Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 05:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Unable to connect with wireless
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
QuoVadis

Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jun 2006, 05:17    Post subject:  Unable to connect with wireless  

Hello,

it's the first time I really try to use a Linux OS. Embarassed

I've installed a Puppy 2 on a 1.2GB FAT32 partition and start it with the wakeup2-floppy-disk.
My Computer is connected to LAN and Internet via wifi.
This card is a special extension of the Asus Mainboard P4P800E-Deluxe und works with the RT2400PCI Driver.
I found the right dotpup an installed it.
No connection to my router. Then I installed wifibeta and tried wag032, no connection.
So I've made a screenshot in comparison to that video how to work with puppy.
I hope there ist some help for my problem. Thanks Confused

I'd pressed the button "Run Wifi Beta"


Greets
Quo Vadis aka Q.
[img][/img][img][/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jun 2006, 15:03    Post subject:  

To get my wireless running (at least some of the time Rolling Eyes ) I needed both the atheros driver (madwifi) and the wpa_supplicant module to get the WPA support. Maybe you need more than one dotpup file too?

Also, make sure you follow the readme's that come with them. Good info in there. You have seen this thread, haven't you?

Hope this helps, at least a little. "The blind leading the blind." Wink

Last edited by PaulBx1 on Sat 24 Jun 2006, 23:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
QuoVadis

Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jun 2006, 16:16    Post subject:  

Shocked

Thanks, I read that post.

I had to admit, that I'm an Win-Idiot, unfortunatly a german too.
So, it's quiet difficult to understand, what code they typed to execute modprobe etc.

I'll try and learn, cause I'm not keen on dying as a Win-Idiot. Laughing

cu Q.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
QuoVadis

Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jun 2006, 14:54    Post subject: ndiswrapper failed  

Hello,

I've read some articles in these 'sticky posts' for beginners an after failing to use the original driver; I tried ndiswrapper and failed again.
It looks like there's no AP, but definitly there is one (im using it just in that moment with my WinXP).
I've grabbed some pictures of puppy while it is kidding me.




I hope someone may give me a hint.

Q.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jun 2006, 15:42    Post subject:  

Your driver seems to have installed ok. See where it says "hardware present", that means it sees your wireless card.

Try running the wireless network wizard next. You can skip the ndis_wrapper button and go right to WAG. Make a profile and then use DHCP_toggle (I think). I actually connect myself with a script like this (you may find it useful to understand the process):

modprobe ndiswrapper
ifconfig wlan0 up
iwconfig wlan0 essid linksys mode Managed channel 2
iwconfig wlan0 key 777CCCFFFEEE6366FC7C312111
ifconfig
rm /etc/dhcpc/dhcpcd-wlan0.*
dhcpcd -t 20 -h puppypc -d wlan0

Although for some reason I have to run it twice most of the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiretux

Joined: 06 Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Location: Cork, Ireland

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jun 2006, 22:29    Post subject:  

What happens when you try 'iwconfig wlan0'
If you get an error like this ?
Set failed on device wlan0; Device or resource busy

you may have an IRQ problem.
I would be interested if you have as I could not solve it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
QuoVadis

Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jun 2006, 12:14    Post subject:  

Comparison between my WinXP and the puppy data.


iwconfig seems ok.


Little bit strange ist the frequency.
Is it 2.442GHz or 2.437GHz for IEEE802?

Evil or Very Mad

Sorry, I must relax a little bit with my Windows...


Yours Windiot Q.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jun 2006, 18:56    Post subject:  

QuoVadis,
I had similar problems with an adapter which uses the rt2500 chipset. Tempestuous posted an updated dot pup. See the 11th post in this topic.
Don't know if your adapter is supported by that dot pup, but should be worth a try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiljen46


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jun 2006, 00:28    Post subject:  

QuaVadis,

After you have done modprobe and iwconfig, you need to run wag , click ok to let it configure, then click on dhcp toggle then exit wag after it shows your ip address. You may need to edit the profie for autoconnect so that all the values are "" before you modprobe, iwcongig, and wag. This worked for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
QuoVadis

Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jun 2006, 14:57    Post subject: Nothing works  

Sorry, there is a big amount of bullshit.

Now I tried to connect with cable. That was done in about 30 seconds.
I'm quite sad and will take a little break and perhaps will look for someone, who can actually help me working with my Computer.

Pray for me and my poor Win soul, I'll try to get rid of this by drinking a few beer *ggg*.

This is the end of my first puupy posting, bye Q.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
QuoVadis

Joined: 18 Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jun 2006, 02:34    Post subject: HERE I AM! Wirelessly!  

Sorry for shouting! I'm so happy.

Ok, I tried to get help in a german spoken Linux forum, they told me similar thinks.
Then I booted with Knoppix 3.4 an this told me, that there isn't any network card.
So, I searched for this special mini slots of this ASUS Wifi Home card and found that this is a known problem.
I downloaded the latest WinXP driver for rt2400 und tried ndiswrapper...

And now I'm here Smile


Thanks for your help!

Greets from Q. in g.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jun 2006, 02:46    Post subject: Re: HERE I AM! Wirelessly!  

QuoVadis wrote:
And now I'm here Smile


Welcome. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0706s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0112s) ][ GZIP on ]