Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 08:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 312.37 110807
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 22 of 30 [437 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2011, 09:51    Post subject:  

Well this is the way it works in the puppy community.
There is indeed an ipinfo in frisbee. The developer is free to adapt the original one.

A forum member, radky, has developed another one based on the original one and called it ipinfo2.

So, nothing to worry about.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2011, 09:55    Post subject:  

peebee,
If you want to go the frisbee route, after your puppy install afresh, don't run any connection network wizard, but install directly frisbee and use it exclusively.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 448
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2011, 11:00    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:


Also the battery icon is still blank. Thought that that had been resolved to run correctly now out of the box.
Don't know if the other icons display as designed.


Odd because this is what I see on the netbook.
1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   3.08 KB
 Viewed   1399 Time(s)

1.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2011, 11:56    Post subject:  

Lobster... SeatabX will put a close tab button on each tab in Seamonkey. Why the hell could the devs not do this.....http://tom-cat.com/mozilla/extensions.html
Last one up from bottom of page.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2011, 20:02    Post subject:  

Quote:
could the devs not do this.....

They have their reasons - maybe not being aware of it is one of the reasons. Wink
Anyway it worked in Seamonkey 2.2 Cool
even though it is for 2.1 (and 2.3 beta is out)
The zoomer add on which I also tried did not appear to work . . .
Most Seamonkey add ons are not yet ready for Seamonkey 2.2

Anyway thanks for that Smile

Meanwhile . . .
Right click on the lock icon top right
and select 'lock the screen now'
Does it? Not on my desktop . . .

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7784
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2011, 20:24    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Quote:
could the devs not do this.....

They have their reasons - maybe not being aware of it is one of the reasons. Wink
[snip]


Do what? Confused [I must have missed it sorry EDIT: ah Dave! Good point]

-----------

Anyways, regarding Barrys post about USB booting, I think it still works fairly right without building usb_storage into the kernel. I haven't really the time to recompile again and I think in other regards this kernel seems pretty solid and stable, although it may be why Béèm's machine is a little warmer than usual. I trust it doesn't exceed manufacturer's specification? It's cool as a cucumber on my test machines (between 45 and 55 C, my main box has never exceeded 50 under heavy compiling conditions).

Brown Mouse.. new tray icon theme Wink . I will offer alternatives.

I am off to purchase a radeon graphics card. Hopefully I can have the ati catalyst driver up by tonight Smile

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Fri 12 Aug 2011, 22:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 12 Aug 2011, 20:49    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
I am off to purchase a radeon graphics card. Hopefully I can have the ati catalyst driver up by tonight Smile
Cheers

I knew your new job would come in useful Wink

Here is where the Slacko magic takes place:

overlooked by 'Santas Little Helper' aka Billy
http://users.tpg.com.au/01micko/theshed.html
No paypal donations?

PS.
I think I use the same electrician . . . Embarassed

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7784
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 01:00    Post subject:  

<--------------<<< haha! Yep I have immortalised Billy in cartoon form Ed

Ok, ATI catalyst fglrx driver is compiled and uploaded.

I will need help with the pinstall script, so Lobster, mikesLr, davids45, Billtoo, playdayz.. anyone else with a late model Radeon video card please test and report your experience. It is not recommended to install the driver pfix=ram unless you are running the vesa driver, because radeon modeset=0 is running now and then you get no console when you install the driver !!! Shocked Laughing It's written in the pinstall. I do have to improve it though, the driver does work ok for me.

Here it is: http://brainwavedesigncentral.net/micko01/stuff/puppy/spup/pet_packages-spup/ati_fglrx-11.7-k2.6.37.6-s.pet.. a whopper at 50M (about 137M installed, so make sure your save is big enough!)

The intention is to have this available from the slickpet/drivers tab.. slickpet detects save size and aborts if you don't have the space, warns if you are short on space. It also does an integrity check.

