Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 11:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
IcePuppy-014 for newer and Ice Puppy-015 for older computers
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 54 of 56 [839 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 52, 53, 54, 55, 56 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2011, 10:40    Post subject:  

Quote:
Spider mode enabled. Check if remote file exists.
--2011-06-18 17:51:02-- http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet-packages-lucid/Acrobat
Resolving distro.ibiblio.org... 152.19.134.43
Connecting to distro.ibiblio.org|152.19.134.43|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response...
HTTP/1.0 404 Not Found
Content-type: text/html
Connection: keep-alive
Date: Sat, 18 Jun 2011 14:51:03 GMT
Server: lighttpd/1.4.26
Remote file does not exist -- broken link!!!


Hmm, it looks like the whole file name is not used in downloading. Could that be explanation of failures
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marco07

Joined: 18 Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2011, 11:09    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Libre Office 3.3.3 works without java. It cries after it but accepts its fate without it and swriter starts.

Uploading now LibreOffice-3.3.3_en-US.sfs

I will investigate this sfs downloader failure. The script behind it is /usr/sbin/sfsget.

I have already installed the JAVA pet you posted on the previous page. Would that work with LibreOffice? Or to say in other words, would it interfer at all with it?
Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2011, 11:12    Post subject:  

Marco07. I believe it should work just fine. Test and report so that others know also.
It is just my compulsion to not use java if I can.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marco07

Joined: 18 Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2011, 13:10    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Marco07. I believe it should work just fine. Test and report so that others know also.
It is just my compulsion to not use java if I can.

pemasu:
I have downkoaded LO 3.4. It is downloaded in /mnt with the name +mnt+libreOffice-3.4.0_en-US.sfs
I realy don't know how to set it up and run it. Could you help please?
I tried to rename it by erasing +mnt+ from the name. It did not work.
Thanks!

Last edited by marco07 on Sat 18 Jun 2011, 14:29; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2011, 14:19    Post subject: rox corruption display  

pemasu wrote:
Beem. I havent read about that Rox problem. I keep my eyes open.
I disobeyed against my principle to only handle one issue in one post.
So this is about the corrupted display in ROX.
As said probably not a typical icepup issue as it is in lucid as well

When opens in ROX a directory with has many directories tray may cover the ROX window. When scrolling then the displayed window becomes corrupted.
A good example is dispaly /root in ROX, click on the eye to get the hidden directories and scroll.
rox_corruption.png
 Description   
 Filesize   86.73 KB
 Viewed   281 Time(s)

rox_corruption.png


_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2011, 14:30    Post subject: geany beyond screen size  

pemasu wrote:
Beem.
About Geany. I believe part of the problem is your screen size.
I have newer geany than in Lucid Puppies. I think my used version was compiled by Aragon and it has extra plugins included.
You can test and swap the Geany binary from Lucid Puppy. I would be interested to hear if it fixes your problem.

Or you can use this Geany from Lucid 525.
I disobeyed against my principle to only handle one issue in one post.
About geany, I'll look into this.
I have indeed a 14" screen.
I have to look again for the larger files that caused this, as with smaller files there doesn't seem to be a problem.

I'll come back when I know how to recreate the issue and when I have applied the advice given.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2011, 14:43    Post subject:  

Marco07. I didnt mean trying to get that LO sfs to work again as standalone office package. 01mickos scripts have heavily modified the install already.
It is best for you just load that LO sfs as it is. It should work.

I meant that I download from some official site the same deb package as 01mickos pet downloads and then I place it to the /mnt/home/libreoffice folder. I just drag the launching scripts to my desktop from /program subfolder. That way it is workable from all Puppies without need to load or install it as sfs or pet over and over again.

http://www.libreoffice.org/download/
http://download.documentfoundation.org/libreoffice/stable/3.4.0/deb/x86/LibO_3.4.0_Linux_x86_install-deb_en-US.tar.gz
From menu I choose deb installation package, I download it and then I extract it to the /mnt/home/libreoffice3.4 folder. Above is also straight link to download it.
Clicking /mnt/home/libreoffice3.4/program/swriter launches swriter.
Not the most cleanest way but thats how I have one intallation for all Puppies. I could do easily .desktop file with launching path to /mnt/home but I havent bothered.

Extracting means that I move or download the LO-installation.deb to the /mnt/home and then I right click it and choose extract. Then I rename the extraction folder as I want.

But getting that sfs back as original, it is not recommended.
You can use it as you have always used.
Sorry about embarrassing you.

