Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 01:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-520 beta 2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 767
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2011, 20:45    Post_subject:  

JFYI - HTH - regards - Ray
hardinfo_report.html.bz2
Description 
bz2

 Download 
Filename  hardinfo_report.html.bz2 
Filesize  4.35 KB 
Downloaded  198 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1436
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2011, 21:18    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I did notice two things. I have my music on sda1, a ntfs drive.


Yes, that's a problem. Xine is running as spot, and I really don't want spot to own a fuse mount. The ntfs stuff doesn't support regular permissions. I've thought about running Xine as root due to this. To make Xine run as root edit /usr/share/applications/xine.desktop and /usr/local/bin/defaultmediaplayer, change xine.sh to xine.

The Abiword problem is a bug in Abiword, it's fixed in the development version, but it crashes on docx files. Didn't know about Firefox 5, I'll get it.

Quote:
I only see this on a full install, frugal,flash drive,and sdhc
installs all have the correct video and sound on first boot.


Sorry, I don't support or recommend full installs, there's a nice warning in the installer. I don't use one, James doesn't ether, so it's a lack of time and interest thing. If someone wants to submit bug fixes for full installs, they are welcome, as long as it poses no risk to other things. I know the boot speed is nice, but crash recovery isn't nearly as good and the layered filesystem has so many nice features. If I had more time things would be different.

I'm going to be out of town for the next 4 days. I don't know how often I'll be able to check in. Thanks for everyone testing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 06:54    Post_subject:  

Read here for information about installing printers/scanners in Fatdog64.

These are new driver packages, so please provide some feedback.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 10:45    Post_subject:  

Approximately 1/3rd of the time, the boot process stops at
Recognizing media device.....optical

This happened in beta 1 also, I think when I experimented and used radeon.modeset=0. In beta 2 it happens, when it happens, right after the screen changes (presumably from the modeset). All it takes is a hard reset and it never has done it twice in a row.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4819
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 10:51    Post_subject:  

Still cannot get Opera installed - odd, because Ray MK appears to have had no problem? Firefox will always let you down eventually in my experience and SM will do so regularly. Opera11 is so much better, even johnbiles has it in Legacy.
Otherwise, everything seems to run well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 767
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 11:53    Post_subject:  

Hi Sage

I usually use Opera-11.11-x86_64.sfs and use JRB’s SFS-TCZ_Linker-2.2.pet to load the Opera.sfs which is usually located on a mounted partition.

It usually puts an opera menu icon in the network menu entries when used with FD64, rather than in internet where you would expect to find it. (I’m using the FD64 default WM)

(This only seems to happen with 64bit puppy’s, all other 32bit puppy’s that I used it with seem to work as expected regarding menu entry)

However with FD64-520b2, SFS-Load on-the-fly (menu / setup) is included in the ISO, so I used that for the 1st time.

It works, (posting from it now) but there are no menu entries anywhere.
Used Urxvt to launch Opera, it seems fine.

Have also used opera-11.11-2109.x86_64.linux.tar.gz from a mounted partition very successfully.

At the moment I’m running live from CD (no save_file) but have also run from USB and SDcard.

HTH - ‘cos I know you like Opera.

Very best regards - Ray.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4819
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 13:25    Post_subject:  

Many thanks for that, Ray.
I only run serious stuff from FULL installs. It's easier to swap caddies using one of around hundred old HDs into at least a dozen boxes or onto one of the bench test stations. All the regular 32bit Puppies will install Opera using Deb(other), so maybe kirk will see the light and ditch the Mozilla wannabes?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4444
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2011, 15:25    Post_subject: Issues with Video and Audio and Hostname and save-session an  

Kirk, I wish I was more of a help is assisting with some of the issues you're facing. They are traditional Puppy (Linux) issues of video and audio. You do have the luxury of working in an environment where your user community has lots and lots of RAM to play around with.

I continue to run a LiveDVD environment, happily aside from these issues facing you.

I want to take a moment to applaud you, though, for adding SFS-on-the-fly for those of us who need to use JRE and DEVX. Thanks!

Since, I lack the skills to be a helper as the likes of many who participate here, I would like to offer something which might prove useful and help you achieve your objective(s) at the same time.

Shinobar's "Personalize Settings". It offers users the following:
  1. Hostname selection (Required: I run several FATDOGs)
  2. Timezone controls (required for app and data needs)
  3. Numlock
  4. Video controls
The idea here, is not that you haven't provided good insights in taking everyone from boot to desktop as you have already demonstrated, but, to take them to desktop with additional "fine tuning" that many of us could find useful.

Again, I applaud what you're doing to help all of us in the community.

