Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 14:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Three-Headed Dog 5.2.8.005 Updated APR 25 2012
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 30 [444 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
Puppeteer

Joined: 05 Sep 2010
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 12:27    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:

I can fix that, if you please run this command -
Code:
readlink /sys/class/net/wlan0/device/driver

The result will be in the form of
Code:
../../../bus/pci/drivers/xxx

but it's just the driver-name at the end that I need.


Hi Tempestuous,

I ran the following:
Code:
readlink /sys/class/net/wlan1/device/driver

...as the USB dongle is wlan1 on my set-up (I blacklisted wlan0 which was using the ather5k driver).

...and the output was:
Code:
../../../../../bus/usb/drivers/usb

Hope that was what you wanted...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Mon 22 Aug 2011, 15:28    Post subject:  

tempestuous (or someone else), Could you briefly explain how firmware works. I thought it was included in the kernel--at least in the kernel pet in /lib/modules/all-firmware. In Lucid 5.2.8 rerwin provided some replacement firmware tar balls.
But there is also /lib/firmware that does not seem to be included in the kernel pet.

The bottom line question I guess is what needs to be done to make sure we have the most recent and correct firmware?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2011, 01:19    Post subject:  

Can't boot three-head lucid 5,2,9 from USB (without HarDDisk).
Same bugs (errors) in poparpup 003, midnightsun 003 and some others.
How to fix this? (Boot from USB flash without hdd - I'd read... the patch for this in Barry Blogs but I did'nt understood how to fix this errors. 01Micko had fixed (successful) this error in his slacko 3.12.37 beta
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5465
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2011, 04:07    Post subject:  

vanchutr. Latest woof platforms should have addressed the boot problem without harddisk. I will upload today Polarpup-004 which is made with 18.8. woof.

Easiest way to fix it yourself, is to build puppy using latest woof. You can build Puppy of your flavor. There are many choices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2011, 08:56    Post subject:  

Puppeteer wrote:
...and the output was:
Code:
../../../../../bus/usb/drivers/usb

Ah, the ath9k_htc driver is reporting itself as "usb", which is what recent USB Ralink wifi drivers do, too.
OK here's a hotfix for the Network Wizard.

I have also updated the ath9k_htc-firmware package earlier in this thread, so I will remove the hotfix in a few days.
ath9k_htc-network-hotfix.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  ath9k_htc-network-hotfix.pet 
Filesize  19.57 KB 
Downloaded  320 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2011, 09:00    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Could you briefly explain how firmware works.

Firmware is required by many kernel modules, and several years back much of this firmware was compiled within individual kernel modules, so you never noticed it.
But at some point early in the Linux 2.6.x kernel Linus, himself, called on all driver developers to separate the firmware out into user space. Generally firmware is now located in /lib/firmware
Initially this firmware was loaded on-demand by the "hotplug" helper module, but this system was later overtaken by the udev mechanism, and that's what we currently use in Puppy.

When you compile any modern kernel and install it, you will see that a basic set of firmware is installed in /lib/firmware.
But this does not represent the entire range of firmware for all official kernel modules. For the entire range, you need to download this -
git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/dwmw2/linux-firmware.git

Some of this add-on firmware is non-GPL and thus cannot be redistributed, some is considered uncommon, some is only relevant to the latest cutting-edge kernels, and generally the collection is large. For those reasons the "add-on" firmware is not included with the kernel source.

Then there's firmware associated with third-party drivers - that's generally what we have in /lib/modules/all-firmware
This location was chosen by Barry for third-party firmware, it's certainly not a standard thing. You will notice that the firmware here is packaged as gzipped tarballs - again, this was Barry's way of doing things. I seem to recall that rerwin questioned the wisdom of this in modern Puppies. He is certainly correct that compressed firmware doesn't help with the size of the Puppy ISO, but I believe it does help when Puppy loads completely into RAM - because the third-party firmware remains compressed, apart from the small subset of this firmware that might be required by your individual hardware.


playdayz wrote:
The bottom line question I guess is what needs to be done to make sure we have the most recent and correct firmware?

The firmware collection usually only needs to be updated when there's a move to a higher kernel - this was certainly the case recently with luci-529 when a new driver appeared - ath9k_htc.

