Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 23:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Drake Puppy feedback
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 6 [87 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 10:04    Post subject:  

you call this alpha.!? it is better than fedora15 or even the latest mint on my machine. Smile running portable opera-next on open network wizard wifi.
system>Avahi Zeroconfig browser? doesnt open.what is it? other avahi's in network menu dont go anywhere either.
wifi connection dropping out. need frisbee.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2619
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 15:03    Post subject: Drake Puppy
Subject description: fido
 

Lobster wrote:

Tried Fido - what harm can it do?
eh Embarassed borked my system and it did not get very far into the boot
So did a 'puppy pfix=ram' boot
Fido = bad dog. Back to root. Wink

Fido booted excellently to command line Smile
Fido = good dog.
Drake is alpha
If wary can why not drake too Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2619
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 15:13    Post subject: drake
Subject description: zenity
 

Code:
sh-3.00# ls -l /usr/bin/zenity
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 41 2011-07-04 17:12 /usr/bin/zenity -> /mnt/sda2/yad/yad-0.12.4-i486/usr/bin/yad
sh-3.00#

broken link.
Why not include yad and link to it ?
yad http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58306&start=43
is working in wary and drake too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3398
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 18:14    Post subject:  

Call me dumb, but I downloaded and installed Drake frugally and the checksums match.
When I exit to a prompt, a login comes up and I have tried leaving the password box blank, and tried woofwoof also.
It keeps telling me the password is incorrect.
Also, if I open a terminal, and type "whoami", it seems I am not root.
And When I pick shutdown or reboot, I get a username/password prompt with no way to save my settings to a pupsave file. as well as creating one.

Is all of that normal?
Or am I just getting dumber as I go along. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 18:24    Post subject:  

8-bit wrote:
Call me dumb, but I downloaded and installed Drake frugally and the checksums match.
When I exit to a prompt, a login comes up and I have tried leaving the password box blank, and tried woofwoof also.
It keeps telling me the password is incorrect.
Also, if I open a terminal, and type "whoami", it seems I am not root.
And When I pick shutdown or reboot, I get a username/password prompt with no way to save my settings to a pupsave file. as well as creating one.

Is all of that normal?
Or am I just getting dumber as I go along. Rolling Eyes


I've done 2 manual frugal installs and haven't had any similar problem. However, I don't recall exiting to a prompt.......... just been doing regular shutdowns and reboots from the menu.And always as administrator..... I don't mess with that silly fido stuff.

EDIT:
Had you already made a save file before this happened? If not,maybe exiting to a prompt is getting the users confused. Just a wild shot in the dark. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 18:39    Post subject:  

When I exit to the prompt, I get the prompt and type xwin to start X again.
Have a FRUGAL install also.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3398
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jul 2011, 19:27    Post subject:  

I must have had a copying glitch when I first created my frugal install by clicking on the ISO file and copying the needed files into the directory I made.
I now do not get the problem I previously stated.
But...
Install of packages from the Drake repository still fail to install with a problem of missing and blank files.
Also, abiword was messed up the second time I opened it.
It had a greatly reduced window size as compared to the first time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2011, 01:11    Post subject:  

Barry K has posted a fix for the PPM on his blog

http://www.bkhome.org/blog/

The pet....

http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/test/rpm-fix-1.pet

I've already installed Iceape 2.0.14 w/ dependencies and a couple of other smaller packages........all working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2011, 02:43    Post subject:  

Drake Pup is working pretty well on this old P3..... frugal install.

