Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 13:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Frisbee Network Manager - Beta 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 21 [302 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2196
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2011, 01:42    Post subject:  

Hi jemimah, glad to see you are well!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 753
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2011, 02:07    Post subject:  

Nice to hear from you Jemimah, I/we were beginning to get a bit worried.

Very best regards - Ray.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1384

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jul 2011, 16:09    Post subject: Frisbee delay  

Hi Jamimah,
I'm glad you are still with us and hopefully recharging. So I thought to try some light asking... Very Happy

Tried to use Frisbee in XOpup (lupus 5.1.1+) and works fine by just adding a longer sleep in rc.services so the wlan interface is up first.

However, after wake from suspend it comes up too fast before wlan is up and fails.
Increasing the WTIMEOUT in config to 30 does not improve things.
I need to open Frisbee and "Wireless Network Reset" in order to reconnect.

So the question is if there is any way to delay Frisbee run after wakeup or/end issue the wireless reset commands form a post resume script? (Tried Frisbee --reset-wpa -hdcp or issuing the reset-wpa, -dhcp function commands form a script , but no luck)

Hopefully this is not too heavy for you Cool

Best

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2196
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jul 2011, 07:48    Post subject:  

Hello, my problem is solve.
Disconnect was the consequence of the traduction in french (i forgot 2 lines).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1384

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 03:11    Post subject:  

OK, I got it going in XOpup Very Happy

It should be usable in other 5.x pupplets provided that you backup your rc.local and re-instate it after pet installation and before reboot, since the XOpup pet version will mess it up and probably brake your system!

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2408
Location: near here

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 05:16    Post subject:  

I've added XOPup to the Frisbee page on wiki
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Frisbee

correct or expand if needed ; -)

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 383
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 18:30    Post subject: Frisbee Beta 2 - Puppy 5.25 on Aspire One  

(portions snipped)
Quote:

Quote:
Apparently the dhcpcd that frisbee recommended - is for Fluppy/Puppeee not Puppy5 see the following thread.


I'm confused now (often happens)
Quote:
I use Frisbee-beta-2-lucid52.pet http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Frisbee-beta-2-lucid52.pet Package by playdayz cf. forum Puppy Lucid Posted: Wed 09 Feb 2011, 04:02 http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=494297
- I use Instant Update 001 for Lucid Puppy 5.2.5 (known as the Bigpup Update)

Previously Puppy Linux 5.25 worked OK on my Acer Aspire One computer.
Somehow, recently, the wireless or the wired network didn't persist after configuring via the SNS or Dougal scripts?
I just did the Instant Update and the Frisbee package, like ASRI éducation did, above.
It works, and thanks a lot!
(Hoping it continues to do so)

Sheldon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ahoppin

Joined: 16 May 2011
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 17:37    Post subject:  

I'm using Frisbee in Lucid 5.2.5 successfully, on a Thinkpad T23 with a pcmcia wifi card. Well done there!

Now I'm trying to use it on another Thinkpad T23, this one a bit fancier, with built-in 11mbps wifi. According to the original standard Puppy Network Wizard, wlan0 is an Intersil 2.5 Wavelan chipset device. The standard PNW can connect just fine with it, but when I reboot it can't reconnect (using static IP) without having all the parameters re-entered.

Puppy's simple network configuration DOES work and DOES stick after rebooting. However, it requires use of DHCP, and I much prefer static IP addresses.

After installing Frisbee beta 2 from the dotpet, I'm no longer able to connect via wifi. When I click Create Profile for Selected Network, I get a dialog that says "Failed to set ssid" and can go no further.

Clicking the Wireless Diagnostics button returns this output:

Status of wifi0 wlan0
Wpa_supplicant Status:
-----
Unknown command 'wlan0'
-----

iwconfig: unknown command "wlan0"

ifconfig: bad address 'wlan0'

Not sure of how much help that is.

Again, wlan0 is an Intersil 2.5 Wavelan chipset device. Is it possible that Frisbee isn't able to talk to it?

Other than that, I'm stumped. Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ahoppin

Joined: 16 May 2011
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Fri 15 Jul 2011, 20:51    Post subject:  

The problem was apparently not with the T23's internal wifi; the same problem occured with a pcmcia card.