And it's difficult to know what the situation with new drivers is until users report any problems with a new kernel.
But with Lucid 5.1 - 5.2.8 things are generally stable and the firmware is in good shape.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2011, 10:09    Post subject:  

Quote:
Can't boot three-head lucid 5,2,9 from USB (without HarDDisk).

vanchutr, You are right. It is my fault. When I built three-headed dog I did not do what is necessary to enable booting with no drives attached. In my defense I thought the new kernel/initrd.gz *might* have taken care of that--but I was wrong. Lucid 5.2.8 will boot with no drives attached--but 3 headed dog will not.

We will do an updated 3 headed dog in a week or two that will boot with no drives.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2011, 11:09    Post subject:  

Quote:
have you found a good way to reduce temperature?(attached)


aarf, In most Puppies the cpu-frequency scaling is activated automatically by default (with a generic driver). In Lucid and Three-Headed Dog that is not true. We thought it worked better if people could chooise the exact correct driver--also, I personally did not want something activated by default--because I might not want to use it.

Control -> Utility - CPU Frequency Scaling
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2011, 14:43    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Quote:
have you found a good way to reduce temperature?(attached)


aarf, In most Puppies the cpu-frequency scaling is activated automatically by default (with a generic driver). In Lucid and Three-Headed Dog that is not true. We thought it worked better if people could chooise the exact correct driver--also, I personally did not want something activated by default--because I might not want to use it.

Control -> Utility - CPU Frequency Scaling
.

had a quick try but failed. for me, would prefer if i didnt have to know what this is about, and what driver to choose, and that it was auto done as before..



flac needs a file association. gnome player plays it.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Tue 23 Aug 2011, 18:04    Post subject:  

Quote:
Control -> Utility - CPU Frequency Scaling
.

had a quick try but failed. for me, would prefer if i didnt have to know what this is about, and what driver to choose, and that it was auto done as before..

You might try using the default acpi-cpufreq driver. That is the one that was used automatically.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 25 Aug 2011, 15:11    Post subject:  

@playdayz re cputemp. of course the default acpi-cpufreq driver is the first one i tried. when i click "apply", the window refreshes to be as it was before. nothing changes. but i have notice now cputemp in the task manager but temp is still zero in pwidgets. only of backgroud importance. the temperature judged by hand touch is low in comparison to usual puppy.
cpu.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   48.76 KB
 Viewed   952 Time(s)

cpu.jpg


_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Thu 25 Aug 2011, 15:38    Post subject:  

aarf, I tried what you said and got the same result. If I accept the default acpi-cpufreq driver then the screen refreshes but the same window is still there. This means it didn't work. I have to find my appropriate driver (which for me is the amd k8 driver) and then the window will accept the driver and go on in the process.

Concerning the temp--temp has never worked for me so I am grateful for any info about what might be missing. It works for some other people though.

I also got CPUtemp working, but it took quite a bit of fiddling and editing--none of the default settings gave me valid sensors--but the driver that sensors-detect indicated was the right one--I just had to modprobe it myself. All of this to find that my phenom is running right where I thought at 34C.

Last edited by playdayz on Thu 25 Aug 2011, 22:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Thu 25 Aug 2011, 16:30    Post subject:  

Hmm been some time but I seem to recall that 'temp' in pwidgets needed lm sensors installing. Not really sure, I'll have to fire up the older PC and look.

EDIT:
Forget that.
It was one of my own pets for my own use. It was a temp gauge proper. It needed lm sensors installed.

Some memories there when I rebooted older PC with 421 and pwidget stuff.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 15:58    Post subject:  

Experimental

FFMPEG 0.7.1

The multimedia libraries from Ubuntu Oneiric. They will replace the current ones--and then can be uninstalled of course.

http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/ffmpeg-071.pet

Does anyone notice any differences or improvements? Mainly this will/could affect quality of video in gnome-mplayer.

It may also affect video quality to Edit -> Preferences -> Video Output -> xv.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2011, 18:06    Post subject:  

playdayz wrote:
Experimental

FFMPEG 0.7.1

The multimedia libraries from Ubuntu Oneiric. They will replace the current ones--and then can be uninstalled of course.

http://diddywahdiddy.net/Puppy500/ffmpeg-071.pet

Does anyone notice any differences or improvements? Mainly this will/could affect quality of video in gnome-mplayer.

It may also affect video quality to Edit -> Preferences -> Video Output -> xv.

short test. positive improvement. less jerky for a file i got out of opera cache of a youtube flash

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 30 [444 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1013s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0087s) ][ GZIP on ]