Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 08:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 312.37 110807
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 30 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 04:51    Post_subject:  

Smile plugged in an Ethernet cable.

Got connected
xchat OK
Most programs seemed there and OK Smile
Tried sound - went through the first two suggestions (from the sound set up wizard)
- without getting sound.
Good little wizard - much potential . . .
The CPU usage has now gone very high and the screen seems to have locked up
- ctrl + alt + backspace did not activate - so a solid freeze . . .
(I will be blaming bugman as per usual) Wink

I hope the controversial slickpet feature is developed further.
I say controversial because some will not appreciate the necessity
for Puppy to be connected.
Check for yourself.

Just a small point on the slickpet menu - last one about sfs-experimental
(not sfs-experimantal (that spelling is in the latest Lucid too)
tips on spelling from moi? Oh well . . .

Smile

Puppy Slacko
Hang loose

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1434
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 05:24    Post_subject: Feedback  

Hi Mick

Some feedback for you....from my HP550 laptop

- sound was muted at first until I enabled Master and PCM in retrovol full screen

- FlSynclient doesn't work for me - see screenie - so I haven't got a scroll wheel and my touchpad is too sensitive to random finger movements

- I think I may still have wifi persistence problems and not being maintained thru reboot using SNS but need to do more experimenting

- Samba via Pnethood worked great and nice and quick

Cheers
Peter
peebee.png
 Description   
 Filesize   40.04 KB
 Viewed   1484 Time(s)

peebee.png


_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 05:36    Post_subject:  

Hi peebee

Good to see the broadcom connected ok, and pnethood works too.

Try running xorgwizard to see if that cures synaptics woes. I have a compaq a little older (2008) and synaptics is ok.

HTH

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 06:08    Post_subject:  

First impressions. Md5sum ok.
http://repository.slacky.eu/ seems to be down. Updating databases failed when trying to connect to it.
Messing with .packagges files caused that PPM does not even start now. It is my success, not the problem with spup.

Boots to the desktop. Finds drivers when I noticed to add z...driver sfs, lol. Intel graphics driver configured and found. Great.
SNS works. Ath9k driver loaded automatically and connects with SNS ok.

Synaptics to work seems to need full xorg.conf.
Flsynclient configures but .flSynclient seems to be overwritten with default with every X restart.

Now first essential missing peace. No any kind gui hash checking application. Libmhash was missing also. I copied it from lucid puppy and installed gtkhash and rox right clicks.
Rox right clicks is nice additional pet which could be included. Don570 has done good work with it. It is small pet anyway.

Alsa detection and Pmusic 1.92. I have demanding hw so probably just my problem. Asoundstate not created at bootup. It looks like 10alsa script goes awol with my hw. Normal situation for me. I used my alsafix script and asoundstate created. Now pupradio plays finnish rock station just fine. Pmusic 1.92 seems to load now database without clickable choices. Loads stations ok, starts to play station but no sound. I remember I had this problem also with Pmusic version prior 1.83, 1.83 fixed the sound problem.
But as I have told, I have demanding hw.

I include my alsafix script which is just a way to have asoundstat file created, nothing fancy. I have it at /etc/init.d in my puppies.
Remove the phony .gz. It fools this great forum upload mechanism

Code:
# alsamixer
cannot open mixer: No such device

That is probably the reason to my problem. I seem not to get devices created as they should be. I will test soon with savefile when I have my alsafix loaded at bootup.

To be continued..........
alsafix.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  alsafix.gz 
Filesize  887 Bytes 
Downloaded  270 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 06:21    Post_subject:  

Hi all

booted straight to desktop on all 3 of my machines without problem

running on a multisession dvd without problems

noticed you have included pmusic 1.9.2, will give it a good test

thanks 01micko you are the man Wink

stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 06:30    Post_subject:  

A tip Stripe.. use the "Wings" setting in Pmusic Wink




Smile

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1434
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 06:39    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Hi peebee

Good to see the broadcom connected ok, and pnethood works too.

Try running xorgwizard to see if that cures synaptics woes. I have a compaq a little older (2008) and synaptics is ok.

HTH

Cheers


Running xorgwizard does cure the FlSynclient problem - and settings persist through reboot.

SNS settings are persistent thru reboot but I have had to install the Stay-Connected pet to get the connection permanent.

Cheers
Peter

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 06:45    Post_subject:  

peebee wrote:

Running xorgwizard does cure the FlSynclient problem - and settings persist through reboot.

SNS settings are persistent thru reboot but I have had to install the Stay-Connected pet to get the connection permanent.

Cheers
Peter


Good to know, I can fix that, just add a new synaptics section to the skinny xorg.conf, should work, or even pop up a message to run xorgwizard if I can detect that synaptics isn't loaded (I can through the /var/log/xorg.0.log Wink ). It's an interesting read! Laughing

You can give frisbee a whirl if you want. In Slickpet.

