the slider will work.
- tools, view info& properties, demuxer, then libavformat is near the bottom of the list.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kevin bowers

Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 13:42    Post subject: mplayer-0.8.2-static  

playdayz wrote:
***Experimental***

Mplayer with ffmpeg 0.8.2

This kind of just happened, but it seems interesting. To my eye the video quality is better. It is only a 4.9 MB pet. It is static with the ffmpeg multimedia libraries Incorporated into mplayer. The original libraries are still there for Pmusic, ffconvert, etc.

If you install the pet then gnome-mplayer will automatically use it .

http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/mplayer-0.8.2-static.pet

Does anyone notice any differences or improvements? Mainly this will/could affect quality of video in gnome-mplayer.

(The previous experiment of ffmpeg 0.7.1 was not very successful.


Playdayz,
I have an inexpensive high-def camcorder that shoots 60fps @ 720p. I was having issues opening its .mov files in gnome-mplayer, jerky playback etc. I just installed mplayer-0.8.2-static.pet, rebooted--and it works fine, smooth playback of both video and audio. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3794

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 15:03    Post subject:  

Quote:
Would compiling mplayer for an up to date processor rather than i386 be likely to improve things? Or is the overhead a kernel dependent effect?

LateAdopter, IMHO, that would likely help--to compile for the "correct" processor. This is an ongoing experiment, but it is pretty difficult and complicated so far Wink This first result (mplayer with ffmpgeg 0.8.2--static) was mainly built using the defaults--because there are an enormous number of options Wink Fortunately many of the options are "autodetect." However as the compilation flashed by on the screen I noticed mcpu=native and march=native. Anyway, I am wondering if that built for my phenom 9850--the way I understand those options (and use them in compiling Firefox) that is what it would do. If you had a different cpu that could be the cause of problems. I am going to investigate further, but not in a hurry. Ultimately it might even be possible to create a script to compile for one's own cpu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2177

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 18:35    Post subject:  

I think this is my next Puppy, I'll give it a go soon.

Best wishes and thanks for all your hard work,

CP .

P.S. Just one thing - how do you access the Ubuntu repositories with it?

_________________
Gigabyte M68MT-52P motherboard, AMD Athlon II X4 630, 5.8 GB of DDR3 RAM and a 250 GB Hitachi hard drive running Ubuntu 16.04.6, MX-19.2, Peppermint 10, PCLinuxOS 20.02, LXLE 18.04.3, Pardus 19.2, exGENT 200119, Bionic Pup 8.0 and Xenial CE 7.5 XL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3794

PostPosted: Sat 27 Aug 2011, 20:24    Post subject:  

Quote:
P.S. Just one thing - how do you access the Ubuntu repositories with it?

Open Puppy Package Manager, then hit the Configure Package Manger button and tick the repos you want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 191 [2858 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 189, 190, 191 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0748s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0127s) ][ GZIP on ]