Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 15:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Lucid Puppy 5.25 Feedback and Bug Reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 9 [135 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jun 2011, 22:43    Post subject:  

I bumped my pupsave size by 64MB, taking my free space there to 115MB according to the taskbar thingy. This had the effect of increasing the amount of the youtube I was watching to 28 seconds. Whoopee! Crying or Very sad

FWIW, this is the youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5zNf6_ivPk4

But other, longer youtubes play to completion. Weird.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5134
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jun 2011, 17:03    Post subject:  

PaulBx1 wrote:
I bumped my pupsave size by 64MB, taking my free space there to 115MB according to the taskbar thingy. This had the effect of increasing the amount of the youtube I was watching to 28 seconds. Whoopee! Crying or Very sad

FWIW, this is the youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5zNf6_ivPk4

But other, longer youtubes play to completion. Weird.

I tried the Youtube movie you are having problems with.
Worked for me with no problems.
I know, you wanted to hear that!
Could have something to do with the version of Adobe Flash you are using?
The browser you are using?
If you right click on the movie display screen, you will be given options for how Adobe Flash works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 781
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2011, 11:17    Post subject: Problem with Boot Manager Config -- or just me?  

Hi All,

I decided that I use LibreOffice Write and Calc so often that it made sense to load the LibreOffice SFS on bootup. Although "Boot Manager Configure bootup" see the SFS --named LibreOffice33.SFS-- as an SFS of the proper version and permits me to move it to the right hand pane (of SFSes to be loaded at bootup) and is the only SFS in that pane, both before and after booting, it does not load. I have no problem loading it via JRB's Linker.

Is this just a naming problem, i.e, requiring that the name be changed? or is there a bug in the Boot Manager Configure App?

MikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1817
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2011, 18:42    Post subject:  

mikesir,

It should work but you could try renaming the file to:
LibreOffice_33.SFS

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jun 2011, 00:44    Post subject:  USB boot without hard drive?
Subject description: hard disk is a requirement to boot?
 

Hi All,

I set up a computer with Lucid 5.2.5, booting from a usb card.
It all worked lovely until I took out the hard drive.
The hard drive was not being used in any way, no swap partition or puppy files are on it.
The PC has 1gb ram, and I am using a 256Mb Usb chip for booting.
The boot screen at "loading drivers to access hard drives ..." kicks me out to the command prompt, mentioning that it cannot find lupu-525.sfs. But I can find my sdb1, mount it, and find lupu-525.sfs there, so something just needs a wee tweak.
If I plug the hard disk back in (ide 80Gb) the usb boot works, I find this a bit odd that I can't boot without a hard drive.

Can someone please point me in the direction of which script is in charge of that task that is failing (presumably in the initrd.gz somewhere)?
Also I'll need to know how to extract and bundle the initrd.gz file too.

Cheers,
Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5134
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jun 2011, 01:34    Post subject: Re: USB boot without hard drive?
Subject description: hard disk is a requirement to boot?
 

Jesse wrote:
Hi All,

I set up a computer with Lucid 5.2.5, booting from a usb card.
It all worked lovely until I took out the hard drive.
The hard drive was not being used in any way, no swap partition or puppy files are on it.
The PC has 1gb ram, and I am using a 256Mb Usb chip for booting.
The boot screen at "loading drivers to access hard drives ..." kicks me out to the command prompt, mentioning that it cannot find lupu-525.sfs. But I can find my sdb1, mount it, and find lupu-525.sfs there, so something just needs a wee tweak.
If I plug the hard disk back in (ide 80Gb) the usb boot works, I find this a bit odd that I can't boot without a hard drive.

Cheers,
Jesse

This is a known bug. Has not been fixed in Lucid Puppy 5.2.5
Discussion here:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02272
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jun 2011, 02:01    Post subject: Re: USB boot without hard drive?
Subject description: hard disk is a requirement to boot?
 

bigpup wrote:
Jesse wrote:
Hi All,

I set up a computer with Lucid 5.2.5, booting from a usb card.
It all worked lovely until I took out the hard drive.
...
If I plug the hard disk back in (ide 80Gb) the usb boot works, I find this a bit odd that I can't boot without a hard drive.

Cheers,
Jesse

This is a known bug. Has not been fixed in Lucid Puppy 5.2.5
Discussion here:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02272
Thanks bigpup!
Looks pretty easy to fix up, I'll give it a go, cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 781
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jun 2011, 09:39    Post subject: Problem with Boot Manager --follow-up 1  

Hi smokey01,

Thanks for the suggestion, but LibreOffice_33.sfs doesn't load either.