Beem. I understand your problem, but I cant reproduce it with my 15 " laptop screen. Could the problem be spesific to some screen size or graphics ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2011, 17:26    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Beem. I understand your problem, but I cant reproduce it with my 15 " laptop screen. Could the problem be spesific to some screen size or graphics ?
Are you referring to the ROX or the Geany issue.
My glx report is:
Code:
za 18 jun 2011  Operating System: Ice Puppy-015  Linux 2.6.38
 0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility M7 LW [Radeon Mobility 7500] 
 oem: ATI MOBILITY RADEON 7500 

X Server: Xorg   Driver:  radeon
X.Org version: 1.7.6
  dimensions:    1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
  depth of root window:    24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
OpenGL vendor string: Tungsten Graphics, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI R100 (RV200 4C57) 20090101 AGP 4x x86/MMX/SSE2 TCL
OpenGL version string: 1.3 Mesa 7.7.1

Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1400MHz
 Core 0: Intel(R)  1: 1395  MHz

...the above also recorded at '/tmp/root/report-video-glx'.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2011, 17:48    Post subject:  

Beem. I referred to the ROX problem which you described latest, but same goes with that geany problem. I dont have it.

About radeon. Do you use radeon.modeset=1 boot parameter.
I need for my intel driver boot parameter i915.modeset=1
Or I would need, I have included it into the build but radeon modeset is not included.

/etc/modprobe.d folder
Quote:
sh-4.1# ls
alsa-base.conf apm.conf blacklist-usb_storage.conf puppy.conf
alsa.conf blacklist.conf i915.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marco07

Joined: 18 Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2011, 20:39    Post subject:  

pemasu:
Thanks for your above insteructions.
I downloaded LO from your second link above. Extracted to /mnt/home/libreoffice340.
The outcome of extraction was a bunch of .deb (quite a few) files in one of a few sub folders which needed individual installation according to a readme file provided. I gave up realizing I did not of a means for mass installation. I finally found an easier method in puppy wiki as pointed to me by a kind person from the forum. I now have LO 3.4.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jun 2011, 02:55    Post subject:  

Marco07. The working LO was the result what you wanted. Sorry about complicating you installation. And I didnt have to extract *.debs in my previous Libre Office. I just checked the download. You are right, it is packaged to about 55 *.deb packages.
Now...I dont remember what way I did my previous LibreOffice standalone installation.
So, you can forget my above instructions. I seem to have done my installation some other way than from the package I posted a link.
But I have now blackout in my memory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jun 2011, 13:31    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Beem. I referred to the ROX problem which you described latest, but same goes with that geany problem. I dont have it.

About radeon. Do you use radeon.modeset=1 boot parameter.
I need for my intel driver boot parameter i915.modeset=1
Or I would need, I have included it into the build but radeon modeset is not included.

/etc/modprobe.d folder
Quote:
sh-4.1# ls
alsa-base.conf apm.conf blacklist-usb_storage.conf puppy.conf
alsa.conf blacklist.conf i915.conf
I thought so you were referring at the ROX issue.
If you have a ROX window open and you move it, so the bottom is covered by the tray and you scroll, you don't have that corruption in the display then?

Also a question, this radeon.modeset=1 is a parameter on the kernel line?

EDIT

So I added radeon.modeset=1 at the end of the kernel line.
When a ROX window is covered by the tray and I scroll with the scroll bar I still have the issue.
I then went in xorgwizard to choose the vesa driver.
After xwin, and doing the test I still have the issue.

Does this say it's not a graphics driver issue?
Could it be something in JWM?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch

Last edited by Béèm on Sun 19 Jun 2011, 13:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jun 2011, 13:43    Post subject:  

Beem, That is right. I dont have that misbehavior. The parameter is for kernel booting time, given when booting, from menu.lst or at the boot prompt. At menu.lst, add it to the kernel row.

Also, I have updated JWM from 493 to 500 in IcePuppy-015 and SnowPuppy-020. I dont know if this affects.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jun 2011, 14:01    Post subject:  

pemasu wrote:
Beem, That is right. I dont have that misbehavior. The parameter is for kernel booting time, given when booting, from menu.lst or at the boot prompt. At menu.lst, add it to the kernel row.

Also, I have updated JWM from 493 to 500 in IcePuppy-015 and SnowPuppy-020. I dont know if this affects.
So then I did well then adding it to the kernel line.

I did another test and did choose now the ati driver.
I had the same issue again, but oh boy, no means to get the keyboard in azerty.
So I reverted to the familiar radeon driver.

So kind of a mystery then.

I probably will have to live with it then.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jun 2011, 14:05    Post subject:  

Beem, did you have this problem with earlier versions of Ice Puppy or Snow Puppy. JWM 500 was added to these latest versions only.
Anyway, I will keep your problem in mind and I will offer a fix when I have a knack of the cure.

I am willing to revert back to JWM 493 if it will fix the screen problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 54 of 56 [839 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 52, 53, 54, 55, 56 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1029s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0172s) ][ GZIP on ]