Now onto intel Brookdale

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 06:23    Post subject:  

OK just ran/installed over my existing slacko
'aticonfig --install' ran OK but did not do anything visible on the command line . . .
xwin gave me a BSOD and I rebooted
I was given a choice of normal boot (xorgwizard ran automatically) or command line
I accidentally pressed normal Embarassed
but it worked
glxgears is a little faster
Here is the test video from slickpet

Quote:
Sat 13 Aug 2011 Operating System: Slacko Puppy-312.37 Linux 2.6.37.6
0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV710 [Radeon HD 4350]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS product: RV710 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: vesa
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1280x1024 pixels (338x270 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Radeon HD 4300/4500 Series
OpenGL version string: 3.3.10907 Compatibility Profile Context

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+
Core 0: 2593 1: 2593 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.


update
tried running Secondlife
Not up to it - was getting window display error (plus loads of others)

Last edited by Lobster on Sat 13 Aug 2011, 06:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 06:27    Post subject:  

To 01micko
Cannot boot slacko 312.37 frugal-installed on USB-Flash (without harddisk)
I can boot slacko 312.37 frugal-installed on USB-Flash (on system with hard disk, even if this hard disk not contained anything of slacko)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7784
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 06:43    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:

X Server: Xorg Driver: vesa


Hmm.. bad news Lobster, driver should be fglrx. Try xorgwizard from prompt >choose and from the list "fglrx". Select resolution and xwin back to X. If that fails, try at the prompt in console mode (out of X) the aticonfig --initial again. Maybe backup the pupsave first if you have valuable data there.. erm we are still alpha Smile
Oh and Lobster, davids45 reports success with the same driver/kernel in the triple headed dog offshoot by playdayz.



vanchutr wrote:
To 01micko
Cannot boot slacko 312.37 frugal-installed on USB-Flash (without harddisk)
I can boot slacko 312.37 frugal-installed on USB-Flash (on system with hard disk, even if this hard disk not contained anything of slacko)


Thanks for the report. Will investigate.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 07:00    Post subject:  

Code:
Sat 13 Aug 2011  Operating System: Slacko Puppy-312.37  Linux 2.6.37.6
 0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV710 [Radeon HD 4350] 
 oem: ATI ATOMBIOS  product: RV710 01.00 

X Server: Xorg   Driver:  radeon
X.Org version: 1.9.5
  dimensions:    1280x1024 pixels (338x270 millimeters)
  depth of root window:    24 planes


AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+
 Core 0: 2593  1: 2593  MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.


Code:
# glxgears
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0".
Error: couldn't get an RGB, Double-buffered visual
# glxgears
Xlib:  extension "GLX" missing on display ":0".
Error: couldn't get an RGB, Double-buffered visual
#


OK choose the fglrx - any closer?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 07:05    Post subject:  

Quote:
triple headed dog offshoot by playdayz


Already grown another head? Cool

Fluffy - how you been boy?
http://harrypotter.wikia.com/wiki/Fluffy

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Sat 13 Aug 2011, 09:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7784
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 07:06    Post subject:  

Ok Lobster.. um.. not really any closer.. drop to the prompt and try the aticonfig --initial again, then xwin. If it besods, type ctrl>alt>backspace, then type reboot, don't hit the power button.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 13 Aug 2011, 09:08    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Ok Lobster.. um.. not really any closer.. drop to the prompt and try the aticonfig --initial again, then xwin.


Did above
got below Cool
(glxgears no faster) - so going to do a reboot from prompt

Code:
Sat 13 Aug 2011  Operating System: Slacko Puppy-312.37  Linux 2.6.37.6
 0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV710 [Radeon HD 4350] 
 oem: ATI ATOMBIOS  product: RV710 01.00 

X Server: Xorg   Driver: fglrxdrm: vendor=FireGL - ATI Technologies Inc.
X.Org version: 1.9.5
  dimensions:    1280x1024 pixels (338x270 millimeters)
  depth of root window:    24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Radeon HD 4300/4500 Series       
OpenGL version string: 3.3.10907 Compatibility Profile Context

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+
 Core 0: 2593  1: 2593  MHz


It seems OK and glxgears is faster but not as fast as it has been in Lucid

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 22 of 30 [437 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1005s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0108s) ][ GZIP on ]