However I did find a solution, a pragmatic one I guess, though it doesn't identify what the problem really is. I unloaded Frisbee beta 2 and loaded mavrothal's Frisbee version for XOpup instead. I applied his caution (backup /etc/rc.d/rc.local prior to installing, then restore after installing but before rebooting). That version works fine.

PS - if you use Frisbee and prefer a somewhat more modest way of having it tell you what's going on than the big cartoon pups, you can replace /usr/bin/xpupsay with the similar system used in Lighthouse Puppy. The attached zip file contains the necessary files extracted from Lighthouse, instructions, and an installation shell script (sorry, I haven't learned how to make dotpets yet).

Thanks to Jemimah for Frisbee, to Mavrothal for the modifications, and to Tazoc for message modifications and his puplet Lighthouse.
Frisbee-messages.zip
Description  Patch to Frisbee for Lighthouse Puppy style messages
zip

 Download 
Filename  Frisbee-messages.zip 
Filesize  4.35 KB 
Downloaded  498 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technowomble


Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 76
Location: West Gloucestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 25 Aug 2011, 15:14    Post subject: Frisbee on Wary 5.1.3  

darkcity wrote:
I've added XOPup to the Frisbee page on wiki
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Frisbee

correct or expand if needed ; -)


Hi darkcity. You might want to add Wary 5.1.3 to the wiki page as well, I've got Frisbee running using dhcpcd-5.2.9-i486 and Jemimah's Wary wpa-supplicant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2363
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 25 Aug 2011, 15:31    Post subject: Re: Frisbee on Wary 5.1.3  

technowomble wrote:
darkcity wrote:
I've added XOPup to the Frisbee page on wiki
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Frisbee

correct or expand if needed ; -)


Hi darkcity. You might want to add Wary 5.1.3 to the wiki page as well, I've got Frisbee running using dhcpcd-5.2.9-i486 and Jemimah's Wary wpa-supplicant.

Can you post links to these packages? please... EDIT: I'm so dumb, they're in the first post.. Oops..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technowomble


Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 76
Location: West Gloucestershire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 25 Aug 2011, 15:45    Post subject:  

@ sc0ttman.
The packages are in Jermimah's first post in this thread, the list starting with ' Frisbee beta 2 ', the Wary wpa_supplicant is right at the bottom ( be sure you've got the right one, there are a couple of versions for different Puppies, as Jermimah explains. )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chapchap70

Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Posts: 123
Location: The Island Of Long (NY, USA)

PostPosted: Mon 03 Oct 2011, 12:59    Post subject:  

Thanks for Frisbee!

The wifi at my work would kick my computer off if I was idle for a minute or so. I was using Barry's SNS to connect to wifi. I was unable to get the regular network wizard to connect my computer to the net

After I upgraded from Lucid Puppy 5.25 to 5.2.8, I found Frisbee in the package manager and I am able to stay connected to the internet for as long as I want.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Thu 01 Dec 2011, 13:20    Post subject: remove frisbee  

Hi Jemimah

There have been a couple of posts at puppylinux.info, asking how to remove frisbee...it's obviously troublesome for some people
If there's an updated version, is there a delta patch, or can you post instructions on updating?

Also pemasu has created a 'remove frisbee/frisbee manager.pet' ....

http://www.smokey01.com/pemasu/pet_packages-exprimo/frisbee-manager-0.0.2.pet

...but states it is only tested in the Dpup Exprimo

Perhaps it can get further testing/adaptation here?

Thanks

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
webtelly

Joined: 11 Jan 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 11 Jan 2012, 14:05    Post subject: Frisbee Wireless
Subject description: Frisbee Wireless connects to network, but no internet
 

Take it easy on me here... I installed Slacko 5.3 and had Barry's ethernet connection working like a charm, connected to the internet. I have a netgear router with DG 192.168.1.1, with one Windows computer cabled into it. The computer in question was my old Windows, which I did a full HD install of Puppy to after CD install and had it ethernet cabled to router as well.

All was good, until I installed Frisbee to go wireless, which connects great to wireless router, with a valid IP address each time of 192.168.1.3 or higher, but browser will not connect to internet, neither with cable nor with wireless now. So, DNS is broken somewhere, but IP config on Windows computer shows all good and has internet.

Any help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 21 [302 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0804s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0071s) ][ GZIP on ]