I'll try loading some others via boot manager and see if this is a more general problem on my setup;

Edit: Gimp successfully load via bootmanager, so it seems to be a problem specific to LibreOffice.
-------------
Processor: 4x AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 945 Processor
Memory: 3375MB
Resolution: 1600x900 pixels
VGA compatible controller: ATI Radeon 3100 Graphics
Network controller: RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI

mikesLr

Last edited by mikeslr on Tue 05 Jul 2011, 20:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5134
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jun 2011, 11:13    Post subject:  

If you are having problems with wifi and modems you may find help with new drivers and info here:

Extras for Puppy 5.1 with 2.6.33.2 kernel
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=59000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Jun 2011, 19:44    Post subject:  

Jesse, I wish you luck. If you look back in this thread you will see I tried and failed; I think Barry has not posted all the details of his fix. FWIW, it is also possible to boot without a hard drive if you have Puppy in the CD as well as on the USB drive.

I will be happy to help any way I can.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Tue 21 Jun 2011, 06:42    Post subject:  

Hey I found the problem, regarding booting without hard drive.

In the init script on line 499:
LESSPARTS0="`echo "$LESSPARTS0" | grep -v -f /tmp/ATADRIVES0`" #110205

It seems that Line 499 does not do its intended job, the reason being that the file /tmp/ATADRIVES0 always seems to have an invalid character in it, its totally weird to me too.

Well hey I am not really sure about why that file outputs unusual content.
But I found that if I replace line 499 with codes to do equivalent in commands that are known to execute as expected, then I can boot up without a hard disk.

replacement codes:

for REMOVEDRIVE in $ATADRIVES
do
LESSPARTS0="`echo "$LESSPARTS0" | grep -v $REMOVEDRIVE`"
done

Thanks for your help guys. I hope this patch goes into the next puppy.
Cheers, Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2011, 22:39    Post subject:  

Worked like a charm on my hard-driveless laptop Jesse. No more need for anything in the CD.

However still not working on my hard-driveless desktop (an Intel D510MO). I think it is something else. I see this printed on the screen:
Code:
Syslinux 4.03 2010-10-22 EDD Copyright (C) 1994-2010 H. Peter Anvin et al

...and there it hangs. A different symptom...

This machine used to boot the same flash drive just fine back when it had Lupu 511 on it. Still boots another flash drive with Puppy 431 on it.

<later>
I notice someone else reported this bug, said it had to do with the latest ISOLINUX. I even commented on that thread! Rolling Eyes
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=68280

The workaround was to replace ISOLINUX with an earlier version, but that only refers to the Live CD. ISOLINUX is not used on a bootable flash drive. Any ideas for that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3368
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2011, 12:42    Post subject:
Subject description: Full install hard drive mounting
 

On the LQ forum, I ran into a person that is trying to restore some older computers for the less fortunate.
I am trying to help him, but I would like it done right.
He is setting up one PC and going to use his experience with it to set up others.
He states that he did a full install to the hard drive and when he boots, the hard drive icon shows as not mounted.
If he mounts it and tries to shut down, the PC just reboots.
If he unmounts the drive, the PC shuts down normally.

The mounting part is where I am lost as I have never done a full install.
So I ask any with Lucid Puppy 5.25 and a full install, if their hard drive shows as mounted on booting.

Also, I had him do a test by creating and saving a short text file.
This was with the hard drive icon showing the drive as unmounted.
The file was available to him at the next boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5753
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2011, 13:10    Post subject:
Subject description: Full install hard drive mounting
 

8-bit wrote:
On the LQ forum, I ran into a person that is trying to restore some older computers for the less fortunate.
I am trying to help him, but I would like it done right.
He is setting up one PC and going to use his experience with it to set up others.
He states that he did a full install to the hard drive and when he boots, the hard drive icon shows as not mounted.
If he mounts it and tries to shut down, the PC just reboots.
If he unmounts the drive, the PC shuts down normally.

The mounting part is where I am lost as I have never done a full install.
So I ask any with Lucid Puppy 5.25 and a full install, if their hard drive shows as mounted on booting.

Also, I had him do a test by creating and saving a short text file.
This was with the hard drive icon showing the drive as unmounted.
The file was available to him at the next boot.


Full install of Lucid 525 on sda 12. I'll mount the partition and reboot and see what happens.
Even though the partition shows as unmounted read/write to it would be impossible so.......hmmmmm.
lucid 525.png
 Description   
 Filesize   50.17 KB
 Viewed   995 Time(s)

lucid 525.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5753
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2011, 13:22    Post subject:  

Quick test complete. Smile

No matter what the drive icon shows, the partition is obviously mounted on boot.Couldn't access the partition otherwise. My other Puppy full installs show a yellow dot on the drive icon...... don't know how I hadn't noticed this before.

Anyway, I clicked the sda12 drive icon, green dot came on, tried to poweroff and the system rebooted. The green dot was on sda 12 upon reboot but quickly disappeared and is off now as I'm posting.
HTH.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 [135 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0971s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0098s) ][ GZIP on ]