VIDEO REPORT: Drake Puppy, version 0.1

Chip description:
oem: Intel810(TM) Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS

Driver used by Xorg:
vesa

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

-Computer-
Processor : Pentium III (Coppermine)
Memory : 254MB (106MB used)
Operating System : Mageia 1
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Tue 05 Jul 2011 01:54:02 AM UTC
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : ICH - Intel 82801AA-ICH

# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 254184 245544 8640 0 23096
Swap: 1020092 0 1020092
Total: 1274276 245544 1028732
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3398
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2011, 09:11    Post subject:  

Is there a kernel2.6.34.8-patched.sfs file available?
I am trying to get my Nvidia GeForce 6150SE Graphics card driver installed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elraven

Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 82
Location: wnc-usa

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2011, 10:36    Post subject: Drake Puppy feedback  

hi all
installed Barry's fix for ppm . successful install of gqview and gimp from mageia packages . Thank you Barry ! Very Happy
elraven
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gjuhasz


Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 178

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2011, 12:01    Post subject: First Testing results  

aarf wrote:
you call this alpha.!? it is better than fedora15 or even the latest mint on my machine.


+1

In spite of its huge Smile size, it runs well on my Toshiba Tecra 8000 (PII, 400 MHz, 256 MB) even faster than any other from the Wary series. Thanks, Barry!

Here are my results below, I found minor problems only:

1. In contrast to all previous puppies from Barry, getting the desktop is problematic. Does not recognize my video card and resolution - resulted 640x480. Unfortunately, selecting xorgwizard from the menu reloads the same - no manual settings allowed. I had to overwrite the commented-out device section in xorg.conf from its wary5.x counterpart, now it's OK (neomagic, 1024x768x24).

2. The well-known ROX-focus problem knocks again. It was fixed in previous puppies.
See http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01570

3: Another problem survives: right-clicking on a drive icon can made it disappear due to the unfortunate position of the "Remove item" menu point. Until it is moved to a sub-menu, I recommend to change ICON_PLACE_EDGE_GAP from 64 to 96 in /etc/eventmanager file.

4. Fonts need anti-aliasing. I plan to apply Iguleder's patch: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=45517
Yeah, the desktop theme made me crazy but I am sure I was not alone Smile

5. My OPL3-SA3 sound chip is still not autodetected despite the driver is included. So, like in the case of all puppies before, I force load the driver in System > Boot manager > Add module section then voilà - works.

6. Mesa is not included in the iso file. Can be installed from rpm package, however.

7. Seamonkey 1.18 is obsolete both in its features and performance. I installed Chromium-14 from here (thanks playdayz for the sfs):
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69352&sid=c1b598bd86cdcc07fbf3f62ffb7e34c3
Its speed was the biggest surprise to me since I have played with puppy on my Tecra (I installed Drake in VirtualBox/wndwz environment, too). I think Chromium under root and links under spot/fido is the best combination. I simply removed Seamonkey icon from my desktop. Maybe it is still a good choice for (old fashioned) web design and for mailing.
Note that I tested Opera 11.50 and the latest Nightly, too, but their HTML5 performance is a half or worse compared to Chromium-14 (which proudly appears four times in the menu: 2x under Network, 2x under Internet tabs)

8. Barry's fix http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02336.
solved installation of rpm packages.

Barry, thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Tue 05 Jul 2011, 21:55    Post subject:  

hi all

barrys seamonkey 2.2 beta seems to work great with drake (try it Laughing )

I personally could live with the bloat for the increase in performance (tested on my amd x4 4gb ram machine, will try it on my p4 next and report back)

nearly forgot cups working great with my epson s21 printer

this thing is fast isnt it?

cheers

Stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9368
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jul 2011, 00:24    Post subject:  

Stripe wrote:
nearly forgot cups working great with my epson s21 printer

Can you print from Abiword?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Stripe

Joined: 23 Jun 2010
Posts: 658
Location: In a field. England

PostPosted: Wed 06 Jul 2011, 00:49    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Stripe wrote:
nearly forgot cups working great with my epson s21 printer

Can you print from Abiword?


will not print directly from abiword, but will print from the print preview window using the print command there

also will print a document when saved as a pdf file

just ask if you want more tests/information

hope this helps

stripe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 6 [87 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0913s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]