Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Sep 2014, 06:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Engineering/Science/Simulation
Has any one compiled openscad?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
Moose On The Loose


Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 518

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 10:41    Post subject:  Has any one compiled openscad?
Subject description: openscad is a 3D cad program that looks interesting
 

I think this coming weekend, I may make a try on getting openscad to compile on puppy 4.31. I don't expect to manage to really do it but it looks worth the effort.

I could save a lot of time if anyone has already done the work.

So far I think that it wants QT and opengl. QT I think I can feed it. The opengl, I am hoping to be able to fake or remove the need for it. opengl makes drawing faster but perhaps the performance hit won't kill the usefulness of the program.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 12:17    Post subject:  

Have you tried the pre-compiled binaries?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 13:08    Post subject:  

OK, just tried them myself...install easily, starts up well, only prob is I don't currently have a working openGL graphics environment. If you do, then no need to compile as it looks as if it would work straight away.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 13:25    Post subject:  

Hmmm...I'm unable to edit my posts in this new subsection...anyway I was going to say, to Moose, that looking at the source code, opengl is a requirement, plus qt4, cmake and boost.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moose On The Loose


Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 518

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jun 2011, 21:08    Post subject:  

muggins wrote:
Hmmm...I'm unable to edit my posts in this new subsection...anyway I was going to say, to Moose, that looking at the source code, opengl is a requirement, plus qt4, cmake and boost.


I tried the binaries first off. They don't work in puppy 4.31 nor in open SuSE.

Yes, I know that QT4 is needed. I hope to be able to compile and statically link it.

I am hoping to be able to see a way to fake it out into not needing opengl. Since opengl draws stuff on the screen and that same action can be done without opengl, I figure with a little creative coding I can make functions that fake the opengl actions that are really needed.

The sources look to be something that can be compiled if I can supply the needed libraries or fake them. I intend to just compile the whole mess and statically link it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jun 2011, 00:21    Post subject:  

Hello Moose On The Loose,

good luck with this...but I'm curious why you would want to take the difficult road of trying to compile an openGL based app, so as not to use openGL, rather than just upgrading your Xorg with openGL drivers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moose On The Loose


Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 518

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jun 2011, 10:10    Post subject:  

muggins wrote:
Hello Moose On The Loose,

good luck with this...but I'm curious why you would want to take the difficult road of trying to compile an openGL based app, so as not to use openGL, rather than just upgrading your Xorg with openGL drivers?


I want to try to make it that it will on Puppy-4.31 with nothing added. The idea is to make a *.pet that if installed on the live CD boot will make openscad work. Since different video cards need different opengl drivers and not all of them have opengl, the option of building in the opengl doesn't look promising. This means that I more or less am forced into the path of coding around it if I want to do this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moose On The Loose


Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 518

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jun 2011, 11:11    Post subject: Re: Has any one compiled openscad? (Abandoning for now)
Subject description: openscad is a 3D cad program that looks interesting
 

It needs GCAL. The make process for GCAL doesn't work.

Other big distros come with openscad ready to go so if I want to use it, I have an option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6687
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jun 2011, 08:13    Post subject:  

Do you mean CGAL, not GCAL? If so, I think the former also needs openGL. I tried compiling it on p412, & cmake got to 60% done, before it halted due to a missing QGLWidget.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moose On The Loose


Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 518

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jun 2011, 10:20    Post subject:  

muggins wrote:
Do you mean CGAL, not GCAL? If so, I think the former also needs openGL. I tried compiling it on p412, & cmake got to 60% done, before it halted due to a missing QGLWidget.


Eys htat is hwat I meant to type.

I got an "unknown cmake command" IIRC as an error message on a statement that read something like "hide_variable(something I don't remember)"

I decided after looking at it for a while that I was going to end up doing way more work than I had planned on so since I can install a different distro and have it work, I figured that would be a plan.

Right now I have openSuSE-11.4 in VirtualBox. I can run it in there and it renders the objects very nicely for me. Only if I have a reason to do it very often would I bother doing a real install.

BTW: I absolutely hate the UI of openSuSE-11.4. After using puppy I am just spoiled by the nice clean menu it has.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
donbright

Joined: 13 Dec 2011
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue 13 Dec 2011, 20:47    Post subject:  

OpenSCAD requires

QT (with qtgl enabled)
glew
boost
cgal
OpenCSG
eigen2
gmp/mpfr

If you don't have any good OpenGL drivers, you can set the environment variable LIBGL_ALWAYS_SOFTWARE=1 and this will give you 'software rendering' with OpenGL. It is slow, but it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Engineering/Science/Simulation
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0641s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]