Thanks for report.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2117
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 06:47    Post_subject: Slacko 310.37  

I did a manual frugal install of 310-37 and installed the devx.
I set up sound by right clicking on retrovol in the tray and doing the
configuration etc.
I setup the equalizer in the multimedia menu section.
I installed the qt473 spup pets that I made a while ago and then
downloaded and compiled umplayer.
I installed the nvidia driver using slickpet:

Mon 11 Jul 2011 Operating System: Slacko Puppy-310.37 Linux 2.6.37.6
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GT216 [GeForce GT 220] (rev a2)
oem: NVIDIA product: GT216 Board - 0682vb12 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1280x1024 pixels (342x271 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes


Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E4500
Core 0: 1200 1: 1200 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.
# glxgears
24910 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4982.000 FPS
31395 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6279.000 FPS
31351 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6270.200 FPS

Looking good so far, will test more.
storagewars.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   62.94 KB
 Viewed   1075 Time(s)

storagewars.jpg

spupscrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   182.85 KB
 Viewed   1406 Time(s)

spupscrn.jpg


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 06:52    Post_subject:  

Flsynclient keeps the settings now for me also after rebooting and using savefile.

New wallpapers are nice.

Not yet sound from Pmusic but that is my problem, I think.

Overall, great improvements so far. Xorg works much better.

Kernel seems to behave with my usual doing. Good work !!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 07:01    Post_subject:  

pemasu

Thanks for testing

If you look in the pequalizer code (/usr/local/pequalizer) you will see a 'first run' file. Some of the tips in there may help because we aren't using a standard alsa.conf here. I did expect some troubles Shocked [ Laughing ].

It was designed to trap cases where if you tried to run pequalizer or pmusic and the alsaequal failed. (lack of $HOME/.alsaequal.bin should indicate this) .

Hopefully if you browse that code it can be of some use to you. I was flying blind because it worked on my 5 test boxes, only 2 had mute sound and they often have mute sound in any pup.

-

Billtoo,

I guess you noticed the nvidia driver is the full enchilada. It does run glxgears much smoother and also gives better frame rates.

The kernel source is in the second post if you want to try your ati gear.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2117
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 08:12    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:




Billtoo,

I guess you noticed the nvidia driver is the full enchilada. It does run glxgears much smoother and also gives better frame rates.

The kernel source is in the second post if you want to try your ati gear.

Cheers



I got the kernel source, thanks.
I found that I should have installed mesa before installing the
proprietary ati driver but I got there in the end Smile

Mon 11 Jul 2011 Operating System: Slacko Puppy-310.37 Linux 2.6.37.6
0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5500 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS product: REDWOOD 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: fglrxdrm: vendor=FireGL - ATI Technologies Inc.
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Radeon HD 5570
OpenGL version string: 4.1.10834 Compatibility Profile Context

AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 810 Processor
Core 0: 2592 1: 2592 2: 2592 3: 2592 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.
# glxgears
37891 frames in 5.0 seconds = 7578.165 FPS
39701 frames in 5.0 seconds = 7940.152 FPS
39760 frames in 5.0 seconds = 7951.928 FPS
spupscrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   155.64 KB
 Viewed   1375 Time(s)

spupscrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Brown Mouse


Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 449
Location: Tenerife Canary Islands

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 08:29    Post_subject:  

Hi Micko

All running fine here at the moment.
Got the Nvidia driver installed fine and glxgears are spinning as they should.
No sign of any browser freeze's yet.

Great job as ever Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 10:12    Post_subject:  

Code:
Mon 11 Jul 2011  Operating System: Slacko Puppy-310.37  Linux 2.6.37.6
 0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV710 [Radeon HD 4350] 
 oem: ATI ATOMBIOS  product: RV710 01.00 

X Server: Xorg   Driver: vesa
X.Org version: 1.9.5
  dimensions:    1024x768 pixels (342x271 millimeters)
  depth of root window:    24 planes


AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+
 Core 0: 2593  1: 2593  MHz


got the Ahtlon64 running using vesa (had to look up the procedure) Smile

1. boot: puppy pfix=ram,nox
2. xorgwizard
3. select vesa
4. select resolution
5. xwin

Slacko lift off . . . Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Tasgarth

Joined: 06 Oct 2008
Posts: 202
Location: France, Besancon

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jul 2011, 10:31    Post_subject:  

Test Slacko :

1) CDRom , pfix=ram :Desktop OK -> Slickpet -> NVidia driver : OK (I only downloaded it )
2) Personalize Settings : fr, Europe/Paris; UTC Azerty; Numlock; 1600x1200;Utf-8.... : OK
But Numlock is bad (even after reboot)
3) Wizard -> Choose -> Nvidia... -> glxgears : OK.
glxgears :
45315 frames in 5.0 seconds

Slckpet : French language : OK Wink

SOUND : retrovol is bad. retrovol tray slider displays good but sound is always ... MAXI and 'config window' or 'full window' do nothing.
So all players without sound slider are bad (pmusic,pupradio streaming)

except Numlock and retrovol, everything looks good on the desktop and everything is working wonderfully.

But testing is very difficult . Here it's summer... birds are singing and girls are beautifull on the beach... Smile
Congratulations
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 30 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1035s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0117s) ][ GZIP on ]