Hope this helps

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 767
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2011, 04:47    Post_subject:  

Hi again Sage

Just had a thought - opera-11.11-2109.x86_64.linux.tar.gz

Would expanding into a folder (ie: Opera) on a mounted partition work as a portable application (instead of an install) with a FULL puppy installation.

Might be worth a try if not tried already.

I usually select the - Other (TAR) - from

http://www.opera.com/browser/download/

HTH - best regards - Ray


(and I too would be pleased if an Opera beta test version or similar materialised)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2011, 08:19    Post_subject:  

Here is the 64-bit version of CPUtemp. I have also attached the CPU Frequency Scaling Tool from Quirky. It appears to work in Fatdog64.

These packages have had VERY LIMITED testing in FD64. Please provide feedback.
CPUtemp_fd64-1.3.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  CPUtemp_fd64-1.3.pet 
Filesize  82.93 KB 
Downloaded  310 Time(s) 
cpu-scaling-ondemand-1.3-3.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  cpu-scaling-ondemand-1.3-3.pet 
Filesize  2.45 KB 
Downloaded  300 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2156
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2011, 09:56    Post_subject: Fatdog64-520 beta 2  

Frugal install to Emachines D620 laptop.
Sun 26 Jun 2011 Operating System: Fatdog64-520 Linux 2.6.38.8
5.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS690M [Radeon X1200 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS product: RS690 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: unknown
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1280x800 pixels (338x211 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org R300 Project
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RS690
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 7.10.3

AMD Athlon(tm) Processor 2650e
Core 0: 1595 MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.
# glxgears
68 frames in 5.0 seconds = 13.546 FPS
74 frames in 5.0 seconds = 14.748 FPS
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2011, 14:19    Post_subject:  

Hi kirk,

Frugal installation of beta 2 on an ext4 partition booted perfectly and is running great on my hardware.

Video Report:
Fatdog64, version 520 on Sun 26 Jun 2011
Chip description:
oem: NVIDIA
product: G98 Board - 05610002 Chip Rev
NVIDIA NV98

Extra software installed that is working great:

fd64-32bit-libs.sfs
fd64-devx_520.sfs
JavaRE-6u25-x86_64.sfs
OOO-3.4.0_64rc3_en-US.sfs
wcpufreq-0.7 CPU Frequency Scaling Tool
pwidgets_amd64-2.3.3 Pwidgets tiny desktop apps
LHP_sys_info-0.3 Lighthouse System Information &
PupSnap-1.6 PupSnap screen capture
hplip_scan_fd64-3.11.5 HP scanner driver
PupClockset-1.5.4 PupClockset manager

Great work,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2156
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2011, 16:07    Post_subject: Fatdog64-520 beta 2  

I did a manual frugal install to my acer desktop and ran grub4ddos.
Added "fatdog nomodeset pfix=vesa,ram" to kernel line of menu.lst and rebooted.
Changed kernel line to "fatdog nomodeset pfix=vesa" and rebooted
creating save file and loading devx file from /mnt/home
Used bootmanager to blacklist the nouveau kernel module and rebooted.
Changed kernel line to original by removing "fatdog nomodeset pfix=vesa"
Exited to the prompt and did "sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-275.09.07.run" (I
had the nvidia driver in my root directory) and when finished
compiling "xwin" back to desktop:

Sun 26 Jun 2011 Operating System: Fatdog64-520 Linux 2.6.38.8
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G84 [GeForce 8600 GT] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA product: G84 Board - p402h00 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia: vendor=NVIDIA Corporation
X.Org version: 1.9.5
dimensions: 1280x1024 pixels (382x302 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 8600 GT/PCI/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 275.09.07

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600
Core 0: 2393 1: 2393 2: 2393 3: 2393 MHz
...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.
# glxgears
51291 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10258.112 FPS
51341 frames in 5.0 seconds = 10268.141 FPS

I hope this helps another nvidia card user to get the proprietary
driver working, it's better than the nouveau driver for gaming at
least.
nvidia driver download site:

http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2156
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2011, 21:58    Post_subject: Fatdog64-520 beta 2
Sub_title: browsers
 

I had to try it, I compiled firefox 5.0 (Aurora) and ran the peacekeeper benchmark with it and seamonkey.
edit:
I downloaded and installed opera-11.11-2109.x86_64.linux.tar.bz2 and
ran the benchmark test again on all three browsers.
benchmark2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   126.71 KB
 Viewed   1255 Time(s)

benchmark2.jpg

benchmark.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   162.69 KB
 Viewed   2399 Time(s)

benchmark.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 767
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jun 2011, 07:21    Post_subject:  

Hi rcrsn51

Just installed both CPUtemp & CPUfreq - scaling and both seem to be working fine.

Noticed a 1 degree temp rise when scaling activated.

HTH - best regards - Ray
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0950s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]