Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 03:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Lost Virtualbox!! [SOLVED]
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
theblackpig

Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 32
Location: oldham -uk

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 05:12    Post_subject:  Lost Virtualbox!! [SOLVED]  

Hi ,just started with Puppy 5.2.5 Brilliant distro!!
I have installed it onto a 500GB external hard drive partioned roughly 462Gb as boot and 3Gb as swap.
Using Quickpet (which I think is extra brilliant) I downloaded Virtualbox,
however it doesn't appear anywhere in the menu but does appear in bootmanager. How do I launch it please?

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 06:45    Post_subject:  

lupu 5.2.5 buit with kernel 2.6.33.2.
I think you will play virtualbox compiled in this kernel.
Please read howto compile an apps with Puppy
Good luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 720
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 07:19    Post_subject:  

Virtualbox in quickpet is an SFS file.

To use this, you need to go to menu - system - BootManager Configure Bootup

This will bring up the dialog, with the top half to "Load SFS Files"
Click on the green box thing and it should bring up a two pane menu to choose what SFS files to load on bootup. Virtualbox should be on the left hand pane, add it to the right. Then, you will need to reboot your PC and it should be there in the menu.

For me it is under Menu - System - System Status and Config - Vitrualbox.

HTH

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
theblackpig

Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 32
Location: oldham -uk

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 07:42    Post_subject:  

p310don wrote:
Virtualbox in quickpet is an SFS file.

To use this, you need to go to menu - system - BootManager Configure Bootup

This will bring up the dialog, with the top half to "Load SFS Files"
Click on the green box thing and it should bring up a two pane menu to choose what SFS files to load on bootup. Virtualbox should be on the left hand pane, add it to the right. Then, you will need to reboot your PC and it should be there in the menu.

For me it is under Menu - System - System Status and Config - Vitrualbox.

HTH

Paul


Many thanks new to Puppy , didn't realise I had to reboot!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0460s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]