Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 09:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Dpup Exprimo 5.X.15
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 29 of 148 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, ..., 146, 147, 148 Next
Author Message
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1046
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 23:20    Post_subject:  

I found the problem with my box3 relates to a Kernal Module Problem!

:Loading kernal Modules....[ 25.014560] BUG: unable to handle kernal paging request at 342c0020.

I have added it in Iguleders 4991/next thread as as I understand it your using his kernal packs. Hopefully he can sort it out.

regards
scsijon
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 434
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sun 14 Aug 2011, 23:57    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Ldrivepanel
 

Hi folks!

This ldrivepanel is something i was looking for.
Quite comfortable.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 01:09    Post_subject:  

scsijon. Do I remember right that you used Amd Sempron in that machine. If so, that problem is probably due to intel atom optimization I used. I have my own kernel compilation, which is the product of Ice Puppy thread kernel project, Barry took the .config script and modified it better and then I modified it little again and that is lupe28 kernel.
To get kernel working with most machines, you would need most conservative specs and that is something I dont want. My main target is somewhat newer comps and especially laptops. There are already so many Barrys builds for older comps that it is not worthy to add one more to that era.

And my laptop is quite new still, intel i5 cpu quadcore. It would be shameful to use kernel specs which are for oldest pentium machines. I have already lowered threshold from dual core specs to atom specs which are close of Pentium 4 specs.

I am sorry, I wont lower threshold more.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 04:05    Post_subject:  

The story of Idrivepanel-demo → idrivepanel
I discovered Idrivepaneldemo made by seaside.
I asked him to isolate the Idrivepanel part and he did.
I referenced it in this thread and pemasu liked it and renamed the pet to Idrivepanel-0.0.1.pet to match it with woof requirements.

So thank you seaside and maybe we will find this nice facility standard in Exprimo.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 434
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 05:26    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Shutdown without saving
 

High folks!

Backi back in town.
About this "shutdown without saving" option.

It is quite usefull for me.Sometimes i am trying out some new programms or packages or sometimes experimenting with some changes ...and so on,
when something went wrong or i dont like the whole show, i am able to leave
"Desaster island" without saving any crap.

A bit like a virtual virtual box.

Sometimes quite comfortable.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 05:54    Post_subject:  

Backi. I wont change woof scripts easily, but if you have modified script for shutdown, I can include it to the build, where you and other can copy it over existing script.
I think that what you ask is more modification for personal preferences than something which I change as default behavior. I tested about one year ago the mechanism you ask, but I dont remember straight what it took to achieve it. For next build anyway I will only include ready made modification to some dedicated folder for use to those who want to use this save only as demand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 434
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 07:00    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Shutdown without saving
 

High pemasu !

For my shutdownscript i used the second script from "MochiMoppel"

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=65016

I am a complete LINUX beginner.
I did this:
Opened Geany and copied and put into (Geany) this script

#!/bin/sh

# skips rc.shutdown and powers off computer without saving the session.
Xdialog --title "script $0" --yesno "\n\nAre you sure to power-off computer WITHOUT saving?\n\n" 0 0
[ $? -eq 0 ] && exec /bin/busybox poweroff

Then i saved it as "SHUTDOWN WITHOUT SAVING" or something like this
to root or i think any place you like.
If you want to execute it now clicking on it.... there will be a message

"No run Action specified for files of this type bla bla bla..."

Right click on your new "downshutter"
menue will appear
go to PERMISSION chosse a+x(Make executable/searchable)
click yes.
Now it should run if i am right.
Then you can decorate it with a pretty Icon.
In Puppy Event Manager check "save Session" Save interval =0 minutes
I am using Pupsave mode=0 (it means never)
Up til now i never encounterd any serious problem.
There is more written here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=65016

This script was from MochiMoppel the second one
I am using DPup and Macpup installed to USB stick (both go well with this feature)
I dont know if there would be problems with full installation.

Cheers

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 434
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 07:24    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Clickable links
 

High
It`s me

Some silly question

How to make clickable links when i am posting here
Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 07:31    Post_subject:  

Backi. I will read more about your used solution. I am not sure how safe this method is for existing savefile, but if you dont save at all, it is more like load savefile and you dont want any changes into it. Is this method safe, because you have loaded your savefile, I dont know.

I can include it as optional usage from /root/my-applications/bin, which is on the path and so executable straight with console and that is recommended place for optional binaries and executable scripts.

Decorating it with executable icon in JWM Pinboard (Rox Pinboard) is something you need to do yourself.

Clickable links: Higlight your URL and click the URL button in your post window, above the text box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 434
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 08:54    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Shutdown without save
 

Hello pemasu!

Shutdown with this script never caused trouble for me.

(I am using Pups on USB stick)

The only thing is ,during bootup ,when all this messages appear,
there will be one like " checking save file...bla...bla.."
But that does not matter .
Had always correct boot.
In case you want to save some changes(during session), use the "savetoflash" option click the button ,(place a symlink from /usr/sbin/save to flash button beside the button "Shutdown without save".)

Then after that, if you like, end the session with "shutdow without saving).
It shuts down faster and your Usb stick maybe will live longer because not so much writing to it.
If you used "save to flash "during a session (of course after save procedure with save button has finished)
you can shutdown without saving or use the normal shutdown procedure which will save the session again.
The normal shutdown button on the shelve works as usual.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 434
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 09:13    Post_subject:
Sub_title: test
 

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/index.php?f=35
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 15 Aug 2011, 10:41    Post_subject:  

Backi et al. I have now read and the optional save at shutdown is now more clear for me. It is intended when you boot in PUPMODE=13 aka pmedia=usbflash so that tmpfs is in top layer. It is not intended in normal frugal install in hdd aka PUPMODE=12.

Next thing, the optional save or not at shutdown should be done through /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown script as scottman has showed. It means to modify snapmergepuppy row to have that Xdialog save or not.

Also if you shutdown without saving straight, there will be left /etc/.XLOADED file which means for puppy that you have done unclean shutdown and it performs fsck everytime, not bad thing, but every time, well....
And also you get info that you have shutdown uncleanly last time and you have to shut that box before it boots. So...you would need to remove .XLOADED and save that before you create the shutdown without saving....if you want to boot straight with out that stopping unclean shutdown message.
That rm /etc/.XLOADED could be in /etc/rc.d/rc.local file so that it will executed straight at bootup as last thing.


Anyway....that shutdown without saving is not the puppy way right now, it is more user preference and so it means hacking to the woof scripts to include it. I can include it as optional script, no more....

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1046
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2011, 01:15    Post_subject:  

pemasu wrote:
scsijon. Do I remember right that you used Amd Sempron in that machine. If so, that problem is probably due to intel atom optimization I used.

I am sorry, I wont lower threshold more.....


nope, pure Intel through and through.

Never mind, i'll just use one of the others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1907
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2011, 14:08    Post_subject:  

Pemasu, you're the man.

Offer Barry to build some community-release of dpup. I'm sure all the dpup fans around will be useful Smile

I'll do my best to help such an effort. I'm working on getting a barebones dpup working with a vanilla Woof, so we don't need all those hand-made fixes anymore.

We can reach RC1-quality within weeks from now. We can do it, I believe in dpup.

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 434
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Tue 16 Aug 2011, 14:24    Post_subject:  

Yea ! let's go.

Keep on rocking!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 29 of 148 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, ..., 146, 147, 148 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1148s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0358s) ][ GZIP on ]